Football phrases that give you the ick

Posted
23 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

We know what we're up against gets thrown in with the difficult place to go.

Dinnae !! I can feel myself twitch at that one !!

• Replies 386

• Maroon Sailor

• HeartsCobra

PeterHaringsPonytail
Posted

"Bring him home"

Posted

Something being a "big ask"

giving 110%

Posted

"Wiv goat gid players in the bildin"

:wtf:

Posted

50p head.

Posted
1 hour ago, Richard Dawkins said:

The shot goes wide and commentator then says "if that was on target, the goalkeeper was beating"

Even worse when they say 'beaten'.

☺️

Posted
19 hours ago, Bungalow Bill said:

All of these for me, along with calling positions after shirt numbers:

Playing as a 6’, ‘playing the 10 role’. Grinds my gears. 

Akso, I'll always stand by that in 1-11 terms, 6 is a central defender and 4 is a midfielder.

Bungalow Bill
Posted
19 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Akso, I'll always stand by that in 1-11 terms, 6 is a central defender and 4 is a midfielder.

Could be either I guess. I always remember Eion Jess wearing number 4 for Aberdeen. 

Posted

8 was in inside right!

Posted

10 was inside-left.  😎

Another Robbo
Posted

Perfect example of the annoying use of just about on the BBC tonight. Bologna did score.

Screenshot_20260122_190639_BBC Sport.jpg

Bernard Sumner
Posted
On 21/01/2026 at 11:43, J.J said:

Any time a player is referenced as plural:

e.g. “The Scott McTominay’s, the Andy Robertson’s, the John McGinn’s of this world”.

Really, really irks me and almost all pundits do it. 

Just say Scott McTominay, or if you want to make a comparison to a ‘type’ of player, simply say, “a player like Scott McTominay”. Granted there is only one!

ps Add “of this world” as well. As far as we are aware this is the only world that plays football. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Another Robbo said:

Perfect example of the annoying use of just about on the BBC tonight. Bologna did score.

Screenshot_20260122_190639_BBC Sport.jpg

This one is infuriating. It’s mangling the language to such an extent that “just about” now has the opposite meaning to its original meaning. This is being done by people who earn their living partly because of their supposed skills with language. 

Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, Mr Benn said:

This one is infuriating. It’s mangling the language to such an extent that “just about” now has the opposite meaning to its original meaning. This is being done by people who earn their living partly because of their supposed skills with language. 

The TNT commentator said a shot went straight down Schmeichel's throat.

Heard loads of commentators use that instead of straight at him

Edited by Maroon Sailor
Posted

Pretty much pushed the boat out.

Posted

Buzzing, for a game of football.

FFS.

Posted

One phrase that seems to be phasing out is At the end of the day. Ally MacLeod (ex Scotland manager) used to say that all the time.

Posted

“ They were putting their bodies on the line”

It’s a game of football not Rorkes Drift. 

Posted

Charity / Community shleld match a.k.a The traditional curtain raiser

Posted

He's more of an 8 than a 6 (and other variations).

Just feck off

cosanostra
Posted

"There's a player in there" generally means they've played one good game and countless terrible games or played well for another club but shite for us. Jorge Grant was always a "player in there" type of guy. 

Posted
On 21/01/2026 at 11:43, J.J said:

Any time a player is referenced as plural:

e.g. “The Scott McTominay’s, the Andy Robertson’s, the John McGinn’s of this world”.

Really, really irks me and almost all pundits do it. 

Just say Scott McTominay, or if you want to make a comparison to a ‘type’ of player, simply say, “a player like Scott McTominay”. Granted there is only one!

ps Add “of this world” as well. As far as we are aware this is the only world that plays football. 

I've been beaten to the Burniston clip on this but it's one I like to paraphrase at any relevant opportunity. 

Extra points if "your" goes in the mix: "your Lawrence Shanklands..." What? All of them? Mine?

On 21/01/2026 at 11:51, The Real Maroonblood said:

He’s hit the woodwork.

It’s not ******* wood.

So many good suggestions/ observations on this thread but the plant in me (not very deep in me, admittedly) identifies with this. 

Others:

Wurselfs

A few have mentioned "wur" but when football managers go the whole hog, it needs brought to their attention. 

In all my born days, I have never had a conversation with anyone who says "wur", it's only footballers; particularly managers. 

