Seymour M Hersh Posted January 21 Posted January 21 1 hour ago, N Lincs Jambo said: Team X moves to “within Y points”. No!!! Team X moves to Y points behind. Maybe the doctors talking about Chromosomes.
Craig_ Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Couple of Kickback classics: Heart of a mouse Couldn't tackle a fish supper And an Ian Crocker special: "Bragging rights in the capital" Condescending pish, he'd never say that about the Glasgow derby.
Der Kaiser Posted January 21 Posted January 21 "Watch Liverpool take on Everton live on Sky Sports Mix..." ....yas.... ".....in the Women's Super League." ......dammit
Deodato Posted January 21 Posted January 21 2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said: There's a player in there somewhere Alan Hanser once said "you've gotta score more goals than the opposition if you're gonna win games" - he was on proper cabbage, around £400,000 a year from the BBC. I refused to pay my licence fee after that trade.
bean counter Posted January 21 Posted January 21 2 hours ago, db211833 said: ick I'm with you on that
Percival King Posted January 21 Posted January 21 8 minutes ago, Craig_ said: Couple of Kickback classics: Heart of a mouse Couldn't tackle a fish supper And an Ian Crocker special: "Bragging rights in the capital" Condescending pish, he'd never say that about the Glasgow derby. But he repeats "on derby day in Glasgow" over and over and over again, usually starting seconds after kick off. Peter Drury somehow manages to shoehorn into his commentary words that have no place in a football discussion, like "sumptuous".
Chong Posted January 21 Posted January 21 "A great ball but there was nobody there" What??? If nobody was there then it was a shit ball.
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted January 21 Posted January 21 I'm another that ick is pretty shit. I also hate "it is what it is", when it rarely is.
jackal Posted January 21 Posted January 21 The corridor of uncertainty These things even themselves out He's been clever there drawing the foul. There is no bias towards the OF
Maroon Sailor Posted January 21 Author Posted January 21 3 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: I'm another that ick is pretty shit. I also hate "it is what it is", when it rarely is. OK Mods change Ick to irk FS! It was there or thereabouts
Maroonjam Posted January 21 Posted January 21 2 hours ago, D4lien said: "the goalkeeper just about got there" After a goalie did get there, and saved it! There was no "just about" about it! Thank you. This one does my head in!
jbee647 Posted January 21 Posted January 21 He’s just not that kind of player he obviously is, he’s just halfed someone
HeartsCobra Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Listen… We’re already listening. …probably… Needless use. …obviously… Needless use. We go again. Especially when a fan says it – as if they have any bearing on whether the team “goes again” or not. I think they were magnificent …I really do… We believed you already. A Blair Spittal, or a Cammy Devlin… Just say their name, there’s only one of them. Make no mistake about it. Oooh dramatic! Just stop. Baller Eye roll.
martoon Posted January 21 Posted January 21 1 hour ago, Seymour M Hersh said: What is "the ick"? The boak.
Gershwin Posted January 21 Posted January 21 I always cringe when I hear anyone refer to football as 'footy'.
Haken Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Pen instead of penalty. Three syllables in one word can be demanding, right enough.
martoon Posted January 21 Posted January 21 "It's came off the upright" annoys me. I hate also the way many Southern English people say footballer. It sounds like "fibula".
martoon Posted January 21 Posted January 21 2 minutes ago, Gershwin said: I always cringe when I hear anyone refer to football as 'footy'. 🤢 🤮
Costanza Posted January 21 Posted January 21 2 hours ago, Horatio Caine said: Listen... Ha ha hate reading that in former footballer columns in the likes of the Record. Every Barry Ferguson column would have one. I also hated the Scottish tabloid stuff like "up in front of the beaks". I also can't recommend highly enough this twitter account
All roads lead to Gorgie Posted January 21 Posted January 21 2 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said: The Old Firm. 🤢 The New Firm is just as bad. Ancient history now but still used !
A_A wehatethehibs Posted January 21 Posted January 21 It’s a goal! But it looks like it’ll go to VAR.
PhoenixHearts Posted January 21 Posted January 21 3 hours ago, boag1874 said: "He's just about kept that in/out" I hate this most of all because it's always used wrong and opposite of what it means. A player will score from a very tight shot that nearly hits the post... Commentary: "He's just about scored that" No, he DID score. "Just about" implies a near miss. File alongside Americans saying "I could care less"
WFB Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Sutton and other pundits/commentators and their use of "Delicious". As soon as I hear it, I mute the TV.
MrBones Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Hate when they say "finding little pockets of space" or just "pockets" in general. Neil McCann used to say it all the time on sportscene
HMFC01 Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Quite a lot of trigger words and phrases 😆 will have to tread carefully in future with what I'm posting. " He's on a hat trick", usually gets me. he scored 2 FFS. Xg used to trigger me 😂 I'm not too bad now. 2.8 goals. So he's on a hat trick I guess.
jbee647 Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Kevin Thomson always referring to us as “The Jambos”, that Hibs prick hasn’t earned the right to call us The Jambos, Heart of Midlothian or Hearts Football Club to you Thomson
Watt-Zeefuik Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Not really the ick, but I still can't get my head around "take your chances" meaning "actually scored a goal." Probably American/Scottish vernacular split but "take your chances" means "give it a try" here, regardless of outcome. Other than that, though, "he really should have scored" or "he has to score there." Scoring is hard, it's why football matches are won by one or two goals.
Robbo-Jambo Posted January 21 Posted January 21 3 hours ago, Jocam2325 said: In the building Same, and every repetitive phrase that comes out of McCoist's mouth, which is most of them.
Wee Mikey Posted January 21 Posted January 21 4 hours ago, Gorgiewave said: The use of present conditional regardless of when an incident happened or might happen. "If X plays, Y wins," describing a match yesterday. Why not the traditional and venerated "if X had played, Y would have won"? I'm very much with you on that. It does my nut in!
kingantti1874 Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Not a football phrase but folk who use the term “give the ick” gives me the ick
HeartsCobra Posted January 21 Posted January 21 The goal difference is worth an extra point. It’s not worth an extra point.
martoon Posted January 21 Posted January 21 (edited) 31 minutes ago, milky_26 said: they play football the right way. Craig Paterson's Sportsound mantra of "Hibs are a team that like to get the ball down and play the right way" used to get on my nerves. When? In the feckin early 70's? Hibs have been mediocre for the last 50 years: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th...is where they usually finish. And they're considered good seasons by that lot. Edited January 21 by martoon
G McJambo Posted January 21 Posted January 21 Not directly a football phrase but I really don’t like it when some fans use ‘the famous’ to describe their club. It’s hardly a special or unique phrase when other clubs do it. We’re Heart of Midlothian, and proud. Could be just mean though 🤷🏼
Morgan Posted January 21 Posted January 21 'Statement win', 'A chance for others to step up'. And, sometimes, it's 'step up to the plate' All recent ones on here, and all horrendous.