The wonderful world of Reform Ltd

Posted
32 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Carries as much weight as Swinney saying he will have one then 😆

Would think it carries a lot more weight. Swinney hasn't really got any route to doing it. Whilst I don't believe him, Farage as UK PM would 

• Replies 2.4k

• JudyJudyJudy

• The Mighty Thor

• Victorian

• Gundermann

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Not really,  no.   Farage might claim to be open to the possibility of a referendum at a vague time in the future,  but he knows it's something he will never have to deliver.   In the shorter term they will be nowhere near Holyrood power,  either as main party or junior in a coalition.   Longer term it's something easily kicked down the road for years.   It's a titbit of a pledge that never has to be lived up to.   It's what opposition parties and minor parties can do and they hold that advantage over parties who are likely to form a government.

The SNP will win the election or be main party in a pro-independence coalition or pact.   They are then obligated to seek a referendum.   Which will in all likelihood fail to materialise.   Then they're on the hook for another failed attempt at independence.

So the two couldn't be more different.   

the only one who will likely have the ability in future to grant a referendum is farage.  Of course like you I don’t believe it would materialise. 

Let’s not beat about the bush though, SNP voters have sucked up SNP lies for nigh on 20 years.  I wouldnt bet against a few being gullible enough to buy just about anything.  

Fake promises re independence and promising as a many supposedly free things as possible seems it’s all it takes lol 

Edited by kingantti1874
Posted (edited)
1 minute ago, Taffin said:

Would think it carries a lot more weight. Swinney hasn't really got any route to doing it. Whilst I don't believe him, Farage as UK PM would 

yep. An inconvenient truth. More likely to have an independence referendum under Reform than the SNP 😆

oh the irony 

promise some free packed lunches for everyone under the age of 25 and the Scotland vote is secure 😆

Edited by kingantti1874
Dennis Denuto
Posted
1 minute ago, kingantti1874 said:

yep. An inconvenient truth. More likely to have an independence referendum under Reform than the SNP 😆

oh the irony 

The inconvenient truth is that the SNP have more MPs than Reform and that is likely to be the case after the next election as well, imo.

So the SNP are actually closer to power than Reform will ever be.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dennis Denuto said:

The inconvenient truth is that the SNP have more MPs than Reform and that is likely to be the case after the next election as well, imo.

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

😆 I assume you are referring  to the May election and not the next general election.  Otherwise this would be a ludicrous post. Reform will replace Labour at WM when the time comes zero doubt about it so you better get used to the idea 🇬🇧 

Edited by kingantti1874
Victorian
Posted

🤣  He's coming out with this shite in the context of the Holyrood election.   To mug off a few pug munters to win seats at Holyrood.   Not as a future,  prospective UK PM.   But pugs gonna munter.   

Dick Dastardly
Posted
1 hour ago, Ron Burgundy said:

If he's looking for mug voters he has gone after the right group. They believed Krankie, Yousless and now Honest John that they have independence as their main aim. 

He does seem to aim towards mug voters in general. There is probably a decent market in used/soiled Union Jack Y-fronts he could corner. 

Posted

It'll be good to have someone open to another referendum in role that can actually deliver one 👍 good news imo.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dick Dastardly said:

He does seem to aim towards mug voters in general. There is probably a decent market in used/soiled Union Jack Y-fronts he could corner. 

The only mugs are the folks voting the same failed parties with the same failed policies time and again and expecting things to get better. The same high tax high handout parties. 

s for reform policies and ideas . Most (not all) of them are solid. 

Worth a shot . Can’t be any worse than what we currently have! 

and if they fail then onto the next.

Dick Dastardly
Posted
Just now, kingantti1874 said:

The only mugs are the folks voting the same failed parties with the same failed policies time and again and expecting things to get better. The same high tax high handout parties. 

s for reform policies and ideas . Most (not all) of them are solid. 

Worth a shot . Can’t be any worse than what we currently have! 

and if they fail then onto the next.

He definitely could be worse than what we currently have. 

Victorian
Posted

So let me get this right...

Nigel Farage is actually now the great hope of Scotland having an independence referendum.   'Cos he's going to be the UK PM in a few years and will have the power to say yes or no to a transfer of powers to have one.

