indianajones Posted January 19 Posted January 19 I'd be surprised if Shankland didn't start. He looked absolutely fine going off and on the bench. I really hope so anyway.
Mirror Posted January 19 Posted January 19 How many usually on var? Just trying to work out, how the odds will be stacked against us. 11 vs 15 or 16 And most of those 11 carrying knocks or being played out of position
Rudy T Posted January 19 Posted January 19 1 hour ago, Gundermann said: That needs some work. Falkirk and Hibs recently come to mind. Indeed and it’s always been the way ONeill sets up.
Hearts007 Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Maybe their European game might have an impact against us.. maybe wishful thinking but I still don't rate them anyway
Smithian Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Considering we're in the midst of an injury and suspension crisis, it's grim. I absolutely hate playing Milne in the midfield, so my lineup doesn't do that though I expect we see it. Shankland Kyzi Braga Milne Magnus McEntee Altena Findlay Halkett Stein Schwolow An 3-4-2 out of possession setup with Braga following McGregor until Celtic find an answer for that approach. If McEntee is out, they probably have to play Milne in the middle as the holding midfielder. In that case, I'd go 4-3-3 Kyzi Shanks Braga Spittal Magnus Milne McCart Finlay Halkett Stein Man mark McGregor again and I'd play very defensively and hope to bully Celtic on set pieces. No shame with a draw.
SIWYPod Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Obviously want to know the news on Shankland - but I do wonder if unless it's really bad news (long term injury) we might not hear/the club may play it down somewhat. I'm hoping he is going to be alright, and just keep him away from media duties and any training clips for the social channels to keep Celtic guessing on whether he'll feature or not.
Cruyff Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Braga Kyziridis Magnússon Altena Milne McEntee* McCart Findlay Halkett SteinW Gordon *or Spittal
Pasquale for King Posted January 19 Posted January 19 8 hours ago, jamb-oz said: Think it'll be 433: Schwolow Steinwender Halkett Findlay McCart Spittal Magnusson Milne Altena Braga Kyziridis Would rather see 424 though and have Milne in his natural LB position and go 2 up top with Braga & Kabore I think that looks right to me, unless we sign someone.
Jeremy Goss Posted January 19 Posted January 19 23 minutes ago, SIWYPod said: Obviously want to know the news on Shankland - but I do wonder if unless it's really bad news (long term injury) we might not hear/the club may play it down somewhat. I'm hoping he is going to be alright, and just keep him away from media duties and any training clips for the social channels to keep Celtic guessing on whether he'll feature or not. I’ve got tickets for an audience with him and Robbo on Thursday night at Tynecastle so bound to hear something there if not already.
tcjambo Posted January 19 Posted January 19 2 hours ago, Smithian said: Considering we're in the midst of an injury and suspension crisis, it's grim. I absolutely hate playing Milne in the midfield, so my lineup doesn't do that though I expect we see it. Shankland Kyzi Braga Milne Magnus McEntee Altena Findlay Halkett Stein Schwolow An 3-4-2 out of possession setup with Braga following McGregor until Celtic find an answer for that approach. If McEntee is out, they probably have to play Milne in the middle as the holding midfielder. In that case, I'd go 4-3-3 Kyzi Shanks Braga Spittal Magnus Milne McCart Finlay Halkett Stein Man mark McGregor again and I'd play very defensively and hope to bully Celtic on set pieces. No shame with a draw. I don't like Milne in CM. He really needs to play on the left. McCart is too ponderous to play LB against a quick team like Celtic. Also Chesny will get much more freedom to counter-attack in this game than against some other teams. I would be tempted to keep Braga in reserve. Kyzi Shanks Braga/Chesny Spittal Magnus Steinwender/McEntee Milne Finlay Halkett Altena
Jambof3tornado Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Just now, tcjambo said: I don't like Milne in CM. He really needs to play on the left. McCart is too ponderous to play LB against a quick team like Celtic. Also Chesny will get much more freedom to counter-attack in this game than against some other teams. I would be tempted to keep Braga in reserve. Kyzi Shanks Braga/Chesny Spittal Magnus Steinwender/McEntee Milne Finlay Halkett Altena Yup not a fan of milne in the middle
Watt-Zeefuik Posted January 19 Posted January 19 12 hours ago, GinRummy said: **** that. We've beat them twice already and can do it again. Oh sure. According to London Hearts from what I can see we've never in our history won three league games against them in a single season, but now when our captain, two best midfielders, and best defender are out, it's totally gonna happen. Sure, I'll hope for the best. But I'd be good with a draw.
