The night pop dropped...

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted

Give thanks, Morrissey will release new music in 2026.

There is a God.

Posted

Heaven knows I'm ambivalent now.....

Posted
1 minute ago, Der Kaiser said:

Heaven knows I'm ambivalent now.....

You're then one for me fatty 💓 

Posted

Meat is wonderfully tasty ;)

Posted
2 hours ago, TuckerCarlsonsToupee said:

Give thanks, Morrissey will release new music in 2026.

There is a God.

:jjno:

Posted

What difference does it make?

Posted

No doubt he'll be saying it's his best ever work (he said that about the Bonfire of the Teenagers album which I thought this was going to be) but it won't be a patch on Vauxhall And I, or Viva Hate for that matter.

Unfortunately he jumped the shark musically and morally a good while ago.

Johnny Marr gigs are a completely different matter though

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted
3 hours ago, Costanza said:

No doubt he'll be saying it's his best ever work (he said that about the Bonfire of the Teenagers album which I thought this was going to be) but it won't be a patch on Vauxhall And I, or Viva Hate for that matter.

"Bonfire of Teenagers" is one of the best albums of his career - whether a wider audience will ever hear it I don't know.  The title track alone makes it worthy of consideration alongside any of his other heartbreaking works of staggering genius.  Or something.  

As for the new album, the songs I have heard are great and I have high hopes for the album as a whole.  He is, without any doubt, one of our greatest ever lyricists.  We should be grateful that there is at least one artist who is unafraid to say exactly what he wants to say without fear of consequence.  

Johnny Marr gigs are indeed a completely different matter - rooms littered with the same boors who clamber for tickets to see the likes of Ocean Colour Scene, Cast, and Oasis.  Zzzzzzzzzz.  Rock and drone.  The hair dye is also more offensive than anything Morrissey has ever said or done.

Posted
17 minutes ago, TuckerCarlsonsToupee said:

"Bonfire of Teenagers" is one of the best albums of his career - whether a wider audience will ever hear it I don't know.  The title track alone makes it worthy of consideration alongside any of his other heartbreaking works of staggering genius.  Or something.  

As for the new album, the songs I have heard are great and I have high hopes for the album as a whole.  He is, without any doubt, one of our greatest ever lyricists.  We should be grateful that there is at least one artist who is unafraid to say exactly what he wants to say without fear of consequence.  

Johnny Marr gigs are indeed a completely different matter - rooms littered with the same boors who clamber for tickets to see the likes of Ocean Colour Scene, Cast, and Oasis.  Zzzzzzzzzz.  Rock and drone.  The hair dye is also more offensive than anything Morrissey has ever said or done.

Away :laugh2:

Smiths,  Electronic, solo stuff. Guys a genius and whilst he's not as good vocally as Moz, musically he and his band are light years ahead of Morrisseys rockabilly lot.

All downhill after Alain Whyte left IMO.

His band would kill to be as good as this

Posted
5 hours ago, Costanza said:

Too true!

https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/north-east-news/gallery/johnny-marr-stuns-newcastle-crowd-28929920

(Newcastle City Hall 👇)

Screenshot_20251230_144408_Gallery.jpg

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted
2 hours ago, Costanza said:

Away :laugh2:

Smiths,  Electronic, solo stuff. Guys a genius and whilst he's not as good vocally as Moz, musically he and his band are light years ahead of Morrisseys rockabilly lot.

All downhill after Alain Whyte left IMO.

His band would kill to be as good as this

Morrissey hasn't played with a rockabilly band (by which I assume you mean a band made up of musicians from the rockabilly world) since before "You Are The Quarry" in 2004...possibly earlier.  Ironically those rockabilly musicians you deride include...Alain Whyte.  That gang of musicians who joined after "Kill Uncle" was released in 1991 went on to write the music for..."Your Arsenal", "Vauxhall and I", "Southpaw Grammar", "Maladjusted", and "You Are the Quarry".  One could argue that things went "downhill" after they departed...although to my cloth ears albums like "World Peace is None of Your Business", "Low in High School", and "I Am Not a Dog on a Chain" are all quite wonderful.

His current band are fine musicians in their own right, and I'm not all that sure that Morrissey would swap any of them for the people who support the Johnny Marr Rock 'n' Droll Review.

