spacerjoe Posted May 19 Posted May 19 7 hours ago, Morgan said: Excited? F****** that'll be right. You've given the impression on most Scotland threads you've always disliked the national team. Was there a time you liked them? And if so, what happened to change your mind. Genuine question. Just interested.
Quando, Quando, Quando Posted May 19 Posted May 19 48 minutes ago, theAlvasection said: Couldn't care less now. This.
Heartofhearts Posted May 19 Author Posted May 19 Thanks for responses to this thread. Hope those heading over enjoy it. Just catching up on the squad news now. Relieved to see Craig + Lawrence included...what an experience for them. Why was a marketing film and Ewan McGregor used to announce the squad? It really has not inspired me!
LochcarronJambo Posted May 19 Posted May 19 50 minutes ago, vintage1874 said: LJ a tad OTT in your reply to LSC. i thought the opposite, i was appalled, but decided to just leave it
Morgan Posted May 19 Posted May 19 20 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: You've given the impression on most Scotland threads you've always disliked the national team. Was there a time you liked them? And if so, what happened to change your mind. Genuine question. Just interested. I loved the Scottish national team when I was a wee boy, SJ. I attended many of the Home International games with my dad, and was at the Joe Jordan game versus Czechoslovakia. I saw us play Brazil in Turin in 1990 and against Estonia in 1997 in Monaco. I was at Wembley in both 1977 and 1979. After the WC in 1998 I just lost interest. I don’t actually remember why! I would never want Scotland to lose a game, but it doesn’t unduly upset me when we do. I know that your question was genuine, that’s why I have answered. 👍
Morgan Posted May 19 Posted May 19 1 hour ago, vintage1874 said: LJ a tad OTT in your reply to LSC. Agreed.
ShedBoy Posted May 19 Posted May 19 Im going to wear my Hearts top on the plane. Hope that annoys a few tartan army purists.
spacerjoe Posted May 19 Posted May 19 (edited) 28 minutes ago, Morgan said: I loved the Scottish national team when I was a wee boy, SJ. I attended many of the Home International games with my dad, and was at the Joe Jordan game versus Czechoslovakia. I saw us play Brazil in Turin in 1990 and against Estonia in 1997 in Monaco. I was at Wembley in both 1977 and 1979. After the WC in 1998 I just lost interest. I don’t actually remember why! I would never want Scotland to lose a game, but it doesn’t unduly upset me when we do. I know that your question was genuine, that’s why I have answered. 👍 Yeah, just curious, no agenda. Thanks for your answer! I've gone through spells where I've felt kind of done with the national team, so definitely get it. But I still seem to keep watching, much to the disappointment of my non football supporting English wife! There's definitely a thing I feel (and this is probably just age), but back before the 2000s it felt like there were more football 'stars' in Scotland (and in football in general). After 98, it felt like we've had a teams of hard working pros with little personality. And then we were also just awful for 20 years straight. This is the first team for a while with McTominay and Robertson et al that's felt like the team has a bit of star quality to it. Edited May 19 by spacerjoe
LSC Posted May 19 Posted May 19 1 hour ago, spacerjoe said: You've given the impression on most Scotland threads you've always disliked the national team. Was there a time you liked them? And if so, what happened to change your mind. Genuine question. Just interested. Can I give you mine mate , when we turned into a st Patrick’s day style f embarrassment, dressing up accepting being 💩 as long as you can sit and p1$$ your kilt you had a good time . Everybody loves you no they f don’t they tolerate you urinating 💩 in in the streets hassling folk because not one throws a punch it’s the only reason. Like Glasgow teams fans the tartan army are a f stain on Scotland ( not “ normal “ Scotland fans )
Morgan Posted May 19 Posted May 19 6 minutes ago, LSC said: Can I give you mine mate , when we turned into a st Patrick’s day style f embarrassment, dressing up accepting being 💩 as long as you can sit and p1$$ your kilt you had a good time . Everybody loves you no they f don’t they tolerate you urinating 💩 in in the streets hassling folk because not one throws a punch it’s the only reason. Like Glasgow teams fans the tartan army are a f stain on Scotland ( not “ normal “ Scotland fans ) I’ve simply got to agree with you here, LSC. The Tartan Army are certainly a tad crass and embarrassing, in equal measure!
