Jamboross Posted May 21 Posted May 21 2 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said: I'm not sure if our coefficient will matter. The draw for the Conference playoff round would be done before our Europa League Q3 tie is finished, so it would be "Hearts or team X" in the draw (the loser being the one that actually features in the tie that's drawn out. They'd have to seed us/team X based on one of our coefficients but not I'm not sure if they'd used the higher of the two (almost certainly team X) or the lower (almost certainly ours) for seeding purposes for the conference league draw. For drop downs from a higher competition they use the lower of the two coefficients. So it would be ours getting used. The higher of the two coefficients is used for teams in the previous round of the same tournament, that's how Hibs got seeded in the play-off this year as they knocked out Partizan in the 3QR who had a much higher coefficient. Not that it ultimately did them any good
Ricardo Quaresma Posted May 21 Posted May 21 8 minutes ago, Jamboross said: For drop downs from a higher competition they use the lower of the two coefficients. So it would be ours getting used. The higher of the two coefficients is used for teams in the previous round of the same tournament, that's how Hibs got seeded in the play-off this year as they knocked out Partizan in the 3QR who had a much higher coefficient. Not that it ultimately did them any good Such a gift too, a temporary rating of over 30.000 and legia were rancid, but still managed to **** it and as much as I'd like to watch them do it again, I don't think I'll even look out for their results if they get a qualifying spot
Ricardo Quaresma Posted May 21 Posted May 21 @Jamboross, aye, legia were also put down to around 10.000 or 11.000 because they lost to a lower-ranked team too, just noticed you were referring to that, maybe Just an absolute fun cluster-****
tartofmidlothian Posted May 21 Posted May 21 3 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said: Sorry but let's dump that attitude. Win three rounds, get another 10k seats at Tynecastle. We might draw a monster. But we might also draw some duds. 10k seats in three months?
DxB Hearts Posted May 21 Posted May 21 1 hour ago, tartofmidlothian said: 10k seats in three months? The Russians did it, so can we!
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 12 hours ago, Victorian said: The calibre of opponent in CLQ2 is unreal. All of them are credible pool stage teams. All of them are clubs you would expect in the Europa pool stage as an annual bare minimum. It's some uplift in company from the Europa and Conference rounds. Bodo and Olympiakos qualified for the CL knockout rounds this season. Some folk need a reality check. And I’m sure they’ll get it soon enough 😂
DxB Hearts Posted May 21 Posted May 21 8 hours ago, Garrincha said: I think we need to increase our expectation levels. Look at it this way - the old firm would expect to beat some of these teams, and we have beaten them 5 times this season. We are better equipped than we’ve ever been to take on a European challenge, even against sides we’d traditionally fear Absolutely bang on. I'm really not expecting giant killing, not expecting to go toe-to-toe with the big boys at all. Fiorentina is a good example, they were absolutely unreal. But if you look at who we've played recently - Cercle Brugge, Copenhagen, Heidenheim, Plzen, POAK and FC Zurich - we didn't get completely destroyed and whilst some were the better teams (in some cases by quite a bit) our current team would pump the team we put out to play them. We would still be underdogs but we will start getting results against these teams as the seasons progress. *not going to mention Petroclub and Birkikara
FarmerTweedy Posted May 21 Posted May 21 One thing I'm not sure about is why Villa have to stay in 4th place in the EPL, as England gets 5 CL league stage places next season, not 4, so even if they drop to 5th, they're still in the CL league stage through their domestic league and therefore the EL title holder place should still be unused as far as I can see.
PortyJambo Posted May 21 Posted May 21 1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said: One thing I'm not sure about is why Villa have to stay in 4th place in the EPL, as England gets 5 CL league stage places next season, not 4, so even if they drop to 5th, they're still in the CL league stage through their domestic league and therefore the EL title holder place should still be unused as far as I can see. I'm not 100% sure, but I think it's because 4th gets Villa an automatic English CL spot and then the spot they would get from winning the Europa League means a team we could face in CLQ2 instead gets upgraded a round. If they finish 5th, that's an extra CL spot for England for performances in Europe, so Villa instead get the "higher" spot reserved for the Europa winners, and whoever finishes 6th in the EPL picks up the extra 5th spot instead of other European teams getting upgraded. All confusing...and I may be totally off the mark with my understanding!