Posted
1 hour ago, TuckerCarlsonsToupee said:

Morrissey hasn't played with a rockabilly band (by which I assume you mean a band made up of musicians from the rockabilly world) since before "You Are The Quarry" in 2004...possibly earlier.  Ironically those rockabilly musicians you deride include...Alain Whyte.  That gang of musicians who joined after "Kill Uncle" was released in 1991 went on to write the music for..."Your Arsenal", "Vauxhall and I", "Southpaw Grammar", "Maladjusted", and "You Are the Quarry".  One could argue that things went "downhill" after they departed...although to my cloth ears albums like "World Peace is None of Your Business", "Low in High School", and "I Am Not a Dog on a Chain" are all quite wonderful.

His current band are fine musicians in their own right, and I'm not all that sure that Morrissey would swap any of them for the people who support the Johnny Marr Rock 'n' Droll Review.

Yeah I was a bit facetious with the rockabilly chat but his band are nowhere near as dextrous or as light as Marrs band. I've heard enough butcherings of Smiths songs from them tbh.

The last Morrissey album I really cared for was Ringleader of the Tormentors; haven't heard anything as good as Life is a Pigsty certainly.

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted
31 minutes ago, Costanza said:

Yeah I was a bit facetious with the rockabilly chat but his band are nowhere near as dextrous or as light as Marrs band. I've heard enough butcherings of Smiths songs from them tbh.

The last Morrissey album I really cared for was Ringleader of the Tormentors; haven't heard anything as good as Life is a Pigsty certainly.

You haven't heard a Smiths song being butchered until you have heard Johnny Marr try to "sing" one of them.

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted
34 minutes ago, Costanza said:

His gigs are fantastic. There was one at the Picture House years ago which was off the scale good.

I might have been at that show.

I remember thinking during it that the majority of the people in attendance were the kind of people who describe songs as "bangers".

Make of that what you will.

Posted
8 hours ago, TuckerCarlsonsToupee said:

You haven't heard a Smiths song being butchered until you have heard Johnny Marr try to "sing" one of them.

What utter nonsense 🤦‍♂️

Posted (edited)
20 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Find it a bit sad when musicians do this. Wasn't your band, have some pride in your own material.

See also Peter Hook and the Light. A man with no shame. 

Edited by Brian Whittaker's Tache
Posted
1 minute ago, Brian Whittaker's Tache said:

Find it a bit sad when musicians do this. Wasn't your band, have some pride in your own material.

Really?

Posted
1 minute ago, Wee Mikey said:

Really?

Wrong choice of words. Smiths songs are for Smiths gigs. What next Mike Joyce touring Smiths covers?

Posted
3 minutes ago, Brian Whittaker's Tache said:

Wrong choice of words. Smiths songs are for Smiths gigs. What next Mike Joyce touring Smiths covers?

Simply google this for clarification:-

does johnny marr hold copyright over any smiths song

Posted
1 minute ago, Wee Mikey said:

Simply google this for clarification:-

does johnny marr hold copyright over any smiths song

Is he the lead singer on any of them?

Placid Casual
Posted

Most of the fans that Morrissey has left are insufferable. I love The Smiths so much and take solace that Johnny Marr is a very decent human, counterbalances the embarrassment that Morrissey has become.

Posted
58 minutes ago, Brian Whittaker's Tache said:

Think that's a bit harsh.

Looking simply at his last gig, he did 10 of his own songs out of 19, and the 9 Smiths or Electronic which he co-wrote plus an Iggy Pop cover.

Hooky is a different aspect as he is going through the Joy Division and New Order discography which serves a purpose (who hasn't wanted to hear Rock The Shack live...ahem) but he really should write new music. New Order themselves had their last album 10 years ago, the lazy sods.

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted
49 minutes ago, Placid Casual said:

Most of the fans that Morrissey has left are insufferable. I love The Smiths so much and take solace that Johnny Marr is a very decent human, counterbalances the embarrassment that Morrissey has become.

What has Morrissey "become" do you think?

This will be good.

Placid Casual
Posted
23 minutes ago, TuckerCarlsonsToupee said:

What has Morrissey "become" do you think?

This will be good.

A ****.

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted
5 hours ago, Placid Casual said:

A ****.

A well thought out response.

Posted
On 30/12/2025 at 13:21, TuckerCarlsonsToupee said:

Another Dave Eggers fan?

