Forza Cuore Posted May 7 Posted May 7 2 hours ago, Lido said: Think that might have been"Sharpie." As you say he told some great stories. Not seen him on here for a couple of years. Yes, that was him. Thanks. I think he was a good age back then. 🙏
Canscot Posted May 7 Posted May 7 11 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said: Ach well, it is what it is. No point in stewing over something I can't change. I hear there is an option where you can renounce your British citizenship for the princely sum of £1000 ( it may have been $1000 might be confused). 🙄
eMJay Posted May 7 Posted May 7 1 hour ago, Phil D. Corners said: It’s going to bitter sweet if we win. Sweet that we win. Bitter that I won’t have anyone to celebrate with. I remember being in Gorgie after the 98 and 06 finals. 🥲🥲 Kin' hell are you bud, the moon...
davemclaren Posted May 7 Posted May 7 46 minutes ago, Canscot said: I hear there is an option where you can renounce your British citizenship for the princely sum of £1000 ( it may have been $1000 might be confused). 🙄 Depending on your age I imagine buying a British passport might be the cheaper option. 😎
Maple Leaf Posted May 7 Posted May 7 7 minutes ago, davemclaren said: Depending on your age I imagine buying a British passport might be the cheaper option. 😎 Yup. 116.50 pounds for an online application.
Canscot Posted May 7 Posted May 7 25 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said: Yup. 116.50 pounds for an online application. If you have all the documentation including your old passport. Mine was shredded probably 40 yrs ago for the same reason as someone else stated earlier. It was frowned upon to hold 2 passports. Now they want us to do exactly that! F$$kem!
Maple Leaf Posted May 7 Posted May 7 2 minutes ago, Canscot said: If you have all the documentation including your old passport. Mine was shredded probably 40 yrs ago for the same reason as someone else stated earlier. It was frowned upon to hold 2 passports. Now they want us to do exactly that! F$$kem! Probably not worth the hassle for me. I'm not sure I'd get travel insurance any more, so it's all a bit academic.
Canscot Posted May 7 Posted May 7 3 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said: Probably not worth the hassle for me. I'm not sure I'd get travel insurance any more, so it's all a bit academic. I am more or less in that camp too ML. I still have travel ins. though. Seemingly good until I croak no matter my age. But my wife just got news a few days ago that her 90 yr old mother( in Scotland) had a stroke. Now she has the dilemma of either not going back or trying to jump through the logistical hoops of acquiring a UK passport in order to go back to see her or ( given how long it might take to get said passport) for her funeral.
Neon Posted May 7 Posted May 7 I'll be there come what may if we win the title and it's the last ticket available even if only for a day - hopefully someone can put me up *nudge nudge, Paul*.
gasbottle2 Posted May 7 Author Posted May 7 My mate’s son Callum McNeil who lives in Houston asked me to put this up. Put my story up “Boyhood Jambo living in Houston. Managed to get most of the matches streamed on CBS. Managed to get my Dallas based Brother in Law keeping up with the jambos (had to explain the split to him a few weeks ago). Got a couple of his pals from Bolivia and Ecuador betting on and cheering for the Famous every week. Been trying to look at flights back for final weekend. Hoping for some last minute flight price reductions. Will happily fly home in my 98 Scottish cup jersey with a pair of boxers and socks in my pocket. Tough to not be there if we do get over the line. This won’t will always be the most special. A lot of the septic’s have no idea about football in general let alone Scottish fitba, which makes it hard. Group chats with fellow Jambo’s allow you to live vicariously through them though. What a club. Can you script this? No you can’t.
Laurie Posted May 7 Posted May 7 (edited) I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... Edited May 7 by Laurie
Geoff Kilpatrick Posted May 7 Posted May 7 5 minutes ago, Laurie said: I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... Bugger that! More over the top Laurie plz!
Canscot Posted May 7 Posted May 7 8 minutes ago, Laurie said: I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... We get it Laurie. You are a fan, first and foremost!
Peebo Posted May 7 Posted May 7 Not an expat now, but was when we won the cup in 2012. Watched the final on a terrible stream in a Starbucks in Dallas. Lived in Houston but was up there for a wedding. Would have been back for the final but unfortunate timing meant it didn’t work (had Green Card interview on the Monday). Taught me that you can still enjoy the highs even if life transpires such that you cannot actually be there. Enjoy the next 10 days expat, Jambos. It will be unlike anything you’ve lived through before, whether near or far.
