'Scottish, Not British.'

S.N.T.H.

Are you British or Scottish?  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Are you British or Scottish?

maybe because they are fighting for the cause of what over half of the scottish population want, independence.. British? Aye right.

freeeeeeeeeeedddddddddddooooooooooooommmmmmmmm!

Have a word love. "fighting for the cause" makes you sound like Mel Gibson.

The debate over tender is cringeworthingly (possible new word?) pedantic.

• Replies 150

The stickers are nothing to do with the SNP. They were made up and used by the some of the tartan army as far as i'm aware.

Sadly, there's plenty of need in the mind of your typical Scottish nationalist racist. :sad:

Sad but true.

On a side note, the sullying of Edinburgh by this garbage along with the mess the Tram works are making is not the image of this great city we should be selling to tourists, particularly at this peak time of year. We're better than this... :sad:

Patrick Bateman
Yet more nonsense. I suggest you swot up on the law before you come out with all your barrack room lawyer nonsense. :rolleyes:

I'm disappointed that you alighted the "Traditional bus" only to board the "Easily offended" service :sad:

heartgarfunkel

Scotland/England at war is in the past, where it should be.

The future will have us as equal, prosperous and friendly neighbouring nations.

What rot;) - of course England and Scotland will immediately go to war if Scotland becomes independent within Europe. Look at the violent retaliation of the English when their city of Manchester was sacked by loyal Brittonic/Ulster Scots following Glasgow Rangers:rolleyes: Imagine if these aggressive Scots dared to peacefully and democratically become constitutionally independent - the hordes of irate Angles and Saxons from the northern English counties and southern shires would use stag weekends in Edinburgh as an excuse to besiege ruined castles in their Paxmanesque fury at consensus and political and economic dialogue between culturally close neighbours. Like Scotland and England. Or France and Spain.

Next you'll be telling us that Norway and Sweden haven't been at war since Norway decided to go it on its own a hundred years ago. Or that Belgium and the Kingdom of the Netherlands haven't been involved in a bitter civil war since the demise of the tension between the United Provinces and southern Netherlands in 1831 when the Belgians became the Belgians. Check out the Iberian conflict between Spain & Portugal.

You are having a laugh aren't you.

That will come one day, fighting for the cause, then we will see how brave our Scots Republicans are. If you are willing to fight for a cause you have to be willing to die for that cause as well.

MOD EDIT We're not interested in all this sectarian ****.

A Scottish Republic will be won through diplomatic means! Not the medieval pish you're on about.

In a union of two parties, should the fruits of that union not be split 50/50 as in a marriage? If I am stupid, just point out exactly where I am stupid - that would help to make up my mind (your response would help me decide):)

Pants Shaton
You're a ****ing joke!

**** off! We're not interested in all this sectarian ****.

A Scottish Republic will be won through diplomatic means! Not the medieval pish you're on about.

You do your cause no favours with this offensive rant.

PS. Equality is wrong. Equality of opportunity isn't, or is that too nuanced?

You are having a laugh aren't you.

That will come one day, fighting for the cause, then we will see how brave our Scots Republicans are. If you are willing to fight for a cause you have to be willing to die for that cause as well.

There are a small number of people who would take violent and illegal action for an independent Scotland, just like here are some who would do the same to maintain the union.

However, I think this issue will be decided by democratic means rather than civil war.

What rot;) - of course England and Scotland will immediately go to war if Scotland becomes independent within Europe. Look at the violent retaliation of the English when their city of Manchester was sacked by loyal Brittonic/Ulster Scots following Glasgow Rangers:rolleyes: Imagine if these aggressive Scots dared to peacefully and democratically become constitutionally independent - the hordes of irate Angles and Saxons from the northern English counties and southern shires would use stag weekends in Edinburgh as an excuse to besiege ruined castles in their Paxmanesque fury at consensus and political and economic dialogue between culturally close neighbours. Like Scotland and England. Or France and Spain.

