Dick Dastardly
Posted

Fletcher is number 8, which is quite strange. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Fletcher is number 8, which is quite strange. 

Is he not a replacement for Gilmour who wears 8?  Not sure though.

HeartsandonlyHearts
Posted

Gunn starting will make it even easier for me to complain even more than I do already.

Gunn is $#!te. In Clarke we trust.

Barney bulge
Posted

I hope Scotland lose every game due to a cheating VAR call/ Refereeing incompetence/ bias/ corruption/ shite angle review. 
Hanley scores an OG and Gunn chucks them in 

Spellczech
Posted

Gunn is bang average. Looks like Clarke is on rinse and repeat - same old mistakes...

Boris5115
Posted
7 minutes ago, Barney bulge said:

I hope Scotland lose every game due to a cheating VAR call/ Refereeing incompetence/ bias/ corruption/ shite angle review. 

Yip hope they get battered big time.

HeartsCobra
Posted

Just give Gordon the number one shirt you contrarian old fud! 

Morgan
Posted

Hanley, Dykes and now f****** Gunn.

God help us.

Heres Rixxy
Posted

Nothing to be read into those numbers. They generally all keep the same number camp after camp.

Triggers Broom
Posted
3 minutes ago, HeartsCobra said:

Just give Gordon the number one shirt you contrarian old fud! 

Shows loyalty to his favourite,

Hanley 5

Tierney 6

Dykes 9 

Adams 10 

But Gordon 21 , then again Angus Gunn auld man and Clarke go way back .

noticed over the last few years the national team are treading squad numbers like a club team, someone like Adam’s misses a camp someone else’s takes 10, next international break Adam’s has 10 again. 

Bob Loblaw
Posted

People need to take the Hearts tinted specs off. Gordon is 43, barely played the last year and has had significant spells out with injury this season.

I'd love him to get the nod and I doubt he'd let us down, but it's hardly some conspiracy if a guy 13 years younger plays. The goalie situation is a mess whichever way you turn.

Plenty on here were writing Gordon off on a regular basis when he was actually playing for us in his last season as no.1.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Bob Loblaw said:

People need to take the Hearts tinted specs off. Gordon is 43, barely played the last year and has had significant spells out with injury this season.

I'd love him to get the nod and I doubt he'd let us down, but it's hardly some conspiracy if a guy 13 years younger plays. The goalie situation is a mess whichever way you turn.

Plenty on here were writing Gordon off on a regular basis when he was actually playing for us in his last season as no.1.

But still played more games than Gunn 😂

CM Funk
Posted
2 minutes ago, Bob Loblaw said:

Gunn too has played next to **** all all season though. And Gordon done more than enough in the qualifying campaign and when available for us did a job too. We could’ve looked back at a title winning season thanks to two points he saved against Dundee. But I get your point. My issue is you can lay a few blame for goals at Gunn’s feet at the last Euros so I’m not sure going with him is the best thing.

Bob Loblaw
Posted
3 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

But still played more games than Gunn 😂

Gunn played 5 times for Scotland in the last season and once for Forest. 

So, no.

Posted
2 minutes ago, CM Funk said:

Gunn too has played next to **** all all season though. And Gordon done more than enough in the qualifying campaign and when available for us did a job too. We could’ve looked back at a title winning season thanks to two points he saved against Dundee. But I get your point. My issue is you can lay a few blame for goals at Gunn’s feet at the last Euros so I’m not sure going with him is the best thing.

Gunn played once this past season probably about the same the season before.The guy is shit

Bob Loblaw
Posted
3 minutes ago, CM Funk said:

Gunn played in 4 out of the 6 qualifiers. We kept 2 clean sheets and won 3.

I'm not a massive fan by any stretch, but whoever gets the nod is going to be a worry. Gunn has by and large been alright for Scotland, but yes he definitely was weak for one or two against Germany. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Bob Loblaw said:

Gunns number of appearances this year should definitely be enough to put him

in poll position ahead of arguably Scotlands best ever keeper. 

Goalie situations a mess is the bit you got right. 

CM Funk
Posted
Just now, Bob Loblaw said:

Gunn played in 4 out of the 6 qualifiers. We kept 2 clean sheets and won 3.

I'm not a massive fan by any stretch, but whoever gets the nod is going to be a worry. Gunn has by and large been alright for Scotland, but yes he definitely was weak for one or two against Germany. 

