MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted April 8 Posted April 8 5 minutes ago, Taffin said: For sure, I'm just not completely convinced the pet/human dynamic can be fully treating them with respect. I appreciate that's bleeding heart liberal stuff, next I'll be saying plants feel pain and we shouldn't eat them either 😂 yep im sure there are plenty cases they are neither well looked after nor treated with respect - similar to human human relationships albeit probably easier to mistreat a pet with less consesquencies
Star Lizard Posted April 8 Posted April 8 8 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said: Is trump a cat? I know he's a bit of a pussy, fair enough. Grabs women by their cat.
Star Lizard Posted April 8 Posted April 8 7 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: in an earlier post you seemed to be excluding domesticated animals on farms and animal rights etc - did i pick that up wrong as well ? Yes you did. I pointed out that there is a very important difference in the debates about protecting important indigenous species from being wiped out, and in the animal cruelty debate over how we treat domestic beast.
westbow Posted April 8 Posted April 8 1 hour ago, Star Lizard said: Preservation of wildlife is left wing, the position to ignore the collapse of world ecosystems in the name of capital is rightwing. Hope this helps. It was a pretty middle class thing when I was growing up. No idea why you brought that up. Plus the program More or Less is mostly accused of having a left leaning agenda- nothing particularly wrong with that. Hope that helps.
Maple Leaf Posted April 8 Posted April 8 42 minutes ago, Bill Sikes said: Don't tell jokes about Cats. T.S. Eliot would object.
Star Lizard Posted April 8 Posted April 8 (edited) 8 minutes ago, westbow said: It was a pretty middle class thing when I was growing up. No idea why you brought that up. Plus the program More or Less is mostly accused of having a left leaning agenda- nothing particularly wrong with that. Hope that helps. I explained why I brought that up. It’s because the biggest lobby against ecological protection and preservation of endangered habitats and species comes from the right. They are against renewables and a move away from the oil that they are currently murdering people over. This is not aimed directly at you, but can you not please just all start to understand the connection between things? Edited April 8 by Star Lizard
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted April 8 Posted April 8 13 minutes ago, Star Lizard said: Yes you did. I pointed out that there is a very important difference in the debates about protecting important indigenous species from being wiped out, and in the animal cruelty debate over how we treat domestic beast. yes there is a difference - thats why i refer to “narrow” and “wider” issues - just to be clear the wider issue is not about “animal cruelty” its about the actions of humans and how it affects animals and wildlife (ie just like having cats as pets but a wider version) youve said in your post the wider issue has “no relevance” presumably because you failed to make the connection and thought it was about animal cruelty
Star Lizard Posted April 8 Posted April 8 9 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: yes there is a difference - thats why i refer to “narrow” and “wider” issues - just to be clear the wider issue is not about “animal cruelty” its about the actions of humans and how it affects animals and wildlife (ie just like having cats as pets but a wider version) youve said in your post the wider issue has “no relevance” presumably because you failed to make the connection and thought it was about animal cruelty Oh well. Well done. It’s outwith the Jambos Kickback rules to reply properly. Ladies and gentlemen. Please enjoy MMM being a tragic and ignorant of topic contrarian. Hopefully someone on here isn’t a bit banny.
John Findlay Posted April 8 Posted April 8 1 hour ago, redjambo said: It's a unique ecosystem all to itself. Especially on a Friday and Saturday night. Most definitely. Ive felt I've been in the middle of a David Attenborough wildlife documentary on numerous occasions.😄
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted April 8 Posted April 8 11 minutes ago, Star Lizard said: Oh well. Well done. It’s outwith the Jambos Kickback rules to reply properly. Ladies and gentlemen. Please enjoy MMM being a tragic and ignorant of topic contrarian. Hopefully someone on here isn’t a bit banny. it woukd be better if you just debated the point even if its an agree to disagree type thing rather than getting agitated instead youve just gave me personal ‘abuse’ veered off topic eg sky fairies etc and now your effectively telling the general thread they need to up their game on understanding on how things connect - presumably because 2 or 3 have challenged some your posts
Star Lizard Posted April 8 Posted April 8 4 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: it woukd be better if you just debated the point even if its an agree to disagree type thing rather than getting agitated instead youve just gave me personal ‘abuse’ veered off topic eg sky fairies etc and now your effectively telling the general thread they need to up their game on understanding on how things connect - presumably because 2 or 3 have challenged some your posts OKm8
Ked Posted April 8 Author Posted April 8 1 hour ago, Star Lizard said: Because the rightwing of politics have a powerful lobby against green issues and trying to argue against the science that points out how human behaviour is a threat to the wellbeing of the planet. Things like climate change denial, climate change, pollution and habitat destruction are mocked by the rightwing. have you not noticed the pushback by oil rich types to prevent the switch to renewables and promote the rape of natural resources in unique habitats such as the Congo. There was a point where green issues were being understood, thanks to science and intelligence. It’s all being stripped back by simpletons like Trump and Vance now, sadly. Star L. I'm a bit right wing. I have voted green (Scotland) as my second vote and still will despite their other policies. Can we please have this thread not political though cos it's nippy. Keep posting though because you are for the right(left)😀 cause.
