Penrices left boot Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 22 minutes ago, Taffin said: It would be a daft post if I'd said he wasn't good, but I didn't. I said he's not a top player. Any professional player is 'good'...in fact their tiers ahead of that. Good players aren't top players though. Top players don't spend their careers playing in leagues at the level of the SPFL. He's Scott Brown mk2. Top player in context to our level, surley? Do Posters really need to state that, is it not obvious? I have stated that Shankland is a brilliant player, but it's all in context of our level, I'm not comparing him to Harry Kane. Tis' true, everything needs explaining on the Internet nowadays tho, no one applies sense or context to statements anymore! McGregor is a top player, despite his advancing years and it would be fabby if he left celtic. * NB- relevant to the Scottish league, not world-wide.
Taffin Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 (edited) 17 minutes ago, Penrices left boot said: Top player in context to our level, surley? Do Posters really need to state that, is it not obvious? I have stated that Shankland is a brilliant player, but it's all in context of our level, I'm not comparing him to Harry Kane. Tis' true, everything needs explaining on the Internet nowadays tho, no one applies sense or context to statements anymore! McGregor is a top player, despite his advancing years and it would be fabby if he left celtic. * NB- relevant to the Scottish league, not world-wide. Is it obvious someone doesn't mean the word they've opted for? I'd say, no, usually not. It's not that hard just to pick an accurate adjective rather than one someone doesn't actually mean. Are MK Dons a top football team? Both Shankland and Kane are brilliant players. Only one is a top player though. Edited December 20, 2025 by Taffin
Penrices left boot Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Taffin said: Is it obvious someone doesn't mean the word they've opted for? I'd say, no, usually not. It's not that hard just to pick an accurate adjective rather than one someone doesn't actually mean. Are MK Dons a top football team? Both Shankland and Kane are brilliant players. Only one is a top player though. Bit harsh on Kane. Edited December 20, 2025 by Penrices left boot
Taffin Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 16 minutes ago, Penrices left boot said: Bit harsh on Kane. 😂 👍 Not the player he used to be
1971fozzy Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 Was listening on sportsound and they were saying Motherwell could do with a striker, would Wilson on loan there not be a good shout ? Could damage our rivals and obvs can’t play against us. He needs game time and not getting it here though as the season progresses we will possibly get injuries and suspensions up top but we do have kabore and Kabangu in reserve
Penrices left boot Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 (edited) 44 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said: Was listening on sportsound and they were saying Motherwell could do with a striker, would Wilson on loan there not be a good shout ? Could damage our rivals and obvs can’t play against us. He needs game time and not getting it here though as the season progresses we will possibly get injuries and suspensions up top but we do have kabore and Kabangu in reserve Wilson wouldn't play regularly for them. He may get more minutes than he does atm tho. Edited December 20, 2025 by Penrices left boot
AlphonseCapone Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 Wandered into Follow Follow to see what their feelings were on tomorrow. They've got a thread with an apparent ITK that they're signing Penrice. I thought he was doing ok in Greece.
RustyRightPeg Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 1 hour ago, AlphonseCapone said: Wandered into Follow Follow to see what their feelings were on tomorrow. They've got a thread with an apparent ITK that they're signing Penrice. I thought he was doing ok in Greece. They can crack on. We’ll have a sell on in there so benefitting from a Penrice sale twice in less than 6 months suits me.
Jamboross Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 21 minutes ago, Babertonhearts said: Penrice has been mainly on bench. Well that's just not true. He's started almost every domestic game. Been on the bench in Europe.
tartofmidlothian Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 16 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: They can crack on. We’ll have a sell on in there so benefitting from a Penrice sale twice in less than 6 months suits me. This. Would we swap him for Harry Milne? Don't think I would.
Babertonhearts Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 (edited) 11 hours ago, Jamboross said: Well that's just not true. He's started almost every domestic game. Been on the bench in Europe. You are wrong.Am only checking last game but he got 14 mins have checked before and has been on bench, funny enough in Europe he started a couple of times at least. Edited December 21, 2025 by Babertonhearts Further info
davie1980 Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 14 hours ago, 1971fozzy said: Was listening on sportsound and they were saying Motherwell could do with a striker, would Wilson on loan there not be a good shout ? Could damage our rivals and obvs can’t play against us. He needs game time and not getting it here though as the season progresses we will possibly get injuries and suspensions up top but we do have kabore and Kabangu in reserve If we we're loaning out a striker I'd rather it was to Falkirk or lower. Motherwell are 3rd and only 8 points behind us. I don't see them as a genuine threat but they really don't need any help.
spacerjoe Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 11 hours ago, tartofmidlothian said: This. Would we swap him for Harry Milne? Don't think I would. I think Milne edges him for sure. I remember Penrice as being the better player, but I think mainly as he was such a standout in a poor side last season.
spacerjoe Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 3 minutes ago, davie1980 said: If we we're loaning out a striker I'd rather it was to Falkirk or lower. Motherwell are 3rd and only 8 points behind us. I don't see them as a genuine threat but they really don't need any help. At this point Motherwell are in the mix for 2nd when you consider their form. In any case, I don't think we should be loaning any strikers out unless we are signing one (which I know has been mooted).
