Threedoorsdown Posted October 8 Posted October 8 https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c5y8njv2ylvo The TV deal falls under the ‘value pillar’ of the club compensation - essentially the bigger teams get a bigger slice of the biggest money. Scottish clubs could still be looking at potential uplifts in the Europa League of around 30% of current prize money -this would take the earnings of average performing group stage clubs to circa £14m and for conference league to around £8m. This is part of why we will be investing front heavy. The pay offs for opening a gulf to the other teams outwith the Old Firm is potentially worth tens of millions and why TB is looking at the coefficient so closely already.
OTT Posted October 8 Posted October 8 (edited) Thats absolutely massive. If that can become the norm for us, we're laughing. A couple of seasons of that, and Hibs/Aberdeen etc. won't be able to catch up IMO. Not without an unsustainable level of investment. Edited October 8 by OTT
Threedoorsdown Posted October 8 Author Posted October 8 46 minutes ago, OTT said: Thats absolutely massive. If that can become the norm for us, we're laughing. A couple of seasons of that, and Hibs/Aberdeen etc. won't be able to catch up IMO. Not without an unsustainable level of investment. For some context Hibs turnover for accounts posted last June totalled £15.9m.
Jack Torrance Posted October 8 Posted October 8 Good to see the league format isn't changing. I like the new set up.
Victorian Posted October 8 Posted October 8 6 minutes ago, Jack Torrance said: Good to see the league format isn't changing. I like the new set up. Yeah the Swiss Format is really good.
Gmcjambo Posted October 8 Posted October 8 2nd is so important this season, sure I read that there no automatic group stage football for cup winners / 3rd place. OF never been so vulnerable so can’t assume one of them will win to Scottish Cup if we don’t. Could be a massive season for us this.
Victorian Posted October 8 Posted October 8 Just now, Gmcjambo said: 2nd is so important this season, sure I read that there no automatic group stage football for cup winners / 3rd place. OF never been so vulnerable so can’t assume one of them will win to Scottish Cup if we don’t. Could be a massive season for us this. 2nd would guarantee 3 bites at the cherry to win a single 2 legged tie to gain pool stages in the Europa or Conference. A very good chance overall.
Ricardo Quaresma Posted October 12 Posted October 12 (edited) - Edited October 12 by Ricardo Quaresma wrong thread
AC Mallin_51 Posted October 13 Posted October 13 On 08/10/2025 at 20:03, Victorian said: 2nd would guarantee 3 bites at the cherry to win a single 2 legged tie to gain pool stages in the Europa or Conference. A very good chance overall. Does 2nd still gain entry to the CL qualifiers for next season?
Ribble Posted October 13 Posted October 13 55 minutes ago, AC Mallin_51 said: Does 2nd still gain entry to the CL qualifiers for next season? As things stand yes, 2nd place would go into the CL 2nd qualifying round meaning a need to win 3 two-legged ties to get to the group stage, league winners go into the playoff stage so just the 1 two-legged tie So say we finish second this season then we'd see the following possibilities CL 2nd qual round - Lose and move to Europa 3rd Qual CL 3rd qual round - Lose and move to Europa League Phase CL Playoff - Lose and move to Europa League Phase Europa 3rd Qual - Lose and move to Conference Playoff
Forrest Posted October 13 Posted October 13 6 minutes ago, Ribble said: As things stand yes, 2nd place would go into the CL 2nd qualifying round meaning a need to win 3 two-legged ties to get to the group stage, league winners go into the playoff stage so just the 1 two-legged tie So say we finish second this season then we'd see the following possibilities CL 2nd qual round - Lose and move to Europa 3rd Qual CL 3rd qual round - Lose and move to Europa League Phase CL Playoff - Lose and move to Europa League Phase Europa 3rd Qual - Lose and move to Conference Playoff I know that we can't take anything for granted, but I can see us being in the Europa League phase next year.
