McGinn Signs New Villa Deal - Nae Luck Hibs!

Posted

Nice work Meatball

Posted

Value has halved since may last year. He’s on a steep downward trajectory. 
Villa have done well out of him. 

Posted

They've been waiting for years for him to move on.

Good on him for his loyalty :lol:

Posted
16 minutes ago, gjcc said:

Aye, that arse is well worn out now

Posted (edited)

Gradually has scored more goals for Villa every season he has been there. His impact isn't diminishing.

20251105_141828.jpg

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted
7 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Aye, that arse is well worn out now

The only real value they might get out of him is if he returns to Easter Road in his twilight years.

Posted
2 minutes ago, gjcc said:

The only real value they might get out of him is if he returns to Easter Road in his twilight years.

He almost joined ourselves in our darkest days, we couldn't stump up the 160k and he went to Hibs, thankful the way its worked out really. Was good Aberdeen got nothing further out of Miovski, perhaps Ramsay too unless they get a successful loan in, Ferguson and Ramadani seems to have calmed down too.

Posted

Hibs can go down for his testimonial.

Posted

Those idiots will buy him back for £1m when he's 34, to try and obtain a sell-on fee.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Or perhaps just send a gift

crystal decanter repair replace broken neck | Bruening Glass ...

Posted

Think you're in the wrong forum 

Posted

He’s made a ridiculously good career for himself and has been a bedrock of Villa and Scotlands rise over the last 5/6 years. 

Credit to him. 

Cheesing they’ll get next to nothing out of him now though, they were waiting on that 40/50m move. 

Born Again Nade
Posted
22 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Think you're in the wrong forum 

Is this not the laugh at the hobos forum? I don’t mind threads like this.

Posted (edited)

It does make me chuckle the thought that we may have got more from our terrible sell on clause of Hickey than Hibs will get for McGinn's sell on.

Edited by jamboinglasgow
Posted

I like him, best Scottish player in a generation.  Couldn't help thinking I hope he didn't do too well so he sold for mega money, that's gone now.  Hope he has a brilliant remainder of career.

Posted

Another upcoming transfer budget they have to adjust…….

Posted
2 minutes ago, Drylaw Hearts said:

Another upcoming transfer budget they have to adjust…….

They’ll be fine they’ve got the £5m for Youan to come in 🤣

Posted

Yet another player Sellik would not open the biscuit tin for thankfully and the guy has been a great player for Villa and Scotland and the wee team will get diddly squat for any sell-on.

Posted

He really has done fantastic, I thought he was pretty good at Hibs but he kicked on so much at both Aston Villa and Scotland to levels beyond I thought he was capable off.   Pretty good all round technically but his secret sauce is probably just his sheer hard work and his strength (mainly in his rear end), he can also fairly strike the ball and has a right good  knack of getting on the end of goalscoring chances from midfield (maybe Beni & Devlin should study him). 

He is Mr consistent and rarely has a bad game, good luck to him, probably just as well for us and him he never went to Celtic.

I wonder what he does with all those EPL wages he has earned, he seems like the most normal down to earth Scottish guy ever and the opposite of a Jack Grealish like character, not hat there is anything wrong with Grealish he is just the first flash looking player that came to mind.  

Posted

Signing a new contract doesn't mean they won't sell him, just means they'll get a higher fee if they do decide to move him on.

Posted

Will be 10 years if fulfills the contract. Might be unique.

Posted

Might still sell him. Selling him for 20 million and only getting 16 million as 20 percent sell on to hibs: might put them off. Villa will prob keep him now. 

Posted
2 hours ago, gjcc said:

Not just as a player but also as a team leader, motivator and icon.

The sort of player every club dreams of attracting or developing, and therefore one that it is less likely that Villa will get rid off. Lubbly jubbly.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Cisc0 K1d said:

He really has done fantastic, I thought he was pretty good at Hibs but he kicked on so much at both Aston Villa and Scotland to levels beyond I thought he was capable off.   Pretty good all round technically but his secret sauce is probably just his sheer hard work and his strength (mainly in his rear end), he can also fairly strike the ball and has a right good  knack of getting on the end of goalscoring chances from midfield (maybe Beni & Devlin should study him). 

