Posted
10 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

royal-prince.gif&f=1&nofb=1&ipt=82257e13

That's handy!

Or just randy?

Radio-Braga
Posted
24 minutes ago, Jambo61 said:

After 86 I just live in hope! I was merely noting it won't be quick or easy!

The ghost of 86 pains us all, even us that weren’t born. 

But we need to be confident and positive given the position we are in now mate 

🙏 🙏 🙏 

davieholt
Posted

Having lived through 1965 and 1986 I’m now a quivering wreck. 

I can’t wear a hearts scarf to home games in case I jinx it.

cmon hearts I need that 1998 feeling one more time before I snuff it and the youngsters can enjoy the fruits of Tony Bloom’s involvement as we dominate the league for the next 10 years 🥳

Debut 4
Posted
5 hours ago, jbee647 said:

Motherwell, one win in eight ?

is this correct ?

We can beat them. It’s curious as to why some Hearts fans have doubts?

I know we have pressure (even as supporters) and the emotions and thoughts can spring from one feeling to the next but strip that away and focus on what’s in front of us.

Of course it’s a tough game, no doubt.  Every game this season has been though .  

We don’t need to give them special treatment because they’re the new Barca. 🙃

At this stage of the season and where we’ve put ourselves and what we’ve came through in different games to win, should just embolden the players even more in these closing stages.  We fear no one and we believe we are good enough on the day to go and win.  

jbee647
Posted
26 minutes ago, maltese jambo said:

I think we've rode our luck against Motherwell to say the least so far.

Irrelevant, we rode our luck against Hibs too, still got 9 points of them

When the league flag is flying over Tynecastle, the record books won’t have an asterisk saying aye but they rode there luck against Hibs and Motherwell 

jbee647
Posted
3 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

We can beat them. It’s curious as to why some Hearts fans have doubts?

I know we have pressure (even as supporters) and the emotions and thoughts can spring from one feeling to the next but strip that away and focus on what’s in front of us.

Of course it’s a tough game, no doubt.  Every game this season has been though .  

We don’t need to give them special treatment because they’re the new Barca. 🙃

At this stage of the season and where we’ve put ourselves and what we’ve came through in different games to win, should just embolden the players even more in these closing stages.  We fear no one and we believe we are good enough on the day to go and win.  

They are a decent side, but by no means unbeatable,

Falkirk have had there number all season, we are unbeaten against them, and St Mirren absolutely ripped them a new one at Hampden in the semi final

Momentum is with us, we are doing this

teamof1958
Posted

Just on BBC website :- Motherwell FC sponsors jailed for running £12m cocaine operation.

Think we should be calling for checks to be done on all their players, their performances this season have been extraordinarily good after all.  

Radio-Braga
Posted

It’s going to be a long couple of days. 

Graham Thomson
Posted

Just keep it simple 

Don't over complicate it 

We can win this Game. 

Posted
2 hours ago, teamof1958 said:

Just on BBC website :- Motherwell FC sponsors jailed for running £12m cocaine operation.

Think we should be calling for checks to be done on all their players, their performances this season have been extraordinarily good after all.  

Wage packet contents covered in bingo.

Graham Thomson
Posted
2 hours ago, davieholt said:

cmon hearts I need that 1998 feeling one more time before I snuff it and the youngsters can enjoy the fruits of Tony Bloom’s involvement as we dominate the league for the next 10 years 🥳

I was 6 in 1965, just too young. 

But I echo everything you say 👍👍

Cruyff
Posted

433 or 3412 will be the shape imo. 

Cannae see him going 442 against our next 3 opponents. We allowed Rangers an extra man in midfield 1st half and it made it easy for them to control it and really difficult for us to gain a foothold. 2nd half, changed to a back 3, pushed the press and backline forward and we stopped Rangers building and forced them into turnovers in advantageous positions. 

I think we shall see something more akin to Rangers 2nd half starting v Motherwell and we will go man for man in midfield and we will press them up the park. 

I think these personnel probably give us the most versatility to shift between 3 shapes and keep the balance. 

Schwolow 

SteinW Halks Findlay Kingsley 

Beni  Leonard 

Spittal 

Kyziridis             Braga  

Shanks   

Schwolow 

SteinW Halks Findlay 

Beni  Leonard 

Kyziridis                      Kingsley

Spittal 

Shanks  Braga 

Schwolow 

Beni  Leonard 

Kyziridis                        Spittal

Shanks  Braga 

JimmyCant
Posted
3 hours ago, maltese jambo said:

I think we've rode our luck against Motherwell to say the least so far.