spacerjoe Posted May 19 Posted May 19 Just now, LSC said: Can I give you mine mate , when we turned into a st Patrick’s day style f embarrassment, dressing up accepting being 💩 as long as you can sit and p1$$ your kilt you had a good time . Everybody loves you no they f don’t they tolerate you urinating 💩 in in the streets hassling folk because not one throws a punch it’s the only reason. Like Glasgow teams fans the tartan army are a f stain on Scotland ( not “ normal “ Scotland fans ) I get the accepting being s**** thing isn't a good look. But I'm not sure that's what we're doing. Im not a Tartan Army member, but I had a great time in Germany 2 years ago and didn't meet a single local German person who wasn't very friendly towards us. Sang, drank and danced with Germans, Swiss, French, Romanians, etc and had a great time. I don't think it's the same as club football for me. These tournaments should be about having a great time and being proud of your country. Just my opinion though, of course. 👍
Drumjambo Posted May 19 Posted May 19 1 hour ago, Morgan said: I loved the Scottish national team when I was a wee boy, SJ. I attended many of the Home International games with my dad, and was at the Joe Jordan game versus Czechoslovakia. I saw us play Brazil in Turin in 1990 and against Estonia in 1997 in Monaco. I was at Wembley in both 1977 and 1979. After the WC in 1998 I just lost interest. I don’t actually remember why! I would never want Scotland to lose a game, but it doesn’t unduly upset me when we do. I know that your question was genuine, that’s why I have answered. 👍 Berti Vogts ??
LSC Posted May 19 Posted May 19 20 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: I get the accepting being s**** thing isn't a good look. But I'm not sure that's what we're doing. Im not a Tartan Army member, but I had a great time in Germany 2 years ago and didn't meet a single local German person who wasn't very friendly towards us. Sang, drank and danced with Germans, Swiss, French, Romanians, etc and had a great time. I don't think it's the same as club football for me. These tournaments should be about having a great time and being proud of your country. Just my opinion though, of course. 👍 How many Germans were wearing lederhosen like ? ( not confrontational but do you get my point about the fancy dress fiasco we’ve ended up as ??
spacerjoe Posted May 19 Posted May 19 19 minutes ago, LSC said: How many Germans were wearing lederhosen like ? ( not confrontational but do you get my point about the fancy dress fiasco we’ve ended up as ?? Less than us, but still a few. But definitely less. There were lots of Swiss with their similar style outfits though. Seem to remember tonnes of them had hats. I've never worn a kilt to a home game, that would feel weird. But I don't mind doing it for an away game. Just match day though. I get why people don't like the TA though. Not blind to it. When we were shit they seemed to become more newsworthy than the team itself, which is a bit cringe. But in general I have a good time supporting Scotland.
joondalupjambo Posted May 19 Posted May 19 4 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: There were lots of Swiss with their similar style outfits though. Seem to remember tonnes of them had hats. You have to admit though when the Swiss wave their flag it is a big plus.
spacerjoe Posted May 19 Posted May 19 9 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said: You have to admit though when the Swiss wave their flag it is a big plus. 🤣🤣🤣
LSC Posted May 19 Posted May 19 (edited) Always found the Swiss a bit cross and cuckoo 🤷 Edited May 19 by LSC
FarmerTweedy Posted May 20 Posted May 20 On 19/05/2026 at 02:13, Heartofhearts said: Time to look ahead a few weeks. Manager Steve Clarke will announce the 26 man squad for WC26 at 11am on Tuesday 19 May 2026. Really hope CG and LS make the final cut. BBC Sport has announced it's large team of presenters and commentators. Surprised by how many BBC Scotland pundits are included, including Tom English, Liam McLeod and Chris McLaughlin Is anyone excited for this? This is a novel way to out yourself as a vermin interloper! 😃
kila Posted May 20 Posted May 20 Will be watching and supporting Scotland. But **** the SFA and I hope the blazers get some nasty food poisoning while over there and spend the entire trip on the bog. At least Steve Clarke has said it is a bad look for Celtic all this. Better than nothing I suppose...
Muppetboy Posted May 20 Posted May 20 Not as arsed about this as I should be, the KO times rule me out of loads of the games plus Scotland will be shite as per
Wee Hamish McDonald Posted May 20 Posted May 20 22 hours ago, El Prez said: Its nothing less than expected of the crusty curmudgeon Clarke. He chooses the local dog Dykes who will at command run around the park like the league 1 clogger he is. Curtis gets in because he went to Kilmarnock.Miller shouldae been in. I heard a rumour that 5 years ago McBurnie was at Clarkes throat had to be pulled off by 3 big fellas. Dont know if its true. But Stewart has the better conversion rate. McBurnie stunk out the place years ago.Too early for Wilson. Of course hes gonnae play adams and Dykes and the best finisher the only striker with flair,nuance and quality wont play despite his leadership qualities. Shanks and Doak are the best combination. But of course he wont play LS. Good to see Hickey and Patterson back. Ive looked at Haitis squad in the excellent 210 page issue of World Soccer magazine and they have an awful lot of French ligue 1 based players with speed and athleticism i wouldnae be surprised at all under Clarke if they humiliate us. Despite having the best player pool in 30 years I expect 3 defeats. Its wjat the SFA should expect even corruption and cronyism informs every decision when a stubborn relic is national team manager and most of all when the league is rigged as a Irish cartel and young players are appreciated and developed in serie a but never in Glasgow.