Posted

One  of my mates in London, nice guy, ended up buying my house when I came back up here

Only downside was he played (as drummer) in a Smiths cover band and I had to go with my Smith's loving wife to watch them

Luckily the venue had a bar far enough  away from the mnmusic so I could drink in peace without feeling suicidal - Heaven knows,  I am miserable enough without listening to that

Posted
46 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

Heaven knows,  I am miserable enough without listening to that

Aye that's true 😁

TuckerCarlsonsToupee
Posted
1 hour ago, scott herbertson said:

One  of my mates in London, nice guy, ended up buying my house when I came back up here

Only downside was he played (as drummer) in a Smiths cover band and I had to go with my Smith's loving wife to watch them

Luckily the venue had a bar far enough  away from the mnmusic so I could drink in peace without feeling suicidal - Heaven knows,  I am miserable enough without listening to that

Cover bands are the soundtrack to the final layer of Dante’s Inferno.

Posted
14 minutes ago, TuckerCarlsonsToupee said:

Cover bands are the soundtrack to the final layer of Dante’s Inferno.

Agreed ... but ... it's only music (arguably 😃), hence essentially benign.

Some dedicated 'Cover Bands' are absolutely shit-hot!

Posted
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Aye that's true 😁

Not really, though ... @scott herbertson has a good ear ... although his other one might, just might, be suspect. 🙃

Posted
55 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Not really, though ... @scott herbertson has a good ear ... although his other one might, just might, be suspect. 🙃

Well I blame  the bad ear on standing to close to the speakers in your band....

Wee Mikey
Posted

I meant to post 👆

Posted
12 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

Wee Mikey
Posted
14 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

2 hours ago, John Findlay said:

To be fair, @scott herbertson has a point ...

Posted
2 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

I also blame my failing eyesight on your silver jumpsuit - lawyer's letter on the way....

Wee Mikey
Posted
3 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

I also blame my failing eyesight on your silver jumpsuit - lawyer's letter on the way....

My lawyer claims 'unusual influence from Glam-Rock Aberdonians' as a mitigating factor ...

Posted
8 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

I make no more comment, on the grounds i may incriminate myself😄

Wee Mikey
Posted
7 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

I make no more comment, on the grounds i may incriminate myself😄

Haiku heaven ...

"Incriminated

For now and forever more

Always a stalwart"

That 👆 will be on yer headstone.

"Slàinte Mhath" tae ye, John ...

🍺🍷🍾 and an extra 🍹 

Posted
Just now, Wee Mikey said:

Haiku heaven ...

"Incriminated

For now and forever more

Always a stalwart"

That 👆 will be on yer headstone.

"Slàinte Mhath" tae ye, John ...

🍺🍷🍾 and an extra 🍹 

Very many thanks Mikey and the same to you and yours.

Posted (edited)
On 31/12/2025 at 11:04, Brian Whittaker's Tache said:

Is he the lead singer on any of them?

Did Morrisey write the music for them? Doesn’t stop him using the music.

If you’re a genuine fan of The Smiths you just want to hear their music being played by whoever of the band is left to play it. Or should it just be left to tribute bands, who had **** all to do with any of the music and murder it.

Edited by siegementality
Posted
8 hours ago, siegementality said:

Did Morrisey write the music for them? Doesn’t stop him using the music.

If you’re a genuine fan of The Smiths you just want to hear their music being played by whoever of the band is left to play it. Or should it just be left to tribute bands, who had **** all to do with any of the music and murder it.

What load of bollocks, would you go and see Mike Joyce singing the songs of The Smiths? Ringo Starr does the hits of the Beatles? 

Posted
30 minutes ago, Brian Whittaker's Tache said:

What load of bollocks, would you go and see Mike Joyce singing the songs of The Smiths? Ringo Starr does the hits of the Beatles? 

Except that doesn't happen does it. The conversation is about Marr and Morrisey.

Posted
2 hours ago, siegementality said:

Except that doesn't happen does it. The conversation is about Marr and Morrisey.

Bit like Two bald men fighting over a comb.

Posted
1 minute ago, John Findlay said:

Bit like Two bald men fighting over a comb.

Given the two of them can still sell out venues - the size that they were selling out at the height of The Smiths fame - I doubt that it is useless.

Posted
Just now, siegementality said:

Given the two of them can still sell out venues - the size that they were selling out at the height of The Smiths fame - I doubt that it is useless.

It is for me.

Posted
2 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

It is for me.

I'm sure you have your own comb.