You keep not getting beat by the better teams. You keep coming from behind to get points. You keep scoring late. You don’t concede many when you’re not playing that well. Teams can’t handle you when in your in full flow. That’s not luck. That’s the way we’ve been designed. That’s why we’re top of the league

And Motherwell ? Check their record against top 6 teams. It’s awful. They are grossly overrated and their system only works when you let it work and falls apart when you work it out properly

tiger Rudi
Posted
8 hours ago, jr ewing said:

No need to pressure the keeper. Take a draw if necessary and see what happens on Sunday. I think TFKAR will win it. 

I'm actually thinking we should pressure the keeper a bit more. We saw again against Falkirk how dodgy they are if enough men push up in the high press.

The keeper is prone to taking risks and making howlers. 

I know at home, tactically, McInnes got it spot on, but this is at their own patch. We need to really unsettle them. Force the errors. 

I'd think Askou will be looking at ways around those tactics this time.

Thomaso
Posted
3 hours ago, Radio-Braga said:

The ghost of 86 pains us all, even us that weren’t born. 

But we need to be confident and positive given the position we are in now mate 

🙏 🙏 🙏 

Anybody who suffered in 1986 still bare the scars. Even now if I think back to that game I sink into a bit of a depression.

For me being negative and pessimistic is a safety valve - I just can’t let myself dwell on how absolutely wonderful it would be to see my team achieve the unthinkable. 🤷‍♂️

Posted (edited)

IF we were to beat Motherwell, the best Rangers can really do is get 2nd spot...it would give them an even bigger incentive for their game on Sunday, knowing they arent only blowing celtic's chances of winning the league by winning but possibly finishing runners up and celtic being 3rd. Anyway, just win Hearts 🙏

Edited by lmc1
79points
Posted
14 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

433 or 3412 will be the shape imo. 

Cannae see him going 442 against our next 3 opponents. We allowed Rangers an extra man in midfield 1st half and it made it easy for them to control it and really difficult for us to gain a foothold. 2nd half, changed to a back 3, pushed the press and backline forward and we stopped Rangers building and forced them into turnovers in advantageous positions. 

I think we shall see something more akin to Rangers 2nd half starting v Motherwell and we will go man for man in midfield and we will press them up the park. 

I think these personnel probably give us the most versatility to shift between 3 shapes and keep the balance. 

Schwolow 

Beni  Leonard 

Spittal 

Kyziridis             Braga  

Shanks   

Schwolow 

SteinW Halks Findlay 

Beni  Leonard 

Kyziridis                      Kingsley

Spittal 

Shanks  Braga 

Schwolow 

Beni  Leonard 

Kyziridis                        Spittal

Shanks  Braga 

I think you are right, second option looks best for Motherwell. They leave gaps because of how they play and Spittal is actually our best player to exploit that along with Shanks if doing false 9 or even 10 imo. Leonard or Beni taking turns to join overloads. Yep think this is probably our best line up, but we will see......
Even though we are missing Milne and Devlin, this is still a very good team!

Thomaso
Posted
3 hours ago, davieholt said:

I was there 1965 Davie. My Dad told me he was taking me to Tynecastle to see Hearts win the league almost as a matter of fact.

Well there were tears that day followed by years of tears until that wonderful day in 1998 - but to win a League title!

Radio-Braga
Posted
7 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

Anybody who suffered in 1986 still bare the scars. Even now if I think back to that game I sink into a bit of a depression.

For me being negative and pessimistic is a safety valve - I just can’t let myself dwell on how absolutely wonderful it would be to see my team achieve the unthinkable. 🤷‍♂️

It’s happening mate. Believe. 

🙏 🇱🇻 

Posted

👹

3 hours ago, davieholt said:

I remember listening on the radio in 1965 znd wascag Dens I '86.    Told all my golfing buddies that I couldn't take another last game decider.☹

tiger Rudi
Posted
6 hours ago, Gershwin said:

It's certainly key to giving us the opportunity to win the league at home to Falkirk. I think it's pretty clear we'll go 3-5-2 for this one and we'll probably start with the XI that started the second half on Monday.

I was watching some analysis by that Rangers' supporting analyst, John Walker and he neatly broke down how we overcame Rangers. It actually made me quietly confident about Saturday as I think our second half set up vs Rangers is the same approach we'll take against Motherwell.

I think the focus should be on the game that Rangers lost to Motherwell. Another tactical cock up by Rohl. Thought he could just blow them away. McInnes wont make the same mistake. This will be all about stopping them play first and foremost, with us ready to punish the inevitable mistakes they will make by over-playing it from the back. Frustrate them. 

High press yes, but patience needed and be clinical when the chances come. 