HMFC_France Posted May 7 Posted May 7 1 hour ago, Laurie said: I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... You're the voice of my afternoon, don't change for a bit Laurie. It's always great to have you in my hears <3
HeartsandonlyHearts Posted May 8 Posted May 8 3 hours ago, Laurie said: I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... Please don’t change anything you guys do, not now. We’re so close to what we all hope is the pinnacle of all our dreams. At least the ones among us younger than 66. I don’t even sleep at night. My wife swears she’s never heard me use the word permutation before in my life. I so badly want Heart of Midlothian to be the team that ends the Glasgow butt cheek’s monopoly of Scottish football. It’s time.
Maple Leaf Posted May 8 Posted May 8 4 hours ago, Laurie said: I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... Keep up the great work. Don't change. Your commentary is outstanding, and your screaming at a Hearts goal is surpassed only by mine!!!
boozyjambo Posted May 8 Posted May 8 6 hours ago, gasbottle2 said: My mate’s son Callum McNeil who lives in Houston asked me to put this up. Put my story up “Boyhood Jambo living in Houston. Managed to get most of the matches streamed on CBS. Managed to get my Dallas based Brother in Law keeping up with the jambos (had to explain the split to him a few weeks ago). Got a couple of his pals from Bolivia and Ecuador betting on and cheering for the Famous every week. Been trying to look at flights back for final weekend. Hoping for some last minute flight price reductions. Will happily fly home in my 98 Scottish cup jersey with a pair of boxers and socks in my pocket. Tough to not be there if we do get over the line. This won’t will always be the most special. A lot of the septic’s have no idea about football in general let alone Scottish fitba, which makes it hard. Group chats with fellow Jambo’s allow you to live vicariously through them though. What a club. Can you script this? No you can’t. I'm in Houston. Would be great to meet up with a fellow Hearts man!
Hong Kong JT Posted May 8 Posted May 8 On 05/05/2026 at 03:47, edramone said: Hong Kong. 59 years old and followed Hearts since I was a laddie. Last game I saw at Tynecastle was 2019. Was at losing cup finals and games like the semi v Celtic in 88 (horrible) but also at our win in 1998 and actually held the cup we won. If we cross the line this year I will be over the moon but feel like I didn't totally deserve it since I haven't seen us play live this season. But I just want us to win. Any other Jambos in Hong Kong on here? Yes indeed - I am one of (at least two) Sai Kung based Jambos here in Hong Kong. Was at Dens in 1986 and it took until 2012 to rid the trophyless memories!
gasbottle2 Posted May 8 Author Posted May 8 1 hour ago, boozyjambo said: I'm in Houston. Would be great to meet up with a fellow Hearts man! PM me your details mate and I’ll pass them on , Callum isn’t a member. 👍🏻
boozyjambo Posted May 8 Posted May 8 23 minutes ago, gasbottle2 said: PM me your details mate and I’ll pass them on , Callum isn’t a member. 👍🏻 Says you can't receive messages. Mailbox full?
mayfield Posted May 8 Posted May 8 (edited) On 06/05/2026 at 12:49, gregzy2k7 said: I feel for all expat Jambos, I'm living in Melbourne now, Haven't managed to get back to a game since 2017, unfortunately I've already booked to go to America for the world cup this summer, so can't afford to go back to see hearts too as much as I would love to, Really really hope we get over the line, I've had a tradition this season that I wake up late the day after the match and watch the game back on Hearts TV, it seems to be working very well tbf, so I might just keep it going for these last few games. Although if there are any Melbourne based jambos on here who want to watch the game together somewhere ? Would be a pretty cool idea. Follow Melbourne HMFC Jambos on Facebook mate we have CQ Bar booked for Falkirk and Celtic games Edited May 8 by mayfield
hereford_hearts Posted May 8 Posted May 8 8 hours ago, Laurie said: I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... Never change. Love your proper fan commentary when we score. Although I did switch to hun TV for the last 5 mins just to witness their tears😂
Aussie Jambo Posted May 8 Posted May 8 One good thing is… when we are in Europe next season, we can use our passports for other countries in Europe. If I had to choose between a cold shitty game against Dundee Utd away or a champions league game. I know what I’d rather be at. So never fret my Jambo brethren. We can still go see our beloved hearts away in Europe.
