*** OFFICIAL HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN VS CELTIC MATCH THREAD ***

Posted

Of course all the injuries and suspensions are a blow, but I'm thinking we can use it as a "the world is against us" siege mentality. Also with being written off in many quarters, including some on here, there's less pressure on the squad.

• Replies 2.7k

• OTT

• daavojaay

• mr fox

spacerjoe
Posted
2 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Dont mind that. Its also 433, just pivot the back 7. Itll be something like this i think

If Stein can successfully step out into midfield, allowing Mags to be on McGregor, it could work.

But that's my concern with this - we need someone to step.out of defence well and we need some on McGregor, which was key to our last home win against them when Braga was sat deeper off Shanks.

Posted (edited)

I had a think about what we could do and the one that stands out in my mind is have Kabore or Kabangu up front.

Kerjota and Kyzi out wide. 

Ignore the fact our front 3 would be the KKK.....

Have Braga in a 10 role so he can drop into the Middle and press McGregor out the game as he has done in the previous matches. 

Edited by Bauld
Duggie 1874
Posted

Looks like we will have Ageu, Mato in for Utd game and with Cheshikov having more minutes in the legs , feel slightly more positive , let’s just give it a real go on Sunday and see what happens , we will still be in a great position come Tannadice. I think we will just have to completely bypass the midfield on Sunday 

gordon simpson
Posted

Celtic are shite simple just rattle the scum :flag1::av-1001::flag1:

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted

Let's hope for a nice morale destroying hammering from bologna this evening. 

It's home to some of the best food in Italy not that the cretinous celtic fans will discover that...they'll likely be headed straight McDonald's, KFC or burger king. 

TexasAndy
Posted

It looks unlikely that we will be able to shoe horn a new signing in to Sunday's game but you know, so what.  Let the squad that has got us where we are step up and deal with this game.  I am not in agreement with calls to move Braga around.  Braga and Kizi are a huge part of the reason we are top with their running which terrorised Celtic last time at Tynecastle.  Leave them to do the same and chuck Kabore in to keep a front 3.   Our defence is solid so we just need bodies in midfield to harass and press and get the ball forward at every opportunity.  What we can't do is think we can defend our way to a draw .

TheManInMaroon
Posted
1 minute ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Let's hope for a nice morale destroying hammering from bologna this evening. 

It's home to some of the best food in Italy not that the cretinous celtic fans will discover that...they'll likely be headed straight McDonald's, KFC or burger king. 

Ahh that's too rich for their blood. They'll be heading straight for the dumpsters where they'll be fishing out dead rats. Maybe even a side of roadkill, squirrel perhaps.

Ian Black 8
Posted

Huge game and a great chance 2 go 9 pts clear here... need 2 be right in Celtics faces from the start .. press them high and force them into panic , a genuinely think it would be a bad idea to sit back and try hit them on the break we need to be aggressive and use the fans and the atmosphere to be the 12th man here and rattle them.

2-1 Hearts  

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted
41 minutes ago, Ian Black 8 said:

Huge game and a great chance 2 go 9 pts clear here... need 2 be right in Celtics faces from the start .. press them high and force them into panic , a genuinely think it would be a bad idea to sit back and try hit them on the break we need to be aggressive and use the fans and the atmosphere to be the 12th man here and rattle them.

2-1 Hearts  

Absolutely. We have the attacking talent to get at them from the off. 

gordon simpson
Posted
1 hour ago, TexasAndy said:

It looks unlikely that we will be able to shoe horn a new signing in to Sunday's game but you know, so what.  Let the squad that has got us where we are step up and deal with this game.  I am not in agreement with calls to move Braga around.  Braga and Kizi are a huge part of the reason we are top with their running which terrorised Celtic last time at Tynecastle.  Leave them to do the same and chuck Kabore in to keep a front 3.   Our defence is solid so we just need bodies in midfield to harass and press and get the ball forward at every opportunity.  What we can't do is think we can defend our way to a draw .

Heartofhearts
Posted

Expecting Celtic to have a tough match in Bologna tonight! Hope it tires them out! 

TweedbankJambo
Posted

Bologna to run them ragged for 97 minutes please. 

Exile fae Main Street
Posted

Without reinforcements in midfield, McEntee, Ague, it will be a long afternoon I fear🫣

Posted
3 minutes ago, Exile fae Main Street said:

Without reinforcements in midfield, McEntee, Ague, it will be a long afternoon I fear🫣

Well if it's too long for you best not to go eh? Positive atmosphere required even more now.  None of the negative pish.