He is Mr consistent and rarely has a bad game, good luck to him, probably just as well for us and him he never went to Celtic.

I wonder what he does with all those EPL wages he has earned, he seems like the most normal down to earth Scottish guy ever and the opposite of a Jack Grealish like character, not hat there is anything wrong with Grealish he is just the first flash looking player that came to mind.  

John will have made quite a few million now I’d say. A sustained career at a club like Villa is not to be sniffed at.

Posted

Doesn't the signing of a new contract mean the sell on clause disappears, with it being part of his previous contract as part of the sale?

:clyay:

Posted
2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Controlled depreciation.

Controlled appreciation in Hearts circles.

Posted
3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Do you mean travel, relegation or fellatio?

Posted

The fattest arse in world football. 

Posted
3 hours ago, The Gorgie said:

Signing a new contract doesn't mean they won't sell him, just means they'll get a higher fee if they do decide to move him on.

Realistically though I can't see anyone coming and actually forking out on him. He's done a good job there, and for Scotland, but is far from being an elite level player really. And at 31, could argue he's not going to improve. Slight chance some Saudi mob come in and pay what Villa want but I doubt that.

Posted

The pot of gold at the end of the rainbow just gets further and further away.

They might eventually get him on a free. He liked to stick his arse out and fall over so he'll be a perfect addition to their troop of tumbling superstars.

Posted
3 hours ago, Jack Torrance said:

Do you mean travel, relegation or fellatio?

Brilliant. This makes my JKB subscription worth every penny. Well done!

Posted
27 minutes ago, Percival King said:

Brilliant. This makes my JKB subscription worth every penny. Well done!

Posted

Great. I had seen earlier he was wanting to stay a AV, thus scuppering any payday for the shite. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Cisc0 K1d said:

Grealish is a good lad imho. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Cisc0 K1d said:

Capable of.  🙂. 👍

He is actually quite a good player, to be fair to your post.

Posted

McGinn has been a great signing for Villa. I'm surprised they never got a decent bid for him.  Presumably he'll get a testimonial - not many players last 10 years at the same club.

Posted

I thought the slavering inbred ***** wanted to go to Celtic 😆

Tynecastle Valhalla
Posted

Good player.

Nice to see a Scot doing so well in the Prem.

Posted
13 hours ago, Jamdub said:

Yet another player Sellik would not open the biscuit tin for thankfully and the guy has been a great player for Villa and Scotland and the wee team will get diddly squat for any sell-on.

He'd have been another scott brown if he went there and totally showed brown up; not as a 5h1tebag, although he was that, but as someone that was 5h1te in comparison, therefore stayed in the celtic pond; good decision for broonie

11 hours ago, chubby1973 said:

Doesn't the signing of a new contract mean the sell on clause disappears, with it being part of his previous contract as part of the sale?

I think he's already signed a new contract since the move, but h1bby5 seem to believe that it's still in effect

i reckon there's a good chance it expired and h1b5 would cross the bridge when they came to it if he's sold on :smuggy:

Regardless, I think villa will keep him until he hangs up the boots as a symbol of their recovery from the doldrums :pimp2:

Posted

Cracking player and seems a good lad.

Good on him.

Always the Hearts
Posted (edited)
13 hours ago, Cisc0 K1d said:

Jack Grealish gives plenty to various charities and also does loads of work as an ambassador for cerebral palsy, the condition his sister lives with. He's also Principal Ambassador for Special Olympics GB.

*I know what you mean by being flash, though.

Edited by Always the Hearts
Posted
22 hours ago, chubby1973 said:

Nah, it won't be part of their contract with him, there would have been a contract put in place with Hibs when they bought him. Otherwise every team could sign a player with an agreed sell-on fee to the selling club, then give the player a new contract on the same terms with the sell-on written out the very next day.

Posted

Unlike Hibs, John McGinn is playing in Europe tonight. 

Posted (edited)

More than once

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted
1 hour ago, Mikey1874 said:

Unlike Hibs, John McGinn is playing in Europe tonight. 

1 hour ago, Mikey1874 said:

More than once

I don’t think even Super John McGinn can do that!

Posted

Maybe the sell-on fee was the friends the Hibees made along the way?