Heart Of Midlothian winter transfer window 2025/2026 - Wilson loaned to Spurs; transfer window slams shut

Posted
10 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Aye, dunno tbh. He certainly doesn't make our starting 11 at the moment and is nowhere near Cammy, but think he's a good young player and looks coachable. One for the future, and a good, young Scottish player to add to the group. 

Maybe a more realistic comparison would be Macaulay Tait or Aiden Denholm who are around the same age? He'd be a huge upgrade on them I think. 

Tait is an important cog in this wheel. If he carries on playing the way he has been for Livi there’s a real chance he’s a fixture in the squad next season.

• Replies 15.6k

• RustyRightPeg

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

• wcjambo

• El Prez

Niemi’s gloves
Posted
7 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

I don’t mind at all if we end up with a Scottish core, but deliberately signing Scottish players over better options we have access to, who score higher in the system is just a no no.

As McInnes said of Findlay ‘they gave me that one’ Findlay wouldn’t be here if McInnes wasn’t here. I think that’s clear

Going forward if we’re aiming for a Scottish core as some kind of box ticking excercise , it’ll have to be the very cream of the crop, the sort of players Celtic and Rangers have been pinching for years

That reads as if you think Findlay has been a flop.

Posted
1 hour ago, OTT said:

Was thinking Gunn would be a no brainer for Celtic tbf. They've had successive older keepers in Hart and Schmichel and had to deal with pretty obvious decline on both occasions. 

Gunn obv a lot younger, and could give them 5+ years of service and would be the International keeper too. Makes a lot of sense. 

I don't think he's that good a keeper though :lol: So would be fairly content if Celtic pick him up. 

Your last paragraph nails it.

Am loving our position as arbitrators of goalkeeping quality in Scotland though.

Posted
2 hours ago, Pingu said:

I find it strange that Nieuwenhof never (or very rarely) gets mentioned in Del's injury updates. He often talks about who is back, who is close, and who is out longer term and mostly seems to "forget" Hoff. 

I like Hoff as a player and would definitely have him ahead of Spittal, but starting to suspect that won't happen.

Based on those updates from McInnes, I don't think Hoff is injured.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Hungry hippo said:

Based on those updates from McInnes, I don't think Hoff is injured.

I think (perhaps overthinking) Hoff might have some sort of appearance clause in his contract that might trigger a higher wage, or extension/payment to his old club or something along those lines.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Niemi’s gloves said:

That reads as if you think Findlay has been a flop.

Dunno how you could read that into it. To be clear he’s been great but he wouldn’t be here if McInnes wasn’t here IMO

We’ll never know if a JTA centre back was on the back burner and we took Findlay instead. I dont mind the manager having the odd ‘wildcard’ that he picks outwith JTA. God knows he’s got enough knowledge and experience to pick a player.

Posted
17 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Tait is an important cog in this wheel. If he carries on playing the way he has been for Livi there’s a real chance he’s a fixture in the squad next season.

I'm not saying you are wrong at all because of course no one knows. That said, I'd be surprised if Tait is here next year and getting game time. I think JTA will ramp up again and he will have players ahead of him. 

He does look a McInnes type player though. 

Posted

I wonder if Killie would take Spittal and Hof in a part exchange for Watson. The players would want to go and Watson would want to come here but it sounds like he may be another one where playing in Glasgow is the be all and end all. I could see Spittal being keen for first team action but Killie might be worried about Hofs fitness issues to consider any offers we made to them on him. 

Posted
13 minutes ago, indianajones said:

I'm not saying you are wrong at all because of course no one knows. That said, I'd be surprised if Tait is here next year and getting game time. I think JTA will ramp up again and he will have players ahead of him. 

I’d agree 👍 Tait won’t play for Hearts again. He’s not our (future) level. Never has been. Never will be

Wilson is the same. Just not our level

Posted (edited)
35 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Dunno, I'd love to be wrong about him obviously but can't see him having much of a role to play here and think he'll be away. Same boat as Hoff, Spittal, Kartum, Pollock. We're getting stronger and these guys are not going to be at the required level - even for squad players. Ideally the likes of Cammy and Beni will replace them as squad players as the overall quality increases. Tait is well behind them, IMO. Would be very very surprised if he plays for us again.

Edited by Batistuta87
Posted
Just now, JimmyCant said:

I’d agree 👍 Tait won’t play for Hearts again. He’s not our (future) level. Never has been. Never will be

This is it aye. 