We cannot sit off them. Our midfield needs to be well organised and never at risk of being outnumbered.

Craig_
Posted

For those worrying, have a look at Motherwell's recent form... 

Screenshot_20260506_211908_Chrome.jpg

Rudiscoresagain
Posted
7 minutes ago, RENE said:

👹

I remember listening on the radio in 1965 znd wascag Dens I '86.    Told all my golfing buddies that I couldn't take another last game decider.☹

I was in the stand aged 9 for the Killie game in 1965 and thought there would be wins in the coming seasons. 

Dundee in 1986 felt worse than 1965.

I'm trying to avoid getting too worked up these days, but it's difficult. Fingers crossed for a couple of great results this weekend.

CheshireHearts
Posted
11 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

That worries me more than if they were tearing it up to be honest.

south morocco
Posted
11 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said:

I think the focus should be on the game that Rangers lost to Motherwell. Another tactical cock up by Rohl. Thought he could just blow them away. McInnes wont make the same mistake. This will be all about stopping them play first and foremost, with us ready to punish the inevitable mistakes they will make by over-playing it from the back. Frustrate them. 

High press yes, but patience needed and be clinical when the chances come. 

We cannot sit off them. Our midfield needs to be well organised and never at risk of being outnumbered.

We could also look at how Falkirk have beat them this season. 

south morocco
Posted
1 minute ago, Rudiscoresagain said:

I was in the stand aged 9 for the Killie game in 1965 and thought there would be wins in the coming seasons. 

I'm trying to avoid getting too worked up these days, but it's difficult. Fingers crossed for a couple of great results this weekend.

Hearts and Rangers wins would be amazing. please please please……

ShedBoy
Posted

What time we start drinking? 🍺

Posted
1 minute ago, south morocco said:

If that happens Ill be over the moon, even a draw would win us the league against falkirk

Posted
6 minutes ago, Rudiscoresagain said:

I was in the main stand enclosure near the Gorgie end aged 15, with the sun in my eyes for the whole game. It shouldn't be forgotten that Killi under Waddle had been league runners-up the previous two seasons (I think).

south morocco
Posted
10 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

If that happens Ill be over the moon, even a draw would win us the league against falkirk

Aye. It would be incredible but very possible 

davieholt
Posted
27 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

I was in the main stand enclosure near the Gorgie end aged 15, with the sun in my eyes for the whole game. It shouldn't be forgotten that Killi under Waddle had been league runners-up the previous two seasons (I think).

and Killie and Hearts were the only two teams in the league who had adopted the European 4 2 4 system exemplified by Herrera’s Inter Milan. Seemed to work 🤷🏼‍♂️

Rudiscoresagain
Posted
41 minutes ago, ShedBoy said:

What time we start drinking? 🍺

I started on Monday at about 9pm and haven't stopped. One of the benefits of being retired.

1971fozzy
Posted
53 minutes ago, south morocco said:

Dream scenario.  I’d need to beg my boss for the Wednesday and Thursday off next week

off the rails
Posted
On 05/05/2026 at 17:05, One five said:

Does anyone know if there are any trains direct to Motherwell ?

If you’re getting the train be aware of engineering works, the Slateford line only goes as far as West Calder then a replacement bus for an hour and a quarter 😳

image.thumb.png.3e279c085bae96f1cf53417ec442d8b0.png

Keep the Heid
Posted

Motherwell were the surprise package this season, their talented new manager, some talented new players, nobody seen what was coming, WE DO NOW!

Derek has always been very good at analysing an opposition squad, Christ! how many times did he come to Tynecastle with Aberdeen and Kilmarnock when we were on a good run, then leave with the points.

We will be ready for them on Saturday, it will be tight but with what we have to offer and a wee bit of luck, we will get all three points.

One five
Posted
22 minutes ago, off the rails said:

If you’re getting the train be aware of engineering works, the Slateford line only goes as far as West Calder then a replacement bus for an hour and a quarter 😳

image.thumb.png.3e279c085bae96f1cf53417ec442d8b0.png

Cheers for the info mate, much appreciated 👍

Radio-Braga
Posted
Just now, Keep the Heid said:

Motherwell were the surprise package this season, their talented new manager, some talented new players, nobody seen what was coming, WE DO NOW!

Derek has always been very good at analysing an opposition squad, Christ! how many times did he come to Tynecastle with Aberdeen and Kilmarnock when we were on a good run, then leave with the points.

We will be ready for them on Saturday, it will be tight but with what we have to offer and a wee bit of luck, we will get all three points.

This is it. 

We also need to remember we are getting data from JTA on our opponents. 

We will be ready for this. 

The players just need to control their emotions, given what’s at stake. 