Exile fae Main Street
Posted
2 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said:

Well if it's too long for you best not to go eh? Positive atmosphere required even more now.  None of the negative pish.

Ah I see, my being realistic will affect the result of the game will it? Who said anything about not fully supporting whatever Hearts 11 is out there? So, according to your thinking giving off negative or positive vibes on JKB can affect the game....it's a Fans Forum ffs, all about opinions and observations.

So to revert to your vocabulary stop talking Pish👍

Posted
2 minutes ago, Exile fae Main Street said:

Ah I see, my being realistic will affect the result of the game will it? Who said anything about not fully supporting whatever Hearts 11 is out there? So, according to your thinking giving off negative or positive vibes on JKB can affect the game....it's a Fans Forum ffs, all about opinions and observations.

Its ok, being a shitebag is fine :thumbsupOK:

Sub4TiddlerMurray
Posted
1 hour ago, Ian Black 8 said:

2-1 Hearts  

Hey, big respect to you @Ian Black 8, legend, but I couldn’t disagree more. Without Shanks and a depleted midfield, we would be playing into Celtic’s hands by playing an open attacking game. McGregor would have a field day.

We are vulnerable in the middle and down our right hand side. I say, don’t lay that table out for them. Hit them on the break not with an open high press.

The main advantage we have over Celtic is that we can throttle them in defence. As we very successfully did with 10 men against Dundee.

A low block will force them to play wide and long and they simply don’t have anyone capable of winning headers from crosses. We have players who can hit on the break.

At our weakest time, we don’t need to win this battle to win the war. Simply stop them from getting 3points. A draw for us, ahead of more winnable games, is a great result and maintains our 6 point gap over them. And, we might actually get a winner playing this way.

Exile fae Main Street
Posted
2 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Its ok, being a shitebag is fine :thumbsupOK:

If you're being funny then fine, but I'm certainly no shitebag chummy! I simply don't like losing to the Tims (or anyone) I take it very personally. Compris?👍🤎

Posted
22 minutes ago, Exile fae Main Street said:

Free kicks and corners are going to be a major test for the vicTims. They've endured some amount of ignominy so far this season. A big part of that has been through being dominated physically. We need to put the fear of shite up them on Sunday right from the off. 

Hopefully the place is like a bear pit on Sunday. The more unwelcoming towards these ***** and toxic the better. 

Make it utterly revolting for the worst club and fans in the world. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Exile fae Main Street said:

If you're being funny then fine, but I'm certainly no shitebag chummy! I simply don't like losing to the Tims (or anyone) I take it very personally. Compris?👍🤎

No time for feint hearts chummy, comprende?

Exile fae Main Street
Posted
1 minute ago, Carter said:

Free kicks and corners are going to be a major test for the vicTims. They've endured some amount of ignominy so far this season. A big part of that has been through being dominated physically. We need to put the fear of shite up them on Sunday right from the off. 

Hopefully the place is like a bear pit on Sunday. The more unwelcoming towards these ***** and toxic the better. 

Make it utterly revolting for the worst club and fans in the world. 

Exile fae Main Street
Posted
6 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Touche! 👍😂🤣😅

Aussie Jambo
Posted

Sorry but Celtic are shite. Even with a shit team we could beat them. They are NOT the team the once were. Easy win Chesny first goal 1-0 JTs. 

Posted

Kingsley is in the training pics posted on Hearts fb account. Is he fit??

Posted

Latest hearts tweet has Ague training so there’s hope - heavy feature Wilson as well 

G McJambo
Posted
26 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

It's all about opinions on here chaps.  One man's compris is another mans comprende!   Let's just hope we do the business on Sunday.   I think the players and the crowd will be so up for this it's going to be electric.    The type of game that we could win by sheer desire and will power alone - getting right into them from the 1st minute,  not letting them settle,  being in their face with direct football,  winning 2nd balls etc.   If we want it more than them,  we'll win IMO.     

Posted
1 hour ago, Heartofhearts said:

Expecting Celtic to have a tough match in Bologna tonight! Hope it tires them out! 

Lewis Ferguson is the Bologna captain so we will make sure they are fired up

Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, Aussie Jambo said:

Sorry but Celtic are shite. Even with a shit team we could beat them. They are NOT the team the once were. Easy win Chesny first goal 1-0 JTs. 

This Aussie. Celtic are struggling against most teams this year, would we be fearing a home game against a bottom 6 team on Sunday. Their last two games, they struggled to beat Falkirk(helped with a goal which shouldn’t have stood) they also struggled to beat Dundee (at home). No way should we fear them, even missing a few players. This squad is is big enough and strong enough to take care of this weak celtic team at home.