For avoidance of doubt I want Gordon to start because I think he deserves it at a WC but also because he’s as good as any option we have and better than Kelly. But I won’t be losing it if Gunn is picked. Just hope he doesn’t do anything calamitous. Like when Ralston was picked when no one wanted him there and his mistake lead to a crucial goal at the Euros.

HeartsandonlyHearts
Posted
4 minutes ago, Bob Loblaw said:

13 years younger but $#!t.

12 hours of drinking prior to a 9pm kick off over here will see a lot of unhappy campers if Clarke fails next Saturday.

Come on the Haiti.

Bob Loblaw
Posted
1 minute ago, CM Funk said:

For avoidance of doubt I want Gordon to start because I think he deserves it at a WC but also because he’s as good as any option we have and better than Kelly. But I won’t be losing it if Gunn is picked. Just hope he doesn’t do anything calamitous. Like when Ralston was picked when no one wanted him there and his mistake lead to a crucial goal at the Euros.

I also want Gordon picked but if he's not it's hardly odd that a guy his age, who we have no idea if he's still as sharp after a year out, doesn't get picked.

As I said earlier, he had plenty critics on here the season before the one just past. A year on with effectively no football and injuries and it's seen as some kind of scandal if he doesn't play.

Posted (edited)

If Gunn plays, that removes the last piece from me getting behind Haiti, Morocco and Brazil. A dinosaur of a coach, a squad made up of his favourites plus a couple of youngsters from his old club and a friend's son combined with Shankland's snake like behaviour provides further reason to give this lot the cold shoulder.

If Scotland win, meh as we will get pumped eventually. If they lose, hopefully by a penalty awarded when it shouldn't be, then I'll be able to sit back and laugh at another 4 years of piss being forced down Scotland's throat 

For those who don't believe Gordon justifies place and that Gunn is answer, I'll give you the performance against Germany where Gunn looked like a rabbit in headlights, albeit a rabbit with chocolate brittle wrists.

If he takes Gordon to another tournament and leaves him on bench, that's a humiliating end to a fantastic career and Gordy deserves to be treated with far more respect than that.

Left on bench for Marshall because of 1 penalty save, left out of squad altogether because manager didn't like being pressured by everyone in next tournament and in both, keepers were shit when it mattered. You'd think he'd learn his lesson but that doesn't look likely.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga
Triggers Broom
Posted
6 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Gunns number of appearances this year should definitely be enough to put him

in poll position ahead of arguably Scotlands best ever keeper. 

Goalie situations a mess is the bit you got right. 

Bit worrying if 1 gets injured and Liam McFarlane is drafted in. 
Bain should be in there ahead of Kelly.

Chairman of the Bored
Posted

Gunn’s not even the best keeper in his household. 

Posted (edited)

Ok I will play fair.Clarke probably can't win as if it goes wrong he will probably be crucified for playing a 43yr old or he will get crucified cause Gunn has previously shit it in a tournaments and does it again.So lets hope whoever plays against Haiti either has a cracking game or has has hardly anything to do.

Edited by vegas-voss
Bob Loblaw
Posted

Clarke got the Gordon situation horribly wrong for the last two Euros. He was the better choice than Marshall who he remained loyal to because of qualification and he was both a better choice than Gunn and not taking him at all was awful.

I also hope Gordon gets the nod, I just don't think sentimentality really comes into it for such a crucial role at a WC. They'll train and play another game each most likely as we have a closed doors friendly too. If Gunn is deemed to look sharper at that point I think it's fair enough. 

There's not much point getting bent out of shape about squad numbers though as ultimately it means nothing. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

Ok I will play fair.Clarke probably can't win as if it goes wrong he will probably be crucified for playing a 43yr old or he will get crucified cause Gunn has previously shit it in a tournaments and does it again.So lets hope whoever plays against Haiti either has a cracking game or has has hardly anything to do.

With Gunn playing, what could possibly go wrong. Any shot from anywhere will cause panic with the English Pereira in goals.

HeartsandonlyHearts
Posted

“Do you want to play for Scotland”

“No I’m English”

”how about now”

”still English”

”your Dad is Scottish”

”I’m not”

” still no”

”always no, I’m English”

”last chance”

”nope”

”you do know you’re like 25th on the depth chart, right”

”hoots mon, ach aye the noo”

Dick Dastardly
Posted
1 hour ago, joondalupjambo said:

You're probably correct. You would've thought someone more likely to start would get that number though.

