Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted
2 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Agreed 100%

Dundee is blessed with cool places to hang out; yer lass chose well.

You, Mr Highlandjambo3, should know better than to base your assessment on a stay in a bleedin' Travelodge.

In fact, I'm surprised that you didn't have a contact who'd put you up somewhere comparable to your own classy gaff. There are heaps o' characterful B&Bs in and around Perth Road, believe me!

Anyhoo, Dundee has come on leaps & bounds since I worked there in the 1980's (which was quite the, ahem, 'experience'), and I'm fed up pointing out its charms.

It is blessed with history, superbly located for trips beyond its immediate boundaries, and should be cherished as part of Scotland's heritage.

Dundee gets a bad rep, but I've spent many days & nights there over the years and it never fails to surprise and delight.

It's a shame that the 'City of Discovery' has to be constantly ripped by those who feel that it doesn't live up to certain 'standards'.

Seek beauty, and ye shall find.

Anyhoo ... 0 - ️ incoming.

❤️❤️G❤️

I went to uni in Dundee. 

It looks to have improved in some ways and devolved in others. 

For example the uni and 5 floor union is now on its arse due to that aereated concrete fiasco and debt. 

However the entrance to dundee has now had a makeover and looks better...

I must say it was damn fun uni when I was there 20 year ago

• Replies 271

• Wee Mikey

• JudyJudyJudy

• 22games nro

Posted
11 minutes ago, vladisacoward said:

Nah, you were right the first time. Dundee is a dump. At best. Like a smaller, crappier (if possible), greyer, colder version of the hellscape that is the weege. Full of similar creatures too. Don’t give me this Dundee has reinvented itself rubbish either. One old boat and the most overhyped tourist attraction in Scotland does not over ride the many, many other deficiencies. Not even close. Although in fairness, that one old boat is quite cool and worth a visit.

I think you need to go on another journey of discovery.

Wee Mikey
Posted
1 hour ago, vladisacoward said:

Nah, you were right the first time. Dundee is a dump. At best. Like a smaller, crappier (if possible), greyer, colder version of the hellscape that is the weege. Full of similar creatures too. Don’t give me this Dundee has reinvented itself rubbish either. One old boat and the most overhyped tourist attraction in Scotland does not over ride the many, many other deficiencies. Not even close. Although in fairness, that one old boat is quite cool and worth a visit.

There's more than one old boat in Dundee.

Sorry, no slight intended, but you've exposed your ignorance.

Also, the accolade of "Most overhyped tourist attraction in Scotland"? There are quite a few in contention for that honour, with quite a few right here in Edinburgh.

HMS Unicorn https://share.google/rt4cesgfY7LMVH9yJ

Read and learn.

I'm pretty sure that @John Findlaywas aboard in his salad years.

Dundee has a lot to offer ...

... why the need to do it down?

Wee Mikey
Posted
3 hours ago, Morgan said:

Post them!  Post them!

IMG_4870.png

Buried somewhere on a long lost thread, there is one.

Some JKBers even have a copy of that 'un in their personal possession.

Intruiging, eh?

Posted
17 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Buried somewhere on a long lost thread, there is one.

Some JKBers even have a copy of that 'un in their personal possession.

Intruiging, eh?

Extremely intriguing.

Posted

Any spares going? Looking for 1 adult and a child

Posted
Just now, Deano88 said:

There’s plenty spares on Hibs.net.

hisnameisdrewbusby
Posted

Sent you a DM Deano88

hisnameisdrewbusby
Posted
14 minutes ago, Deano88 said:

Meant to quote you when i replied. I've got 2 tickets. Sent you a DM.

Posted
11 hours ago, Morgan said:

There’s plenty spares on Hibs.net.

Wouldnt be of any use to me mate 

22games nro
Posted

I see Dundee have now put restrictions on buying tickets for home end, either season ticket or previous purchase history only, whilst that’s common for us it’s not for Dundee.

I’m assuming there were hearts fans buying tickets for other parts of the main stand ?

Posted
31 minutes ago, Deano88 said:

Wouldnt be of any use to me mate 

Whoosh!!

Posted
23 hours ago, Macros said:

Cheers, I've been in the Trades bar before, cracking old pub, will probably head there

The Phoenix bottom of Perth Road, 5 minutes from station max.  Has to be one of the best in the city and great food. Bennett in Trades a few times as well but Phoenix smaller, privately owned and more character. I walk from there to the game but I am a fit 68 year old🤣

You could of course do both.