Edited by luckyBatistuta
Posted
3 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Looks better than I did at his age. 

Think Big Ocean may be a surprise inclusion/gamble. Was getting plenty of complimentary shouts in the vt yesterday. 

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
7 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

He’s no Craig Gordon, but he’s still a sexy lad. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Gmcjambo said:

It's all about opinions on here chaps.  One man's compris is another mans comprende!   Let's just hope we do the business on Sunday.   I think the players and the crowd will be so up for this it's going to be electric.    The type of game that we could win by sheer desire and will power alone - getting right into them from the 1st minute,  not letting them settle,  being in their face with direct football,  winning 2nd balls etc.   If we want it more than them,  we'll win IMO.     

Aye, we have to be feral, positive, go for it. Think you are going to lose you will

Posted
2 minutes ago, El Prez said:

Looks better than I did at his age. 

Think Big Ocean may be a surprise inclusion/gamble. Was getting plenty of complimentary shouts in the vt yesterday

Do you have a link to this video?

Posted
2 hours ago, TexasAndy said:

Agreed. Not only did we turn over their 'Invincibles' with a makeshift midfield, we also beat a better Celtic team than the present one when we had Uche operating up front. This isn't a great Celtic side and giving them too much respect, even with our current injury issues, would be a mistake.

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
7 minutes ago, Gmcjambo said:

Totally agree. I said before the derby at Christmas that if we turn up we win. I was right but unfortunately we were 3-0 down when we decided to turn up.

If we show the same desire and attitude for 90 minutes on Sunday that we showed in the last 20 at Fester, we win. What we can’t repeat is the attitude of the first 70.

tiger Rudi
Posted
3 hours ago, Ian Black 8 said:

2-1 Hearts  

I'm with you on this. High press, someone on McGregor, force Schmeichel to go long.

Rattle them.

If we sit back and try and soak up pressure, it lets them get into a rhythm. Let's them pick their passes. They have started well in games, just haven't converted their chances. One of these days, they will. 

Weaker teams have shown they are vulnerable at the back. We must set up positively. Braga dropping in on McGregor, or Magnusson pushing up on McGregor if it's a 3.  

If Altena is pushing on, Steinwender needs to watch the space in behind. Maeda can do damage and I doubt if Altena has the pace to keep him quiet.

Steinwender might actually start at RB, with Halks RCB.

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
4 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said:

I'm with you on this. High press, someone on McGregor, force Schmeichel to go long.

Rattle them.

If we sit back and try and soak up pressure, it lets them get into a rhythm. Let's them pick their passes. They have started well in games, just haven't converted their chances. One of these days, they will. 

Weaker teams have shown they are vulnerable at the back. We must set up positively. Braga dropping in on McGregor, or Magnusson pushing up on McGregor if it's a 3.  

If Altena is pushing on, Steinwender needs to watch the space in behind. Maeda can do damage and I doubt if Altena has the pace to keep him quiet.

Steinwender might actually start at RB, with Halks RCB.

They haven’t converted their chances as Maeda looks like he doesn’t want to be there and Johnny Kenny just isn’t good enough. I have a feeling they will get that new Czech player signed in time to make his debut. Hopefully we’re the same with Mato and A.N. Other midfielder.

Posted
1 hour ago, Exile fae Main Street said:

Cool

bloomtime
Posted (edited)

Last time they played us at tynie under same ref we got 4 yellows for 11 fouls. They got 1 yellow right at end of game after 10 fouls given. And we know mcgregor got away with murder. Now St Martin is there Id expect more yellows for us plus with that parasite on var its going to be even tougher, esp without shanks and cammy.

Edited by bloomtime
dannymack
Posted
1 hour ago, Exile fae Main Street said:

Sit in the hoose and shout at the TV for 90+ minutes then. 

Fear ?  Deary me. 

Posted

We can’t fear a team we’ve smashed twice already this season, especially at home. The lads will pull off the biggest “we shall not be moved” statement win of the season. 

Celtic are getting sent back up the road way 0 points and a 7th league defeat. 

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Jacques de Gauthier said:

He’s no Craig Gordon, but he’s still a sexy lad. 

We have the most handsome, good looking team and support,both men and women. 

Most celtic fans look either severely malnourished or the fat lesbian from celtic state of mind. 

As for calmac looks like someone sculpted a face out of a thumb and some leftover plasticene. 

Edited by Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted
58 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Aye, we have to be feral, positive, go for it. Think you are going to lose you will

We have to be horrible, both on the pitch and in the stands. I look at the Celtic players likely to play on Sunday and see a few likely to panic if put under it. For all of his experience I'd suggest Schmeichel is now firmly in that category. As is Ralston, who is incredibly limited. Its a crime the Scotland caps that donkey has won. 

