Dissertations

Ivan Drago

Suck baws.

That is all.

:mad:

Cheer up! You should try writing a 100,000 word one!

Left it a bit late have we?

not so much that, just the fact that i cant be bothered whatsoever.

as for Mr Lawson, most of your posts on here are over 100,000 words so that should be no problem for you!! :P

What are you doing yours on?

I did mine on the Environmental Studies. ;)

the role of non-financial performance measurements in management accounting in the private sector.

catchy title, huh?

Don't mention the word to me.

It makes me want to greet when I think about what stage I'm at with mine.

same as me perchance?

i.e. zero words?

same as me perchance?

i.e. zero words?

Had to hand in 3,000 before X-mas, which I did but it was a load of *****e, which was confirmed by my lecturer the other day.

More worried about the lack of research and knowledge I have on the subject than the lack of words at the moment...

I actually regret not doing one now

Yes they are hard work however the alternative is worse

On my course we had the choice of a 15k dissertation- 3k summary before xmas.

Or an extra module, which was an extra 4 hours lecure a week, an extra exam, 2 extra 5k essays, made even worse by having to complete lots of reading and tutorial work

I reckon their would have been less work in the dissertation:mad:

Had to hand in 3,000 before X-mas, which I did but it was a load of *****e, which was confirmed by my lecturer the other day.

More worried about the lack of research and knowledge I have on the subject than the lack of words at the moment...

ouch, sore one, we just have one deadline.

research is my problem as well, really cant be fecked with it at all.

I actually regret not doing one now

Yes they are hard work however the alternative is worse

On my course we had the choice of a 15k dissertation- 3k summary before xmas.

Or an extra module, which was an extra 4 hours lecure a week, an extra exam, 2 extra 5k essays, made even worse by having to complete lots of reading and tutorial work

I reckon their would have been less work in the dissertation:mad:

nasty, one of my mates got a choice where he could do honours and as a result a dissertation, or go on placement instead. he chose the placement and he's still working there today, 3 years on. jammy git.

the role of non-financial performance measurements in management accounting in the private sector.

catchy title, huh?

You lost me at non-financial. :P

Good luck!

ouch, sore one, we just have one deadline.

research is my problem as well, really cant be fecked with it at all.

Where do you study?

Edit: Just noticed you live in Glasgow.

Do you have access to ABI/Inform Proquest journal database? If so use it as you will get plenty of articles on your topic there.

EBSCO's Business Source premier would also do you if you have that.

Emerald is also good for academic business articles.

Where do you study?

Edit: Just noticed you live in Glasgow.

Do you have access to ABI/Inform Proquest journal database? If so use it as you will get plenty of articles on your topic there.

EBSCO's Business Source premier would also do you if you have that.

Emerald is also good for academic business articles.

i live in Glasgow but im at the schemies uni (caley) :P

aye we've got proquest and emerald, and something called athens. Not sure about the EBSCO one though.

cheers for the advice :thumb:

i live in Glasgow but im at the schemies uni (caley) :P

aye we've got proquest and emerald, and something called athens. Not sure about the EBSCO one though.

cheers for the advice :thumb:

ATHENS is your unique username & password that allows you to access Emerald and ABI off campus. That's all it is - an authentication service.

ABI is your best bet imho. Ebsco is an ABI equivalent. No loss.

ATHENS is your unique username & password that allows you to access Emerald and ABI off campus. That's all it is - an authentication service.

ABI is your best bet imho. Ebsco is an ABI equivalent. No loss.

cool cool, its pretty bad that after 4 years at uni i've never used Athens :nooo:

was it a business relatee#d degree you did yourself, Boris?

Good luck with that.

terry.jpg

ha ha that guy has a head you would just love to play like a bongo drum!!

cool cool, its pretty bad that after 4 years at uni i've never used Athens :nooo:

was it a business relatee#d degree you did yourself, Boris?

I'm a business librarian so these things are my bread & butter, if you like.

Give me a shout if you are struggling.

I'm a business librarian so these things are my bread & butter, if you like.

Give me a shout if you are struggling.

will do mate, thanks for the help :thumb:

not so much that, just the fact that i cant be bothered whatsoever.

as for Mr Lawson, most of your posts on here are over 100,000 words so that should be no problem for you!! :P

Dunno what your trouble is here then: it's a piece of ****! While most of my friends toiled for weeks, or even months, I wrote my 10,000 word undergraduate dissertation in less than two days - and got a first too. Life's a bitch, isn't it? :mw_tease::coolgleamA:

bawbag :P

LOL! You started it! :biggrin:

What is your thesis on Shaun? I was away to do a history PhD on "The influence of Mark Twain on Robert Louis Stevenson" until the AHRB did its worst and made me open up a bit. Happier living in Spain than Cambridge.