Ked Posted April 8 Author Posted April 8 2 hours ago, redjambo said: Yes, but it would be nice if, during the time we have left, we could make an effort not to take as many species out with us as we have been doing. It's not about being nice Red. Species do die out. But not at the rate or scale seen in recent decades. We all have grew up together so too speak. We are interconnected in ways we barely understand.
Dick Dastardly Posted April 8 Posted April 8 31 minutes ago, Star Lizard said: Oh well. Well done. It’s outwith the Jambos Kickback rules to reply properly. Ladies and gentlemen. Please enjoy MMM being a tragic and ignorant of topic contrarian. Hopefully someone on here isn’t a bit banny. The thread was about pet cats killing birds. You've been going about sky faries and right and left wing nonsense. You're the one taking the thread off topic!
Maple Leaf Posted April 8 Posted April 8 17 minutes ago, Ked said: It's not about being nice Red. Species do die out. But not at the rate or scale seen in recent decades. We all have grew up together so too speak. We are interconnected in ways we barely understand. Our knowledge on the subject is growing fast. All life on earth is descended from a common ancestor. Crazy as it might seem, about half of our functional DNA is the same as a tree's.
Ked Posted April 8 Author Posted April 8 15 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said: Our knowledge on the subject is growing fast. All life on earth is descended from a common ancestor. Crazy as it might seem, about half of our functional DNA is the same as a tree's. Don't get me started on trees. I can't go into details but some absolute half wit somehow managed to get a tree chopped that was ..... I really better not.
Ked Posted April 8 Author Posted April 8 37 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said: The thread was about pet cats killing birds. You've been going about sky faries and right and left wing nonsense. You're the one taking the thread off topic! TBF it's quite funny politicising animals. Bar l ...I mean star L has been good on here though. Dinnae mind a bit Scargill fir the animals. 😂
Ron Burgundy Posted April 8 Posted April 8 2 hours ago, Star Lizard said: Because the rightwing of politics have a powerful lobby against green issues and trying to argue against the science that points out how human behaviour is a threat to the wellbeing of the planet. Things like climate change denial, climate change, pollution and habitat destruction are mocked by the rightwing. have you not noticed the pushback by oil rich types to prevent the switch to renewables and promote the rape of natural resources in unique habitats such as the Congo. There was a point where green issues were being understood, thanks to science and intelligence. It’s all being stripped back by simpletons like Trump and Vance now, sadly. He’s rent free pal. You need to let go. The greens are more interested in trying to convince us men can give birth and open borders are the way to go rather than discuss green issues. Anyway back on topic, if birds want to avoid being eaten by predators they need to up their game.
il Duce McTarkin Posted April 8 Posted April 8 6 hours ago, jack D and coke said: It’s the women who have basically them into babies that wind me up. On the furniture, in their beds it’s foul man. Welcome back, jack.
Morgan Posted April 8 Posted April 8 3 hours ago, Bill Sikes said: Don't tell jokes about Cats. @J.T.F.Robertson agrees with this post.
Gundermann Posted April 8 Posted April 8 On 07/04/2026 at 17:32, Ked said: 50 million birds a year are killed by pet cats. I love cats . I used to have one a murderous one at that. In America the amount of birds killed by pet cats runs into billions. I believe Sir Dave is making a programme about this. What conservationists are asking is for people to keep their cats in at least during breeding season and from dusk till after dawn as they do some damage to bats as well. Imo there are far too many people owning pets. I understand how folk feel but the impact on wildlife is well wild. Bird numbers are struggling. Common robins used to be in large flocks. The variety of bird life is dire. Like I say cats are beautiful and an evolutionary masterpiece. But there's too many with no checks and balance. That's down to us. I got annoyed at one caller who said she couldn't keep her cat in as it would wreck her house. I actually shouted at the radio. Green Party thread for this. MODS!
Ked Posted April 8 Author Posted April 8 2 minutes ago, Gundermann said: Green Party thread for this. MODS! Did think about it but the birds and cats don't like sharing the bogs. 🤪
Ked Posted April 10 Author Posted April 10 Wee heads up. Gutted tbh but the greater good and all that. Want to help garden birds? Don't feed them in warmer months, says RSPB - BBC News https://share.google/hNjDMbFbCvGZJDBb7
moonshine Posted April 10 Posted April 10 25 minutes ago, Ked said: Wee heads up. Gutted tbh but the greater good and all that. Want to help garden birds? Don't feed them in warmer months, says RSPB - BBC News https://share.google/hNjDMbFbCvGZJDBb7 But it's cheaper to buy bird seed than cat food.
Dick Dastardly Posted April 10 Posted April 10 4 minutes ago, moonshine said: But it's cheaper to buy bird seed than cat food. 👏 👏 👏 👏
Ked Posted April 10 Author Posted April 10 13 minutes ago, moonshine said: But it's cheaper to buy bird seed than cat food. 🤬😂