Multiple stabbings on board train

Posted
1 minute ago, indianajones said:

Ten people stabbed.

Not a terrorist incident? Eh?

What is the official definition of a terrorist incident and is there one? Not being a dick, I honestly don't know. Like this incident caused terror, both on that train and for folk that will travel on trains, so then it seems like it would fit the word but does it need to have an ideology behind it for officials to recognise it as such?

• Replies 250

• JudyJudyJudy

• Dick Dastardly

• il Duce McTarkin

• Maroon Sailor

Posted
8 hours ago, Mac_fae_Gillie said:

My biggest worry is things like this just feed the Reform voting numbers, with this attack and no doubt a few more across Europe in run up to Christmas Reform must be loving every attack.

That is your biggest worry? 

Posted
1 minute ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Are you saying the rate of murder, rape and serious assault is worse now?

You should have stated you were quoting someone or at least quoted a source. I actually find it disturbing you're copying a pasting someone else's words and passing them off as your own until someone questions you on it. This is how all the misinformation and bullshit that boomers fall for on Facebook happens. Honestly, have whatever opinion you want, but at least state your own or be clear when you're not.

Can’t you read ? Or even Interpret what I wrote ? Or just  decide to distort it ? 

Dick Dastardly
Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Ten people stabbed.

Not a terrorist incident? Eh?

A terrorist incident has to be for the purpose of advancing a political, religious, racial or ideological cause. This doesn't seem to have the case here.

It would be terrifying to have been there, obviously, but that isn't the same thing.

Edited by Dick Dastardly
Posted
2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Can’t you read ? Or even Interpret what I wrote ? Or just  decide to distort it ? 

What a rude response. This country has gone to the dogs. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

It’s not a rude response as you were clearly twisting or making an inference to what I wrote . 

Dennis Denuto
Posted

He couldn’t answer your question though because that would show the rate for

murder and serious crimes

in general is significantly lower than it was in the 90s for example. 

if the country has gone to the dogs then it has become a nice friendly Labrador. 

Posted
Just now, JudyJudyJudy said:

It’s not a rude response as you were clearly twisting or making an inference to what I wrote . 

Was just trying to understand what you were saying. 

Posted

Hey that’s great news . Rates of murders have plummeted !  Yaaaa now trying tellin that to the victims families ! I’m sure it’ll be very comforting . 

Posted

Was just trying to understand what you were saying. 

Ok fair enough . Least your being respectful Every day there’s seems to be reports of murders , rapes and assaults . It’s headline news  every day . That’s all I meant . It didn’t mean that things have got worse ( I know they haven’t ) but it’s reported every day. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

He couldn’t answer your question though because that would show the rate for

murder and serious crimes

in general is significantly lower than it was in the 90s for example. 

if the country has gone to the dogs then it has become a nice friendly Labrador. 

That was my understanding as well. Despite how horrendous this case is and how much social media amplifies everything, we're living in the safest time we've ever lived in. I was curious therefore where Judy was coming from.

Dick Dastardly
Posted
1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Hey that’s great news . Rates of murders have plummeted !  Yaaaa now trying tellin that to the victims families ! I’m sure it’ll be very comforting . 

It's a good thing there aren't as many families to tell it to, though. 

Posted
Just now, JudyJudyJudy said:

Ok fair enough . Least your being respectful Every day there’s seems to be reports of murders , rapes and assaults . It’s headline news  every day . That’s all I meant . It didn’t mean that things have got worse ( I know they haven’t ) but it’s reported every day. 

I think that's the 24 hour news cycle and social media amplification. I honestly believe these two things are doing horrendous things to people's psyche.

Posted
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

The stabbings didn't take place in Huntingdon.

The stabbings, unfortunately took place on a train that was travelling between Doncaster and London Kings Cross.

The attacks happened just after the train departed from Peterborough. The safest place the driver could stop the train was Huntingdon station in order that police both from the BTP and Cambridgeshire could board the train to deal with the perpetrators and ambulances could get to the injured(Ten persons, of which Nine have life threatening injuries) to take them to hospital. 