Ribble Posted October 13 Posted October 13 Just now, Forrest said: I know that we can't take anything for granted, but I can see us being in the Europa League phase next year. Gut feeling would be that we'd need to win the first CL qualifier for that to happen, if we start Europa in the 3rd qual round then don't see us getting Europa league stage, will be Conference and then it's still very much dependant on the draw
TheBigO Posted October 13 Posted October 13 11 minutes ago, Ribble said: As things stand yes, 2nd place would go into the CL 2nd qualifying round meaning a need to win 3 two-legged ties to get to the group stage, league winners go into the playoff stage so just the 1 two-legged tie So say we finish second this season then we'd see the following possibilities CL 2nd qual round - Lose and move to Europa 3rd Qual CL 3rd qual round - Lose and move to Europa League Phase CL Playoff - Lose and move to Europa League Phase Europa 3rd Qual - Lose and move to Conference Playoff Sorry to be a pain - whats the goss for finishing 3rd this year? The info is harder to come by than I'd have thought
TheBigO Posted October 13 Posted October 13 2 minutes ago, Ribble said: Gut feeling would be that we'd need to win the first CL qualifier for that to happen, if we start Europa in the 3rd qual round then don't see us getting Europa league stage, will be Conference and then it's still very much dependant on the draw Yeah agreed there - a nice wee draw in the CL 3rd Qual would mean we're very happy. Win that first tie and the worst we can do from there is amazing! Be interesting to see who Rangers could have got this year to see what type of teams we'll be likely to play. "Likely" haha. Cos we've already come 2nd! (so I've both given up on winning the league AND decided we're uncatchable by everyone else!!! Obvs!)
Ribble Posted October 13 Posted October 13 11 minutes ago, TheBigO said: Sorry to be a pain - whats the goss for finishing 3rd this year? The info is harder to come by than I'd have thought 3rd place would get us Conference league 2nd Qual round, unless of course we won the scottish cup (or it was won by 1st or 2nd in the league) in which case we'd get Europa 3rd qualifying (and in turn conference playoff should we lose or conference groups if we won the 3rd qual round in the Europa but lost at the playoff stage)
TheBigO Posted October 13 Posted October 13 1 minute ago, Ribble said: 3rd place would get us Conference league 2nd Qual round, unless of course we won the scottish cup (or it was won by 1st or 2nd in the league) in which case we'd get Europa 3rd qualifying (and in turn conference playoff should we lose or conference groups if we won the 3rd qual round in the Europa but lost at the playoff stage) Ok, so 3rd (cup win aside) gets you 2 ties - win both into Europa League; Win 1, into Conf League; Lose both, oot
Ribble Posted October 13 Posted October 13 9 minutes ago, TheBigO said: Ok, so 3rd (cup win aside) gets you 2 ties - win both into Europa League; Win 1, into Conf League; Lose both, oot No, if we are taking the cup out of the discussion then finishing 3rd we'd be facing 3 ties to get to the Conference League group stage, the cup winner place gets what you said
AlimOzturk Posted October 13 Posted October 13 We are winning the league and then winning the champions league next year. Get it right folks.
TheBigO Posted October 13 Posted October 13 22 minutes ago, Ribble said: No, if we are taking the cup out of the discussion then finishing 3rd we'd be facing 3 ties to get to the Conference League group stage, the cup winner place gets what you said Yes, got that, I mean taking the cup out in terms of we/1st or 2nd win it type thing.
Juho_Makela_Goal_Machine Posted October 13 Posted October 13 Finishing 2nd this season is just going to turbocharge the Bloom revolution, with all the additional revenue that that would bring. One thing to note is that we would still need to win 1 tie out of 3 in the qualifiers to make it into any group stages. Those games in the Summer next year will be the most lucrative games in the club's history by a distance. That's obviously not what its all about at the end of the day, and the goal should be progressing to the knockout stages of a European tournament. But you would imagine our budget could be 60-80% higher based on the outcomes of those games, it would certainly make achieving that a lot easier!
Ricardo Quaresma Posted October 13 Posted October 13 1 hour ago, Ribble said: Gut feeling would be that we'd need to win the first CL qualifier for that to happen, if we start Europa in the 3rd qual round then don't see us getting Europa league stage, will be Conference and then it's still very much dependant on the draw We could be on quite a roll by then; if we get 2nd, we will certainly have had some Players that have seriously evolved in that time There would be possibly 1 or 2 leaving, so we'd have that to contend with, plus the pre-Season would be back to the stupid LC Group exemption, which we'll have to bridge Maybe a wee mini-tournament abroad would sufficiently plug the gap? No doubt LC Group Football helped us and hindered others; it helped the 5heep last year too It should be up to the clubs involved to opt in or not