wcjambo Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 The way we're likely to see it go is Clancy stays in the job and is given some funds in January to get key positions for his system that he feels he lacks (wingbacks, right footed centre half) as a stopgap till they can properly recruit in summer. Chances are these players will have skewed fees as it's January and people will know Celtic are chasing them out of necessity. I remember some reports that they had agreed a deal with Bobby Clarke for like £6m? Wonder if that's since been cancelled or whats happening as in the middle (as poor as they are) in the grand scheme of things probably isnt his biggest priority
selkirkhmfc1874 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Let's hope they panic buy and sign absolute duds
wcjambo Posted December 15, 2025 Author Posted December 15, 2025 3 minutes ago, selkirkhmfc1874 said: Let's hope they panic buy and sign absolute duds I think that's likely although I don't think they'll be duds. I think January will be a load of average players used to bridge the gap in tatctics till summer but with JTA in place I think more and more old firm signings are going to start to look like average/duds for the money they pay.
highlandjambo3 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 The connect 4 ninja will be gone by this time next month
tian447 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 I hope they spend millions and they are all absolute shite
Jim Panzee Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 15 minutes ago, wcjambo said: The way we're likely to see it go is Clancy stays in the job and is given some funds in January to get key positions for his system that he feels he lacks (wingbacks, right footed centre half) as a stopgap till they can properly recruit in summer. Chances are these players will have skewed fees as it's January and people will know Celtic are chasing them out of necessity. I remember some reports that they had agreed a deal with Bobby Clarke for like £6m? Wonder if that's since been cancelled or whats happening as in the middle (as poor as they are) in the grand scheme of things probably isnt his biggest priority I suppose ref'ing as well as managing that shower can't be easy.......
OTT Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 They'll need to. Just got to hope that Nancy fills the time with shite like Martin did at Rangers.
wcjambo Posted December 15, 2025 Author Posted December 15, 2025 3 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: I suppose ref'ing as well as managing that shower can't be easy....... Aye, I've had a stinker there admittedly
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Rangers window may be more important, they have only lost to 1 Scottish team
Ribble Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 5 minutes ago, tian447 said: I hope they spend millions and they are all absolute shite Spend millions on shite to suit 343, sell anyone that can't play in that formation. Then still sack Nancy and bring in someone that knows 343 is a terrible formation but doesn't have the players to change it
No Idle Talk Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 16 minutes ago, Ribble said: Spend millions on shite to suit 343, sell anyone that can't play in that formation. Then still sack Nancy and bring in someone that knows 343 is a terrible formation but doesn't have the players to change it That's what I am hoping for.
Dsjambo Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Right now they don’t know if they are sacking the new boss and bringing back messiah O’Neil or not. Not ideal position to be in when spending big money on players
jamboinglasgow Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 20 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: Rangers window may be more important, they have only lost to 1 Scottish team I do think its a bit mad that Celtic have only 1 less loss in the league than Hearts, Rangers and Motherwell combined. As for Celtic's window, I think they will spend lots of money on players that will be hyped up but will be a disappointment due their recruitment team not being good,
Jambo dans les Pyrenees Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 37 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said: The connect 4 ninja will be gone by this time next month The poor guy doesn’t know whether he’s going for a shite or a haircut, as the saying goes.
Bauld Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 What I'm hoping for is they take the money for the players who want away such as Maeda. Even if he's only half arsing it this season it weakens them further on forwards and numbers in general. It's been proven recently that they are very poor at replacing quality with quality.
Fort Vallance Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 6 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said: I do think its a bit mad that Celtic have only 1 less loss in the league than Hearts, Rangers and Motherwell combined. As for Celtic's window, I think they will spend lots of money on players that will be hyped up but will be a disappointment due their recruitment team not being good, To be fair they've been selling players on for millions while the rest of us were getting peanuts. Even if they do buy big, these players will probably need time to settle whereas we will only tweaking.
Portable Badger Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 35 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: I suppose ref'ing as well as managing that shower can't be easy....... Explains some of his bizarre decisions
Mister T Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Let's hope they panic buy, spend a fortune and bring even more steaming dung.
tartofmidlothian Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 45 minutes ago, The Maroon Jacket said: Too many sellic threads on JKB Nah, they're our main opposition right now, not Hibs.
RudiSkacelsLeftPeg Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 52 minutes ago, gorgieheart said: who cares Majority of us?
Heartsofgold Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 How much they spend will give an indication on how much they back him from the biscuit tin. £10 million and under - There's a fair chance we have screwed up appointing this dud. £10 - £25 Million - Lets see how he does till the summer Over this - **** it . We are backing our choice no matter what.
Bill Sikes Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 No idea how the Celtic recruitment dept. works tbh. One thing is for sure, there are no bargains available in January, id imagine and its only a guess that they will try to get a few decent loans in, it'll be a punt and cost them a huge amount in wages. The entire club being in turmoil and everyone knowing they will be desperate will not help their cause at all. Oh well.
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 23 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said: I do think its a bit mad that Celtic have only 1 less loss in the league than Hearts, Rangers and Motherwell combined. As for Celtic's window, I think they will spend lots of money on players that will be hyped up but will be a disappointment due their recruitment team not being good, They may well go high profile loan market e.g Iheanacho, suspect they wont want to blow next season too on Nancy.
stirlo Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 45 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: Rangers window may be more important, they have only lost to 1 Scottish team It's easy to miss this fact. For all that they've been poor this season in the league they've lost the same number of games as us. Hopefully we'll beat them on Sunday and that will change though.
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 minute ago, stirlo said: It's easy to miss this fact. For all that they've been poor this season in the league they've lost the same number of games as us. Hopefully we'll beat them on Sunday and that will change though. I'd accept them losing tonight, note I'm not saying I want the other team to win . But if ever it were to happen, timing probably as good as it can be.