For me (uttered by a pundit, such as Michael Stewart)

Michael, what do you make of that penalty being awarded?

"For me, it was never a handball."

As if he has to clarify that his opinion is his own. 

Back of the net

Surely the back of the net is the bit that's facing the stand/terracing?

JimmyCant
Posted (edited)

‘Statement’

A word that’s being applied to just about any win these days but moreso when Hearts win

Completely meaningless

Edited by JimmyCant
Posted

Frame of the goal,back stick, penalty mark,   hibs

Posted
8 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

For me (uttered by a pundit, such as Michael Stewart)

Michael, what do you make of that penalty being awarded?

"For me, it was never a handball."

As if he has to clarify that his opinion is his own. 

He is the For me type.

Me, me, me is what he's all about. Average player, hasn't gone into coaching or management. He's a gob on a stick pontificating on a weekly basis how he's always right and never wrong.

Posted
8 hours ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

He's more of an 8 than a 6 (and other variations).

Just feck off

That does my head in as well. Also when they say he's playing the 6 role

Posted
9 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

He is the For me type.

Me, me, me is what he's all about. Average player, hasn't gone into coaching or management. He's a gob on a stick pontificating on a weekly basis how he's always right and never wrong.

Totally agree 

Posted

Another hate that comes out of his mouth. Architects of their own downfall 😬🤮 honestly what a slaver eh?

Posted

An emotional homecoming.

Posted

“Set their stall out early “ what! Did they get up at 04:00 and drive down to the car boot sale site to get a good pitch? 

Richard Dawkins
Posted
On 22/01/2026 at 13:17, Morgan said:

Even worse when they say 'beaten'.

☺️

Well spotted. I was beaten there!

Posted
25 minutes ago, Richard Dawkins said:

Well spotted. I was beaten there!

:biggrin2:

:thumbsupOK:

:flagwave:

Posted

Gonna get pelters for this but see more and more people using the phrase "Cameo" for a players sub appearance.

Maybe just being grumpy but seeing it more and more :levein2:

Posted

‘Done his hammy’.

’In his presser’.

:vrwow:

GarryJ-o-s
Posted

Take a bow 

Posted

Scarf above the head.

We also get ‘heid’ and ‘heed’.

Posted

Inverted Full-Backs

Horrendous

jock _turd
Posted (edited)

" Hibs Star" WTAF :lol:

also WTAF :lol:

Edited by jock _turd
Armageddon
Posted

When the transfer window SLAMS shut

Low block has been mentioned 

“they wanted it more”

Pundits and media who have no clue outside of Glasgow, getting other teams players wrong, defaulting to the usual to cover their lack of knowledge - the Sky commentator called McEntee McKenzie for example, that never happens with a Glasgow derby player.

Worst of all for me:

”Player of the match”

No longer allowed to gender a man playing a man’s game.

Posted

"He's no finish, he's 28"

That was funny the first 50million times. 

Spellczech
Posted
On 21/01/2026 at 11:58, davieholt said:

‘Within’ a point of the top of the league when he means exactly a point below the league leader.

where does this use of ‘within’ come from?

Yep this is the one that gets me - you even get newsreaders saying "Rangers are now within 3 points of league leaders Hearts" when they are exactly 3 points behind...How someone write a script so poorly?

Posted

When <insert name> scores, commentator says " <insert name> doesn't miss those!" .....

Posted

"We want to win football matches..." - well, the game you're involved in is football, not cricket, not rugby etc  - so what other kind of matches might you want to win?

Also references always made to `the football club` - erm..aye!

Jingle Bells
Posted

Saying technic instead of skill.

Quando, Quando, Quando
Posted

Has anyone added "Chesny" for "Chesnokov" yet?

Posted

pronunciation annoyances:

"subditute"   which should be "substitute"

"sickth" which should be "sixth"

Posted
On 21/01/2026 at 14:40, jbee647 said:

He’s just not that kind of player 

he obviously is, he’s just halfed someone 

😂😂😂

Ally Alexander
Posted

Fairly sure that the first time I heard ' just about kept it in ' was by Andy Townsend.  

Ally Alexander
Posted

one thing I dislike is the growing use of American spellings such as Defense.  It's defence on this side of the atlantic.

Posted

Lee "Ah tell you what" Hendrie with another of those 'Just Abouts' as Millwall squeezed one over the line on the rebound from a missed penalty