Next you'll be telling us that Norway and Sweden haven't been at war since Norway decided to go it on its own a hundred years ago. Or that Belgium and the Kingdom of the Netherlands haven't been involved in a bitter civil war since the demise of the tension between the United Provinces and southern Netherlands in 1831 when the Belgians became the Belgians. Check out the Iberian conflict between Spain & Portugal.

:):):):):):)

$ilvery_Moon
maybe because they are fighting for the cause of what over half of the scottish population want, independence.. British? Aye right.

:107years: Where did that marvel of a statistic come from?

It isnt scottish money anyway. considering scotland hosts 2 of the biggest banks in the world i find it damn near impossiable for ANYONE to reject a scottish banknote considering the 'bill' is UK sterling which by the british banking code is legal tender in the united kingdom.

still good banter donw in london when you get in a taxi from stansted & it costs ?18 & you ask the driver would you like an english tenner or a scottish 20?!

9/10 they go for the tenner, although its even better when you go to a restruaunt & only have scottish notes. (free food)!!!!

I'd love to know what parts of London you've been visiting. Nearly everywhere I've ever been in London (I've lived there as well) has taken Scottish notes without question.

Proud to be both British and Scottish.

:eek:You can't say that.

In the end, i think some of these nationalists are obsessed and have a complex about England or being British.

Be honest, do we have such a sheeite life we need to be independent to flourish? Don`t think so.

I have books on Scottish history and i love finding out more about my country`s past. I love where i stay and i am proud to be Scottish.

Yes, Scotland has been shafted on ocassion, esp under Thatcher, but as a whole i hardly think we are a poor country or being run by a dictatorship.

In fact, i wouldn`t trust the amatuerish SNP to run my country, it sends a shiver down my spine at the thought. Most politicians are just self obsessed these days, can`t trust them.

Stewart MacD

I have a passport which says at the top "European Union" .

Underneath there is, unfortunately in larger print, "United Kingdom of... ".

Inside there is quaint mediaewval sounding garbage about Her Britannic Slagjesty. Give us a break.

I call it my Euro passport, to distinguish it from my antipodean one.

Hopefully I will add to my collection soon with a Scottish one.

Another Nationalist undermines the cause by referring to Her Majesty as 'Her Slagjesty'.

Such great wit. :mw_rolleyes:

coppercrutch

I do love the idea that we are in some way ruled by the English. The opposite is so clearly obvious.

PM - Scottish

Chancellor - Scottish

Old PM - Raised in Scotland.

Aye us poor jocks are being ****ed on by the English right enough.

I am proud to be Scottish and British. If anyone has a problem with that they can **** off and die. Slowly.

Another Nationalist undermines the cause by referring to Her Majesty as 'Her Slagjesty'.

Such great wit. :mw_rolleyes:

My understanding is that the SNP are not a republican party. I would imagine that there are more Republicans who support the union than want independence. :)

coppercrutch

Can't we all just get along................:)

How about we unite in our undiluted hatred of all things Old Firm.

See there is some common groud afterall !!

My understanding is that the SNP are not a republican party. I would imagine that there are more Republicans who support the union than want independence. :)

We're not republican but we're not monarchist either.

We'd have a referendum a few years down the line.

Patrick Bateman

Its interesting to note that any anti-British sentiment is automatically considered anti-english. What about the Welsh?

I'm offended :(

Why don't the SNP put up or shut up?? Call the referendum now!! Why can't we have a Scottish governmant that is actually getting on with running the country rather than biding their time waiting for the best chance to have a referendum ???

Why can't they do both?

Do you think no other governments or political parties have short, medium and long term plans?

All governments hold referenda and elections when they believe they have the best chance of winning. That's their right. :)

Because we were elected under the mandate of holding a referenda in 2010.

The SNP has done more for this country in the past year that the Labour party has done in 9!

Why won't Broon call an election now?

Guest Freewheelin' Jambo

I wish the Braveheart brigade would really study Scottish history pre 1707 and see what a truly backward, p*sspoor, divided, clannish bunch of no-hopers we all were.

