Deodato Posted January 9 Posted January 9 The coldest I've experienced was Perth, a long while back, Heats v St Johnstone. Brutal. Felt like -8 in the stands. What's yours.
Kalamazoo Jambo Posted January 9 Posted January 9 5 minutes ago, Deodato said: Heats v St Johnstone. Brutal. Felt like -8 in the stands. Team not living up to their billing, apparently. Aberdeen is of course brutal (cold as well) but think the coldest I’ve ever felt at a game was at Parkhead sometime in the early / mid nineties.
sinbad Posted January 9 Posted January 9 I recall Arbroath in December in the yoyo years late 70's Too auld to remember the date.....but bloody baltic
CMc Posted January 9 Posted January 9 (edited) St Mirren at home. felt like the fifth time we’d played them that season. The cold was literally flowing out the core of the earth straight through my kicks and collecting around my knees. The air was sucking the breath out my lungs. If it wasn’t for the bigger fan on one side lending me a bit of heated meat blanket, I think that game would have been my last. Edited January 9 by CMc
Morgan Posted January 9 Posted January 9 3 minutes ago, sinbad said: I recall Arbroath in December in the yoyo years late 70's Too auld to remember the date.....but bloody baltic That was probably Christmas Eve, 1977
Deevers Posted January 9 Posted January 9 A few years ago. A game at East End Park against Dunfermline in the early 90s. We won 0-1 through a Dave MacPherson goal. It was absolutely freezing. Both of my boys were chilled to the bone. The result warmed us up though.
Morgan Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Motherwell at Fir Park, around 1983 or 84. Freezing and heavy, heavy snow.
Fxxx the SPFL Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Sarajevo when we played zelzenicar the water/pish in the toilets froze as soon as it hit the ground absolutely baltic
ColinSmith1255 Posted January 9 Posted January 9 5 minutes ago, gedster said: Alloa away, the game Pallardo scored in. The coldest ever. Agreed. 31st January 2015 in the championship. We won 4-1.
daveb15 Posted January 9 Posted January 9 (edited) 7 minutes ago, gedster said: Alloa away, the game Pallardo scored in. The coldest ever. Saw this and came here to say the same thing. One of the only times I've left a game early, did about 15 laps of the supermarket next to the train station to heat up but my feet were blocks of ice for about 2 hours after it. Edited January 9 by daveb15
We_are_the_Hearts Posted January 9 Posted January 9 7 minutes ago, gedster said: Alloa away, the game Pallardo scored in. The coldest ever. Agreed
Worthing Jambo Posted January 9 Posted January 9 2 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said: Sarajevo when we played zelzenicar the water/pish in the toilets froze as soon as it hit the ground absolutely baltic That was something else. locals with fires outside the ground😲
scott herbertson Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Sat 02 Jan 1999 15:00 Dunfermline Athletic 0 Hearts 0 Dating my wife to be - took her up from London to experience Scottish New year including the Hogmanay in Princes street (before ticketing, mental crowds, her kissing policemen at the bells while we sang 'Shang a lang' or words close to that to the Bay city rollers). Everything was going fine until we travelled to East End Park. Absolutely shite 0-0 game with zero shots off target or on. Right at the top off the exposed away stand with a sleety wind sweeping in off the graveyard nearby. She wrapped herself in the London Hearts flag but even that didn't help. By the end she was bone cold and bored stiff and that was the end of her thinking it was a good idea to accompany me to games
dannymack Posted January 9 Posted January 9 3 minutes ago, Morgan said: Motherwell at Fir Park, around 1983 or 84. Freezing and heavy, heavy snow. January 86 🤔 1-0 down, ended up winning 1-3.
dannymack Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Dundee away January 1984 Blizzards and fffffreeezing cauld. Hammered 4-1.
Morgan Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Just now, dannymack said: January 86 🤔 1-0 down, ended up winning 1-3. Thanks, Danny. I knew it was deep into the winter, but got the year wrong.
luckyBatistuta Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Dunno how you can always remember exact dates and years. Remember freezing me nuts off at an away game at Airdrie, but not a scooby what date/year, a long time ago!!!
indianajones Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Pittodrie this season was freezing. Wind driving the wintery showers right from the North sea.
JAYEL Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Probably Basle away Especially after drinking outside for a good while 🥶
The Treasurer Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Toss up between Vienna or Alloa, but a close third would be a 0-0 at Inverness when it was horizontal sleet. Can't remember the exact date
AndrewB Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Not Hearts games but a match at Cowdenbeath and one at Barnsley. I remember it started snowing when we got off the football special in Motherwell in 85-86. That was pretty cold.
Shanks said no Posted January 9 Posted January 9 10 minutes ago, Deevers said: A few years ago. A game at East End Park against Dunfermline in the early 90s. We won 0-1 through a Dave MacPherson goal. It was absolutely freezing. Both of my boys were chilled to the bone. The result warmed us up though. That's the one I always remember, feet were so cold it was difficult to walk leaving the ground.
tightrope Posted January 9 Posted January 9 14 minutes ago, Cisco1914 said: Austria Vienna v Hearts 1988 This. My Beveridge turned into a slush.