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 20 Posted May 20 Won't see much of it at all due to the kick off times. Will tune into the 6pm and 8pm games but can't see me staying up for games beyond that, Scotland games included.
mr fox Posted May 20 Posted May 20 On 19/05/2026 at 03:22, martoon said: The SFA, and the cheats within, can shove it. I hope their football team gets pumped x3. Lawrence to score a 40 yarder into top corner with Gordon in goals and run right up to Steve Clarke . Zero interest in this
mr fox Posted May 20 Posted May 20 4 minutes ago, Wee Hamish McDonald said: Its nothing less than expected of the crusty curmudgeon Clarke. He chooses the local dog Dykes who will at command run around the park like the league 1 clogger he is. Curtis gets in because he went to Kilmarnock.Miller shouldae been in. I heard a rumour that 5 years ago McBurnie was at Clarkes throat had to be pulled off by 3 big fellas. Dont know if its true. But Stewart has the better conversion rate. McBurnie stunk out the place years ago.Too early for Wilson. Of course hes gonnae play adams and Dykes and the best finisher the only striker with flair,nuance and quality wont play despite his leadership qualities. Shanks and Doak are the best combination. But of course he wont play LS. Good to see Hickey and Patterson back. Ive looked at Haitis squad in the excellent 210 page issue of World Soccer magazine and they have an awful lot of French ligue 1 based players with speed and athleticism i wouldnae be surprised at all under Clarke if they humiliate us. Despite having the best player pool in 30 years I expect 3 defeats. Its wjat the SFA should expect even corruption and cronyism informs every decision when a stubborn relic is national team manager and most of all when the league is rigged as a Irish cartel and young players are appreciated and developed in serie a but never in Glasgow. We won’t cope v athletic guys half of them can’t run.
Wee Hamish McDonald Posted May 20 Posted May 20 4 hours ago, mr fox said: We won’t cope v athletic guys half of them can’t run. Aye theres no pace. Ive seen 86 year olds going to the toilet with more haste than Adams has on the pitch.
Mikey1874 Posted May 20 Posted May 20 Steve Clarke said yesterday there would be a 27th squad member to go to the USA. A young goalkeeper to help with training. That goalkeeper is Hearts' Liam McFarlane. James Wilson also joining in training next week before they leave.
Jambotommy Posted May 20 Posted May 20 On 19/05/2026 at 02:22, martoon said: The SFA, and the cheats within, can shove it. I hope their football team gets pumped x3. this...
steve123 Posted May 20 Posted May 20 3 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said: Steve Clarke said yesterday there would be a 27th squad member to go to the USA. A young goalkeeper to help with training. That goalkeeper is Hearts' Liam McFarlane. James Wilson also joining in training next week before they leave. Thats impressive for McFarlane I wonder what the plan is for him next season- sitting on the bench probably not the best for development.
Bridge of Djoum Posted May 20 Posted May 20 I'll start watching when the knockout rounds begin. I genuinely hope Scotland get reamed in every game. Hopefully all Jambos coming over have a great time. Stay safe, enjoy yourselves.
chester copperpot Posted May 20 Posted May 20 I hate Steve Clarke, I hate the SFA, I hate some of the squad. As someone who has been fortunate to represent my country (basketball not football sadly) nothing made me prouder to represent my country. I will be screaming the lads on in all 3 games. Proud Scot, they don't have to be mutually exclusive.
Bridge of Djoum Posted May 20 Posted May 20 20 hours ago, spacerjoe said: Equating supporting Scotland to supporting the SFA is weird take for me. I love my country and love football. It's a bunch of players I'm supporting, not the administrative organisation. I don't watch matches shouting 'Mon the SFA!'. Or after games ask 'why does Clarke never start Shanks for the SFA?'. In any case though, I'm really bothered about it at the moment with everything that's happened and just need a break from football for a bit. I'm sure by the time 13th June rolls around I'll be right up for it though. Does it not bother you that the administration that did It's best to screw your club will have It's members sitting in hospitality with free tickets, booze, travel. food etc? They're laughing at you.
spacerjoe Posted May 20 Posted May 20 1 minute ago, Bridge of Djoum said: Does it not bother you that the administration that did It's best to screw your club will have It's members sitting in hospitality with free tickets, booze, travel. food etc? They're laughing at you. Did you miss the part where I said I support my country and it's players and not the administration? Seems weird as you quoted it. Will you boo Shankland in a Scotland top?
spacerjoe Posted May 20 Posted May 20 23 minutes ago, chester copperpot said: I hate Steve Clarke, I hate the SFA, I hate some of the squad. As someone who has been fortunate to represent my country (basketball not football sadly) nothing made me prouder to represent my country. I will be screaming the lads on in all 3 games. Proud Scot, they don't have to be mutually exclusive. Well said.