Tommy Walker Posted May 8 Posted May 8 On 07/05/2026 at 14:32, kiwijambo1 said: Might have been me ? I’m still here just don’t post very often nowadays. I haven’t bumped into any fellow Jambo’s down here in a long time ,there’s a scattering of Hibs and the enevitable Old firm fans,my local barman is a Falkirk fan and I play old man’s fitba on Sundays with a Morton fan! If there are any other Hearts fans in Wellington I’d be keen to catch up for a pint and a blether! Sounds like you're a tad younger than him ...think he was more than partial to a drop of Carlsberg ...think someone on this thread suggested something like KiwiDoug which sounded familiar
gasbottle2 Posted May 8 Author Posted May 8 7 hours ago, boozyjambo said: Says you can't receive messages. Mailbox full? Hi Boozyjambo, I’ve emptied my mailbox, please try again to PM me when you have a minute. Cheers 👍🏻
Laurie Posted May 8 Posted May 8 16 hours ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said: Bugger that! More over the top Laurie plz! 16 hours ago, Canscot said: We get it Laurie. You are a fan, first and foremost! 15 hours ago, HMFC_France said: You're the voice of my afternoon, don't change for a bit Laurie. It's always great to have you in my hears <3 13 hours ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said: Please don’t change anything you guys do, not now. We’re so close to what we all hope is the pinnacle of all our dreams. At least the ones among us younger than 66. I don’t even sleep at night. My wife swears she’s never heard me use the word permutation before in my life. I so badly want Heart of Midlothian to be the team that ends the Glasgow butt cheek’s monopoly of Scottish football. It’s time. 11 hours ago, Maple Leaf said: Keep up the great work. Don't change. Your commentary is outstanding, and your screaming at a Hearts goal is surpassed only by mine!!! 8 hours ago, hereford_hearts said: Never change. Love your proper fan commentary when we score. Although I did switch to hun TV for the last 5 mins just to witness their tears😂 Cheers folks! To be fair, it was more in response to some comments I'd seen a few weeks ago suggesting my nerves make the latter stages of tight games even more nervy, which is completely understandable as I'm as stressed and tense as everyone watching (we don't sit at the back of the Wheatfield, so I end up pacing and gesticulating most of the time). Believe me, there won't be any holding back on my part if we have some historic moments over the next 2 or 3 games...
Kalamazoo Jambo Posted May 8 Posted May 8 1 hour ago, Laurie said: Cheers folks! To be fair, it was more in response to some comments I'd seen a few weeks ago suggesting my nerves make the latter stages of tight games even more nervy, which is completely understandable as I'm as stressed and tense as everyone watching (we don't sit at the back of the Wheatfield, so I end up pacing and gesticulating most of the time). Believe me, there won't be any holding back on my part if we have some historic moments over the next 2 or 3 games... Laurie, to add to what others have said, just be yourself, you do an amazing job.
Kalamazoo Jambo Posted May 8 Posted May 8 On 07/05/2026 at 08:09, Maple Leaf said: I've just realised that I will be denied boarding by the airline if I try to fly to Scotland using my Canadian passport. My British passport expired years ago. It looks like I've enjoyed my last visit to Tynecastle. Oh well, I've had a guid kick at the ba', so use an appropriate metaphor. I almost got caught out by the new rules last year - my UK passport had expired and I just hadn’t got around to renewing, given that I normally travel on my US passport. Realized I couldn’t use an ETA and luckily managed to get a temporary UK passport (involving a last minute trip to the UK consulate in Chicago). UK passport now renewed I’m glad to say. I think I may have been able to get through UK immigration even with an expired passport but the point you raise is accurate - I’d have almost certainly been denied boarding by the airline.
Maple Leaf Posted May 8 Posted May 8 8 minutes ago, Kalamazoo Jambo said: I almost got caught out by the new rules last year - my UK passport had expired and I just hadn’t got around to renewing, given that I normally travel on my US passport. Realized I couldn’t use an ETA and luckily managed to get a temporary UK passport (involving a last minute trip to the UK consulate in Chicago). UK passport now renewed I’m glad to say. I think I may have been able to get through UK immigration even with an expired passport but the point you raise is accurate - I’d have almost certainly been denied boarding by the airline. There isn't even a discussion with the airline employee. They will scan my Canadian passport into the UK's ETA system, and if that system reveals that I am a dual citizen they simply refuse to issue a boarding pass. End of story. Same thing applies to my daughter. Although she was born in Canada, she has dual citizenship because her of parents.