Our best young players in ages, but they're just not there. They need game time, and unfortunately we probably can't offer it to them. 

Posted
1 minute ago, JimmyCant said:

McInnes has been very complimentary about Tait so who knows.  Never know whether it’s the truth or just manager speak. 

Niemi’s gloves
Posted
22 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Dunno how you could read that into it. To be clear he’s been great but he wouldn’t be here if McInnes wasn’t here IMO

We’ll never know if a JTA centre back was on the back burner and we took Findlay instead. I dont mind the manager having the odd ‘wildcard’ that he picks outwith JTA. God knows he’s got enough knowledge and experience to pick a player.

indeed, the local knowledge of a very competent and experienced manager should complement any analytics system, however good, to produce the best possible outcome. JKB on its own is not infallible. So far we have had some outstanding successes (Braga, Kyzi), some who look  promising but are not yet proven successes (Ageu, Kerjota, Kabore, Magnusson) and some disappointments (Kartum, maybe Borch) and some in-betweens. 

Posted
19 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Squad wise Tait could be the Devlin-type replacement if he leaves at end of contract. Not sure that’s what McInnes will want though.   Midfield needs to evolve.  Neither Magnusson nor Ageu really fit with how we are currently set up in midfield and I’m sure McEntee was signed to play holding midfield as well. 

Posted
Just now, Batistuta87 said:

This is it aye. 

Our best young players in ages, but they're just not there. They need game time, and unfortunately we probably can't offer it to them. 

I feel sorry for guys like them. Pollock is another one. Perfectly good players at a level below us but they’re not going to get a chance here in the near future. If you look at the positional queues in front of them you can’t really arrive at any other conclusion and that’s before we’ve even started trading for bigger sums

Posted
3 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Squad wise Tait could be the Devlin-type replacement if he leaves at end of contract. Not sure that’s what McInnes will want though.   Midfield needs to evolve.  Neither Magnusson nor Ageu really fit with how we are currently set up in midfield and I’m sure McEntee was signed to play holding midfield as well. 

No danger Devlin will be allowed to leave next summer unless it’s for big money. He’ll be extended before the January window

Posted
54 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

I don’t mind at all if we end up with a Scottish core, but deliberately signing Scottish players over better options we have access to, who score higher in the system is just a no no.

As McInnes said of Findlay ‘they gave me that one’ Findlay wouldn’t be here if McInnes wasn’t here. I think that’s clear

Going forward if we’re aiming for a Scottish core as some kind of box ticking excercise , it’ll have to be the very cream of the crop, the sort of players Celtic and Rangers have been pinching for years

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
51 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

I did hear Del say that in the 1 hour interview with Si Ferry but I'm not convinced it wasn't a bit tongue in cheek when he said it. Later on he also said that had Findlay scored badly on the analytics that he wouldn't have had the signing sanctioned. I think he (Findlay) must have been borderline at worst with the anaysis.

In any case, if Findlay turns out to be the lower end of our signings then it's happy days. He's been excellent so far.

Posted
3 minutes ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

I did hear Del say that in the 1 hour interview with Si Ferry but I'm not convinced it wasn't a bit tongue in cheek when he said it. Later on he also said that had Findlay scored badly on the analytics that he wouldn't have had the signing sanctioned. I think he (Findlay) must have been borderline at worst with the anaysis.

In any case, if Findlay turns out to be the lower end of our signings then it's happy days. He's been excellent so far.

Thats the exciting bit.  If Findlay is now the entry level.

Posted
3 minutes ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

It is an interesting point. Findlay has been excellent but McCart and Steinwender, who were signed in the January, must both rate higher than Findlay on the analytics.

Posted
1 minute ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

I think he probably was ‘borderline’ Maybe he scored low on potential resale value or something because he certainly hasn’t put a foot wrong since he came in

Posted

Our own EDINBURGH EVENING NEWS.

I’d love nothing more than that sham of a media outlet be shut down.

IMG_1107.jpeg

Ford Prentice
Posted
52 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

No danger Devlin will be allowed to leave next summer unless it’s for big money. He’ll be extended before the January window

I'm not so sure. DM would obviously like to keep him and has been talking him up but does Devlin fit the model? Does he have a resale value? Jamestown can maybe find someone younger better and more sellable.

Posted
1 minute ago, Ford Prentice said:

I'm not so sure. DM would obviously like to keep him and has been talking him up but does Devlin fit the model? Does he have a resale value? Jamestown can maybe find someone younger better and more sellable.