LOL! You started it! :biggrin:

true, what was your dissertation on, out of interest?

(you cant boast about writing it in 2 days and getting a first without letting us know!)

What is your thesis on Shaun? I was away to do a history PhD on "The influence of Mark Twain on Robert Louis Stevenson" until the AHRB did its worst and made me open up a bit. Happier living in Spain than Cambridge.

Man, I'm sorry to hear that: especially as your thesis sounds like it would've made for a terrific piece of research. The AHRC are a bunch of gits: 60% of those people who apply for funding with firsts from their undergraduate degree get turned down! Where they think the next generation of university lecturers are going to come from, I have absolutely no idea. And I'm going to have to deal with them again when it comes to moving on from here too: not looking forward to it, I can tell you...

Mine is on a chap called George Canning, who was Foreign Secretary and briefly Prime Minister in the 1820s (indeed, he was our shortest-serving PM ever: he died in office after just 116 days in the job). Canning was charismatic, irascible, impetuous, hot-headed, extremely provocative and divisive, and fond of currying favour among the masses... remind you of anyone at all? :biggrin: Indeed, to continue the theme, he too was seen as an 'outsider' with unwanted views on how to do things: he was the son of an actress, which earned him much scorn throughout his career, and he became the first commoner to ascend to the office of First Lord of the Treasury.

It's been fun, but I'm almost done now, and will then be looking at doing something completely different when I move on: hopefully something to do with football, and in an ideal world, an investigation into levels of bias among Scottish referees!

true, what was your dissertation on, out of interest?

(you cant boast about writing it in 2 days and getting a first without letting us know!)

The history of the politics of sport. I took three separate examples (FIFA, the IOC, and FIDE, the governing body of chess), and looked at how commercialisation had gone hand in hand with corruption: indeed, my conclusion was borderline racist, because in every case, Anglo-Saxons had presided over much cleaner organisations (eg. Stanley Rous at FIFA), but Latins (Havelange, Samaranch, and the ghastly Florencio Campomanes of FIDE) had used corruption, nepotism and so on in order to get to the top. Weird as it might sound, the examiners were most interested in the case of chess: you wouldn't think a mere game could involve so much skullduggery at its highest level, but believe me, it's something else!

i did mine, 10000 words in one weekend without sleep !

Unbelievably regret it now, it was double weighted and was easy as feck but being a ****** i thought no propblem i hand it in on time.

The worse thing was that i used the internet a lot for mine and did not relaise that the thing was 'quoting' was written by the same guy who was marking it ?

btw, for the OP, check out PFI productive tests, should give you a chapter easily !

i did mine, 10000 words in one weekend without sleep !

Unbelievably regret it now, it was double weighted and was easy as feck but being a ****** i thought no propblem i hand it in on time.

The worse thing was that i used the internet a lot for mine and did not relaise that the thing was 'quoting' was written by the same guy who was marking it ?

btw, for the OP, check out PFI productive tests, should give you a chapter easily !

Oops! What a mistake-a to make-a!

The history of the politics of sport. I took three separate examples (FIFA, the IOC, and FIDE, the governing body of chess), and looked at how commercialisation had gone hand in hand with corruption: indeed, my conclusion was borderline racist, because in every case, Anglo-Saxons had presided over much cleaner organisations (eg. Stanley Rous at FIFA), but Latins (Havelange, Samaranch, and the ghastly Florencio Campomanes of FIDE) had used corruption, nepotism and so on in order to get to the top. Weird as it might sound, the examiners were most interested in the case of chess: you wouldn't think a mere game could involve so much skullduggery at its highest level, but believe me, it's something else!

sounds interesting - i've heard about some of the crazy shenaningans that goes on in chess, its mental!

Hehehe! After the latest bout of nonsense during the Kramnik/Topalov world title match in 2006 (Toiletgate, I mean), an old lecturer of mine emailed me saying he'd been reminded of what I wrote in my dissertation. Some of the things that go on are truly unbelievable: would you believe that some top players have recruited honey traps to sit in the audience eyeing up and distracting their opponents? Fantastic stuff!

ha ha chess is a real mans sport! i love the whole toilet break controversies!

incidently did u read about that guy that died recently? the american guy who was supposedly a wonder kid, beat Kasparov ( i think ) a couple of guys and was feted as an all american hero, but went absolutely mental and ended up hating america?

christhejambo

Doing mine on "Britain and the Euro: The Political Implications of Britain's 'opt-out' of EMU'. Spent all day in the uni library today, with little to show for it, and have a meeting with my supervisor at 11am tomorrow morning...oh the joys

ha ha chess is a real mans sport! i love the whole toilet break controversies!

incidently did u read about that guy that died recently? the american guy who was supposedly a wonder kid, beat Kasparov ( i think ) a couple of guys and was feted as an all american hero, but went absolutely mental and ended up hating america?