Morgan Posted January 9 Posted January 9 3 minutes ago, scott herbertson said: Sat 02 Jan 1999 15:00 Dunfermline Athletic 0 Hearts 0 Dating my wife to be - took her up from London to experience Scottish New year including the Hogmanay in Princes street (before ticketing, mental crowds, her kissing policemen at the bells while we sang 'Shang a lang' or words close to that to the Bay city rollers). Everything was going fine until we travelled to East End Park. Absolutely shite 0-0 game with zero shots off target or on. Right at the top off the exposed away stand with a sleety wind sweeping in off the graveyard nearby. She wrapped herself in the London Hearts flag but even that didn't help. By the end she was bone cold and bored stiff and that was the end of her thinking it was a good idea to accompany me to games My wife did the ‘police kissing’ thing at the Tron, back then. The coppers lined up from the top of Cockburn Street right across the road to the top of Blair Street.
Bob Loblaw Posted January 9 Posted January 9 1-0 defeat away to Inverness, January 2012. Absolutely baltic, sleet coming into that stand as well. Mind Sergio brought Obua on and I just felt sorry for him, he'd obviously never experienced weather like it.
Deevers Posted January 9 Posted January 9 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Shanks said no said: That's the one I always remember, feet were so cold it was difficult to walk leaving the ground. The only other one I can remember as cold was at Muirton Park against St Johnstone in the mid sixties. Tommy White and Johnny Hamilton scored in a 0 - 3 win, but boy was it bitterly cold. Edited January 9 by Deevers
Bill Sikes Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Stirling Albion v someone early 80s, pitch was frozen solid, left at halftime. Brighton v some other Shite at the Withdean stadium, no roof. The rain absolutely battered it down, sitting shaking with cold and again left at halftime.
Gorgiewave Posted January 9 Posted January 9 (edited) I played in a boys' game at Carluke in about 1993. It was so cold that I asked to come off and put on the onesie we had for circumstances like that. Edited January 9 by Gorgiewave
Cambo_Jambo Posted January 9 Posted January 9 BBC Sport - Football - Hearts 1-0 Motherwell https://share.google/NpVCLY0lBqp6pKTJM This game. Not even convinced it was that cold but it was one of the dullest games of football I've ever been to. Missed the only goal because my mate and I were so bored, we put a £1 bet on whether a crisp packet blowing in the wind would make the side line or byline first.
HeartsandonlyHearts Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Aye United. Late 70’s early 80’s. F****** Freezing!! Think it was foggy to start, which got you damp. Then the cold. We were $#!te too. Might have been 1-0 and I don’t remember to who.
the posh bit Posted January 9 Posted January 9 23 minutes ago, gedster said: Alloa away, the game Pallardo scored in. The coldest ever. Brutal. It was savage.
the posh bit Posted January 9 Posted January 9 There was a cup match against Hamilton at their old ground in the mid 80s that was baltic too .
Another Robbo Posted January 9 Posted January 9 31 minutes ago, sinbad said: I recall Arbroath in December in the yoyo years late 70's Too auld to remember the date.....but bloody baltic Ditto. My childhood memories of Arbroath were the whitewashed walls and that it was %£#^ing freezing.
Another Robbo Posted January 9 Posted January 9 36 minutes ago, gedster said: Alloa away, the game Pallardo scored in. The coldest ever. That was another brutal game for the cold. Left early and missed our last goal but I was beyond caring.
Uncle Buck Posted January 9 Posted January 9 The Scottish Cup game against Livingston a few years ago was pretty horrendous. I want to say John Souttar scored the winner in the penalty shootout. When I got home my legs were blue from the dye of my jeans.
Benzinho Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Remember going to a cup game v Clydebank at Kilbowie in 1995 that was freezing cold. Drew 1-1 as well so went to a replay!
bobskeldon Posted January 9 Posted January 9 Hamilton away at the old Douglas Park around mid 80s. It was midweek so I think it might have been a cup tie / replay. Baltic🥶
Tazio Posted January 9 Posted January 9 I remember being at St Johnstone in my first visit to the new stadium as it was then. Snowing and bloody freezing. My first visit to that type of new flat pack type stadium in the middle of nowhere and I remember thinking sod this if it’s the future of Scottish football, bring back the old grounds.
Konrad von Carstein Posted January 9 Posted January 9 57 minutes ago, Deodato said: The coldest I've experienced was Perth, a long while back, Heats v St Johnstone. Brutal. Felt like -8 in the stands. What's yours. A Boxing day fixture? As that was what I was going to post...Had my scarf covering my face, it froze solid
Morgan Posted January 9 Posted January 9 2 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said: A Boxing day fixture? As that was what I was going to post...Had my scarf covering my face, it froze solid Thankfully your scarf was ok.