Melbourne Jambo Posted May 8 Posted May 8 On 05/05/2026 at 20:25, Hearts1975 said: Same. They are flying from Melbourne on the Tuesday, get in for the Falkirk game on the Wednesday, and then flying back on the weekend starting work on the Tuesday. Incredible. I did similar in 2012, landed on the Friday, flew back on the Monday. Unfortunately, young family makes it impossible this time but will be at CQ in the city
Gulf Jambo Posted May 9 Posted May 9 Big day tomorrow in NZ Hearts game on at 7am Old Firm at 11pm And nothing but shitting yourself in between 😂
gregzy2k7 Posted May 9 Posted May 9 On 08/05/2026 at 15:23, mayfield said: Follow Melbourne HMFC Jambos on Facebook mate we have CQ Bar booked for Falkirk and Celtic games Yeah thanks I did, I'm going to come for the falkirk game.
sprinbox98 Posted May 9 Posted May 9 I love this thread. I spent 5 years in wellington, New Zealand. We had a brilliant time but often found it quite tough being so far from home. I used to be getting up in the middle of the night to watch a mid table clash between Hearts and Dundee. what a difference now with something meaningful to play for. even if this helps connect a few jams is with others overseas then it’s a good job. Respect to you all (especially the those in NZ!).
jambo in iraq Posted May 9 Posted May 9 Watching as an expat brings you closer to home. I think about hearts more than my wife my job and sometimes my kid! It’s much easier ofcourse than past years. Last week I watched Hearts beat Rangers from the literal pitch side of the San Siro stadium. Am I the first person to watch a hearts win in this stadium… probably!? But Inter’s GM knew all about us and it’s amazing how many people in Dubai are talking about it too!
Negan Posted May 9 Posted May 9 I'm here in Brisbane trying to rally jambos out here for watching the remaining games. Had a few interested so hopefully Il not have to watch us lift the title on my own in the casino 🤣
Delboyinoz Posted May 9 Posted May 9 On 08/05/2026 at 07:14, Laurie said: I must apologise to anyone tuning into Hearts TV this season, as my nerves in some of these big games have probably been spilling out into commentary and just added to your nerves sitting at home watching! I can't promise it'll change before the campaign is finished either, I'm a nervous wreck at the moment... Without you and Jimmy, we would be scrambling around listening to any number of rubbish streams. Hearts TV is our connection to the hopes and dreams of expats worldwide that still love HMFC and have followed our team anyway we can . We may have missed cup finals, european nights and the joy of big days out with our pals at Tynie, but the love of our football club is never diminished . I can't be there this week to see the conclusion to this amazing season but SATF and Hearts TV will make it seem like I'm right there as actually happens Thanks again for everything Laurie, Jimmy, Robert, Mark and Scott for bringing the matchday experience to all the international brotherhood of Jambos around the world
japanjambo Posted May 9 Posted May 9 Spend half the year in Japan. Currently in Japan until end of May. Just came home after being at my daughter's and grandchilder's house. Got off the traing and went and prayed at three shrines on the way home! My nerves are in tatters! let's hope the Shinto God's are with us tonight! Will be up at 4am over here watching! Please! Please! Please!
Norm Posted May 9 Posted May 9 Nice wee article in the Evening News about an American family who came over for the Rangers game. Their daughter fell in love with the JTs when she was younger, as she used to watch Scottish football in the mornings before she went to play for her local side and decided we were the team for her. Glad they had a cracking time. https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/american-family-and-devoted-jambos-visit-tynecastle-for-first-ever-time-in-historic-season-as-they-hail-amazing-atmosphere-8514235
Kalamazoo Jambo Posted May 9 Posted May 9 1 hour ago, Norm said: Nice wee article in the Evening News about an American family who came over for the Rangers game. Their daughter fell in love with the JTs when she was younger, as she used to watch Scottish football in the mornings before she went to play for her local side and decided we were the team for her. Glad they had a cracking time. https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/american-family-and-devoted-jambos-visit-tynecastle-for-first-ever-time-in-historic-season-as-they-hail-amazing-atmosphere-8514235 The parents were interviewed on the Hearts on Sleeves podcast, well worth a listen.