Anyone Know Any Good Guitar Teachers?

hmfcdoug

Decided I need to use up some of my spare time more productively, was wondering if anyone knows of any decent places in Edinburgh that do guitar lessons, I am a complete beginner, so anyone with first hand experience of starting from scratch would be appreciated!

Cheers :thumb:

Hi Doug,Im a beginner also, I was been messin about for a month or so then decided to get a bit more serious. I thought the same as yourself that it may be worth getting lessons but most people i speak to say teach yourself so i have for the past 3 weeks now and i can probably play about 10 or so songs (not brilliantly but I can see progress). The main thing you will get from a teacher is an understanding of scales and music in general but may bore you out of learning. I have picked a few songs that I liked learned some chords and am now ready to move onto the next level. Its sometimes frustrating but all in all Im finding it very satisfying. I may be wrong and some other more experienced guitarists on here may give you different advice but I do feel like im getting somewhere.

I started by learning chords such as a, d, c, g, am, f, and e the range of songs that can fit in to these chords is amazing.

So far Ive got

Wish you were here Pink Floyd

Redemption Song Bob Marley

Lady Madonna The Beatles

Bad moon rising Creadence Clearwater

and a few others.

try ultimateguitar.com for some songs and online lessons it may help.

All the best let me know how you get on and I'll compare notes.

I P Knightley
The main thing you will get from a teacher is an understanding of scales and music in general but may bore you out of learning.

Unless you can pick it all up instinctively (and I hate those barstids who can!), being given an appreciation of techniques, music theory, scales and chord structures will help you immensely.