Jamboross Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 1 hour ago, Babertonhearts said: You are wrong.Am only checking last game but he got 14 mins have checked before and has been on bench, funny enough in Europe he started a couple of times at least. He's started 9 out of 13 league games, been subbed on twice and remained on the bench for 2. He started their last game and played 80 minutes. In the cup he's started 3 out of 4, playing 90 minutes in those 3, and was subbed on in the other. In Europe he's started 2 out of 12 and been subbed on 6 times.
davie1980 Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 1 hour ago, spacerjoe said: At this point Motherwell are in the mix for 2nd when you consider their form. In any case, I don't think we should be loaning any strikers out unless we are signing one (which I know has been mooted). I'd have no problem loaning one without a replacement. We have 5 central strikers. Shanks, Braga, Kabore, Kabangu and Wilson. We struggled giving them game time when we played 2 up top, now we've started only playing with 1 central striker. I'd happily loan Wilson out I expect Kabangu to leave and be replaced with better
spacerjoe Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 5 minutes ago, davie1980 said: I'd have no problem loaning one without a replacement. We have 5 central strikers. Shanks, Braga, Kabore, Kabangu and Wilson. We struggled giving them game time when we played 2 up top, now we've started only playing with 1 central striker. I'd happily loan Wilson out I expect Kabangu to leave and be replaced with better Couple of injuries and that perspective changes. And I fully expect us to go back to 442 when Beni and / or Ageu is back. Braga has mostly been excellent but dropped off recently and Kabore is very raw. I'd love for Wilson to go out on loan, but not without replacing him. When we're in a title race for the first time in 20 years, we can't leave anything to chance.
Dido of Consequence Posted December 24, 2025 Posted December 24, 2025 Heard a rumour that celtic want Kyogo back on a loan Also sevco want Windsss on loan 😆
Mikey1874 Posted December 24, 2025 Posted December 24, 2025 On 20/12/2025 at 20:12, AlphonseCapone said: Wandered into Follow Follow to see what their feelings were on tomorrow. They've got a thread with an apparent ITK that they're signing Penrice. I thought he was doing ok in Greece. On 20/12/2025 at 21:37, Jamboross said: Well that's just not true. He's started almost every domestic game. Been on the bench in Europe. Rotated with the other left back. But started two thirds of league games. Just the Aberdeen Conference League start. Which is pretty good. He loves it there too. Watch his Open Goal interview. Don't see him moving unless to a top league ie England, Spain, Italy.
tcjambo Posted December 26, 2025 Posted December 26, 2025 Just watching Birmingham v derby. How odious is Kyogo? Spent the whole second half trying to get opponents sent off. Looks pretty shite these days, though. I saw Celtic might be interested in getting him back. I'd rather he was nowhere near Scottish football.
Bongo 1874 Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 1 minute ago, McNelly15 said: Penrice getting linked with the rangers. Seen that would be a very solid signing what i would say we haven't missed him as much with Milne coming in, in no way am i saying Milne is better than Penrice but he's been a very solid replacement considering.
ericb Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 57 minutes ago, McNelly15 said: Penrice getting linked with the rangers. Back in Scotland too 🤔
SectionN Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 3 minutes ago, ericb said: Back in Scotland too 🤔 Greek season finishes for a few weeks. AEK next game 11th Jan I believe.
Seymour M Hersh Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 7 minutes ago, ericb said: Back in Scotland too 🤔 Do the Greeks have a winter shutdown?
Tommy Brown Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 (edited) Re Penrice Is this just the usual lazy journalism? Most likely imo Has any journalist even wrote or is it Fan Forum wish list? Edited December 31, 2025 by Tommy Brown
jbee647 Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 On 20/12/2025 at 20:12, AlphonseCapone said: Wandered into Follow Follow to see what their feelings were on tomorrow. They've got a thread with an apparent ITK that they're signing Penrice. I thought he was doing ok in Greece. Noticed that… let’s face facts, he’s no Harry Milne
AndrewB Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 I said as soon as James P went to Greece that there had to be a 50% chance he would go to one of the uglies. I was hoping the other 50% chance would kick in and he'd go to English Championship or move around Europe.
Oneneilberry Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 Penrice stood out in a rank rotten season ,not saying he isn't a good player but we replaced him fairly easily, possibly even upgraded. I presume rangers would need to pony up cash for him and we have a sell on .