Wee Mikey
Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

The Phoenix bottom of Perth Road, 5 minutes from station max.  Has to be one of the best in the city and great food. Bennett in Trades a few times as well but Phoenix smaller, privately owned and more character. I walk from there to the game but I am a fit 68 year old🤣

In that case, may I suggest making it a trio of famous Dundee hostelries with the starting pub being The Tay Bridge Bar?

Agreed ... walking to the stadium from the bottom of Perth road is a breeze. Aye, there's a wee hill to go up but it's not exactly the north face of the Eiger.

Can stroll it in 40 mins.

Edit: start at the Tay Bridge Bar, then the Phoenix, then Trades and you can knock that down to an easy 35 mins.

Edited by Wee Mikey
Posted
15 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

Bush just along from Ticketyboos is decent. Good juke box but no food though.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

In that case, may I suggest making it a trio of famous Dundee hostelries with the starting pub being The Tay Bridge Bar?

Agreed ... walking to the stadium from the bottom of Perth road is a breeze. Aye, there's a wee hill to go up but it's not exactly the north face of the Eiger.

If you're going to start at the Taybridge Bar you're just as well taking another five minutes and starting a Mennies.

Wee Mikey
Posted
1 minute ago, Fort Vallance said:

If you're going to start at the Taybridge Bar you're just as well taking another five minutes and starting a Mennies.

Pub crawl!!! Now we're talking!

The Phoenix used to do free mince rolls with (optional) chilli sauce on Sundays back in the day (early '80s). No doubt that'll be a long gone tradition now.

Independence
Posted
17 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Agreed 100%

Dundee is blessed with cool places to hang out; yer lass chose well.

You, Mr Highlandjambo3, should know better than to base your assessment on a stay in a bleedin' Travelodge.

In fact, I'm surprised that you didn't have a contact who'd put you up somewhere comparable to your own classy gaff. There are heaps o' characterful B&Bs in and around Perth Road, believe me!

Anyhoo, Dundee has come on leaps & bounds since I worked there in the 1980's (which was quite the, ahem, 'experience'), and I'm fed up pointing out its charms.

It is blessed with history, superbly located for trips beyond its immediate boundaries, and should be cherished as part of Scotland's heritage.

Dundee gets a bad rep, but I've spent many days & nights there over the years and it never fails to surprise and delight.

It's a shame that the 'City of Discovery' has to be constantly ripped by those who feel that it doesn't live up to certain 'standards'.

Seek beauty, and ye shall find.

Anyhoo ... 0 - ️ incoming.

❤️❤️G❤️

Total agree. 
It baffles me why we are always keen to disrespect other towns/cities in Scotland?

There are many downsides to them all but far more positives. 

Posted
35 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Edit: start at the Tay Bridge Bar, then the Phoenix, then Trades and you can knock that down to an easy 35 mins.

Yep that Tay Bridge is a cracking bar.  Home to many a Dundee journalist I believe.  It certainly would be iny top three in Dundee so good shout as well and yep a lovely wee trio pre-match👍

Independence
Posted

One ticket available face value + admin charge.

Any takers?

Wee Mikey
Posted
7 minutes ago, Independence said:

One ticket available face value + admin charge.

Any takers?

Aye. I'll DM you.

Posted

Am looking 👀   Any tickets aboot ? 

Posted
51 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

The Phoenix used to do free mince rolls with (optional) chilli sauce on Sundays back in the day (early '80s). No doubt that'll be a long gone tradition now.

It's just been sold. Food still decent though.

Posted

There are still seats left on the bus leaving from Tynecastle tomorrow at 11am.

£20 adults and £15 kids.

Cheaper and more reliable than Scotrail 😀

Please email [email protected] if interested or message on here. 

Posted

Do we know how many we've sold ?

Independence
Posted
25 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Aye. I'll DM you.

Posted
35 minutes ago, Independence said:

Total agree. 
It baffles me why we are always keen to disrespect other towns/cities in Scotland?

There are many downsides to them all but far more positives. 

Agreed. I stayed, in my Campervan,  at Monifieth a few years back and cycled along the coast to Broughty Ferry decent sea front boozers and cafes. Also took the train  into the town proper another day and went to the V and A an wandered about the centre it was worth a visit.  Shopping centre a bit shit , like many other towns sadly, but places like Perth Road worth wandering around.

Dundee has its issues but it's not a Motherwell or Coatbridge or an Airdrie to be fair.

