Posted
1 hour ago, PortyJambo said:

Yep, I also had mash at a London Michelin restaurant a few years ago, was one of Jason Atherton's, and honestly I could have just sat with a big bowl of it and a spoon and not wanted anything else, it was that good. Apparently in these places it's something like 50/50 butter to potato. Since then I've upped how much butter I use in mine...although never quite got anywhere near 50%!

1 hour ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

There's your answer, V-V.

Garlic butter, herb butter, chilli butter, etc, but the answer's the same. 

Butter... a shitload of butter.

I have done it still don't get near them.Although I can make them very good.

Posted
21 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

I find that adding milk to mash reduces the gravy absorption ratio too much, which is fine for mash on it's own, but nae good with a Sunday roast dinner or proper steak peh. 

Aye different 

I just make do with Lidl Maris Piper or M&S ready made most of the time to be honest.Roast tatties got to be made yourself though 

Bill Sikes
Posted

What a nonsense thread.

Potatoes pretty much taste of nothing, hence the need to add proper food like Onion, Garlic, Cheese, any type of Oil, Mayonnaise, Mustard . . . In fact everything you have in the cupboards and fridge to make them edible. 

😀

Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, Bill Sikes said:

What a nonsense thread.

Potatoes pretty much taste of nothing, hence the need to add proper food like Onion, Garlic, Cheese, any type of Oil, Mayonnaise, Mustard . . . In fact everything you have in the cupboards and fridge to make them edible. 

😀

Agree with that also.Dinner when my dad made it and it would be a load of boiled tatties ( not mashed or anything ) on the side with **** all done to them apart from that 🤮

Edited by vegas-voss
Posted
34 minutes ago, Bill Sikes said:

What a nonsense thread.

😀

Not if you grow them yourself and harvest them when they're just wee. Delicious, just don't go mental with the boiling.

Bill Sikes
Posted
34 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Not if you grow them yourself and harvest them when they're just wee. Delicious, just don't go mental with the boiling.

Yes, those ones have a distinct taste, i will grant you that. 

I put it down to good manure.

🤮🤮🤮

Posted
1 hour ago, Bill Sikes said:

What a nonsense thread.

😀

1 hour ago, vegas-voss said:

Agree with that also.Dinner when my dad made it and it would be a load of boiled tatties ( not mashed or anything ) on the side with **** all done to them apart from that 🤮

53 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Or get a hold of some Ayrshires or Jersey Royals when in season

Posted
17 hours ago, Tazio said:

Add things to it. Some nice grated cheese is always a winner, or lob some broccoli in 5 minutes before the tatties are ready and then mash together so you’ve got some tasty and healthy mash. 

The broccoli sounds nice. I usually go a bit mad with salt and pepper but even that doesn't always cut it.

17 hours ago, PortyJambo said:

Butter...a shitload of butter :lol:

My missus puts loads in. Irish butter too. She makes the best mash anyone's made me. But yet I'd still rather tatties done any other way. :lol:

6 hours ago, vegas-voss said:

Had mash at a Michelin restaurant in London just over 12 years ago now for my 40th.Restaurant was Joel Robuchon , speciality was mash got them to try I thought it's only mash and was expecting them to be good but **** me it was like heaven never ate any other tattie since then that's came close.

Would be impressed if someone could make me feel that way about mash. :lol:

Posted
41 minutes ago, Locky said:

The broccoli sounds nice. I usually go a bit mad with salt and pepper but even that doesn't always cut it.

My missus puts loads in. Irish butter too. She makes the best mash anyone's made me. But yet I'd still rather tatties done any other way. :lol:

Would be impressed if someone could make me feel that way about mash. :lol:

Honestly I was very dubious thinking myself it's only mash.I could have ate bowls of the stuff

iantjambo
Posted
On 02/11/2025 at 21:52, Morgan said:

They are ok most ways.

Except chips.  

Chips are vile.

I love you, Morgs…But…

:getout: 

Posted
23 hours ago, Locky said:

Love tatties. Especially chips. However recently, I've started coming to the conclusion that mash is pretty shite. Just the blandest way to serve potatoes IMO.

Feel free to pass on any ways to enhance the mash experience btw.

Mustard 

Posted
On 02/11/2025 at 19:46, Tazio said:

That would be me then 😁. I made it using the technique from a YouTube video from Fallow in London. The real difference is that you use a beef stock instead of the usual vegetable or chicken. And it was damned tasty. 
I love spuds and the various ways you can do them. Something really satisfying if you get roasties just perfect or a really creamy cheesy mash with a salty gammon steak 

Funnily enough I started following that channel last week.

This thread and them inspired me to make these tonight; for a first try, pretty, pretty good.

Jambo_jim2001
Posted

I remember when tatties had different flavours depending on where they were planted,used to love Ayrshire tatties. Now they all taste similar.

Posted
4 hours ago, iantjambo said:

I love you, Morgs…But…

:getout: 

I couldn’t bear to fall out over stupid chips, Ian.

What I’m trying to say, in a round about way, is that I love you too.

:wub:

Posted
14 minutes ago, Jambo_jim2001 said:

I remember when tatties had different flavours depending on where they were planted,used to love Ayrshire tatties. Now they all taste similar.

Back in the day looking forward to new tatties being in season, lovely with lots of unsalted butter on them. Especially ayrshire and jersey royals. 

Jambo_jim2001
Posted
1 minute ago, Tazio said:

Back in the day looking forward to new tatties being in season, lovely with lots of unsalted butter on them. Especially ayrshire and jersey royals. 

🤤🤤🤤🤤

Posted
1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Still get Ayrshires here in errr......Ayrshire, for about 2 or 3 weeks per year :thumbsupOK:

iantjambo
Posted
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

I couldn’t bear to fall out over stupid chips, Ian.

What I’m trying to say, in a round about way, is that I love you too.

:wub:

I’m not sure our relationship can survive this revelation, chief :sob:

AlimOzturk
Posted

I often bake a dozen at a time let them cool- freeze and bang instant baked tatties when taken out and cooked for 10 mins. 

Posted
9 hours ago, iantjambo said:

I’m not sure our relationship can survive this revelation, chief :sob:

Gutted doesn't cover it.

:sadrobbo:

PortyJambo
Posted

I started making my own tattie scones recently, especially when I've boiled too many tatties. They're simple to make and freeze well, and are far superior to the generic versions you get in the supermarket, which is the main reason I decided to try and make them myself.

Can't beat a full breakfast with tattie scones, a good Lorne sausage (that's the next thing I'm planning on making my own of) and haggis and the rest.

Posted
6 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

I often bake a dozen at a time let them cool- freeze and bang instant baked tatties when taken out and cooked for 10 mins. 

Smother in olive oil and salt crystals before you bake them……your tattie experience will go up a notch or two.

PortyJambo
Posted
35 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Smother in olive oil and salt crystals before you bake them……your tattie experience will go up a notch or two.

That's the way I do my baked tatties. The crispy skin you get is tremendous!