Bobby Fischer. A complete one-off, and along with Kasparov, one of the two greatest players ever. When he beat Boris Spassky to take the title in Reykjavik in 1972, he was the first Westerner in living memory to be World Champion: the Soviet Union had developed such a systematic model, picking out talented kids and 'schooling' them in the rough and tumble of top level chess, that it had become a cartel: no-one else ever got a look-in. But Fischer somehow triumphed in spite of this; and because the Cold War was at its height, the contest took on far deeper political significance, and was, ridiculously, seen as a vindication for capitalism over communism.

Unfortunately, along with Fischer's genius went a streak which wasn't just stubborn, or even merely paranoid: in his wisdom, he laid down an impossible set of conditions in order for the next contest, against Anatoly Karpov in 1975, to be organised. So FIDE had little option other than to strip Fischer of his title: adding to the massive chip on his shoulder, and enabling him to develop mythical, pedestal-like status. Because he didn't play competitively again until 1992, any Champion had to put up with Fischer's claims that he was the real holder: which made his decision to come out of retirement for a one-off 'rematch' with Spassky sixteen years ago all the more fascinating. Despite years living as a total recluse, his play was still of remarkably high quality - but because the contest was staged in Sarajevo, in deliberate contravention of US sanctions at the time of the Balkan conflict, he ended up on the run, and unable to return to his home country again.

While writing my doctorate, I've had a few extended periods of isolation (say, a few months without much human contact), and have felt myself lose the plot a wee bit during those times. So it's hardly surprising that Fischer's decades of total isolation from the outside world sent him stark raving bonkers: ranting about Zionist and Jewish conspiracies, CIA agents out to get him, and so on and so on. What happened to him after his triumph in 1972 was such a shame: but perhaps the price he had to pay for such extraordinary genius.

Bobby Fischer. A complete one-off, and along with Kasparov, one of the two greatest players ever. When he beat Boris Spassky to take the title in Reykjavik in 1972, he was the first Westerner in living memory to be World Champion: the Soviet Union had developed such a systematic model, picking out talented kids and 'schooling' them in the rough and tumble of top level chess, that it had become a cartel: no-one else ever got a look-in. But Fischer somehow triumphed in spite of this; and because the Cold War was at its height, the contest took on far deeper political significance, and was, ridiculously, seen as a vindication for capitalism over communism.

Unfortunately, along with Fischer's genius went a streak which wasn't just stubborn, or even merely paranoid: in his wisdom, he laid down an impossible set of conditions in order for the next contest, against Anatoly Karpov in 1975, to be organised. So FIDE had little option other than to strip Fischer of his title: adding to the massive chip on his shoulder, and enabling him to develop mythical, pedestal-like status. Because he didn't play competitively again until 1992, any Champion had to put up with Fischer's claims that he was the real holder: which made his decision to come out of retirement for a one-off 'rematch' with Spassky sixteen years ago all the more fascinating. Despite years living as a total recluse, his play was still of remarkably high quality - but because the contest was staged in Sarajevo, in deliberate contravention of US sanctions at the time of the Balkan conflict, he ended up on the run, and unable to return to his home country again.

While writing my doctorate, I've had a few extended periods of isolation (say, a few months without much human contact), and have felt myself lose the plot a wee bit during those times. So it's hardly surprising that Fischer's decades of total isolation from the outside world sent him stark raving bonkers: ranting about Zionist and Jewish conspiracies, CIA agents out to get him, and so on and so on. What happened to him after his triumph in 1972 was such a shame: but perhaps the price he had to pay for such extraordinary genius.

Thats the guy - did he beat Spassky in the rematch?

Doing mine on "Britain and the Euro: The Political Implications of Britain's 'opt-out' of EMU'. Spent all day in the uni library today, with little to show for it, and have a meeting with my supervisor at 11am tomorrow morning...oh the joys

Good topic though. If you make the best of it, you should end up with a pretty decent mark: it's of real interest, I'd say.

Thats the guy - did he beat Spassky in the rematch?

Yup: convincingly too. Though in fairness, Spassky was never comfortable with the huge global attention in 1972 (probably because he was much more 'normal' and well rounded than his extraordinary contemporary), and come the rematch, he was as fascinated to see how Fischer would do as anyone else.

I have a complete lack of motivation with my Honours Project and it's due on the 22nd!

Fortunately about half of it had to be submitted in January as a first draft so at least I have some of it written. But I enjoyed that bit cos I like my topic so the literature review is going to be a barsteward.

I've lost all interest in writing completely!