***Official Rangers v Heart of Midlothian Match Thread***

Posted
4 minutes ago, Duos123 said:

Stopped Boyle going through so think thats a bit harsh dont think he did much wrong.

He didn't do much. That's what he did wrong. We were a man down for most of the game.

• Replies 2.9k

• Dallas Green

• tian447

• Gordons left glove

• mr fox

perthjambo
Posted

Please do not play three at the back we are too slow for balls going over the top. 4-4-2 is the best formation at ibrox

Posted

I wouldn’t mind 3 at the back on Sunday

Schwalow

Steinweder  Halks.  Findlay

Altena  McEntee  Beni  Milne

Mags

Braga.               Kysi /Chesny

Shankland31
Posted

There are so many options for formation and personnel it’s crazy. Nobody can call either for Sunday.

Please Del, just get it right, get the boys up for the fight and be ready for what could be one of the biggest games in Scottish football history. 

We are all with you!

Let’s do this Jambos. 

TynecastleBC5
Posted

Oh I'll have a go. If it was my choice:

High press and force errors.

Slightly worried about the right. Maybe swap Alrena out for McEntee and put Beni into DM.

I just dont trust Steinwender with their pace. He's fast, but has slow acceleration.

Screenshot_20260213_000932_Samsung Internet.jpg

Posted
21 minutes ago, Pasquale said:

He didn't do much. That's what he did wrong. We were a man down for most of the game.

Well he stopped Boyle going through so I don't think thats not doing much. Wasn't his best game though which I completely understand your point.

Posted
8 hours ago, Exile fae Main Street said:

Think you're missing the point slightly, imo, Bud.

Kabore has made a great contribution to the team. However, we need to step up a gear at Ibrox, hit them with the unknown something like (I know DM will pick nowhere near it!) :   Schwolow 

Altena Halks Findlay Milne

Beni

McEntee Ageu Magnusson

Chesnokov Braga Mato

Subs; Gordon; Steinwender; Kent; Kabore; Kabangu; Kryzeridis; Kerjota; Leonard.

12 players would certainly help our chances 

Gulf Jambo
Posted

Think it might be 433, drop Kabore and use pace & running up top.

Schwolow 

Altena

Halkett

Findlay

Milne

McEntee 

Leonard

Beni

Chesnokov

Braga

Kyziridis 

None of the CM's are attacking, but balances if we play Milne & Altena.

Would like to play Magnusson. But big week for him potentially so may not be ready to start.

And not sure if Ageu is fit to start, but could be a wildcard 

Posted

Think we need to go all out for the win. That would all but put them all out of the title race. They'd need 3 more wins than us with 11 games to go.

I'm confident we'll beat them.

DxB Hearts
Posted
4 hours ago, casper said:

Think we need to go all out for the win. That would all but put them all out of the title race. They'd need 3 more wins than us with 11 games to go.

I'm confident we'll beat them.

See I'm very much in the category of "just come away with a draw". 

That will then leave them having to beat Celtic in a couple weeks otherwise it's done for them. If they do beat Celtic, that helps us pull away from them.

If we go for it and lose then we're potentially level on points with Celtic, assuming they win their games.

davie1980
Posted
9 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

I think our lack of attacking threat from midfield is showing.  
Time for Ageu to earn his corn. 

Magnusson just scored the winner

He's on 4 goals.

We're seeing a bit more progressive passing from Leonard.

I don't think that's necessarily the case

Keep the Heid
Posted
11 minutes ago, DxB Hearts said:

See I'm very much in the category of "just come away with a draw". 

That will then leave them having to beat Celtic in a couple weeks otherwise it's done for them. If they do beat Celtic, that helps us pull away from them.

If we go for it and lose then we're potentially level on points with Celtic, assuming they win their games.

Sorry mate, if we go through playing for a draw it will start to look like some of those woeful Hampden displays against Sevco in recent years, we will lose, I'm not suggesting we go gung ho either that will play right into Danny Rohl's normal game plan, he wants us to go for them, they can then just pick us off, nope this is defo like a game of chess, I would like to see us play in a similar style to when we played Celtic under Nancy, that worked perfectly.

DxB Hearts
Posted
Just now, Keep the Heid said:

Sorry mate, if we go through playing for a draw it will start to look like some of those woeful Hampden displays against Sevco in recent years, we will lose, I'm not suggesting we go gung ho either that will play right into Danny Rohl's normal game plan, he wants us to go for them, they can then just pick us off, nope this is defo like a game of chess, I would like to see us play in a similar style to when we played Celtic under Nancy, that worked perfectly.

Yeah I get that but this side under McInnes is vastly different to the sides under Neilson, Naismith etc. We carry way more of a threat to hit them on the break and at set pieces too. All out attack Vs Rangers is a disaster waiting to happen I feel. 