Jamboross Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 10 minutes ago, Oneneilberry said: Penrice stood out in a rank rotten season ,not saying he isn't a good player but we replaced him fairly easily, possibly even upgraded. I presume rangers would need to pony up cash for him and we have a sell on . Aye. He's the starting left back for the team top of the Greek league so if they want him he isn't going to come cheap just because he's Scottish and they were previously interested. With us supposedly having a sell-on you're talking £4m+ just for AEK to be turning a fairly modest profit on him and I doubt Rangers would be willing to stump up that much for him. I think it's just nonsense paper talk tbh. If he does go there then we've likely made some more cash and they've got a LB who, while good at this level as an attacking option, isn't the best defensively. Personally I think Milne is better (when played in his correct position!)
Drylaw Hearts Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 Penrice was good from August to December……but was still guilty of being at fault for a few mistakes that led to goals for the opposition. January to May…..he was pretty ordinary imo.
GBJambo Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 If Penrice is the kind of player Rangers are going for then all good . He is ok but to be honest i think Milne is the better player.
dumpson Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 Let’s not pretend Penrice wasn’t a very good player for us just because he’s being linked to them. I’d be surprised if they’ve got the cash though.
OTT Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 On 26/12/2025 at 14:17, tcjambo said: Just watching Birmingham v derby. How odious is Kyogo? Spent the whole second half trying to get opponents sent off. Looks pretty shite these days, though. I saw Celtic might be interested in getting him back. I'd rather he was nowhere near Scottish football. He's the sort of player you enjoying seeing get injured. I hate players that play like that with certain players there is gamesmanship - like Brown or Devlin, but Kyogo goes about it in a sleekit and sneaky way which leaves a bad taste IMO zero sportsmanship Quite enjoyed Rubezic bodying the wee *****. A shame it didn't knock any sense into him.
GorgieFifeLife Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 2 hours ago, jbee647 said: Noticed that… let’s face facts, he’s no Harry Milne Light years ahead of Milne.
GorgieFifeLife Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 1 hour ago, GBJambo said: If Penrice is the kind of player Rangers are going for then all good . He is ok but to be honest i think Milne is the better player. He isn’t better. Milne won’t be here next season as we will upgrade.
AndrewB Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 I wonder if Celtic will try to upgrade on Schmeichel. He doesn't half look dreadful on the clips I see / our games v them. The great thing is that we have two keepers better than him and one who is probably no worse. I don't say Schmeichel wasn't good in the past, because he was, but if Celtic want to live on old glories and fail to upgrade, bash on, Wilf.
jbee647 Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 (edited) 27 minutes ago, GorgieFifeLife said: Light years ahead of Milne. Pish Penrice was decent in a very average side last season, Milne is an all round better footballer in a way better team Edited December 31, 2025 by jbee647
kingantti1874 Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 1 hour ago, dumpson said: Let’s not pretend Penrice wasn’t a very good player for us just because he’s being linked to them. I’d be surprised if they’ve got the cash though. why are folk still surprised about rangers and cash. They spent £25m in the summer. £8-10m on one donkey.
InternationalJambo Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 2 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said: why are folk still surprised about rangers and cash. They spent £25m in the summer. £8-10m on one donkey. Tbf they release 15 strips every 6 months for £80 a pop. Loaded.
GBJambo Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 32 minutes ago, GorgieFifeLife said: He isn’t better. Milne won’t be here next season as we will upgrade. He is . Whether Milne is here is up for debate but Milne is definitely the better of the two.
tcjambo Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 1 hour ago, GorgieFifeLife said: He isn’t better. Milne won’t be here next season as we will upgrade. 🙄
Threedoorsdown Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 I’d be delighted if Rangers spent the 4-5m they would need to spend to get Penrice. Nice wee million quid for us
siegementality Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 On 20/12/2025 at 19:00, 1971fozzy said: Was listening on sportsound and they were saying Motherwell could do with a striker, would Wilson on loan there not be a good shout ? Could damage our rivals and obvs can’t play against us. He needs game time and not getting it here though as the season progresses we will possibly get injuries and suspensions up top but we do have kabore and Kabangu in reserve I personally don’t think Wilson will have the future that some think he will. I’ll go as far as to say he is already at his highest level club wise.
GorgieFifeLife Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 1 hour ago, jbee647 said: Pish Penrice was decent in a very average side last season, Milne is an all round better footballer in a way better team Pish. Milne is average at best and will be replaced next season.
GorgieFifeLife Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 1 hour ago, GBJambo said: He is . Whether Milne is here is up for debate but Milne is definitely the better of the two. No chance.
rudi must stay Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 Penrice is a brilliant player I was sad we sold him, they'd be getting a player who will hit his peak too. But AEK will be hard to deal with so it might not happen
jbee647 Posted December 31, 2025 Posted December 31, 2025 20 minutes ago, GorgieFifeLife said: Pish. Milne is average at best and will be replaced next season. Wrong