Shankland completes move to Rangers ( merged )

Smithian
Posted
1 minute ago, Smithian said:

I ignored this story until the Scott McIntosh tweet.

It comes down to the transfer clause. If the release clause is 7 figure, fair play to Shankland and good luck. If it’s in the 6 figures, it rapidly gets more depressing the lower it goes. 

Waiting to see where this goes. 

Just adding to this. I’m currently in a very dark place reading these rumors. Which is sad since I’m in a sunny vacation spot. 

If the worst case scenario (no fee) is accurate or even close, then I’ll defer to trust in this board. I trusted in Budge, I trust Paterson, I trust Anderson, I trust Franks, I trust the FOH contingent. 

The path forward will have ups and downs. Trust the endpoint, not the waypoints.  

• Replies 4.6k

• RustyRightPeg

• Ricardo Quaresma

south morocco
Posted
1 minute ago, GBJambo said:

If he goes to them then he can get to **** 

The abuse he is going to get next season….

He will 

Spellczech
Posted

LOL now why would the weegia want to distract Hearts fans?

jonnyinfo
Posted

If shankland goes then I'd be quite happy if McInnes follows him out the door, go balls deep into Jamestown and get a proper coach in 

PaintTheTownMaroon
Posted

There’s no way Shanks waited all the way til July then suddenly changed his mind and agreed a 3 year deal. There must’ve been some sort of clause offered that persuaded him to return. 

Hertz51
Posted

All this pant wetting for nothing. As the “article” says I suppose you’ll see. Either rangers cough up the cash or Shanks is a hearts player next season.

JJ1984
Posted
1 minute ago, jonnyinfo said:

If shankland goes then I'd be quite happy if McInnes follows him out the door, go balls deep into Jamestown and get a proper coach in 

Aye that makes sense, if we lose our captain and best player, talisman the lot lets be happy to lose the best manager we have had in a generation tae.

JamboGee92
Posted
4 minutes ago, Rick Sanchez said:

He's said his other clubs will will do business with them if the money is right and it suits the player.

He's said our players would more than likely have offers from bigger and better than the OF.

Shankland is probably an exception tbf. Nobody of note wanted him and the OF is probably his ceiling.

Also Shankland wasn't a JTA signing so this won't apply to him. 

Hungry hippo
Posted

If we do have a release clause then I think it needs to be remembered how reluctant he was to sign a new deal this time last year.

It may well have been this release clause or nothing and having him for the last season was definitely worth it.

Hoping he stays but it doesn't look likely.

Glamorgan Jambo
Posted

Whatever the truth about a release cause is unless he’s determined not to leave Scotland he’d be an idiot signing anything with anyone until after the World Cup. A few goals and performances and he’ll have lots of options.

Radio-Braga
Posted
4 minutes ago, jonnyinfo said:

Agree with this 

Jack Aubrey
Posted

Some things never change. Giving away our best players to Rangers.

So much for the new era. Hope it doesn’t happen but I suppose the fact we got McPake signed up early could have been a sign.

Pretty depressing still. You’d think he’d now have an almost unbreakable bond with Hearts after the emotional shock of this season. But once these guys get the urge to go to Ibrox theres nothing you can do. Like ****ing salmon going back to the stream.

Real shame if it happens. Great player for us. 

jonnyinfo
Posted
1 minute ago, JJ1984 said:

Aye that makes sense, if we lose our captain and best player, talisman the lot lets be happy to lose the best manager we have had in a generation tae.

McInnes wasn't a Jamestown manager, he was a stop gap, just like shanks 

Regular John
Posted

If he was to leave, we've probably had him for the absolute peak of his career and I think this season has shown us that noone in the squad is irreplacable, with the injuries throughout it and we always managed well.

Also, I suspect it's not a free transfer, but a minimum release clause if Huns come in.

Smithian
Posted
5 minutes ago, jonnyinfo said:

Why should I be mad at McInnes if Shankland goes away?

Barring some Middle Eastern petroleum royalty purchase Hearts, we’ll always be at risk of losing key players. 

south morocco
Posted
1 minute ago, Glamorgan Jambo said:

Whatever the truth about a release cause is unless he’s determined not to leave Scotland he’d be an idiot signing anything with anyone until after the World Cup. A few goals and performances and he’ll have lots of options.

Maybe he just wants to play for  Rangers before his career ends. Can’t blame him. We’ve had the best of him

Forrest
Posted

If it's true, it'll open up a huge chunk of wage budget for JTA to play with, even if it doesn't boost the coffers. 

Smithian
Posted
2 minutes ago, Jack Aubrey said:

Some things never change. Giving away our best players to Rangers.

So much for the new era. Hope it doesn’t happen but I suppose the fact we got McPake signed up early could have been a sign.

Pretty depressing still. You’d think he’d now have an almost unbreakable bond with Hearts after the emotional shock of this season. But once these guys get the urge to go to Ibrox theres nothing you can do. Like ****ing salmon going back to the stream.

Real shame if it happens. Great player for us. 

Souttar left. I wouldn’t trade Halkett for him. I would need time to decide if I’d trade Findlay or even Kent. 

This is a business. Rangers for now pay much more. Believe and have patience. In year 1 of Jamestown, we split the Old Firm. This is a dead cat bounce from the zombie reconstruction of a club that died a decade ago. 