bloomtime Posted May 21 Posted May 21 (edited) Hearts shock as uefa launch investigation into european participation. Is this lawwell and gfa behind this now haha isnt he on uefa panel or just more weegie bullshit. Edited May 21 by bloomtime
El Prez Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Just now, bloomtime said: Hearts shock as Uefa ‘launch investigation into Jambos’ European participation’ days after they clinch qualification. Already covered. Debunked. And ridiculed.
bloomtime Posted May 21 Posted May 21 They are certainly given us good press haha not. Weegie scum those journos need to do some research whole point of 29 percent is as long as its not 30 percent. Weegia press sellick sfa all doing utmost to slate us. **** them mind u donkey and pete are on some uefa comittee so wdnt put it past them to mke fuss about it. I read this crap too now Hearts' hasty Celtic Park exit was 'pre planned' before pitch invasion as title loss contingency claim emerges The Jambos were police escorted out of Parkhead by police after being ushered down the tunnel to safety
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Fenerbahce trying to get Salah. And folk think we could/should be getting results against the likes of them 😂
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted May 21 Posted May 21 1 minute ago, hmfc_liam06 said: Fenerbahce trying to get Salah. And folk think we could/should be getting results against the likes of them 😂 Ach, Harrys back pocket
DxB Hearts Posted May 21 Posted May 21 58 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said: No easy games there and we'd be up against it but some winnable ties if we play well. For Europe we really really need to get our coefficient up for these qualifying rounds.
Watt-Zeefuik Posted May 21 Posted May 21 8 hours ago, tartofmidlothian said: 10k seats in three months? LOL no. 10k in 2-3 years. But we make the CL groups, it's suddenly financially doable. 27 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said: Fenerbahce trying to get Salah. And folk think we could/should be getting results against the likes of them 😂 Fener is the one club where I'd truly mentally throw in the towel, barring a miracle like we nearly had against Liverpool. We would be favored to lose but possibly competitive against the others.
El Prez Posted May 21 Posted May 21 What are the Conference League scenario's looking like? Just in case... 👀
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Tony did say we should be competing knockouts, as well as challenging for the league every year, if a shite Hibs can give a top Danish team a scare, who knows, need a lot to work our way all the same
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 5 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said: LOL no. 10k in 2-3 years. But we make the CL groups, it's suddenly financially doable. Fener is the one club where I'd truly mentally throw in the towel, barring a miracle like we nearly had against Liverpool. We would be favored to lose but possibly competitive against the others. Wouldn’t want us anywhere near a mid-season Bodo either tbh. We should just enjoy our time in the qualifier 😅
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 11 minutes ago, El Prez said: What are the Conference League scenario's looking like? Just in case... 👀 Probably too many scenarios to have a realistic picture just now?
El Prez Posted May 21 Posted May 21 1 minute ago, hmfc_liam06 said: Probably too many scenarios to have a realistic picture just now? Dunno. Probably. Think we could give ELQ3 a decent go though.
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 1 minute ago, El Prez said: Dunno. Probably. Think we could give ELQ3 a decent go though. Yeah, potential opponents are all mostly OF level but we’ve proven we can beat the OF already this season.
PortyJambo Posted May 21 Posted May 21 53 minutes ago, bloomtime said: They are certainly given us good press haha not. Weegie scum those journos need to do some research whole point of 29 percent is as long as its not 30 percent. Weegia press sellick sfa all doing utmost to slate us. **** them mind u donkey and pete are on some uefa comittee so wdnt put it past them to mke fuss about it. I read this crap too now Hearts' hasty Celtic Park exit was 'pre planned' before pitch invasion as title loss contingency claim emerges The Jambos were police escorted out of Parkhead by police after being ushered down the tunnel to safety Where did you read that pish? Some in the media are clutching at straws, on behalf of their Celtic masters, to paint anything done in a bad light for Hearts. Absolute bollocks, and should be given sharp shrift by anyone that reads it that has more than a single brain cell.
