Plaque unveiled in the Meadows

Posted
8 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

It looks like it's been installed on top of grafitti. Surely the clubs could've stumped up for a wee bit of stone cleaning?

Screenshot_20260109_125640_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20260109_125721_Chrome.jpg

Why was Russell Martin there?.....

dc-jambo
Posted

Quite surprised to see folk on here applauding the graffiti on that wall - hope they’re not part of the rabble responsible for it?

anyway - good to see the plaque go up, to complenent the existing graphic. On Middle Meadow Walk - which has also been vandalised, on occasion, presumably by some of the earlier posters.

But it has endured, and will again 👍

Aussie Jambo
Posted
9 hours ago, Spot the dog said:

Shouldn't the plague say Hibernians (1875-1881)?

Exactly. 150 years my arse. You let your club die. You let your club die. 

Aussie Jambo
Posted

Hobos have **** all to do with Leith. I wish they would stop singing that stupid untrue song.  The vermin are a south side team, same as Hearts. Hobos started at St Patrick’s church. The Irish contingent all lived in Dumbiedykes and South side area after the potatoes famine. Just in case you didn’t know. 
Hearts as you should know also started in the south side. Using the motif of the Heart of Midlothian in the royal mile. 

Wee Mikey
Posted
12 minutes ago, Morgan said:

And in Inverleith Park.

Indeed; and here's the evidence from 16th August 2025, 07:05 whilst out for a wee early morning 🏃

Their mum's must be very proud.

Screenshot_20260109_232043_Gallery.jpg

Jingle Bells
Posted
4 hours ago, wentworth jambo said:

Dark troosers Pat - wise choice.

Wee Mikey
Posted
3 hours ago, AD 1874 said:

Why was Russell Martin there?.....

Because he knows where his next gig is likely to be.

Good spot, by the way. 🤭

Wee Mikey
Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Aussie Jambo said:

Hobos have **** all to do with Leith. I wish they would stop singing that stupid untrue song.  The vermin are a south side team, same as Hearts. Hobos started at St Patrick’s church. The Irish contingent all lived in Dumbiedykes and South side area after the potatoes famine. Just in case you didn’t know. 
Hearts as you should know also started in the south side. Using the motif of the Heart of Midlothian in the royal mile. 

The thing is this: "While the Chief puts sunshine on Lochend" simply doesn't scan; although it could ... with a bit of linguistic dexterity. In fact, that would've been at least truthful ... and arguably more poetic.

Why they don't embrace their true location with pride beats me. There's nowt wrong in acknowledging Lochend per-se.

Mind you, they also have the delusion of thinking that, "This is our city", which begs the question: do they hanker after Leith as being a separate entity, or are they looking towards Edinburgh and, by extension, envious of Heart of Midlothian, and wishing that they were the dominant team? They are clearly conflicted.

On one hand, they want to embrace the Leith motto of 'Persevere', but on the other lay claim to being an Edinburgh team. One or the other, but not both, surely?

Anyhoo, apart from anything else, unlike Hearts whose stadium is located bang on Tynecastle, theirs isn't even on Easter Road. What's wrong with 'The Albion Place Stadium'? No shame in that, surely.

We know that Edinburgh is OUR city, which makes their not so long ago marketing effort such a laugh ...

Screenshot_20260110_020651_Google.jpg

Naw, it isnae ...

Screenshot_20260110_020847_Google.jpg

Edited by Wee Mikey
Posted

I'm not sure it really matters to us. 

But there was a huge Irish dispora coming through the port of Leith. 

Building and shaping much of Victorian Leith.

I think it's more than fair, given their roots that Hibs are connected with the area.

Not sure why you feel so strongly about it. 

Posted

For consistency we'd need to drop stating that Gorgie Rules.

Wee Mikey
Posted
2 minutes ago, pablo said:

For consistency we'd need to drop stating that Gorgie Rules.

For why? Clearly, Gorgie does rule.

Wee Mikey
Posted
13 minutes ago, Alan_R said:

I'm not sure it really matters to us. *1

But there was a huge Irish dispora coming through the port of Leith. *2

Building and shaping much of Victorian Leith. *3

I think it's more than fair, given their roots that Hibs are connected with the area. *4

Not sure why you feel so strongly about it. *5

*1: It doesn't, really ... it's just a laugh.

*2: Plenty of Hearts supporters hail from Leith, both then and now. Also, I'm not convinced that those who made and make up their support swarmed in via Leith. Do you have any references to support your assertion? Could they perhaps have arrived overland via the west coast ... on buses & trains ... or were they all seafarers?

*3: Leith was on the go long before then!

*4: So what? They abide in Lochend.

*5: Likely disnae gi'e a hoot, and is merely highlighting the absurdity of that speccy duo's dirge that they sing with gusto should they manage to draw v Edinburgh's big team.

❤️❤️G❤️

Posted
11 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Indeed; and here's the evidence from 16th August 2025, 07:05 whilst out for a wee early morning 🏃

Their mum's must be very proud.

Screenshot_20260109_232043_Gallery.jpg

That was painted over, then the wee arseholes did it again at Halloween.

Wee Mikey
Posted
10 minutes ago, Morgan said:

That was painted over, then the wee arseholes did it again at Halloween.

They ken a shithouse when they see one.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

They ken a shithouse when they see one.

That's for sure, Wee M.

Posted
23 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

It really is appreciated weird choice to not mention the score. Obviously forced by Hibs given its a joint venture. Even restricted mentioning it in the article.

Indeed, even the Hearts Standard article didn't seem to mention the score. Natural order begun at the Meadows and ,apart from the odd blip, continues to this day.

Colonel Kurtz
Posted

The oldest Derby match in history

The score is mentioned on my tours

Finbar Saunders
Posted

Where exactly is it? 

Mate has a lockup on Meadow Lane at the zigzag bend bit where the Greek church is or was. Not been on a Sunday for a while so no idea if they still use it. Where would I find it from there. 

the posh bit
Posted (edited)
39 minutes ago, Finbar Saunders said:

Where exactly is it? 

Mate has a lockup on Meadow Lane at the zigzag bend bit where the Greek church is or was. Not been on a Sunday for a while so no idea if they still use it. Where would I find it from there. 

Google Lothian Association of Youth Clubs (LAYC), its on the corner of their building.

Edited by the posh bit
Colonel Kurtz
Posted
16 hours ago, Alan_R said:

I'm not sure it really matters to us. 

But there was a huge Irish dispora coming through the port of Leith. 

Building and shaping much of Victorian Leith.

I think it's more than fair, given their roots that Hibs are connected with the area.

Not sure why you feel so strongly about it. 

Why and how. Could you sail from Ireland to Leith

From Italy yes

The Cowgate was called Little Ireland

You are just talking mince matr

Posted
9 hours ago, Colonel Kurtz said:

Why and how. Could you sail from Ireland to Leith

From Italy yes

The Cowgate was called Little Ireland

You are just talking mince matr

True re Cowgate. But that's where the work was, loads of Irish in Leith. That's not untrue. Dockworkers and labour. 

Aussie Jambo
Posted (edited)

It’s nowt to do with Leith. 
Being a hearts fan in the south side tells me that. I know the history of both teams. It’s been talked about when I was a kid. Hearts & Hibs have more in common than that shite hawks in weegieland. Only difference is One was from Irish descent the other Edinburgh Scot’s. So basically Scotland v Ireland. Could say it was not long after the first international between Scotland and England in 1872. The first recognised Scotland v Ireland was in 1891 and Scotland won. So still reigning supreme. 16 years later 

Edited by Aussie Jambo