How many of our Kings died violent deaths? James the First, Second, Third and Fourth all died violently. If it was not fighting the English, it was fighting there own lords.

The Lowlanders despised the Highlands and vice versa. All this modern kilt - wearing crap is utterly embarassing. More Scots fought on the Government side at Culloden than English. Scots were so strife stricken by internal squabbling and civil wars, that the country could never get on its feet. Darien was a classic example of Scots bungling which is conveniently blamed on the English which is partly true, but was still a total feck up which bankrupped the nation to the extent that the Union was inevitable.

Since the Union Scots went into the world and left their mark to an extent that they never could on their own and like no other people on earth for a such a small country. Canada and New Zealand were practically created by Scots. Scots medicine, science and engineering lead the world. And remember, the English are the most tolerant nation on earth. They allowed so many Scots amongst others to play big parts in everything. Because they recognised our talents once we stopped fighting amongst ourselves and getting NO WHERE.

We have always been a poverty stricken country. Even today. We are the sick man of Europe with a National Health Service where any Junkie, Jakey or layabout can fully rely on handouts costing them nothing. Even with the NHS the general health of the nation is terrible as it has been for centuries. So where would fat Eck find the money to pay for this once the cord is cut from England. North Sea Oil? Balls. If he thinks BRITISH companies like BP Shell etc will allow these p*ssant wee nationalists to disturb the revenue they are earning they are deluded.

The English were a country that could unite in times of national crisis. The Scots were always divided preferring to fight each other. We really have not changed that much in all these hundreds of years. If you want to put your own and your children's future at risk over shortbread tin politics go ahead.

I will never relinquish my BRITISH passport, just like I will never leave SCOTLAND. I sweated blood for SCOTLAND as a kid and dont need lessons in NATIONALISM. I was put off that concept as a kid listening to Afrikaners going on about their identity and wars fought a century ago and wrongs committed againsts them ad nauseum. Little men. Little people.

In the end, i think some of these nationalists are obsessed and have a complex about England or being British.

Be honest, do we have such a sheeite life we need to be independent to flourish? Don`t think so.

I have books on Scottish history and i love finding out more about my country`s past. I love where i stay and i am proud to be Scottish.

Yes, Scotland has been shafted on ocassion, esp under Thatcher, but as a whole i hardly think we are a poor country or being run by a dictatorship.

In fact, i wouldn`t trust the amatuerish SNP to run my country, it sends a shiver down my spine at the thought. Most politicians are just self obsessed these days, can`t trust them.

You have pretty much summed up my thoughts on the Scottish/British thing between your 2 posts mate. I have voted SNP in the past though, i just choose not to vote at all now.

As an aside, i'm surprised the TA aren't that busy glueing badges to their glengarries to prove how many "Tours" they've done, to be responsible for the stickers.

It just makes a mess of the city, as someone else has pointed out.

The SNP has done more for this country in the past year that the Labour party has done in 9!

Hmm a glittering array of earth ****tering decisions and unique forward thinking !!

Lets see.......

"Established Council of Economic Advisers to provide independent advice to increase Scotland's sustainable economic growth rate" - in other words, an attempt to create the impression that somehow their economic policies are objective and academically approved and thus beyond criticism. Heaven forbid that Government Ministers should come up with their OWN ideas on the economy!

"Agreement to abolish tolls of the Forth and Tay bridges " - so, a decision about whether or not it is right that road users pay a quid to cross a bridge. Earth ****tering. Oh and not to forget thw job losses involved!

"Continuation of A&E services at Ayr and Monklands hospitals" - shouldn't this have been a decision for the Health Trusts concerned? Clearly not: the SNP evidently believe in politicising health care decisions. After all, nice pictures of happy local residents cheering outside A&E units can't do your electoral chances any harm.

"Publication of a white paper on independence and launch of national conversation" - in other words, navel gazing by the SNP. As for this being a "conversation", what rubbish. Political parties should tell us BEFORE elections what they believe and thereafter, if they're elected, get on with it, not continue with further (pointless) so-called 'conversations'.