Morgan Posted May 20 Posted May 20 18 hours ago, Drumjambo said: Berti Vogts ?? A bit before that, but he didn't help!
Bridge of Djoum Posted May 20 Posted May 20 On 19/05/2026 at 09:25, LochcarronJambo said: What a total clown, I am Hearts daft & a proud member of the Tartan army, go to all Scotland games home & away & rarely ever do you come across Celtic fans, couldnt be further from the truth. Clueless . you quite clearly hate Scotland -tartan army have been great ambassadors for the country, just look at how the Germans loves us at Euros….. You suggest anybody takes a ‘swing’ at us we run, jeez , we don’t get involved in violence thankfully….most bigoted stupid post I have ever read I've been to 1 Scotland game in my puff, Norway in 89. The ''Tartan Army'' was one of the reasons I despise the National Team. A gang of cross-dressers who demand everyone love them wherever they go because of their wit and top banter. The cringiest of fan bases IMHO.
Bridge of Djoum Posted May 20 Posted May 20 20 hours ago, Thunder and Lightning said: Yes, I am looking forward to it. Being an adult I can separate my country, the players and those from our club from the suits. Some of the pathetic look at me on a moral crusade stuff is ridiculous. Will those not watching be calling for Shankland to be sold for going? There is no separation, they are all one in the same, representing each other.
martoon Posted May 20 Posted May 20 Roxburgh, Broon, capping Peter Grant, Tosh called up the day after signing for Celtic, Robbo's treatment, the corrupt SFA...all kicked any interest I had in Scotland out of me. Fair enough to those who can separate stuff like that from the team but I can't. Booing Shanks if he plays for Scotland, someone asks? 😃 That would take up only a few minutes over the 3 games.
Bridge of Djoum Posted May 20 Posted May 20 23 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: Did you miss the part where I said I support my country and it's players and not the administration? Seems weird as you quoted it. Will you boo Shankland in a Scotland top? Won't be booing anyone as I won't be watching Scotland games. The team represents both the country and the administration. Bit weird you fail to see that.
Bridge of Djoum Posted May 20 Posted May 20 5 minutes ago, martoon said: Roxburgh, Broon, capping Peter Grant, Tosh called up the day after signing for Celtic, Robbo's treatment, the corrupt SFA...all kicked any interest I had in Scotland out of me. Fair enough to those who can separate stuff like that from the team but I can't. Booing Shanks if he plays for Scotland, someone asks? 😃 That would take up only a few minutes over the 3 games. Top Post. The over-looking of Hearts players very deserving of call-ups, in favour of friends of the manager and administration is really quite shameful. John Robertson. 16 caps. Sixteen. GTF.
martoon Posted May 20 Posted May 20 3 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said: Top Post. The over-looking of Hearts players very deserving of call-ups, in favour of friends of the manager and administration is really quite shameful. John Robertson. 16 caps. Sixteen. GTF. Most were cameo roles from the bench. What really got me was Broon saying a game played at Pittodrie around 1994/95 would be John's last chance to show what he could do. The wee man only got 15 mins at the end. As I said, mate, I've no issue with those who can push stuff like that aside but, for me, the Scotland team is just another part of the sickening farce that is Scottish football.
I P Knightley Posted May 20 Posted May 20 Ignore the bitter taste left by last week (which is reason enough to be indifferent) and I am still completely uninspired and unexcited by the whole thing - not just Scotland's involvement. Clarke's pig-headedness in including the likes of Hanley and Dykes has me actively hoping for a nul points; nul goals return. I'll be honest, the selection of three goalkeepers who, between them, have played next to effall football this year is desperate. The Association shouldn't be in a position where there are no Scottish lads playing in goals who could be on the plane (even if Jurassic plans to play Craig in any regard). The Falkirk lad did enough in his one half to show that he's no worse than the other backup options. The only thing I'm looking forward to is the build up of hope among the English media and support only to watch it come tumbling down, ideally in the semi-finals.
spacerjoe Posted May 20 Posted May 20 12 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said: Won't be booing anyone as I won't be watching Scotland games. The team represents both the country and the administration. Bit weird you fail to see that. It's not weird at all. When things were going tits up with Romanov did you stop going to games? I didn't. I support Hearts, not the club's board. I can be at odds with the board and still cheer the team on. Maybe you should call Shankland and tell him the SFA are laughing at him and not to bother going to the US. I'm sure he'd appreciate the heads up.