Jamestown found Magnussen and McEntee for the Devlin role. McEntee played there once and was superb (alongside Devlin) and Magnussen can’t get a start ahead of Beni/Devlin

Jamestown has 2 purposes. 1 is getting a successful team on the park 2 is turning players into assets. I’m only really dreadfully interested in the first one so until we’ve got a stick on better option than Devlin, he needs to be kept

Posted
1 hour ago, indianajones said:

Based on comments from summer, i think he may get pre season to stake a claim for squad, if his JTA score makes the grade at Livi.

Posted
18 hours ago, RustyRightPeg said:

We’ll sell 5 players in January? 

No certainty, of course, but I think we might. January is a far better time to sell than to buy. Big clubs slipping down their leagues get desperate for a little backfill to their injuries and the pickings are slim. Meanwhile we have a bloated squad but one that, if we retain our position, will be making headlines and attracting attention. Plus, there's a fair few decent ones that are surplus at this point that we could get five figures for from a club a little below ours.

Baningime and Devlin are both in the last years of their contracts, Nieuwenhoff has to be wondering if he'll ever play with Devlin and Beni owning the pitch and Ageu and Magnussen sitting in front of him. Kartum is a decent player in the right system but will never see the light of day in ours, Spittal is a superb player if your level is middle table Scottish Prem, same with Forrest. We have too many forwards and while it would be absolutely gutting it wouldn't shock me for someone to come along and offer us a king's ransom for Kyziridis or Braga.

Obviously no way we sell all of those, but those are all decent candidates for sale.

Ford Prentice
Posted
15 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Jamestown found Magnussen and McEntee for the Devlin role. McEntee played there once and was superb (alongside Devlin) and Magnussen can’t get a start ahead of Beni/Devlin

Jamestown has 2 purposes. 1 is getting a successful team on the park 2 is turning players into assets. I’m only really dreadfully interested in the first one so until we’ve got a stick on better option than Devlin, he needs to be kept

If the Jamestown method works Devlin won't be good enough in one/two years time so should we give him a two/three deal? Partly playing Devil's advocate here as I love Cammy but I think some of the decisions on who stays and who goes may surprise and maybe disappoint us.

Posted
27 minutes ago, Ford Prentice said:

If the Jamestown method works Devlin won't be good enough in one/two years time so should we give him a two/three deal? Partly playing Devil's advocate here as I love Cammy but I think some of the decisions on who stays and who goes may surprise and maybe disappoint us.

Aye were going to be raging when we sell the Braga and Kyzi types, especially if the fans perception of value isn’t met

and aye again, at some point if we keep recycling and improving position by position, Devlin eventually won’t have enough of a skill set to keep someone out who does.

We need to keep him until that stage is reached though

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
40 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

No certainty, of course, but I think we might. January is a far better time to sell than to buy. Big clubs slipping down their leagues get desperate for a little backfill to their injuries and the pickings are slim. Meanwhile we have a bloated squad but one that, if we retain our position, will be making headlines and attracting attention. Plus, there's a fair few decent ones that are surplus at this point that we could get five figures for from a club a little below ours.

Baningime and Devlin are both in the last years of their contracts, Nieuwenhoff has to be wondering if he'll ever play with Devlin and Beni owning the pitch and Ageu and Magnussen sitting in front of him. Kartum is a decent player in the right system but will never see the light of day in ours, Spittal is a superb player if your level is middle table Scottish Prem, same with Forrest. We have too many forwards and while it would be absolutely gutting it wouldn't shock me for someone to come along and offer us a king's ransom for Kyziridis or Braga.

Obviously no way we sell all of those, but those are all decent candidates for sale.

This is the thing with Nieuwenhoff - before his injury he was playing very well and, certainly at that time, offered more going forward than either Cammy or Beni. I have a feeling that Ageu will be replacing Nieuwenhoff, not Cammy or Beni.

Posted
59 minutes ago, Ford Prentice said:

No offence (cos I know I'm about to rant and its not just aimed at you!), but people need to get their heads round this "Jamestown model" notion that it's only purpose is to sell players!  Well, people don't have to, but christ, please!

Selling players is a number of things.  Firstly it's to help continual improvement. The analytics are so advanced and trusted we always think we can do better for less.  So sell when price is high and replace with better or similar for less.  It's also about recruiting players who WANT to go higher and have the ability to do so.  We need to show we have the pathway as it will attract better players having seen others get big moves and make big careers from Hearts.