Watt-Zeefuik Posted May 21 Posted May 21 5 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said: Wouldn’t want us anywhere near a mid-season Bodo either tbh. We should just enjoy our time in the qualifier 😅 Doesn't Villa's win take Bodo off the table?
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 12 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said: Doesn't Villa's win take Bodo off the table? Not if Villa finish 5th apparently
RustyRightPeg Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Just now, hmfc_liam06 said: Not if Villa finish 5th apparently Villa need to finish 4th for us to only get Graz or Fener.
Watt-Zeefuik Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Just now, hmfc_liam06 said: Not if Villa finish 5th apparently Cheers, missed that. No, I don't want anything to do with Bodo either. Sturm Graz or one of the others would be far preferable. We might not be favored but we could go into that knowing we had a chance.
Smithian Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Hearts Standard just dropped an excellent podcast on European seeding Fair warning, very sobering hearing possible opponents even if dropping down
Elljay Posted May 21 Posted May 21 19 hours ago, Pingu said: Doing my own research and I think @Jamboross is correct here. Took out a free 7 day trial at Scottish Coefficient's substack and the article on Hearts states we'd be unseeded. So we'll have to beat a seeded team at some stage to make the leagues in any competition. Useful predictions based on on ranking here https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/19wPpbWplHvlTEjUAtAW-8I3KfnkCJsxGYkhMIgyPAu8/edit?gid=393365734#gid=393365734
tartofmidlothian Posted May 21 Posted May 21 7 hours ago, DxB Hearts said: The Russians did it, so can we! Christ, that's an accident waiting to happen!
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 22 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said: Cheers, missed that. No, I don't want anything to do with Bodo either. Sturm Graz or one of the others would be far preferable. We might not be favored but we could go into that knowing we had a chance. Yeah I'd put Sturm at possibly in and around Old Firm level. We'd be capable of beating them but would be difficult. The other 3 are potential opponents definitely above and beyond OF level.
Victorian Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Sturm is the best of 4. But as a choice of 2 x 2, Bodo or Olympiacos is probably better. Fenerbahce is a hounding.
We_are_the_Hearts Posted May 21 Posted May 21 17 minutes ago, Victorian said: Sturm is the best of 4. But as a choice of 2 x 2, Bodo or Olympiacos is probably better. Fenerbahce is a hounding. Totally disagree, Bodo will be mid season, Fenerbache don't start to mid August. That is huge in these games
Pingu Posted May 21 Posted May 21 20 minutes ago, Victorian said: Sturm is the best of 4. But as a choice of 2 x 2, Bodo or Olympiacos is probably better. Fenerbahce is a hounding. Don't think it is a choice of 2 x 2, though. I think If Villa do the business we get a choice of Surm Graz or Fenerbahce, but if they don't, we have a choice of three - Fenerbahce, Bodo or Olympiacos
Watt-Zeefuik Posted May 21 Posted May 21 18 minutes ago, Pingu said: Don't think it is a choice of 2 x 2, though. I think If Villa do the business we get a choice of Surm Graz or Fenerbahce, but if they don't, we have a choice of three - Fenerbahce, Bodo or Olympiacos Doesn't another choice get pulled into the mix if Bodo get pulled into the next round? To me Sturm Graz would be "poor OF team" level and Olympiacos would be "good OF team" level. Definitely would prefer Sturm but would carry a small amount of hope against the Greeks.
Pingu Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Just now, Watt-Zeefuik said: Doesn't another choice get pulled into the mix if Bodo get pulled into the next round? To me Sturm Graz would be "poor OF team" level and Olympiacos would be "good OF team" level. Definitely would prefer Sturm but would carry a small amount of hope against the Greeks. Nope. Definitely three options if the rebalancing doesn't happen and just the two if it does. I just checked, but it's a (small, independent) paywalled source and I'd rather not rip off their content and post a screenshot here.
Watt-Zeefuik Posted May 21 Posted May 21 5 minutes ago, Pingu said: Nope. Definitely three options if the rebalancing doesn't happen and just the two if it does. I just checked, but it's a (small, independent) paywalled source and I'd rather not rip off their content and post a screenshot here. Cheers, thanks.