I expect us to be compact, very combative, and to go long a lot. Sticking Magnusson on Raskin (or whoever plays as their deep CM) is also likely given that's what we did to Nancy's Celtic and it worked amazingly well. Although to be fair anyone could play any style against Nancy's Celtic, they were absolutely rotten :pleased:

Keep the Heid
Posted
3 minutes ago, DxB Hearts said:

Yeah I get that but this side under McInnes is vastly different to the sides under Neilson, Naismith etc. We carry way more of a threat to hit them on the break and at set pieces too. All out attack Vs Rangers is a disaster waiting to happen I feel. 

I expect us to be compact, very combative, and to go long a lot. Sticking Magnusson on Raskin (or whoever plays as their deep CM) is also likely given that's what we did to Nancy's Celtic and it worked amazingly well. Although to be fair anyone could play any style against Nancy's Celtic, they were absolutely rotten :pleased:

I agree, I like the idea of breaking on them with Braga and Kyzi as well, I also think Sevco are just not that good, they know it their fans know it and I think three points is not beyond us at all, as always our battle is with 'Wurzels' :)

Posted

We are not losing this game. Motherwell played them off the park by running rings around them with their passing and movement. Magnusson, McEntee and leonard should by our midfielders. It’s  whether Del decides to go 442 or 433 and you may see Kyzi play as a wing back with Braga and Kabore upfront. The back 4 pick themselves with Altena and Milne as full backs. 

The wheels on the bus go round and round and are not falling off any time soon. #believe🇱🇻

Posted
7 hours ago, TynecastleBC5 said:

Slightly worried about the right. Maybe swap Alrena out for McEntee and put Beni into DM.

I just dont trust Steinwender with their pace. He's fast, but has slow acceleration.

I like it

Posted
31 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

He's on 4 goals.

Leonard has had two poor games on the bounce IMO. Until Magnusson came on at the death we didn't have a midfielder willing to bust a gut and get in the box.

I think Leonard will do fine as cover for a DM but I'm not seeing anything else from him.

DxB Hearts
Posted
18 minutes ago, Keep the Heid said:

I agree, I like the idea of breaking on them with Braga and Kyzi as well, I also think Sevco are just not that good, they know it their fans know it and I think three points is not beyond us at all, as always our battle is with 'Wurzels' :)

Rangers have been guff for weeks and weeks. Unfortunately they've found a habit of winning whilst being guff. But so have we. Really is anyones game, don't think we need to be worried by them necessarily but it's probably the most anxious I've been for a game.

The game will swing on a big incident I think - a red card, pen or moment of magic.

A win for us here and I may start properly dreaming.

Hearts1975
Posted

Rangers have to win this game. They cannot afford to lose. That's how we will set up I feel. We will keep it tight and compact and pick them off in the break with our pace up front. 

I'm confident, really confident. 

We are a better team than them. We are playing with confidence regardless of being key men down 

But the biggest thing ... Mentality. Our mentality is completely different from days of old. The energy in the team. The belief. He has made us hard to beat 

Aye the orcs will come at us because it's their cup final. 

All about how we handle the game but I think and I believe we are ready for it 

Posted

Keeping Raskin quiet will help. However I'm sure Del knows enough about how they'll play to work out how we should go about our business.

Dick Dastardly
Posted
8 hours ago, Pasquale said:

Because he's slow as xxxx. However for this game where Rangers are going to throw balls into the box it might suit him.

He's up there for poty. He strolls back into the side. 

Posted

I can't see us winning through there this time. I would be happy with a draw, but alas I think we will lose this one.

Babertonhearts
Posted
42 minutes ago, Braminho said:

I like it

38 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Leonard has had two poor games on the bounce IMO. Until Magnusson came on at the death we didn't have a midfielder willing to bust a gut and get in the box.

I think Leonard will do fine as cover for a DM but I'm not seeing anything else from him.

" Two poor game" , very few played well against Hibs, he plays against Rangers.

Posted

No baby news yet 

davie1980
Posted
1 hour ago, Keep the Heid said:

Nobody is playing for a draw.

Nobody.

It won't happen, so stop worrying about it.

But we can set up with a more defensive or physical strategy. That still doesn't mean we are playing for a draw.

That would be common sense.

And saying "I'd take a draw" or "a draw would be a good result" isn't asking us to set up for one. It's accepting the reality that we are away to our nearest rivals, to a place we have had very very few wins over recent years, against a team who have generally been on decent form and also recognising the situation in the league table where it is far more important for Rangers for them to get the win. A draw is a decent result for us, it's not good enough for them in their current position.

You're about the 5th person in this thread to say something about playing for a draw. Nobody is asking for that and it isn't going to happen. The manager won't allow it and the mentality of the players won't either.

johnking123
Posted (edited)

Do think it is time to release Ageu. Give him 60 minutes. Can't keep mollycoddling him. Looks like he can hold ball up high in midfield. Could be important. 

Edited by johnking123
section s heart
Posted
1 hour ago, davie1980 said:

He's on 4 goals.

Like what I've seen of Leonard so far. He's happy to mix it in the job of regaining possession and he's better than Cammy in the "quarter back" stuff. 

His dead ball play hasn't been great though, that needs to improve, but he did OK overall against Hibs. 