Bridge of Djoum Posted May 20 Posted May 20 2 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: It's not weird at all. When things were going tits up with Romanov did you stop going to games? I didn't. I support Hearts, not the club's board. I can be at odds with the board and still cheer the team on. Maybe you should call Shankland and tell him the SFA are laughing at him and not to bother going to the US. I'm sure he'd appreciate the heads up. I'm sure he's aware of that. He was assaulted on the pitch on Saturday and the SFA will do nothing.
I P Knightley Posted May 20 Posted May 20 10 minutes ago, Morgan said: There is an eggcorn on this page. I know I could use Google but I have no idea what an eggcorn is.
Cade Posted May 20 Posted May 20 Clarke is rapidly becoming Paw Broon #2 Picking the same pishy, ageing players every time for multiple tournaments and stifling all development of younger talent. This is how we ended up not qualifying for nearly 30 feckin years.
Drumjambo Posted May 20 Posted May 20 40 minutes ago, Morgan said: A bit before that, but he didn't help! We were in France and many other Scotland adventures and went the same way Morgan The 6-0 in amsterdam was a particular low point , where I feel my mum would have saved more than that clown Douglas! He jumped out the road of three of them. Anyway glorious article on the BBC today regarding poor old corporate America - It seems no one fancies paying $350 dollars a night for a shitey room. That coupled with the Service men about to march back in to Iran they can't even give them free tickets like the club world cup disaster. **** The Yanks **** Fifa and **** the SFA I hope its an unmitigated disaster as it has all the hall marks - £560 starter for an England Ghana ticket anyone **** OFF ya greedy capitalist *******s
I P Knightley Posted May 20 Posted May 20 21 hours ago, spacerjoe said: Equating supporting Scotland to supporting the SFA is weird take for me. I love my country and love football. It's a bunch of players I'm supporting, not the administrative organisation. I don't watch matches shouting 'Mon the SFA!'. Or after games ask 'why does Clarke never start Shanks for the SFA?'. In any case though, I'm really bothered about it at the moment with everything that's happened and just need a break from football for a bit. I'm sure by the time 13th June rolls around I'll be right up for it though. This will be an untested theory but I imagine that if the Scotland team did well, the SFA would be basking in the glory of it all, taking credit that their actions and policies have led to this wonderful moment. Probably give themselves meaty bonuses off the back of it (and I don't mean an extra donner pie). When it actually all goes as expected, it'll be "hard luck, Stevie and the lads. Plough on regardless." The needle returns to the start of the song and we all go along like before... So, yes, I can see the link between wishing the team well and supporting the SFA. The same happened in tennis when the LTA jumped on the Andy Murray bandwagon, despite him having avoided the LTA for his formative years in the game.
boag1874 Posted May 20 Posted May 20 19 hours ago, spacerjoe said: I get the accepting being s**** thing isn't a good look. But I'm not sure that's what we're doing. Im not a Tartan Army member, but I had a great time in Germany 2 years ago and didn't meet a single local German person who wasn't very friendly towards us. Sang, drank and danced with Germans, Swiss, French, Romanians, etc and had a great time. I don't think it's the same as club football for me. These tournaments should be about having a great time and being proud of your country. Just my opinion though, of course. 👍 Well put. Aside from the football which was extremely disappointing considering the form we were in a year prior Germany was a phenomenal experience. I'm also not a TA member and didn't have a ticket but I went over for the group stage as an excuse to go on a holiday more than anything. I didn't see a single bit of bother across the whole 2 weeks, fans were in great spirits, locals were absolutely brilliant and made us extremely welcome wherever we went and people generally did what they could to tidy up and make sure we weren't leaving the host cities in a mess. The fans were rightly praised by locals, police, UEFA officials and politicians from the host cities because we turned up, had a good time, were respectful, stuck to the right side of the line between having fun, having a drink and causing trouble (minus the odd idiot but in a crowd of thousands you'll always get those) and left having made a good impression. That to me is what these tournaments should be about, the games only take up 3 days, inbetween game days you go exploring or get involved with the other events and meet people from all over the place. Huge contrast to the Old Firm idiots (the worst elements of who are more into supporting Ireland or NI/England than following Scotland) who smash up their own cities, get into fights, cause bother and then cry victim when the police say enough is enough and disperse them.