Multiple stabbings on board train

Posted

If you can take any lessons from last nights horror it's take a glass bottle on the train with you not plastic shit.

The only defence the people in the next carriage had was a whisky bottle apparently.

• Replies 250

• JudyJudyJudy

• Dick Dastardly

• il Duce McTarkin

• Maroon Sailor

Posted
3 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

Yeah that letter is not actually addressing any of the issues that need addressed. We need to stop people carrying knives and there is loads of evidence out there of previous policies that have been affective in doing this, talking about massacre and radicalisation when they are not relevant is completely unhelpful

Agreed, but it's near impossible to stop people doing this sort of thing imo.

Reducing knife crime in heat of the moment gang-violence by trying to ensure they don't have a knife on them is one thing, but if people want to get a knife and go on (presumably) a premeditated rampage down a train they'll be able to get one. They're not concerned about the deterrent as they're committing a much more severe crime with the knife which will carry a much more severe punishment.

I get people feel like we must do something, they just don't seem to suggest much beyond unintentionally (or intentionally) suggesting attacking those who aren't white British.

Posted
12 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Been chibbed recently?

No, but the chances are rising with every dingy.

the posh bit
Posted
14 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

We're not safe in our own country from mass stabbing be it walking your dog or taking a train and that's just in the space a week. 

Both absolutely tragic events.

You should have seen the 70s and 80s though, mate. I can't make up my mind if you'd have hated it or loved it.

Dick Dastardly
Posted
21 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

I can't even satirise being a racist, Nazi, fruitloop anymore. :(

That was satire? 😉

Posted
22 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

He comes across like that. Very pompous but at least he's having a discussion about it.

Cross party support would be a start to addressing these type of incidents. All politicians should be on the same page with this and finding a resolution.

I'd agree that there needs to be a grown up conversation about it all but it's very tough when the starting point of some is extreme. 

You can bet your last pound ****s like Rupert Lowe are spewing it wasn't asylum seekers

Posted
2 minutes ago, the posh bit said:

Both absolutely tragic events.

You should have seen the 70s and 80s though, mate. I can't make up my mind if you'd have hated it or loved it.

I was in the pubs in the late 80s. Usually it was neds having it out, not innocent civilians being attacked randomly, and it was a weege gang thing mostly.

Posted
8 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

The irony of posting that on this thread 🤦🏻‍♂️

Dick Dastardly
Posted
20 minutes ago, XB52 said:

It's a 'funny' version of alluhu akhbar

Cheers

Dick Dastardly
Posted
27 minutes ago, Mr Moncler said:

It’s white self loathing. It’s everywhere on this site. 

It's ok, it's balanced out by the covert racism.

Posted
13 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'd agree that there needs to be a grown up conversation about it all but it's very tough when the starting point of some is extreme. 

You can bet your last pound ****s like Rupert Lowe are spewing it wasn't asylum seekers

Yeah not a good starting point but a conversation has to be had.

Posted
48 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Have the police established the motive and therefore the ideology behind this attack?

I must have missed it.

You miss quite a lot. 
I was replying to a point Taffin made and wasn’t specifically about this attack. 

Posted
51 minutes ago, XB52 said:

I'm scared to leave the house these days. Last week someone stole a garden gnome from a garden less than a mile from my house, couldn't sleep for days

:(

Thoughts and prayers, buddy. Stay safe.

Posted
43 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

That was satire? 😉

Nein.

Posted
31 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

It's ok, it's balanced out by the covert racism.

We need more racism imo

Dick Dastardly
Posted
5 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

We need more racism imo

Less covert and more overt, imo. Folk should stand for what they believe in 

Mikey1874
Posted
2 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

That was my understanding as well. Despite how horrendous this case is and how much social media amplifies everything, we're living in the safest time we've ever lived in. I was curious therefore where Judy was coming from.

Lots of people saying the whole of Britain is unsafe.

Based on how safe where I live is, then I can equally say Britain is a very very safe place.

Jamhammer
Posted
2 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Ok fair enough . Least your being respectful Every day there’s seems to be reports of murders , rapes and assaults . It’s headline news  every day . That’s all I meant . It didn’t mean that things have got worse ( I know they haven’t ) but it’s reported every day. 

I think nowadays there are so many different ways we get our news both informative and biased 

No doubt the reform supporters will spin it as a race issue and the farce continues.

I’m in my 60’s 

I don’t feel any less safe than I’ve ever done 

Posted

I'm 62. Born and bred in one of Edinburgh's alleged tougher schemes, West Pilton, and lived in Royston and Gracemount in my time. Do I feel less safe now than I did in the 60s, 70s, and 80s? No. I genuinely don't.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Jawohl.

The Hogfather
Posted
1 hour ago, Mr Moncler said:

It’s white self loathing. It’s everywhere on this site. 

Every post of yours I see is you complaining about people with a different political outlook from you. If it's that bad, why are you still here?

Posted
34 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Exactly. We have quite a few posts on here that look racist but the posters refuse to admit it. One of my best pals admits to being racist to a certain group but some on here don't have the balls to say the same

Posted
Just now, The Hogfather said:

Every post of yours I see is you complaining about people with a different political outlook from you. If it's that bad, why are you still here?

If you mean Scotland/UK I've no idea. If you mean on kickback I'm pretty sure he has been here before

Posted
22 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

I think nowadays there are so many different ways we get our news both informative and biased 

No doubt the reform supporters will spin it as a race issue and the farce continues.