Right so far?

And he's saying these things now,  a few weeks before the Holyrood election,  quite legitimately campaigning on behalf of his own unionist party.   To get people to vote for them.   Win seats.   Win regional list top up seats.   Thus reducing the possibility of the SNP achieving a pro-independence majority with which to seek the referendum that he says he might be open to?

Right?

And people are actually swallowing this?

Posted (edited)
19 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

He definitely could be worse than what we currently have. 

As a nation we are nearly bankrupt nearly £3trn in debt because we keep living well beyond our means, despite taxes being higher than at any time since WW2, the benefits bill is over £100bn a year, we have a scenario where 2 child families on benefits earn the same as folk on £50k per annum meaning there’s no incentive to work,debt interest is over £110bn a year, we have swathes of our best and brightest leaving every year to be replaced with boat loads of engineers and doctors, the NHS is at breaking point, we have to turf prisoners out early as we don’t have enough spaces, schools are crumbling and the general standard of education has plummeted in the last 30 years, we ow vague broad achievement rather than pushing the excellence which defined this nation, we are a joke on the international stage, we barely have the capability to defend ourselves, I’m not sure we could at all, we’ve sacrificed our own energy independence and now buy our own oil and gas back from Norway who drill it out of our fields.  We’ve the highest energy prices of all modern first world countries, we waste billions on DEI and net zero nonsense.  Public services across pretty much every council in the country have been absolutely decimated, outwith the cities pubs have been all but destroyed by minimum alcohol prices, and I can buy my dad whiskey for less across the border than I can here.  To top it all off we have some of the worst addiction rates on earth. 

yes it’s all going absolutley swimmingly.  I look forward to being able to buy primary school starter packs on eBay when people pop them up for sale a few years after the baby boxes.  

this country is utterly broken.  

Edited by kingantti1874
Dennis Denuto
Posted
41 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

😆 I assume you are referring  to the May election and not the next general election.  Otherwise this would be a ludicrous post. Reform will replace Labour at WM when the time comes zero doubt about it so you better get used to the idea 🇬🇧 

Reform have peaked, they will be somewhere between 5-10 MPs at best. 

The right are declining everywhere now. 

Sow Easy
Posted
4 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

As a nation we are nearly bankrupt, taxes are higher than at any time since WW2, benefits but is over £100bn a year, debt interest is over £110bn we have swathes of our best and brightest leaving to be replaced with boat loads of engineers and doctors, the NHS is at breaking point, we have to turf prisoners out early as we don’t have a bough spaces, schools are crumbling and the general standard of education has plummeted in the last 30 years, we are a joke on the international stage, we’ve sacrificed our own energy independence and now buy our own oil and gas back from Norway who drill it out of our fields.  Public services across pretty much every council in the country have been absolutely decimated, outwith the cities pubs have been all but destroyed by minimum alcohol prices, and I can buy my dad whiskey for less across the border than I can here.  To top it all off we have some of the worst addiction rates on earth. 

yes it’s all going absolutley swimmingly.  I look forward to being able to buy primary school starter packs on eBay when people pop them up for sale a few years after the baby boxes.  

Yeah let's trust the guy who thrust Brexit upon us to fix all those issues.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

Reform have peaked, they will be somewhere between 5-10 MPs at best. 

The right are declining everywhere now. 

😆 lol.  

Dick Dastardly
Posted
9 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

As a nation we are nearly bankrupt nearly £3trn in debt because we keep living well beyond our means, despite taxes being higher than at any time since WW2, the benefits bill is over £100bn a year, we have a scenario where 2 child families on benefits earn the same as folk on £50k per annum meaning there’s no incentive to work,debt interest is over £110bn a year, we have swathes of our best and brightest leaving every year to be replaced with boat loads of engineers and doctors, the NHS is at breaking point, we have to turf prisoners out early as we don’t have enough spaces, schools are crumbling and the general standard of education has plummeted in the last 30 years, we ow vague broad achievement rather than pushing the excellence which defined this nation, we are a joke on the international stage, we barely have the capability to defend ourselves, I’m not sure we could at all, we’ve sacrificed our own energy independence and now buy our own oil and gas back from Norway who drill it out of our fields.  We’ve the highest energy prices of all modern first world countries, we waste billions on DEI and net zero nonsense.  Public services across pretty much every council in the country have been absolutely decimated, outwith the cities pubs have been all but destroyed by minimum alcohol prices, and I can buy my dad whiskey for less across the border than I can here.  To top it all off we have some of the worst addiction rates on earth. 