Vool Mario Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 58 minutes ago, The Maroon Jacket said: Too many sellic threads on JKB And they don’t belong here. And that’s a fact!
stirlo Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 2 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: I'd accept them losing tonight, note I'm not saying I want the other team to win . But if ever it were to happen, timing probably as good as it can be. In the previous two meetings against them this season by all accounts Hibs have been pretty toothless. A draw would do nicely. But ultimately what matters is us beating them on Sunday - and if we play to our potential we will win.
CM Funk Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Here’s hoping the board throw their toys out the pram for the fans throwing their toys out the pram and we have a wee standoff. My guess is a known entity from down south on ludicrous wages. Someone not getting a game but used to be a regular on a loan or something. Hope their January window is a good as their summer’s was though.
Shaggy2 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 minute ago, stirlo said: In the previous two meetings against them this season by all accounts Hibs have been pretty toothless. A draw would do nicely. But ultimately what matters is us beating them on Sunday - and if we play to our potential we will win. Rangers are actually worrying me more as well. As for Hibs v Rangers, they were honking at Ibrox but definitely should have taken something at home. Missed penalty late on, iirc.
Exile fae Main Street Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 hour ago, wcjambo said: The way we're likely to see it go is Clancy stays in the job and is given some funds in January to get key positions for his system that he feels he lacks (wingbacks, right footed centre half) as a stopgap till they can properly recruit in summer. Chances are these players will have skewed fees as it's January and people will know Celtic are chasing them out of necessity. I remember some reports that they had agreed a deal with Bobby Clarke for like £6m? Wonder if that's since been cancelled or whats happening as in the middle (as poor as they are) in the grand scheme of things probably isnt his biggest priority Er...who's Bobby Clarke?
highlandjambo3 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 35 minutes ago, Jambo dans les Pyrenees said: The poor guy doesn’t know whether he’s going for a shite or a haircut, as the saying goes. Carrying bog roll or a Combe is usually a good indicator 😏
scott herbertson Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 5 minutes ago, Exile fae Main Street said: Er...who's Bobby Clarke? Midfielder on loan from Salzburg to Derby - apparently playing well and I don't see Derby letting him go before end of season unless there's a clause in the loan agreement
Rudy T Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 hour ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: Rangers window may be more important, they have only lost to 1 Scottish team Being very much overlooked at the moment a result tonight puts them within 3 points of Celtic with an old firm on the horizon. Huge game at the weekend for us, they can’t be allowed to gain momentum. Aberdeen are other shower who could play a big part this season, not in winning the title of course but are capable of scraping points in the top 6. It’s some December for the league placings going into the window and will probably shape each teams ambitions in the window.
KariHMFC Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 hour ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: Rangers window may be more important, they have only lost to 1 Scottish team They've also only won 6 out of 15 (40% of games), and in 3 of them were very lucky to win.
Taffin Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Reckon they'll bring in 3 or 4 loans that are really pretty good players from good clubs.
Locky Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 I think they'll be all over the loan market. 2 or 3 'big name' loan signings from down south or in France.
jager man Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 33 minutes ago, Exile fae Main Street said: Er...who's Bobby Clarke? Lee Clark's son.
Dallas Green Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 hour ago, gorgieheart said: who cares You obviously, enough to post on the thread.
Mikey1874 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 hour ago, Ribble said: Spend millions on shite to suit 343, sell anyone that can't play in that formation. Then still sack Nancy and bring in someone that knows 343 is a terrible formation but doesn't have the players to change it Well put. I think Nancy in signings won't be involved partly for this reason. I don't think Brendan Rodgers was involved at all. But it's going to be very hard to get the right players in January for that system.
kingantti1874 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said: Well put. I think Nancy in signings won't be involved partly for this reason. I don't think Brendan Rodgers was involved at all. But it's going to be very hard to get the right players in January for that system. Hes not going to last that long imo.
jambo-in-furness Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 hour ago, The Maroon Jacket said: Too many sellic threads on JKB They’re the new Hibs doncha know.
Pasquale Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Any news on Iheanacho's injury from yesterday? Rolled around like he had done his hamstring in only to get up five minutes later and tried to run it off.
Mikey1874 Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 1 hour ago, Pasquale said: Any news on Iheanacho's injury from yesterday? Rolled around like he had done his hamstring in only to get up five minutes later and tried to run it off. Not yet. But these injuries are usually anything from 4 weeks to 6 months l.
vegas-voss Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 Signing 6 players that need time to bed into the madness of Scottish football. Perfect Meanwhile Hearts are looking at players we know will have what it takes to play in Scotland thanks to JTA profiling.
Exile fae Main Street Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 2 hours ago, scott herbertson said: Midfielder on loan from Salzburg to Derby - apparently playing well and I don't see Derby letting him go before end of season unless there's a clause in the loan agreement Cheers👍
Joey J J Jr Shabadoo Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 4 hours ago, Exile fae Main Street said: Er...who's Bobby Clarke? Lee Clarke's son, ex-Newcastle midfielder. His son won the league cup with Liverpool a couple years ago.
pettigrewsstylist Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 5 hours ago, Ribble said: Spend millions on shite to suit 343, sell anyone that can't play in that formation. Then still sack Nancy and bring in someone that knows 343 is a terrible formation but doesn't have the players to change it
pettigrewsstylist Posted December 15, 2025 Posted December 15, 2025 5 hours ago, Bauld said: What I'm hoping for is they take the money for the players who want away such as Maeda. Even if he's only half arsing it this season it weakens them further on forwards and numbers in general. It's been proven recently that they are very poor at replacing quality with quality. Hope they turn down offers and he downs tools in huff.