"Funding for 300 extra teachers and 250 more teacher training places from August, to drive down class sizes in P1 to 3; a commitment to providing additional funding for a phased 50 per cent increase in free nursery provision" - so, more money for a badly run, state controlled, wasteful education system. Spending money in this way of course allows the SNP to distract the electroate from the fundamental point that, unless state control over education is ended, things will never improve.

"Ongoing negotiations with Westminster on the transfer of responsibilities for firearms legislation to the Scottish Parliament to allow action on air weapons." - because Westminster politicians are clearly too stupid to do this.

"Set up Saltire Award for innovation in industry to reward the best efforts to develop cutting edge renewable energy technology " - Good to use the adjective"Saltire" whenever you can, just to reinforce how Scottish something is and thus how unpatriotic it would be to criticise it. This will go down well with politico-media luvvies. But what about ending the dumbing down of physics and chemistry teaching in schools? You might just find that that would have some effect in producing a new generation of graduates with the ability to develop cutting edge technology.

"Made a commitment to set a target of cutting emissions by 80 per cent by 2050. We will be drafting a Climate Change Bill to take this forward" - a climate change bill which will doubtless embody socialist ideas of how our lives should be controlled and constrained in a multitude of ways in order that we can collectively participate in this King Canute like and futile effort to prevent the sort of climate change which our planet has experienced over and over again since it was formed. Brilliant!

Guest Freewheelin' Jambo
Must be a tough life when you are so intolerent of other people's opinions.

Mr Sanctimonious on line I see...

You have pretty much summed up my thoughts on the Scottish/British thing between your 2 posts mate. I have voted SNP in the past though, i just choose not to vote at all now.

As an aside, i'm surprised the TA aren't that busy glueing badges to their glengarries to prove how many "Tours" they've done, to be responsible for the stickers.

It just makes a mess of the city, as someone else has pointed out.

Strange considering that you said to me and numerous others 6 weeks ago that your vote was SNP from now on.

You ken i have a few witnesses mate, one of them being Commander union, dukey.

I wish the Braveheart brigade would really study Scottish history pre 1707 and see what a truly backward, p*sspoor, divided, clannish bunch of no-hopers we all were.

How many of our Kings died violent deaths? James the First, Second, Third and Fourth all died violently. If it was not fighting the English, it was fighting there own lords.

The Lowlanders despised the Highlands and vice versa. All this modern kilt - wearing crap is utterly embarassing. More Scots fought on the Government side at Culloden than English. Scots were so strife stricken by internal squabbling and civil wars, that the country could never get on its feet. Darien was a classic example of Scots bungling which is conveniently blamed on the English which is partly true, but was still a total feck up which bankrupped the nation to the extent that the Union was inevitable.

Since the Union Scots went into the world and left their mark to an extent that they never could on their own and like no other people on earth for a such a small country. Canada and New Zealand were practically created by Scots. Scots medicine, science and engineering lead the world. And remember, the English are the most tolerant nation on earth. They allowed so many Scots amongst others to play big parts in everything. Because they recognised our talents once we stopped fighting amongst ourselves and getting NO WHERE.

We have always been a poverty stricken country. Even today. We are the sick man of Europe with a National Health Service where any Junkie, Jakey or layabout can fully rely on handouts costing them nothing. Even with the NHS the general health of the nation is terrible as it has been for centuries. So where would fat Eck find the money to pay for this once the cord is cut from England. North Sea Oil? Balls. If he thinks BRITISH companies like BP Shell etc will allow these p*ssant wee nationalists to disturb the revenue they are earning they are deluded.

The English were a country that could unite in times of national crisis. The Scots were always divided preferring to fight each other. We really have not changed that much in all these hundreds of years. If you want to put your own and your children's future at risk over shortbread tin politics go ahead.