None of that means Farage would do any better.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Sow Easy said:

Yeah let's trust the guy who thrust Brexit upon us to fix all those issues.

Brexit was a poor choice.  But nothing to do with 90% of those issues.

dsk1210
Posted

You think Reform is the one to fix these problems?  Ffs man.

I don't have a party I actually like but these boys come across as opportunistic shysters. 

Posted
Just now, Dick Dastardly said:

None of that means Farage would do any better.

True, He’s one man who I dont particularly like.  Personally I really rate Zia Yousaf, a man whose family came here, integrated, worked hard and delivered unquestionable value to this country.

Still not liking someone isn’t a reason not to vote for a party - I’d vote for no one. 

Dennis Denuto
Posted
5 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

😆 lol.  

You should look at some data occasionally instead of crying over your payslip deductions. 

Sow Easy
Posted
6 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Brexit was a poor choice.  But nothing to do with 90% of those issues.

Speaks to his judgement though, no? Why trust him with anything else?

Posted
2 minutes ago, dsk1210 said:

You think Reform is the one to fix these problems?  Ffs man.

I don't have a party I actually like but these boys come across as opportunistic shysters. 

The parties who are responsible for creating this mess certainly aren’t going to fix it that’s for sure. More tax and more freebies and more false promises of sunshine and rainbows if independence was ever to transpire isn’t going to fix it.

Socialism is a failure rooted in a nice idea. A naive idea but a nice one. 

unfortunately this country requires some tough love and only one party is promising that. Will they deliver? No idea, probably not but worth a shot 

Dennis Denuto
Posted

The parties who are responsible for creating this mess certainly aren’t going to fix it that’s for sure. More tax and more freebies and more false promises of sunshine and rainbows if independence was ever to transpire isn’t going to fix it.

Socialism is a failure rooted in a nice idea. A naive idea but a nice one. 

unfortunately this country requires some tough love and only one party is promising that. Will they deliver? No idea, probably not but worth a shot 

When was the last time we had a socialist government? 

Socialism has not created these circumstances. 

Posted
Just now, Sow Easy said:

Speaks to his judgement though, no? Why trust him with anything else?

Who should we trust? Should we trust John Swinney who’s lied to the people for 2 decades, whose only success is handing out money he doesn’t have like confetti only for the issues to deepen,  whose failure is beyond debate.

Posted (edited)
1 minute ago, Dennis Denuto said:

When was the last time we had a socialist government? 

Socialism has not created these circumstances. 

we have one now both in WM and holyrood.  they check mostly all the boxes other than for some individuals who are so extreme left they’ve nearly fallen off the side and have no idea where the middle is 

Edited by kingantti1874
Victorian
Posted

Sooner or later one party will formally take the leap to be the party campaining to rejoin the EU.   I've always thought it will be a future,  shape-shifted Tory party.   If one walks that plank,  other parties might follow suit.

That's the big show in town when it comes.   And it will.

Sow Easy
Posted

we have one now both in WM and holyrood.   

Explain please.

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Sow Easy said:

Explain please.

both governments big on public ownership  (or would like to be if they could get away with it) neithet see the downsides of large government, both focus on wealth redistribution, both focus on welfare as a key priority before just about anything else , high taxes low growth is not a consideration and they don’t hesitate to kick those who do everything they are supposed to and try a bit harder.

both bend over at every hint of a strike from the cynical unions who back them (labour in particular are back by some particularly odious unions)

I could go on. I suppose you are one of those who are now so far left you mistake left to be right. Your compass is all out of whack 

Edited by kingantti1874
Posted
35 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Its the 'Now that's what I call 2016' greatest hits 😂

3tn in debt? Yeah successive Tory governments will do that. 

Benefit scroungers

Them immigrants

Broken NHS

DEI/Woke nonsense

Net zero nonsense

Broken public services

Norway drill our oil? The Norway that have a 3 tn surplus? The Norway that didnt sell off its energy infrastructure like that horrible cow Thatcher did? 