Doc Rob Posted May 21 Posted May 21 17 hours ago, Jamtarts-1874 said: Aye. Joel Sked claimed they didn't have many stars.... Kante, Fred, Ederson, Ascensio, Skriniar, Talisca, Guendouzi, Akturkoglu, Semedo. They would likely hammer us. Can only hope Villa finish 4th and we get Sturm Gratz 🙏. True. But then we came pretty close to taking a star-studded Liverpool team to extra time a few years ago, and our team then was hopeless compared to our team now. It can happen.
tartofmidlothian Posted May 21 Posted May 21 11 minutes ago, Pingu said: Nope. Definitely three options if the rebalancing doesn't happen and just the two if it does. I just checked, but it's a (small, independent) paywalled source and I'd rather not rip off their content and post a screenshot here. Good guy.
pettigrewsstylist Posted May 21 Posted May 21 2 hours ago, bloomtime said: Hearts shock as uefa launch investigation into european participation. Is this lawwell and gfa behind this now haha isnt he on uefa panel or just more weegie bullshit. Anyone thinking its unrelated to the last week and our current requests ..... 😳🤯
Elljay Posted May 21 Posted May 21 2 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said: Yeah I'd put Sturm at possibly in and around Old Firm level. We'd be capable of beating them but would be difficult. The other 3 are potential opponents definitely above and beyond OF level. With 75% of the squads for World Cup announced so far, Sturm Graz don’t have any players called up- not even in the Austrian squad.
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Just now, Elljay said: With 75% of the squads for World Cup announced so far, Sturm Graz don’t have any players called up- not even in the Austrian squad. Not sure why that matters?
Peter up the Hill Posted May 21 Posted May 21 Has anyone noticed that HMFC should be entering the champions league as CHAMPIONS, therefore eufa will be acessories to denying us the fair rewards for WINNING the league? The gfa are cheating all of europe now. Any team knocked out by celtic have a claim against being forced to play the wrong opponents. Any team losing out due to playing a higher seed has the same claim. Best get this sorted ASAP and throw celtic out of the competition.
Peter up the Hill Posted May 21 Posted May 21 It our board let the gfa cheat us out of the title I don't care who we play. I will neither be watching in person or at home. I'm done.
Babertonhearts Posted May 22 Posted May 22 10 hours ago, Peter up the Hill said: It our board let the gfa cheat us out of the title I don't care who we play. I will neither be watching in person or at home. I'm done. Bye sannn
sim Posted May 22 Posted May 22 Folk talking about if we drop down will we be seeded. But if we will our Champions League 2nd Qualifier, then we will also be seeded in the Champs 3rd Qualifier, as we would have knocked out a seed with the draw for the 3rd Q being before the results of Champs Q2 is known. So for Champs Q2, we can draw: Bodø/Glimt Nor 64.000 Olympiakos Piraeus Gre 62.250 Fenerbahçe Tur 57.750 And if we win, then in Champs Q3 we would draw one of: Fenerbahçe ** Tur 57.750 Union Saint-Gilloise Bel 48.000 Sparta Praha Cze 38.250 NEC Nijmegen Ned 13.585 If we would win that. Then the two teams waiting for us in the Champs Play-off would be: Sporting CP Lisbon *3 Por 84.000 Olympique Lyon *3 Fra 65.750
FarmerTweedy Posted May 22 Posted May 22 56 minutes ago, sim said: Folk talking about if we drop down will we be seeded. But if we will our Champions League 2nd Qualifier, then we will also be seeded in the Champs 3rd Qualifier, as we would have knocked out a seed with the draw for the 3rd Q being before the results of Champs Q2 is known. So for Champs Q2, we can draw: Bodø/Glimt Nor 64.000 Olympiakos Piraeus Gre 62.250 Fenerbahçe Tur 57.750 And if we win, then in Champs Q3 we would draw one of: Fenerbahçe ** Tur 57.750 Union Saint-Gilloise Bel 48.000 Sparta Praha Cze 38.250 NEC Nijmegen Ned 13.585 If we would win that. Then the two teams waiting for us in the Champs Play-off would be: Sporting CP Lisbon *3 Por 84.000 Olympique Lyon *3 Fra 65.750 Confident we'd pump any and all of them! 🤪