Posted

The inadequacies of Ralston and Gunn were horribly exposed at Euro 2024. It beggars belief that this combo are still in contention for international caps, never mind going to the WC. It’s not as if either has been shining in their respective domestic leagues this past season and so have justified their selection based on merit. Both have been bit-part players in 2025/26. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, joondalupjambo said:

The strips would’ve been printed up weeks ago, probably just a like for like change as you say.

Spelling
Posted
1 hour ago, Barney bulge said:

Spot on

Posted (edited)

He's gonna **** Gordon over again, eh?

******* auld pr1ck

Why wasn't he playing at the 0-5 liedoon game? Him and campbell money missing from the squad?

Anyone remember? London Hearts justs shows he wasn't there

Edited by Ricardo Quaresma
hows -> shows
Doc Rob
Posted (edited)

I reckon Gordon will start. Neither has been playing regularly. Clarke’s major fault is too much loyalty to the players who did the business for him before. That’s why Marshall got the nod for Euro 2020 and it’s why I think Gordon will get the nod this time.

Edited by Doc Rob
HeartsCobra
Posted
1 hour ago, Bob Loblaw said:

22 years for Scotland. I think being given the number 1 jersey for the World Cup would have been a respectful nod to what Craig has done for Scotland over the years in striving to get Scotland to this stage.

Henroddy
Posted

Look at 1 - 11. That will NOT be starting 11. For all the CG fans out there it's still all good. 👍

Posted

Gunn to play and let a goal in the middle of the goals with his wet lettuce hands. 

HeartsandonlyHearts
Posted
6 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Gunn to play and let a goal in the middle of the goals with his wet lettuce hands. 

From your lips to the World Cup Gods ears.

Posted
19 minutes ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said:

From your lips to the World Cup Gods ears.

Gunn will cost us a game and Craig will come in and keep a blank via Brazil.

Mirror
Posted

Let's not kid ourselves, look at what Clarke did at the last 2 tournaments.

Gunn will play all 3 matches probably with Soutar and Hanley in defence.

There will be no explanation needed when we finish bottom of the group

DxB Hearts
Posted

A kid who has played about 20 mins of adult football being scotlands 8 at a fricking World Cup is madness. Utter madness. 

Hopefully it’s not something we need to read into because Kelly was given the 12 shirt and there’s no way Gordon is 3rd choice so it may be nothing. 

Posted

I hope he gives Gordon the Haiti game at a minimum.

Posted
10 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

He's gonna **** Gordon over again, eh?

******* auld pr1ck

Why wasn't he playing at the 0-5 liedoon game? Him and campbell money missing from the squad?

Anyone remember? London Hearts justs shows he wasn't there

Was he not at Stamford Bridge?

Posted
5 minutes ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Was he not at Stamford Bridge?

played in a game only weeks earlier, I'm sure I looked it up on a scotsport video

soonbe110
Posted
11 hours ago, Bob Loblaw said:

Gunn has played virtually no first team foot ball for over a year.   Kelly doesn’t even have a club atm.   Gordon is the obvious choice to start. 

Posted

He chose mediocre Marshall over Gordon at the Covid Euros. That was when CG was arguably at the top of his game. Was outstanding in the championship season then went on to win POTY next again year. So can easily see him get screwed over again. Clarke is a wallpaper.

As others have said that would remove the annoyance of being torn between wanting Craig to do well and wanting Scotland completely annihilated in each game.  

🇭🇹 🇲🇦 🇧🇷 

Posted
38 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

played in a game only weeks earlier, I'm sure I looked it up on a scotsport video

Posted
10 hours ago, colinmaroon said:

Gunn will cost us a game and Craig will come in and keep a blank via Brazil.

If it's anything like the last two Euros he will stick with the keeper

Posted
19 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Gunn has played virtually no first team foot ball for over a year.   Kelly doesn’t even have a club atm.   Gordon is the obvious choice to start. 

Kelly is a total head scratcher.Bain should have easily been ahead of him.Clarke has always had this mentality of taking guys that probably have next to zero chance of playing but he thinks are good for group harmony.