Alasdair Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Too many people falling for the ‘Martin O’ Neill is the saviour’ spin. Celtic beat Falkirk 1-0 a week ago, and Auchinleck 2-0 at the weekend. They’ve got a game on Thursday night. Kyzi needs to get his head up and provide some quality and the crowd needs to back Magnusson if he’s playing cos he looks like a rabbit in the headlights at times. We can 100% get a result.
Gorgie_Rules Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Has there been any news on McEntee? If Magnussen turns in a performance the same as he did against Rangers then Beni/Devlin may not be missed as much as expected, he mopped up everything that game. Wouldn’t be against Steinwender slotting in beside Hallket and Findlay to allow Milne and Altena more freedom, with Magnussen and ideally McEntee sitting in front, if not McEntee then Spittal, with the usual front 3 up top. Got to remember we are up against a poor Celtic side by their usual standards, short-termish across the management and squad, heat on the board, small allocation, away in Bologna on Thursday night etc. There is alot still in our favour going into this one.
hearts_enthusiasts Posted January 19 Posted January 19 we need to get behind the team from the start, getting behind them for every tackle to a goal, need to make it hostile for celtic, chanting all the old songs to get all 4 stands involved, biggest game of the season
Watt-Zeefuik Posted January 19 Posted January 19 12 hours ago, Carter said: Would you have taken a draw before each of the 4 OF H2H that we've won so far? No because we weren't missing Shankland, Devlin, Baningime, Kingsley, and Halkett.
GBJambo Posted January 19 Posted January 19 9 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said: No because we weren't missing Shankland, Devlin, Baningime, Kingsley, and Halkett. Halkett is fine . No one knows about Shankland yet
Rudi5kaceldream1ng Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Celtic are completely shite atm and getting pelters from their own fans left right and centre about lack of signings and hating the board. That entire club right now is a toxic mess and believe you me that absolutely does transmit down to the players on the pitch. They feel the contempt and the pressure from their own support. There's only so much firefighting auld Martin o Neil can do. I get the feeling he's putting out fires with one hand and holding back a flood with the other. It's our job on Sunday to smash in their defences as they're seriously about to capitulate.
BigStein Posted January 19 Posted January 19 1 minute ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said: Celtic are completely shite atm and getting pelters from their own fans left right and centre about lack of signings and hating the board. That entire club right now is a toxic mess and believe you me that absolutely does transmit down to the players on the pitch. They feel the contempt and the pressure from their own support. There's only so much firefighting auld Martin o Neil can do. I get the feeling he's putting out fires with one hand and holding back a flood with the other. It's our job on Sunday to smash in their defences as they're seriously about to capitulate. It’s a fair point, the Celtic players are fully aware that they’re not wanted
Luckies1874 Posted January 19 Posted January 19 1 hour ago, Watt-Zeefuik said: Oh sure. According to London Hearts from what I can see we've never in our history won three league games against them in a single season, but now when our captain, two best midfielders, and best defender are out, it's totally gonna happen. Sure, I'll hope for the best. But I'd be good with a draw. We won't be missing Shankland or Halkett.
Luckies1874 Posted January 19 Posted January 19 2 minutes ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said: Celtic are completely shite atm and getting pelters from their own fans left right and centre about lack of signings and hating the board. That entire club right now is a toxic mess and believe you me that absolutely does transmit down to the players on the pitch. They feel the contempt and the pressure from their own support. There's only so much firefighting auld Martin o Neil can do. I get the feeling he's putting out fires with one hand and holding back a flood with the other. It's our job on Sunday to smash in their defences as they're seriously about to capitulate. They've also got a very important game on Thursday night which they can't rest players for. This 8 day break will do us the world of good.
Jacques de Gauthier Posted January 19 Posted January 19 1 hour ago, hearts_enthusiasts said: we need to get behind the team from the start, getting behind them for every tackle to a goal, need to make it hostile for celtic, chanting all the old songs to get all 4 stands involved, biggest game of the season The booing of every St Mirren touch the other week was fantastic. Shame we couldn’t do it v Falkirk. Needs brought back.