I think the title needs changing to stabbings on a train or something along those lines (no pun intended)

Posted
1 minute ago, Dick Dastardly said:

It's a good thing there aren't as many families to tell it to, though. 

If you happen to have had a loved one murdered it’s a horrendous experience 

Posted

2 British nationals - one black one Caribbean descent - sounds more like bams / county lines - not terrorism 

Posted
2 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

I think that's the 24 hour news cycle and social media amplification. I honestly believe these two things are doing horrendous things to people's psyche.

I’d agree so I hardly watch tv news and despite what other may say I get my other news from a wide variety of internet sources . 

Posted
1 minute ago, manaliveits105 said:

2 British nationals - one black one Caribbean descent - sounds more like bams / county lines - not terrorism 

But two together makes it quite unusual ? 

Posted
4 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

I have absolutely no doubt that this is the case. Sometimes due to work I'm shut off from the news and most of social media for a few weeks at a time and the difference to my general mood and motivation is incredible.

2 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Every possibility.

Some folk will be gutted that it wasn't a pair of Muslim asylum seekers, though.

Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I’d agree so I hardly watch tv news and despite what other may say I get my other news from a wide variety of internet sources* . 

*Google search 'logically incoherent and contradictory shite to annoy folk on kickback with'.

:thumbsupOK:

Edited by il Duce McTarkin
Posted
7 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

*Google search 'logically incoherent and contradictory shite to annoy folk on kickback with'.

:thumbsupOK:

Dirk ! I’m feeling “ fragile “ today so be kind 😎

SwindonJambo
Posted
15 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

So do I. Very well put sir. I know 2 very well read people who avoid the news for this very reason.

Dick Dastardly
Posted
14 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

If you happen to have had a loved one murdered it’s a horrendous experience 

I can only imagine. 

Posted

I can only imagine. 

Oh it is . 

Dick Dastardly
Posted
9 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Some folk will be gutted that it wasn't a pair of Muslim asylum seekers, though.

Yup. Like the poster on the "current affairs not worthy of their own thread" thread last night. Couldn't wait to post memes about it being the usual suspects etc...

It's been cleaned up by the mods now though 

Posted

Yup. Like the poster on the "current affairs not worthy of their own thread" thread last night. Couldn't wait to post memes about it being the usual suspects etc...

It's been cleaned up by the mods now though 

The 'Alan's snack bar' guy?

Posted
4 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Dirk ! I’m feeling “ fragile “ today so be kind 😎

Soz, jamesy.  :(

Dick Dastardly
Posted
1 minute ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

I've no idea what that means tbh

Posted
4 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Soz, jamesy.  :(

👍👍👍 it’s self inflicted 

Dennis Denuto
Posted

Things seem to be not as bad as 1st thought with this incident, most of the injured are not as bad a first feared and most have been released from hospital. While it is still very serious and possible still a chance of a fatality. We can be thankful this is not as bad as it first looked like it might be. 

Obviously still awful for those caught up in it all and their families, but it might be a wee lesson for us all to hold our thoughts while things play out. 

Posted
54 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Yeh agreed, but how do you actually action something tangible to do anything about it? Ban following religions in the UK? Ban some of them? 

What about those who don't follow them to the letter? 

I'm not disagreeing with you or @Seaside Dave, I just don't know what can actually be done. Policing an ideology, particularly ones followed peacefully by billions feels impossible. Boiling horrific acts down to race or religion just demonises people imo and furthers divide.

There will many black people horrified, saddened and quite probably directly impacted this morning the same as white people.

I get where you're coming from but without really being able to do anything about it I feel you just need to see the good until evil presents itself in some ways. Both yesterday and London Bridge were very close to home for me and my social circle. I'll still be on a train next week and carrying on as usual.

People in power can do something about it.

You know, the ones that are economically illeterate but are not affected by high energy prices or the cost of living.

Posted
15 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Indeed it was that renowned deep thinker. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

It's supposed to rhyme with Allah Akbar, so when he said that Alan's snack bar was open again last night, he was insinuating that the chibbers on the train were Muslamic ray guns. Took me a while to work it out last night too, tbh.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

People in power can do something about it.

You know, the ones that are economically illeterate but are not affected by high energy prices or the cost of living.