I will never relinquish my BRITISH passport, just like I will never leave SCOTLAND. I sweated blood for SCOTLAND as a kid and dont need lessons in NATIONALISM. I was put off that concept as a kid listening to Afrikaners going on about their identity and wars fought a century ago and wrongs committed againsts them ad nauseum. Little men. Little people.

what he said with bells on

correct me if i am wrong but did you not once say you planed to emigrate so why do you care

Bomber Harris

Anyone see the stickers that popped up a while ago (think the bogs in Robbo's was where I saw the first) saying Heart of Midlothian, Britain First

Ladies or gents? :rolleyes:

$ilvery_Moon

:bravo: That sir is an excellent post.

Strange considering that you said to me and numerous others 6 weeks ago that your vote was SNP from now on.

You ken i have a few witnesses mate, one of them being Commander union, dukey.

I remember the night you are on about, in Footlights?

I think my point was that i'd vote SNP if it got Scottish Soldiers out of Iraq/Afghanistan.

As i say i have voted SNP in the past, i'm not ashamed of that, but i'll probably not even bother voting at the next election as i didn't at the last one (which would have been local).

And remember, the English are the most tolerant nation on earth. They allowed so many Scots amongst others to play big parts in everything. Because they recognised our talents once we stopped fighting amongst ourselves and getting NO WHERE.

don't believe that

There is at least as big a percentage of the English who would describe themselves as English not British than there are Scots who would prefer to be called Scots not British

and remember there are a lot of people who see England/UK as one and the same

and there are a helluva lot of English people moaning about being run by a Scottish PM and wanting an English parliament

joe kickass2

Good post (veered off a bit at the end though). Was listening to an irish comedian on Radio Scotland last week, he was very good but cannae mind his name. He played a Sinn Fein gig only if they could get him a gig at an equivalent Unionist joint - which they did! Anyway, his take on it was "are you sure you've really thought this through? 'hey you, our rich subsidising partner, the only part of UK with economic growth, we're off to try our own thing. see ya'" That's kind off how I see it.

heartgarfunkel

1How many of our Kings died violent deaths? James the First, Second, Third and Fourth all died violently. If it was not fighting the English, it was fighting there own lords.

2We have always been a poverty stricken country.

3The English were a country that could unite in times of national crisis. The Scots were always divided preferring to fight each other.

FJ, impressive post, but I'd like to reply to the above:

1. Medieval monarchy and lordship was a risky business. Can I refer you to the deaths of Edward II, Richard II, Henry VI, Richard III? Bother with the nobility? 'The Anarchy' due to King Stephen's War with Matilda and her followers; the first Baron's War of 1215-1217; the second Baron's War of 1264-1267; the so called 'Wars of the Roses' between 1455 and 1485.

2. Just not true. Scotland was in a very prosperous position in the thirteenth century - the invasion of 1296 was as much an economic disaster as a political and humanitarian one, following a century of peace. In times of peace, Scotland's eastern seaboard traded very profitably with our European neighbours. Unfortunately, we were physical neighbours with an extremely dynamic and aggressive nation state (one that nearly managed to throttle the life out of France, most of the while kicking the **** out of us, almost at will). The fact that Scotland's polity survived at all is remarkable, and testimony to inherent strength and resilience.

3. England uniting in the face of the national crisis of the Spanish threat in 1588 was so remarkable due to the divisions and bloodshed prior to, and following, that event. Witness: the English baronage inviting the heir of France to invade their country in 1215; the popularity of the rebel Simon de Montfort (Frenchman) before his death in 1265; the slaughter of the Yorkist/Lancastrian dynastic struggle in the fifteenth century; The Pilgrimage of Grace, 1536, put down with appalling savagery by the moderate Henry VIII; the Rising of the North, 1569, suppressed with equal zeal by his daughter, Elizabeth; the civil war of 1642 and 1651 between Parliamentarians and Royalists; the Monmouth rebellion of 1685; the southern panic in the face of the Jacobite invasion of 1745.

"The Scots were always divided preferring to fight each other" - National Covenant of 1638?