Rudi5kaceldream1ng Posted January 19 Posted January 19 16 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said: They've also got a very important game on Thursday night which they can't rest players for. This 8 day break will do us the world of good. Exactly. I'm not in the least bit over confident or complacent but I tell you what we've got nothing to fear from that shambles. Theyre a complete mess on and off the pitch and their own fans hate them. Rested. New players in. Let's go.
Gershwin Posted January 19 Posted January 19 This Celtic team are pretty fragile. I don't I have ever been able to say that about them. Quite a few of them absolutely shat it at Tynecastle last time out. Hopefully we'll be targeting those players again.
gregzy2k7 Posted January 19 Posted January 19 I would go a 4-2-3-1 Schwolow Steinwender Halkett Findlay Milne McEntee Magnusson Chesnokov Braga Kyziridis Shanks If Shankland not fit, then play Kabore up front.
amadjambo Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Hope to god we don’t play a back 3. Could be a long afternoon if we do.
Shankland31 Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Doesn’t matter who we have fit or what formation we play. We have nothing to fear. If every player gives 100% and every fan in the crowd gives 100% we will beat them. Give them hell Jambos!
Pasquale for King Posted January 19 Posted January 19 6 minutes ago, amadjambo said: Hope to god we don’t play a back 3. Could be a long afternoon if we do. I think we might as it seems Celtic are all about the crosses under the old/new interim manager.
Jambof3tornado Posted January 19 Posted January 19 What we cannot keep being is wasteful in front of goal. Celtic had 1 chance v falkirk and took it,we missed several good chances the last few matches so shooting boots on please guys!!!!
Masonic Posted January 19 Author Posted January 19 Schwolow Altena Halkett Findlay Milne Chesnokov Spittal Magnusson Kyzi Braga Shanks** Kabore if Shanks injured
pettigrewsstylist Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Hopefully smashed in Bologna. We have proffed with scheduling there!
Pasquale for King Posted January 19 Posted January 19 We need a quick start, keep the fans involved, an early goal would be ideal.
Watt-Zeefuik Posted January 19 Posted January 19 1 hour ago, GBJambo said: Halkett is fine . No one knows about Shankland yet That gives me a bit more hope. Look, I'm not totally dour about this, but a draw spoils one of their best chances to close ground on us at a time when we're weak. It's not a bad result angling towards the final title run-in.
Canscot Posted January 20 Posted January 20 Rather than start a new thread, I thought I would put this link in here. https://scottishsoccer.ca/ For Canadian Jambos. $7.99 per game or $79 or so for all games (involving other clubs I think) for the rest of the season, up to the split. I think they are offering another package that covers the split games too. Might be an option for some on here.
Sub4TiddlerMurray Posted January 20 Posted January 20 Given the bodies we have missing, a draw would be a terrific result. Going after Celtic simply doesn’t make any sense. Maintaining a 6 point lead over them will affect their confidence and keep ours up. Ok the huns will probably gain some ground ut we have an awful lot more to lose if we get pumped. We should use the best tools we have at our disposal: defenders. When McCart was subbed against st Mirren, for example, it opened up the back door for their goal, so he has to come back in. We need to deny Celtic any room on the deck. In short, a low block with the same back 5 we finished the Dundee game with. I'm not convinced that Shanks or McEntee are gonna make it but fingers crossed. Schwolow Steinwender Kent Halkett Findlay McCart Spittal Magnusson Milne Kyziridis Kabore/Braga
The Black Prince Posted January 20 Posted January 20 Cammy to make all the difference with a Churchillian/William Wallace type speech at half time.
Portable Badger Posted January 20 Posted January 20 8 minutes ago, The Black Prince said: Cammy to make all the difference with a Churchillian/William Wallace type speech at half time. Hope he does it before KO tbh - halftime might be too late!!
1971fozzy Posted January 20 Posted January 20 (edited) Some saying a draw is ok ? Get your big boy pants on. Thank fek the players and management don’t think like that Jesus. Into them and batter them. 3-1 Edited January 20 by 1971fozzy
GinRummy Posted January 20 Posted January 20 23 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said: Some saying a draw is ok ? Get your big boy pants on. Thank fek the players and management don’t think like that Jesus. Into them and batter them. 3-1 Correct They were utter pish against falkirk and fluked a win. They've got a tough european match on Thursday. Energy and desire will see us over the line on Sunday.