Posted
1 hour ago, joondalupjambo said:

Cheers, we'll start there maybe work our way to Trades then probably walk to the ground, I'm a reasonably fit 61 year old and my son is 27 and fit as a fiddle

Posted

I’m positive there’s a pub there called 

“ the boozey cow “ I def got boozey in there at one of the away matches 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Macros said:

Cheers, we'll start there maybe work our way to Trades then probably walk to the ground, I'm a reasonably fit 61 year old and my son is 27 and fit as a fiddle

No worries.  Funny I was 61 once and my son 27!!  Now 68 and 34 respectively, time just flies. 

Google is your friend.  From Trades you can easily work out route that kind of zig zags up to the ground.  The alternative is go through the old shopping centre, come out the other side and just head straight up the hill.  Nice to get a wander after a bite to eat and a couple of pints.  If weather bad buses to near the west end of Clepington Road are your other option and then a five minute wander to the ground 👍

Posted
2 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Mince rolls Is that a thing? Messy no.

Wee Mikey
Posted
4 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

A mince roll is an utter joy, moreso when drizzled with hot chilli sauce and accompanied by a hearty ale. Dunno if my constitition could take it these days, mind you ... likely to be messy at the other end by ½ time.

Posted
2 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

I always used the leftover mince the next day on rolls for my piece.

Posted
18 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

There's more than one old boat in Dundee.

Sorry, no slight intended, but you've exposed your ignorance.

Also, the accolade of "Most overhyped tourist attraction in Scotland"? There are quite a few in contention for that honour, with quite a few right here in Edinburgh.

HMS Unicorn https://share.google/rt4cesgfY7LMVH9yJ

Read and learn.

I'm pretty sure that @John Findlaywas aboard in his salad years.

Dundee has a lot to offer ...

... why the need to do it down?

You could be right Wee Mikey, after @John Findlay left the HMS Victory, he brought the Unicorn out of build in Chatham. 🤪🥃

Posted
19 minutes ago, EVHearts said:

You could be right Wee Mikey, after @John Findlay left the HMS Victory, he brought the Unicorn out of build in Chatham. 🤪🥃

I knew Long John Silver when he had Two legs, and an egg on his shoulder🥃😉

Posted
20 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

🐈‍⬛🐈‍⬛🐈‍⬛ 🤪

Wee Mikey
Posted
20 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Rumour has it that Edward Teach taught you the ropes and was well miffed when you went overboard with Anne Bonny in search of gold never to be seen again.

Posted
5 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I’m positive there’s a pub there called 

“ the boozey cow “ I def got boozey in there at one of the away matches 

There is, or was, a Boozy Cow in Frederick Street.  And I don’t mean my good wife.  

IMG_0503.webp

IMG_0502.png

Posted
3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

There is, or was, a Boozy Cow in Frederick Street.  And I don’t mean my good wife.  

IMG_0503.webp

IMG_0502.png

For your sake I hope Mrs Morgan never sees that post 🤕

Posted
Just now, The Treasurer said:

For your sake I hope Mrs Morgan never sees that post 🤕

Christ!  So do I.

😩

Posted
54 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Rumour has it that Edward Teach taught you the ropes and was well miffed when you went overboard with Anne Bonny in search of gold never to be seen again.

Ssshhhhh

Posted
12 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Christ!  So do I.

😩

# pray for Morgan 

Cameronstheman
Posted

The Mince Rolls were awesome

Posted

Hoping the games on, weather doesn’t look great in the morning with heavy rain for a few hours..

Wee Mikey
Posted
35 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Christ!  So do I.

😩

She's already seen it, so she tells me.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

She's already seen it, so she tells me.

I wondered where she’d gone…

Wee Mikey
Posted
2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I wondered where she’d gone…

Nae worries; only the Raeburn.

Posted
1 minute ago, Wee Mikey said:

Nae worries; only the Raeburn.

Over to the Scran and Scallie afterwards?

Look after her, will you?

Wee Mikey
Posted
30 minutes ago, Cameronstheman said:

The Mince Rolls were awesome

See, @highlandjambo3?

They are quite the thing.

Mind you, some are better than others; and, quite frankly, the stuff at Greigs is goddam awful ... I mean offal ...

Here's a pic of a gruesome mince roll and something from Greigs that looks like toalies wrapped in pastry.

Home-made is always best; no ifs or buts.

Screenshot_20260110_194641_Google.jpg

Screenshot_20260110_195001_Gallery.jpg

The Hogfather
Posted
7 hours ago, Fort Vallance said:

Do we know how many we've sold ?

All of them.