Farage and his gang of rag tag opportunist Tory shitehawks are going to sort all this out? Aye?

:kirk:

Sow Easy
Posted
22 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

both governments big on public ownership  (or would like to be if they could get away with it) neithet see the downsides of large government, both focus on wealth redistribution, both focus on welfare as a key priority before just about anything else , high taxes low growth is not a consideration and they don’t hesitate to kick those who do everything they are supposed to and try a bit harder.

both bend over at every hint of a strike from the cynical unions who back them (labour in particular are back by some particularly odious unions)

I could go on. I suppose you are one of those who are now so far left you mistake left to be right. Your compass is all out of whack 

So not socialism then.

Posted
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Benefit scroungers

Them immigrants

Broken NHS

DEI/Woke nonsense

Net zero nonsense

Broken public services

Norway drill our oil? The Norway that have a 3 tn surplus? The Norway that didnt sell off its energy infrastructure like that horrible cow Thatcher did? 

Farage and his gang of rag tag opportunist Tory shitehawks are going to sort all this out? Aye?

Who knows, more chance of sorting it out than the muppets that created it.  

When Labour came to power in 1997 we were running a surplus, till they opened the floodgates in more ways than one, unchecked mass damaging immigration, devolution and runaway debt.  All disasterous policies .  The only thing you can level at the tories is they certainly failed to fix it.  They weren’t radical enough and Brexit sure didn’t help.  As for the SNP. 20 years of undeniable failure.  

the fact that you’ve highlighted some of these issues in a sarcastic manner suggests you don’t think they are issues which means you may just be part of the problem. 

Posted
Just now, Sow Easy said:

So not socialism then.

Happy to be educated.  Hoping your not going to list of some of the more extreme policies 

Dick Dastardly
Posted
46 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

True, He’s one man who I dont particularly like.  Personally I really rate Zia Yousaf, a man whose family came here, integrated, worked hard and delivered unquestionable value to this country.

Still not liking someone isn’t a reason not to vote for a party - I’d vote for no one. 

I don't trust any politician. I just think Farage is the absolute worst of any of them. 

Posted
29 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Farage has courted and surrounded himself with the very muppets that created it.

Now you're telling us they're going to solve it? 

Braverman - in the pilots seat for record numbers of immigration under Spaffer. Now claiming 'it wisnae me' 

Jenrick - the asylum hotels nonsense.

Zahawi - when he took a break from heating his stables, he wrought havoc on the economy

Tice - tax dodging ***** that hides in Dubai

Farage - Russian stooge with memory problems. Can't recall how he managed to pay CASH for a 850k house or indeed if it was even his.

Aye they'll fix it lads 😂

Posted
47 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Benefit scroungers

Them immigrants

Broken NHS

DEI/Woke nonsense

Net zero nonsense

Broken public services

Posted
3 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Farage has courted and surrounded himself with the very muppets that created it.

Braverman - in the pilots seat for record numbers of immigration under Spaffer. Now claiming 'it wisnae me' 

Zahawi - when he took a break from heating his stables, he wrought havoc on the economy

Farage - Russian stooge with memory problems. Can't recall how he managed to pay CASH for a 850k house or indeed if it was even his.

Some on here actually believe it.

Posted
5 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

must admit not beef a fan of some of the tories employed, but I’d rather those Tories than the SNP. Labour, Greens etc.  

Not only have they been similarly incompetent but fundamentally their ideas are wrong.

That aside, the tone of your post suggests you’ve boughy into the narrative that everything is the fault of WM.  

The SNP are responsible for the failures in Scotland, and for the lies they have told and continue to tell. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Some on here actually believe it.

Some on here actually believe we’d be better off independent 😆 turkeys voting for Christmas. 

AlimOzturk
Posted
44 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

When Labour came to power in 1997 we were running a surplus, till they opened the floodgates in more ways than one, unchecked mass damaging immigration, devolution and runaway debt.  All disasterous policies .  The only thing you can level at the tories is they certainly failed to fix it.  They weren’t radical enough and Brexit sure didn’t help.  As for the SNP. 20 years of undeniable failure.  

the fact that you’ve highlighted some of these issues in a sarcastic manner suggests you don’t think they are issues which means you may just be part of the problem. 