Thank goodness Scottish History is now being properly taught and researched in universities in Scotland and beyond. Schools are finally beginning to teach Scottish History. Hopefully Scots of all origin will have an objective, critical view of their own history. Their is much to be proud about, and there is much to be ashamed of, and from which to learn. They will know that 'Braveheart' is mostly offensive, inaccurate American fantasy, and that the 'Scotland's always been crap, and always will be' school of thought is as obsolete as it is subjective.

Hmm a glittering array of earth ****tering decisions and unique forward thinking !!

Lets see.......

"Established Council of Economic Advisers to provide independent advice to increase Scotland's sustainable economic growth rate" - in other words, an attempt to create the impression that somehow their economic policies are objective and academically approved and thus beyond criticism. Heaven forbid that Government Ministers should come up with their OWN ideas on the economy!

SO what you are saying is that ministers shouldn't listen to anyone? Not even experts?

"Agreement to abolish tolls of the Forth and Tay bridges " - so, a decision about whether or not it is right that road users pay a quid to cross a bridge. Earth ****tering. Oh and not to forget thw job losses involved! Something that has been called for for years and soemthing which brings the Forth and Tay bridges in line with every other bridge in Scotland.

"Continuation of A&E services at Ayr and Monklands hospitals" - shouldn't this have been a decision for the Health Trusts concerned? Clearly not: the SNP evidently believe in politicising health care decisions. After all, nice pictures of happy local residents cheering outside A&E units can't do your electoral chances any harm.

But I thought ministers should have their own ideas and do what they want? No? Well if you don't agree with keeping health care local then fair enough. Forcing people to drive hundreds of miles during a medical emergency is ridiculous. The SNP have stopped this happening.

"Publication of a white paper on independence and launch of national conversation" - in other words, navel gazing by the SNP. As for this being a "conversation", what rubbish. Political parties should tell us BEFORE elections what they believe and thereafter, if they're elected, get on with it, not continue with further (pointless) so-called 'conversations'. So we should be Independent. If you read the party manifesto we have said that we would launch a consultation followed by a referenda in 2010.

"Funding for 300 extra teachers and 250 more teacher training places from August, to drive down class sizes in P1 to 3; a commitment to providing additional funding for a phased 50 per cent increase in free nursery provision" - so, more money for a badly run, state controlled, wasteful education system. Spending money in this way of course allows the SNP to distract the electroate from the fundamental point that, unless state control over education is ended, things will never improve.You're ****ed off because we're spending more money on education?! Do you know how retarded that sounds?

"Ongoing negotiations with Westminster on the transfer of responsibilities for firearms legislation to the Scottish Parliament to allow action on air weapons." - because Westminster politicians are clearly too stupid to do this.And the fact that numerous petitions have been handed into the Scottish Parliament regarding the issue.

"Set up Saltire Award for innovation in industry to reward the best efforts to develop cutting edge renewable energy technology " - Good to use the adjective"Saltire" whenever you can, just to reinforce how Scottish something is and thus how unpatriotic it would be to criticise it. This will go down well with politico-media luvvies. But what about ending the dumbing down of physics and chemistry teaching in schools? You might just find that that would have some effect in producing a new generation of graduates with the ability to develop cutting edge technology.The Scottish Government using the word 'saltire'!!!! They must be stopped!!:rolleyes:

"Made a commitment to set a target of cutting emissions by 80 per cent by 2050. We will be drafting a Climate Change Bill to take this forward" - a climate change bill which will doubtless embody socialist ideas of how our lives should be controlled and constrained in a multitude of ways in order that we can collectively participate in this King Canute like and futile effort to prevent the sort of climate change which our planet has experienced over and over again since it was formed. Brilliant! Damn us for caring about the environment!!!

See my answers above.

In my opinion you are a very right wing individual, with little knowledge of the actual workings of the Scottish Parliament or any Parliament for that matter.

correct me if i am wrong but did you not once say you planed to emigrate so why do you care

You're wrong. I mentioned going abroad for a year here and there.