What's that something though?

Posted
1 minute ago, Taffin said:

What's that something though?

Taking politics out of it would be a start

20251102_121621.thumb.jpg.c21c1dae5d3a2c0b029b7d4b18645509.jpg

Posted
Just now, Maroon Sailor said:

And that reduces it how?

I'm not sure what that attachment is but currently this isn't a massacre and it seems a politicised leap to be calling it radicalisation linked too 

Posted
1 hour ago, Ron Burgundy said:

It’s not about nationality or colour of skin. It’s about ideology. If you follow a backward one to the letter then it’s an issue. 

Have the police established the motive and therefore the ideology behind this attack?

I must have missed it.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Politics aside, Rupert Lowe is a ****

Dick Dastardly
Posted
11 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

It's supposed to rhyme with Allah Akbar, so when he said that Alan's snack bar was open again last night, he was insinuating that the chibbers on the train were Muslamic ray guns. Took me a while to work it out last night too, tbh.

I never noticed that one. This person was posting yogi bear memes with something about it being the usual suspects even though there were no mention of who the suspects were. Sad life

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

I never noticed that one. This person was posting yogi bear memes with something about it being the usual suspects even though there were no mention of who the suspects were. Sad life

I can't even satirise being a racist, Nazi, fruitloop anymore. :(

Edited by il Duce McTarkin
Posted
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Politics aside, Rupert Lowe is a ****

He comes across like that. Very pompous but at least he's having a discussion about it.

Cross party support would be a start to addressing these type of incidents. All politicians should be on the same page with this and finding a resolution.

Dennis Denuto
Posted
6 minutes ago, Taffin said:

And that reduces it how?

I'm not sure what that attachment is but currently this isn't a massacre and it seems a politicised leap to be calling it radicalisation linked too 

Yeah that letter is not actually addressing any of the issues that need addressed. We need to stop people carrying knives and there is loads of evidence out there of previous policies that have been affective in doing this, talking about massacre and radicalisation when they are not relevant is completely unhelpful

Posted

We're not safe in our own country from mass stabbing be it walking your dog or taking a train and that's just in the space a week. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

We're not safe in our own country from mass stabbing be it walking your dog or taking a train and that's just in the space a week. 

Been chibbed recently?

Mr Moncler
Posted
3 hours ago, GBJambo said:

What a ****ing ridiculous thing to say 

It’s white self loathing. It’s everywhere on this site. 

Posted
57 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

That was my understanding as well. Despite how horrendous this case is and how much social media amplifies everything, we're living in the safest time we've ever lived in. I was curious therefore where Judy was coming from.

Crime figures back up this post but 24/7 news and social media mean we live in a giant bubble where every crime seems to some to be in their own back yard. 30/40 years ago, most crimes hundreds of miles away would go unnoticed here. I appreciate that this latest one would definitely fit into the major category

Posted
36 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

It's a 'funny' version of alluhu akhbar

Posted
1 minute ago, XB52 said:

Crime figures back up this post but 24/7 news and social media mean we live in a giant bubble where every crime seems to some to be in their own back yard. 30/40 years ago, most crimes hundreds of miles away would go unnoticed here. I appreciate that this latest one would definitely fit into the major category

My less-than-salubrious wee corner of the world isn't any worse than it was 20/30 years ago. There was chibbings then and chibbings now; a couple in the past month or so, even, but it's generally junkies and their ilk plugging each other.

I'm sure sunny Dalgety Bay is a hotbed of knife crime these days though, aye?

Posted
5 minutes ago, Mr Moncler said:

It’s white self loathing. It’s everywhere on this site. 

Instead of white self loathing we need, erm, pride, aye.

Posted
Just now, il Duce McTarkin said:

My less-than-salubrious wee corner of the world isn't any worse than it was 20/30 years ago. There was chibbings then and chibbings now; a couple in the past month or so, even, but it's generally junkies and their ilk plugging each other.

I'm sure sunny Dalgety Bay is a hotbed of knife crime these days though, aye?

I'm scared to leave the house these days. Last week someone stole a garden gnome from a garden less than a mile from my house, couldn't sleep for days