I’m in my 60’s 

I don’t feel any less safe than I’ve ever done 

Neither do I . But this crime was particularly concerning as people were trapped on the train . It might encourage other nutters . Just have to be vigilant and be aware  .

The Hogfather
Posted
6 minutes ago, XB52 said:

If you mean Scotland/UK I've no idea. If you mean on kickback I'm pretty sure he has been here before

It's Kickback I'm referring to.

And I've no doubt you're right but I just don't see why you'd continue to post if you genuinely dislike it so much.

Mr Moncler
Posted
22 minutes ago, The Hogfather said:

Apologies.
Is it ok with you if I stick around? 

The Hogfather
Posted
8 minutes ago, Mr Moncler said:

Apologies.
Is it ok with you if I stick around? 

Do whatever you want, just seems a bit weird to hang about on a forum you clearly detest.

Posted
2 hours ago, JackLadd said:

It’s certainly dingy.😂

Dennis Reynolds
Posted

One of the fellys arrested has since been released. 

Australis
Posted
5 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

If you can take any lessons from last nights horror it's take a glass bottle on the train with you not plastic shit.

The only defence the people in the next carriage had was a whisky bottle apparently.

Hammer in your ruck sack.

Glad I no longer have to board public transport unless I want to.

Lie Forrit 2 hrs 34 mins
Posted
31 minutes ago, Australis said:

Hammer in your ruck sack.

Glad I no longer have to board public transport unless I want to.

WD-40

Spellczech
Posted (edited)

Govt cannot hide their delight that it wasn't an illegal that did it... My money is on it being a dopey fare-dodger who had a knife.

Edited by Spellczech
  • Moderators
Posted

Members posting on the thread are reminded that racist and sectarian speculation about this incident is against the rules, and any further instances on this thread may result in warnings. Also, posters are asked to please stop personally abusing other members.

Posted
1 hour ago, JackLadd said:

has something on there thats tied at the back. Could just be reversed baseball cap I'll give you.

What sort of idiot wears a baseball cap backwards?

Primark shoplifters?

Posted
10 minutes ago, Morgan said:

What sort of idiot wears a baseball cap backwards?

Primark shoplifters?

Ant and Dec reprise their iconic Byker Grove characters PJ and Duncan in  90s streetwear | Daily Mail Online

Posted

There’s a photo online and it is almost certainly a hood either from his jacket or a hoodie underneath it. 

Posted (edited)
26 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

I would say as this point it would be speculation to rule out anything on the motivation. It was certainly an act designed to terrorise the people in Huntingdon, religious aspect or not. If it was mental health then we have another complete failure of the system.

It wasn't an act against the people of Huntingdon. The train had left Peterborough with the incident happening shortly thereafter. After the incident occurred on the train, the driver took the decision (probably following established procedures) to stop at Huntingdon as the closest station where the emergency services could get easy access to the train to deal with whatever was facing them, including dealing with the perpetrator(s) and the evacuation of the injured as well as the rest of the passengers. The train's next scheduled stop was Stevenage.

Edited by Footballfirst
Posted
7 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Anyway, it seems that there was only one attacker.

And also some very quick thinking by the driver when the alarm was raised.

Man, 32, only suspect after Huntingdon train stabbings

This bit of the story is odd:

”A 35-year-old man, who was also arrested at the scene, has been released with no further action after it was reported "in good faith" that he had been involved in the attack. Officers later confirmed this was not the case.”

Posted
34 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I remember that night well.  Another departed poster ‘left’ that night too.  I don’t think either of them chose to leave of their own free will, though.

Both accounts still active though.  Both good lads in their own way.

How odd.  

Dennis Denuto
Posted

Man named as Anthony Williams charged with 10 counts of attempted murder.  5 still in hospital with the most serious one being described as stable cut critical.

This could have been so much worse, hopefully everyone involved pulls through ok.

Posted
52 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Aye, ok.  Fair enough.

He had his moments.

Posted
9 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

It wasn't an act against the people of Huntingdon. The train had left Peterborough with the incident happening shortly thereafter. After the incident occurred on the train, the driver took the decision (probably following established procedures) to stop at Huntingdon as the closest station where the emergency services could get easy access to the train to deal with whatever was facing them, including dealing with the perpetrator(s) and the evacuation of the injured as well as the rest of the passengers. The train's next scheduled stop was Stevenage.

I've not seen but is there anywhere that gives specifics on the drivers actions? 

Posted
18 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

Man named as Anthony Williams charged with 10 counts of attempted murder.  5 still in hospital with the most serious one being described as stable cut critical.

This could have been so much worse, hopefully everyone involved pulls through ok.

I expect so see at least 1 viral tweet referring to the name in quotation marks today.

Dennis Denuto
Posted
3 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

I expect so see at least 1 viral tweet referring to the name in quotation marks today.

Well he is up on charge later this morning so should get his full name then.  Has has also been charged with ABH relating assault of a police officer in the custody suite, seems like he was an angry man.

Heard on radio the guy who was arrested but released was actually tazered by the police before his arrest but then released without charge!!

Posted
1 minute ago, Dennis Denuto said:

tazered by the police before his arrest but then released without charge!!

C7CrjA.gif

Posted

Caught an additional charge for assaulting someone else on a train in the wee hours of the same day. 

Posted

Anthony Williams 22. Assaulted a police officer at the station and had another incident earlier