Bindy Badgy
Posted
8 hours ago, Gulf Jambo said:

Think it might be 433, drop Kabore and use pace & running up top.

Schwolow 

Altena

Halkett

Findlay

Milne

McEntee 

Leonard

Beni

Chesnokov

Braga

Kyziridis 

None of the CM's are attacking, but balances if we play Milne & Altena.

Would like to play Magnusson. But big week for him potentially so may not be ready to start.

And not sure if Ageu is fit to start, but could be a wildcard 

I think Altena is unlikely to start as Derek doesn't seem to favour him in the bigger games. 

That aside, this is a good shout.

JimmyCant
Posted

Not saying this is a title decider (it’s clearly not that) but there will be an absolute tsunami of belief from all quarters if we win through there. We’ll be strong favourites to win the league and that’s a whole different layer of pressure 

Posted

Need to have two wingers, two forwards and a midfield with an attacking threat. 

Rangers are weakest at the back. We should really run over them.

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Not saying this is a title decider (it’s clearly not that) but there will be an absolute tsunami of belief from all quarters if we win through there. We’ll be strong favourites to win the league and that’s a whole different layer of pressure 

See where you're coming from but if we win the greatest pressure will be on the uglies as the reality that we can win the League sinks in. Second to the Old Firm is nowhere, third or fourth (behind Motherwell) is like us being in the bottom six fighting to avoid the play off spot.

Edited by EIEIO
Spelling
JimmyCant
Posted
2 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Need to have two wingers, two forwards and a midfield with an attacking threat. 

Rangers are weakest at the back. We should really run over them.

He’ll not go with that Gung Ho of a line up

4-3-3 for me

Schwalow

Steinwender (I’d prefer Altena)

Halkett

Findlay

Milne

Beni

Leonard (I’d prefer Ageu)

Magnussen

Chesnokov

Braga

Kyziridis

JimmyCant
Posted
1 minute ago, EIEIO said:

See where you're coming from but if we win the greatest pressure will be on the uglies as the reality that we can win the League sinks in. Second to the Old Firm is nowhere, third or fourth (behind Motherwell) is like us being in the bottom six fighting to avoid the play off spot.

Sorry should have been clearer. The extra pressure is on those chasing us. Very little extra pressure you can put on a team who can afford 2 defeats and still be top. They keep going as they are, they win the league (and it might not even be close)

Posted
9 hours ago, TynecastleBC5 said:

Like that. 

Players played in their correct position. 

Posted
17 hours ago, Diehardjambo1 said:

Can’t play with 12 players 

The bigot do every game so why can't we?

Posted
1 hour ago, Horatio Caine said:

Keeping Raskin quiet will help. However I'm sure Del knows enough about how they'll play to work out how we should go about our business.

This is the worry for me. He will change things because of the why they play and not in a good way. He will play to counter them rather than beat them. I hope I am wrong and he gets stuck in but he has form for reacting and not being proactive. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Ex member of the SaS said:

This is the worry for me. He will change things because of the why they play and not in a good way. He will play to counter them rather than beat them. I hope I am wrong and he gets stuck in but he has form for reacting and not being proactive. 

Well he did that when we played Celtic and rangers away and that worked out well 

Posted
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

I can't see us winning through there this time. I would be happy with a draw, but alas I think we will lose this one.

Looks like someone has lost his nerve :rolleyes:

Posted
1 minute ago, cheetah said:

Looks like someone has lost his nerve :rolleyes:

No. I know we are not playing on a level playing field and will be playing against Twelve at the least on Sunday, now that they have more than a chance to win the league.

Posted

form table….

Posted
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

How come?

Posted
7 minutes ago, MattyK82 said:

How come?

They are in the hunt. It will not be 11 v 11.

Not this time.

Posted

Saw an interview with Taverneir where he said something along the lines of "we must win by whatever means it takes"

Could be interpreted in a few different ways 

Posted
8 minutes ago, MattyK82 said:

How come?

Personally I think we have been poor the last 2 games. Too many players off it and attacking wise we look short. 

Would be delighted with a point 

Posted
11 minutes ago, MattyK82 said:

Simple message from Del. Keep winning games. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

They are in the hunt. It will not be 11 v 11.

Not this time.

They were in the hunt last time too & only 1 point further behind us than they are now & we still did them

Posted
2 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Yup - Leonard has been good until the last two games and I think he should be benched. Beni and McEntee as defensive midfielders with Ageu pushed further forward. It's time for the lad to be trusted with a start. Mags to come on later if we need to add a bit of energy.

Gorgieshed
Posted

I'd be starting Ageu on Saturday in the 10 role, the unknown X factor that they wouldn't expect. Play Braga as the no. 9 dropping Kabore.

Altena RB or RM with McEntee on the Right side too. With Chesnokov dropping to the bench.

Obviously Halks for Kent. The rest, the same team v Hibs.

Posted

Steve Clarke is the special guest for SKY on Sunday

images(67).jpeg.fbf6959ef5ec26d74795cfe521a489d6.jpeg