Keep the Heid
Posted
4 minutes ago, Radio-Braga said:

This is it. 

We also need to remember we are getting data from JTA on our opponents. 

We will be ready for this. 

The players just need to control their emotions, given what’s at stake. 

Exactly, also the change in the mentality from the first half to the second half, I get the feeling this team has truly got the belief in itself now, that was a real shift in mindset during half time, whatever Derek said, whatever the captain said, that was a team with an entirely different feeling about themselves second half, I think they have crossed a threshold now, they believe they can beat anyone, it's time we all buy into that now and stop all the negative chatter.

El Prez
Posted

4-2-3-1.

Just match them. Then run, fight, run, run & fight some more.

Still confident we'll win this & deflate a lot of people's hopes. A draw's not a tragedy either. But I think the cup final mentality is now well & truly ingrained in the team. That, and the away backing they'll get, should see us over the line.

hmfc1984
Posted
10 hours ago, Craig_ said:

In years gone by this would actually worry me more 😂

AC Mallin_51
Posted

Depends what well team turns up, think they were pretty below average in the defeats v Falkirk & Dundee. Perhaps a tad unlucky at parkhead but ran out steam in the second half. The games v us and Rangers were different though, even though we won I was still very impressed with Motherwell at times (apart from the play acting and time wasting) and we easily could’ve conceded more that day. After that game I saw a few comments saying it was “the best they’d played in ages” despite the result. Then v Rangers, many Rangers fans I know said that’s the best they’ve seen anyone play at Ibrox all season and could’ve easily been 4 or 5 up at half time. 

I think if we turn up and do our job, coupled with the real momentum the last three results have brought, I think we’ll have enough. But we need to be on it, if you give Well an inch they’ll definitely take a mile 

El Prez
Posted
4 minutes ago, AC Mallin_51 said:

Depends what well team turns up, think they were pretty below average in the defeats v Falkirk & Dundee. Perhaps a tad unlucky at parkhead but ran out steam in the second half. The games v us and Rangers were different though, even though we won I was still very impressed with Motherwell at times (apart from the play acting and time wasting) and we easily could’ve conceded more that day. After that game I saw a few comments saying it was “the best they’d played in ages” despite the result. Then v Rangers, many Rangers fans I know said that’s the best they’ve seen anyone play at Ibrox all season and could’ve easily been 4 or 5 up at half time. 

I think if we turn up and do our job, coupled with the real momentum the last three results have brought, I think we’ll have enough. But we need to be on it, if you give Well an inch they’ll definitely take a mile 

Think a key aspect of stopping Motherwell, is by nullifying Longelo. Who I like as a player. Something like 67% goal participation in one way or another.

Turning O'Donnell & McGinn is also a crucial component. Because they do not like it.

Radio-Braga
Posted
53 minutes ago, Keep the Heid said:

Exactly, also the change in the mentality from the first half to the second half, I get the feeling this team has truly got the belief in itself now, that was a real shift in mindset during half time, whatever Derek said, whatever the captain said, that was a team with an entirely different feeling about themselves second half, I think they have crossed a threshold now, they believe they can beat anyone, it's time we all buy into that now and stop all the negative chatter.

carnockjambo
Posted

The 3 games of us v Mwell, OF game and Mwell v Celtic will decide the league. We must stop Mwell playing their game. I think Mwell v Celtic be the pivotal game as  Celtic will play an open game and hopefully letting the quickness of Mwell beating them 

Disser Pointon
Posted
1 hour ago, El Prez said:

Think a key aspect of stopping Motherwell, is by nullifying Longelo. Who I like as a player. Something like 67% goal participation in one way or another.

Turning O'Donnell & McGinn is also a crucial component. Because they do not like it.

Ideal that he plays on our weakest side then eh 🤦😂😂

AC Mallin_51
Posted
5 minutes ago, Disser Pointon said:

Ideal that he plays on our weakest side then eh 🤦😂😂

Good job Steinwender looks like her turned into Cafu though 

Exile fae Main Street
Posted
16 hours ago, davieholt said:

This - apart from the scarf bit - my Son and I were doing the twirly wi ours in front of the TV in the hoose!😳

Posted
16 hours ago, jbee647 said:

Irrelevant, we rode our luck against Hibs too, still got 9 points of them

When the league flag is flying over Tynecastle, the record books won’t have an asterisk saying aye but they rode there luck against Hibs and Motherwell 

Spot on, 2-0 Hearts.

Jack Torrance
Posted

Dunno if it's been discussed already but I thought the flags organised by the Ultras in the Gorgie end on Monday looked great. Would be good for this one too.

:flagwave: