Phrases You Hate....

Guest GhostHunter

To keep in theme with other threads...

What sayings/phrases really get on your bazookas...

I'll start...and this really parps me off

"Can I borrow a light ?"

Yeah - like exactly HOW are you going to repay me that ?

I'm still waiting to get all those "lights" I've lent out back - when I do, I'm going to be King of the Flame.

Not really a phrase but when people go "sorry" after you say something then half way through you repeating it, answer

If you heard why did you ask again

Grrr

Using 'obviously' at the start of an answer when you've asked someone a question.

If it was feckin' obvious, i wouldn't have asked.

Apparently I say apparently a lot which according to my dad is apparently really annoying.

Literally...

a pet hate of mine, especially when used with the sense "figuratively"!

"that literally makes my blood boil!" - for example.

CompleteIdiot

"Thank you for holding. Your call is important to us."

No it isn't. You'd have someone to answer it if it was.

a pet hate of mine, especially when used with the sense "figuratively"!

"that literally makes my blood boil!" - for example.

I literally cant stand that guy that sits behind us and shouts at Robbie and Miko!

I have to calm the rage building inside me every time some eejit fitba player or manager says that someone gives 110% GRRRRR

No they feckin don't they may give 100% but they can't feckin give 110% it's not possible so stop saying it, it really gets on my nipples:ahhhhhhh::ahhhhhhh::ahhhhhhh:

People from edinburgh - " eh" the borders - "ken" glasgow - "pal"

not sure about noth wise

I think borders folk use the word 'mun' at the end of sentances. Alot of people from East Lothian use 'ken' though.

To keep in theme with other threads...

What sayings/phrases really get on your bazookas...

I'll start...and this really parps me off

"Can I borrow a light ?"

Yeah - like exactly HOW are you going to repay me that ?

I'm still waiting to get all those "lights" I've lent out back - when I do, I'm going to be King of the Flame.

I knew you were tight, but grudging someone the teensy wee bit petrol that comes out of a lighter? Jeezo.;)

I think borders folk use the word 'mun' at the end of sentances. Alot of people from East Lothian use 'ken' though.

yeah we use ken alot, ken what i mean.

also use the word "ben" alot which bugs people.

"Goal for hibs" never ceases to wind me up. :mad:

"I'm having a party, don't bother bringing anything" :mad::mad::mad:;)

Anything with 'GTF' in it....grr...

Incorrect/awkward use of 'myself' and 'yourself'...

Exclamation mark overkill can ruin ANY phrase....

Anything with 'GTF' in it....grr...

Incorrect/awkward use of 'myself' and 'yourself'...

Exclamation mark overkill can ruin ANY phrase....

GTF!!!!!!!!!!!

"Wur" when football managers mean to say "our" - half of them actually know better.

Worst at the moment is "Pwned", yes "Pwned" with a P.

To use it is to celebrate illiteracy.

I'm as tolerant of typos as the next man, they are forgiveable and some are difficult to spot but "Pwn" looks effall like "Own".

"Wur" when football managers mean to say "our" - half of them actually know better.

Worst at the moment is "Pwned", yes "Pwned" with a P.

To use it is to celebrate illiteracy.

I'm as tolerant of typos as the next man, they are forgiveable and some are difficult to spot but "Pwn" looks effall like "Own".

Pwned was originally a typo, in a game map. Think it was World of Warcraft. When you lost it said something like "you got pwned".

I think it's fine when you're on the net, but I'd never use it IRL ;)

blondejamtart

The company I work for is trying to get us all to fill in an "engagement survey" at the moment which is full of stupid, annoying phrases like "thinking outside the box" and "blue sky thinking" and all that ****!!

Suspect Device

'Step up to the plate'..:eek:

'Run it up the flagpole, see if it flies'..:eek:

using the word 'sexy' to describe a business deal..:eek:

....all corporate BS really..:nooo::nooo::nooo:

What literally makes my blood boil (;)) is the phrase:

"It's a big ask"

THAT MAKES NO SENSE!

"Time will heal your broken heart..."

No. Actually him buried 6 feet under will heal it a lot more quickly. :P

"Time will heal your broken heart..."

No. Actually him buried 6 feet under will heal it a lot more quickly. :P

Broken hearts are notoriously difficult to heal. It usually involves a good few hours in surgery with highly qualified consultants and nursing staff followed by a drastic change to diet and exercise regimes.

Leave it to time alone and it will surely only accelerate death.

Having worked in a supermarket in my younger days the phrase-

'I couldn't see it for looking at it' always fcks me right off