John Findlay Posted January 20 Posted January 20 Show no fear, and little respect. They are there to be beaten again.
Keep the Heid Posted January 20 Posted January 20 Our lads will be back well rested on Sunday, been a great season so far and bar a really shit penalty we might have scraped through against Falkirk, we did not but that's gone now, I have seen us face Celtic in the past with an understrength team then get a great result, Tynecastle can be the difference, Celtic might have some new signings, that does not overly concern me, Martin O'Neill likes to sign absolute giants, so might see a few rather large framed centre halves or centre forwards lining up for Celtic, we should give them all a nice friendly welcome to Tynecastle
stirlo Posted January 20 Posted January 20 11 minutes ago, John Findlay said: Show no fear, and little respect. They are there to be beaten again. I agree. I've rarely been confident of beating Celtic over the years but I don't get the fear from some of our fans about this fixture. Yes we've got some injury issues but this Celtic team are very average and will be coming off the back of a tough game against Bologna. We've definitely got the attacking players to damage them.
ScoPo Posted January 20 Posted January 20 (edited) 11 hours ago, Gorgie_Rules said: Has there been any news on McEntee? If Magnussen turns in a performance the same as he did against Rangers then Beni/Devlin may not be missed as much as expected, he mopped up everything that game. Wouldn’t be against Steinwender slotting in beside Hallket and Findlay to allow Milne and Altena more freedom, with Magnussen and ideally McEntee sitting in front, if not McEntee then Spittal, with the usual front 3 up top. Got to remember we are up against a poor Celtic side by their usual standards, short-termish across the management and squad, heat on the board, small allocation, away in Bologna on Thursday night etc. There is alot still in our favour going into this one. Problem with Magnusson is his tackling at times looks messy. VAR may stand ready to potentially upgrade a yellow or two...... Edited January 20 by ScoPo
wcjambo Posted January 20 Posted January 20 8 minutes ago, ScoPo said: Problem with Magnusson is his tackling at times looks messy. VAR may stand ready to potentially upgrade a yellow or two...... don't think his tackling is an issue, just he persistently does stupid wee fouls
Radio-Braga Posted January 20 Posted January 20 10 hours ago, Jacques de Gauthier said: The booing of every St Mirren touch the other week was fantastic. Shame we couldn’t do it v Falkirk. Needs brought back. I also enjoyed that. Only takes a few to start it round the ground. I’ll go for it on Sunday 🤣
Drylaw Hearts Posted January 20 Posted January 20 17 hours ago, indianajones said: I'd be surprised if Shankland didn't start. He looked absolutely fine going off and on the bench. I really hope so anyway. He had to ask the Falkirk player to pass the ball out of play so he could leave the pitch……that would be a strange thing to do if he is absolutely fine.
upgotheheads Posted January 20 Posted January 20 29 minutes ago, Rudi cant fail said: While I do believe we will get better, there is no guarantees that they will ever be so poor. This could be our greatest chance. Rangers have already shown drastic improvement in a short period of time and Celtic will do a major overhaul. What we need to do is not judge next season on this. Wouldn’t be surprised if we are a fair bit behind both next season, at the same time I wouldn’t be surprised if we are right up there again, it’s going to be a bit of a rollercoaster over the next few seasons and there will be ups and downs. I'm not convinced Rangers have made much improvement. Livi were robbed against them, they were lucky to beat H1B5, and Celtic shot themselves in the foot. Otherwise they haven't been impressive. Celtic are on a bit of a run but they're nothing special. The ball's in our court, and we might be missing three top players, but if we can get a result with a weekend. squad against Celtic it could be a serious marker.
stirlo Posted January 20 Posted January 20 10 minutes ago, upgotheheads said: I'm not convinced Rangers have made much improvement. Livi were robbed against them, they were lucky to beat H1B5, and Celtic shot themselves in the foot. Otherwise they haven't been impressive. Celtic are on a bit of a run but they're nothing special. The ball's in our court, and we might be missing three top players, but if we can get a result with a weekend. squad against Celtic it could be a serious marker. Despite a 'terrible' start to the season Rangers have lost two league games all season - both to us. Perhaps they've been lucky in one or two games but this would suggest that if we're hoping for other teams to take a lot of points off them we're likely to be disappointed. You've also got to consider that they've brought in a few players already in the current window. IMO as things stand they're a considerably better team than Celtic.