But they 100% aim is always to have a great team on the pitch.  The end.  All of the above is about maximising our best chances of having the best team on the pitch.  It's nowhere near the case that the point of the recruitment is the selling!!!!  Do you not think Brighton could have sold Mitoma by now, and for big big bucks?  If they put his name out there, like many teams do who want to sell (oh hi Hibs, hi Aberdeen) they'd have got huge bucks for the lad.

Tony Bloom wants to disrupt football, he wants to break the biggest duopoly in world football - do what everyone says is impossible.  Yes the medium and longterm model will see player turnover.  And especially when we have the replacement lined up or already in the building.

But Cammy Devlin will not not be offered a deal due to not having resell value.  That just won't be a reason.  The only reason Cammy wouldn't be offered a deal is if Del doesn't want him in the squad AND JTA say they can get better anyway.  And the same goes for every single player.

Sorry, wee rant, but Hearts have and always will be a selling club.  Just like 99% of football clubs world wide.  Any time we've had a good player since the late 90s anyway, we've sold him or he's left on freedom of contract.  The same will happen now - nothing has changed in this respect. Nothing.  Hibs will do the same, as will Aberdeen, as will Celtic, Arbroath and Lazio.  The only difference now is when we sold or lost players in the past they left a Neil McCann, Alan McLaren, Mickey Cameron, Paul Hartley, Gary Naysmith, Aaron Hickey.... sized hole in our team.  Now that hole will be ably filled (ooooh!!) if not already have the plug trained up and raring to go in the building.  The selling bit hasn't changed, we'll just be better and bolder about how we do it.

Posted
1 hour ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

I thought you were meaning from the immediate “playing squad” not the squad fillers to be fair. 

Cameronstheman
Posted
1 hour ago, Ford Prentice said:

As with most of the team. DM has Devlin doing a specific job and its working fine right now do for me 

Posted
2 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

When I read posts like this, I think of players like Amad Diallo, who looked pretty poor for Rangers at 20 years old, then just over a year later was lighting up Man Utd (albeit a shit Man Utd) in the premier league..

It's no problem having an opinion but stating as fact that these young lads have 0% chance of making it at Hearts is daft. Wilson showed at a very young age that he can cut it and score goals at Scottish premiership level. There's lots of time and scope for significant improvement from there. 

I'm not saying he will, I don't know if he'll ever be a Hearts regular, that is entirely down to him. But there's no way you can outright write it off like that.

Posted

Kartum and the Hof almost certainly will leave in January. Both I don't think are bad players but aren't going to play. Hof had too many injury setbacks. Feel a little sorry for Kartum as again I think he was signed to suit a midfield 3 / inverted winger type formation. Not fast enough for a wide spot in the 442 and can't play as a box to box in a midfield 2.

Loan Wilson out. Needs to play. He is only 18. Time on his side.

Loan Pollock out.

Can't see Spittal or Forrest playing much, especially since Ageu is now back & Chesnakov is incoming.

Posted (edited)
37 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

When I read posts like this, I think of players like Amad Diallo, who looked pretty poor for Rangers at 20 years old, then just over a year later was lighting up Man Utd (albeit a shit Man Utd) in the premier league..

It's no problem having an opinion but stating as fact that these young lads have 0% chance of making it at Hearts is daft. Wilson showed at a very young age that he can cut it and score goals at Scottish premiership level. There's lots of time and scope for significant improvement from there. 

I'm not saying he will, I don't know if he'll ever be a Hearts regular, that is entirely down to him. But there's no way you can outright write it off like that.

Ah but yes I can because I’ve signed up to having an opinion, just like you have 😂 It’s just an opinion mate. I’m big enough to own it if I’m proved wrong

Edited by JimmyCant
Posted
1 hour ago, TheBigO said:

No offence (cos I know I'm about to rant and its not just aimed at you!), but people need to get their heads round this "Jamestown model" notion that it's only purpose is to sell players!  Well, people don't have to, but christ, please!

Selling players is a number of things.  Firstly it's to help continual improvement. The analytics are so advanced and trusted we always think we can do better for less.  So sell when price is high and replace with better or similar for less.  It's also about recruiting players who WANT to go higher and have the ability to do so.  We need to show we have the pathway as it will attract better players having seen others get big moves and make big careers from Hearts.