GavK1012
Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, jonnyinfo said:

😂🤣😅

Nae donations to JKB and literally nae posts .... 

Edited by GavK1012
Typo
jonnyinfo
Posted
1 minute ago, Smithian said:

Why should I be mad at McInnes if Shankland goes away?

Barring some Middle Eastern petroleum royalty purchase Hearts, we’ll always be at risk of losing key players. 

No need to be mad at McInnes, he's been class, but, he's also a pretty basic coach

jonnyinfo
Posted
1 minute ago, GavK1012 said:

😂🤣😅

Embrace the future Gav 😁

Marty-man
Posted (edited)

image.thumb.png.179455d953a77a0628df941a7534b408.png

Edited by Marty-man
KariHMFC
Posted

Shankland can go and **** himself if he goes to rangers. 

Posted

Doesn't really feel like how a captain should leave tbh. 

steve123
Posted

I will probably get shot down for this- I would love Shankland to stay but if he does not I trust we will replace him adequately....

Braga was in the first year of our new adventure and if Shankland is on anywhere near speculated earning then there will be a wide bet.

Posted
1 minute ago, Marty-man said:

Then why would we announce a three year deal? That one doesn't add up.

Gorgiewave
Posted

We support Hearts, not any player.

steve123
Posted
3 minutes ago, Marty-man said:

All fair enough but why did Hearts call it a 3 year deal that was a bit pointless.

Posted

If Shanks goes I'd be stepping away from the 'cash in on Braga' plan.

Posted

You know the thing about those folks who run around saying the world is coming to an end in the next few months . . . there's always a chance one of them might be right by accident but after a while you learn to quit worrying about it.

Posted
1 minute ago, Gorgiewave said:

We support Hearts, not any player.

Smithian
Posted
Just now, OTT said:

Doesn't really feel like how a captain should leave tbh. 

Contracts are contracts, but if this is a false alarm then I’d like some agreement put in place linking Shanks more closely to the club. 

As much as this is a business, we need to believe the captain is here for a long time, not a good time.

Again, exit fee is important here. If worst case (free) is true…. Future captains must be more tied to the club financially. 

KariHMFC
Posted

Did think it was strange he hasn’t posted anything on instagram since the Celtic game

Posted

If he goes, hun rat. Wish him nothing but failure. 

If he doesn't then happy days. Love him. 

SectionN
Posted

Hope Hearts address this tomorrow either Via the EEN/Hearts Standard. 

KariHMFC
Posted

He’s quite clearly going, and tbh it’s a complete disaster. 

Jimw44
Posted

If this is true he can leave for nothing then hearts should not have signed him last year.  If true this is amateurish by hearts.  

Posted
Just now, Jimw44 said:

If this is true he can leave for nothing then hearts should not have signed him last year.  If true this is amateurish by hearts.  

How does that make any sense?

Jamtarts-1874
Posted

If this happens, especially for free or a small fee. Then this is gonna piss me off way more than losing the league on the last day tbh....

KariHMFC
Posted
Just now, Jamtarts-1874 said:

If this happens, especially for free or a small fee. Then this is gonna piss me off way more than losing the league on the last day tbh....

Aye 

jonnyinfo
Posted
1 minute ago, Jimw44 said:

I'd say this is McInnes' fault, so both should leave 

KentBelieveItsNotButter
Posted

Losing Cammy and shanks is two major people on the pitch and dressing room. I wouldn't sell Braga especially now unless it's ridiculous money

Posted
Just now, KentBelieveItsNotButter said:

Losing Cammy and shanks is two major people on the pitch and dressing room. I wouldn't sell Braga especially now unless it's ridiculous money

Hearts1975
Posted

When's his contract up. Ewan Cameron reporting he signed a 1 yr deal last year with an option of a further 2 years 

I thought he signed a 2 yr contract at the start of this season so he has a year to go

Is he out of contract or does he have a year to go? Does anyone know?

El Prez
Posted
3 minutes ago, KariHMFC said:

He’s quite clearly going, and tbh it’s a complete disaster. 

It's literally not. It's annoying as ****. But administration is a complete disaster. Shankland leaving(probably) is football. 

We deal with it. If we don't trust JTA & Hearts from here on in; just lock the doors & play amateur football instead.

Give yourself a slap. :lol:

steve123
Posted
Just now, DC_92 said:

How does that make any sense?

What they should have been is honest with the fans, saying last year he had signed on for another yearcand everyone would have been delighted but we announced a 3 year contract.

I actually think him leaving would cause McInnes problems as he has put so much emphasis on how big a part of his team he is.

Posted
2 minutes ago, jonnyinfo said:

I'd say this is McInnes' fault, so both should leave 

Why? The alternative is that Shankland didn't come back so if this is the only way he could have come back then unfortunately it is what it is, but it has got us an amazing season from it. Hardly McInnes' fault.

Posted
Just now, steve123 said:

What they should have been is honest with the fans, saying last year he had signed on for another yearcand everyone would have been delighted but we announced a 3 year contract.

I actually think him leaving would cause McInnes problems as he has put so much emphasis on how big a part of his team he is.

I would agree with that.

Not signing a player who's available for free just because they'll be available for free in a year less so.