You do realise that Reform are just the extremes version of what the right wing Tory section wanted to be? Bravermen, jenrick, Zahawi, Dorris, Lee Anderson, Nadine and a whole host of other tories who played their part in ****ing this country up. Yet because they are flying the flags of a different party under Farage you think they will somehow not be worse than what has gone on before

Posted
1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

You do realise that Reform are just the extremes version of what the right wing Tory section wanted to be? Bravermen, jenrick, Zahawi, Dorris, Lee Anderson, Nadine and a whole host of other tories who played their part in ****ing this country up. Yet because they are flying the flags of a different party under Farage you think they will somehow not be worse than what has gone on before

I suppose the SNP / Labour payed no part. ? 

Victorian
Posted

Politics is always won and lost in the battlegrounds of the bizarre,  ill conceived,  batshit incoherent and vaguely sentient notions of the great majority.   

Posted
10 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

must admit not beef a fan of some of the tories employed, but I’d rather those Tories than the SNP. Labour, Greens etc.  

Not only have they been similarly incompetent but fundamentally their ideas are wrong.

That aside, the tone of your post suggests you’ve boughy into the narrative that everything is the fault of WM.  

The SNP are responsible for the failures in Scotland, and for the lies they have told and continue to tell. 

Seeing as this is about reform I'd point you in the direction of the councils they are running (ruining) to get a fair guide to their competence and the effects of their political dogma (absolute fantasy) running into hard reality

Posted
2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

:D We were not running a surplus when Labour came into power in 1997.

Screenshotat2026-04-1619-39-31.png.84e62978f1ed4601709c649c48a362b4.png

That line looks awfully like it crosses 0%near 1997.  See the explosion between 2000-2011 (Labour) see the drop when the tories came to power, sadly austerity(otherwise called living within our means) didn’t quite go far enough to dominate the debt. Then we have re Covid spike.

thanks for proving my argument

Victorian
Posted
1 minute ago, kingantti1874 said:

That line looks awfully like it crosses 0%near 1997.  See the explosion between 2000-2011 (Labour) see the drop when the tories came to power, sadly austerity(otherwise called living within our means) didn’t quite go far enough to dominate the debt. Then we have re Covid spike.

thanks for proving my argument

Looks like 1999.

Posted
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Seeing as this is about reform I'd point you in the direction of the councils they are running (ruining) to get a fair guide to their competence and the effects of their political dogma (absolute fantasy) running into hard reality

Show me a council that isn’t ruined. You want me to take the time to highlight the state of Scottish councils or do you want to research it yourself ? 

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Looks like 1999.

😆

Hmm not sure, but maybe reaping the ongoing rewards of John Majors government? 

till they ****ed it all up 

Edited by kingantti1874
Victorian
Posted
8 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Screenshotat2026-04-1619-39-31.png.84e62978f1ed4601709c649c48a362b4.png

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Looks like 1999.

😆

You think it's not 1999?

AlimOzturk
Posted

I suppose the SNP / Labour payed no part. ? 

Oh I know both have also failed but I don’t see another party masquerading  as either of the above with former members abandoning a sinking ship they helped cause. The SNP are a fairly special case as well - they weren’t meant to a governing party this long but they seem to be the best of a bad bunch. 

At least they can hang their hats on some form of socialist progressive policies such as free prescriptions, free university education (preserving and restructuring it) free bus travel for certain groups, baby boxies and progressive tax polices (if you agree or disagree with them)

The SNP look to Be on course for a majority again. So agree or disagree Scotland population are STILL rejecting all other major parties. That says a lot. 

reform are a bunch of hacks and will fall away like UKIP

Posted

Show me a council that isn’t ruined. You want me to take the time to highlight the state of Scottish councils or do you want to research it yourself ? 

Lets stick to the topic of Reform Ltd.

Reform Ltd. have bankrupted councils inside 18 months. Now let's set aside the fact that the dafties voted for Reform on the promise of council tax cuts and DOGE projects that never arrived or saved a bolt, these were functioning councils and these halfwits burst them inside 18 months. 

Let me guess, if it wasn't for all these small boats those councils would be cash rich?