If we manage to win on Sunday given the circumstances we've encountered then I'd firmly sense this group will believe they can win the league. I think they already believe they can but a win on Sunday is gargantuan. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Carter said:

We have to be horrible, both on the pitch and in the stands. I look at the Celtic players likely to play on Sunday and see a few likely to panic if put under it. For all of his experience I'd suggest Schmeichel is now firmly in that category. As is Ralston, who is incredibly limited. Its a crime the Scotland caps that donkey has won. 

If we manage to win on Sunday given the circumstances we've encountered then I'd firmly sense this group will believe they can win the league. I think they already believe they can but a win on Sunday is gargantuan. 

The way I see Sunday, win and Celtic are almost gone, draw, we may lose points on Rangers on the day, we are not really any worse off and block Celtics direct path to us, not good for them, lose and our chances of winning the league diminish, not fatal but offers energy to the other 2 that will make things difficult.

Not losing the game is very important, doesn't mean we should defend, but we need to be concentrated and working very very hard for 90 and not backing off.

Posted
1 hour ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said:

Hey, big respect to you @Ian Black 8, legend, but I couldn’t disagree more. Without Shanks and a depleted midfield, we would be playing into Celtic’s hands by playing an open attacking game. McGregor would have a field day.

We are vulnerable in the middle and down our right hand side. I say, don’t lay that table out for them. Hit them on the break not with an open high press.

The main advantage we have over Celtic is that we can throttle them in defence. As we very successfully did with 10 men against Dundee.

A low block will force them to play wide and long and they simply don’t have anyone capable of winning headers from crosses. We have players who can hit on the break.

At our weakest time, we don’t need to win this battle to win the war. Simply stop them from getting 3points. A draw for us, ahead of more winnable games, is a great result and maintains our 6 point gap over them. And, we might actually get a winner playing this way.

All about opinions and I’m sure DM will have his own ideas but looking at Celtics last two games one team sat in the other got at them. Utd sat in and lost 4-0 Falkirk went at them and with better finishing would likely have got a point or even 3. 

Celtic are a team who know how to break down teams that sit in they’ve being doing it for years, they don’t like teams coming at them. 

ONeill sets up to play the width and create opportunities from there. For me it’s key we get right on top of them and shut down McGregor, when he’s out the game Celtic get frustrated and if his only option is to play backwards they start to lose their shape. 

Be interesting to see how the Italians shape up against them tonight. 

Of course your way might work I just don’t think we would hold them to zero sitting in.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

The way I see Sunday, win and Celtic are almost gone, draw, we may lose points on Rangers on the day, we are not really any worse off and block Celtics direct path to us, not good for them, lose and our chances of winning the league diminish, not fatal but offers energy to the other 2 that will make things difficult.

Not losing the game is very important, doesn't mean we should defend, but we need to be concentrated and working very very hard for 90 and not backing off.

I just don't think we can afford to stand off them from the outset. Just cannot see that being a McInnes directive irrespective of the personnel. We've got to start at tempo and try and get ahead in the game. The place will intensify if we get an early goal. 

The pressure is squarely on Celtic. Their margin for error is pretty thin now. 

Who ever plays through the middle needs to be encouraged to occupy their defence rather than drop in and like the play like Shankland offers. None of them really have that to year game so hopefully encouraged to give us a presence in forward areas. I see so many Celtic olayers with a mistake in them. This is a team that's won a lot but they've done so from a position of no immediate challenge. They could soil themselves if put under it. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Carter said:

I just don't think we can afford to stand off them from the outset. Just cannot see that being a McInnes directive irrespective of the personnel. We've got to start at tempo and try and get ahead in the game. The place will intensify if we get an early goal. 

Who ever plays through the middle needs to be encouraged to occupy their defence rather than drop in and like the play like Shankland offers. None of them really have that to year game so hopefully encouraged to give us a presence in forward areas. I see so many Celtic olayers with a mistake in them. This is a team that's won a lot but they've done so from a position of no immediate challenge. They could soil themselves if put under it. 

I don't see all out attack or all out defence, but being weekend to weekend the next 2 weeks, I expect us to make this very much a running game, something Celtic don't enjoy, especially off a quick turnaround. High intensity is what I expect, to compensate for the losses in our squad.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Carter said:

I concur. A defeat and their league campaign ends - then we get the pleasure of being 9 points ahead and seeing proper boycotts & protests at Parkhead.