But they 100% aim is always to have a great team on the pitch.  The end.  All of the above is about maximising our best chances of having the best team on the pitch.  It's nowhere near the case that the point of the recruitment is the selling!!!!  Do you not think Brighton could have sold Mitoma by now, and for big big bucks?  If they put his name out there, like many teams do who want to sell (oh hi Hibs, hi Aberdeen) they'd have got huge bucks for the lad.

Tony Bloom wants to disrupt football, he wants to break the biggest duopoly in world football - do what everyone says is impossible.  Yes the medium and longterm model will see player turnover.  And especially when we have the replacement lined up or already in the building.

But Cammy Devlin will not not be offered a deal due to not having resell value.  That just won't be a reason.  The only reason Cammy wouldn't be offered a deal is if Del doesn't want him in the squad AND JTA say they can get better anyway.  And the same goes for every single player.

Sorry, wee rant, but Hearts have and always will be a selling club.  Just like 99% of football clubs world wide.  Any time we've had a good player since the late 90s anyway, we've sold him or he's left on freedom of contract.  The same will happen now - nothing has changed in this respect. Nothing.  Hibs will do the same, as will Aberdeen, as will Celtic, Arbroath and Lazio.  The only difference now is when we sold or lost players in the past they left a Neil McCann, Alan McLaren, Mickey Cameron, Paul Hartley, Gary Naysmith, Aaron Hickey.... sized hole in our team.  Now that hole will be ably filled (ooooh!!) if not already have the plug trained up and raring to go in the building.  The selling bit hasn't changed, we'll just be better and bolder about how we do it.

Yeah I don’t see us selling anyone in January who we don’t want to leave, with everything going on.

What is interesting using Union SG as an example is they trade fairly frequently with rival clubs. Once again I wouldn’t imagine we’d be forthcoming in January however might be something we see in the summer.

Posted
1 hour ago, TheBigO said:

100%

You just need to look at the Brighton and USG squads to see that its not all about selling players. It creates a balance, which is quite visible when you look at the squads:

Brighton have a first team squad of 26:

7 players aged 30 and over who they won't be looking to profit from but who will provide a solid experienced base of players for the younger ones to learn from. 

Senior players who are there to offer stability, guidance, even coaching, for the rest of the squad. Not actively for sale. 

7 players aged 24-29 who they may or may not sell, but it won't be a priority. 

They're professionals, they know what they're doing, and will likely be the backbone of the team - but might still improve and attract interest. For sale if the price is right.

12 players aged 23 or under, who they'll be looking to improve and sell on.

They're young lads, most of whom will be there for making a profit (obviously not all of them will).

USG have a first team squad of 27:

4 players aged 30 or over

11 players aged 24-29

12 players aged 23 or under

Hearts have a first team squad of 30:

8 players aged 30 or over 

17 players aged 24-29

5 players aged 23 or under

Posted
1 hour ago, JimmyCant said:

Ah but yes I can because I’ve signed up to having an opinion, just like you have 😂 It’s just an opinion mate. I’m big enough to own it if I’m proved wrong

Well there's a way to post an opinion and there's a way to state something as fact.

IMHO of course

Posted
6 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Was going to say, Findlay did still pass the scoring which McInnes had said, if he'd failed we'd not have signed him. 

I like that we've given McInnes a bit of flexibility there, but I do agree with your overall point, going forward it may become difficult to balance that demand for a Scottish core with the demand for success. The fact of the matter is, Jamestown absolutely could have found a LCB with stronger stats than Findlay. 

It will be interesting to see how things go. Looking back at 2005/6 Pressley, Hartley and Gordon were all Scottish and good enough to play for Celtic/Rangers and we had players like Neilson, Wallace, Webster, Elliot and others who were among the better Scottish players not at that OF level - I think Halkett & Shankland absolutely are better/as good as than what Celtic/Rangers have, and I would argue Milne looks to be good enough too. 

My hope is that with Jamestown we have rolling stats once they enter 3000 minutes. I.e that you could take a player who crosses the 3000 minute mark and give them their rating, but then track it over the next few years so you can see the progress and perhaps even estimate the progress if the player continues developing. 

Posted
5 hours ago, RustyRightPeg said:

I think (perhaps overthinking) Hoff might have some sort of appearance clause in his contract that might trigger a higher wage, or extension/payment to his old club or something along those lines.

I doubt it.

Players have to miss out and he started against Sunderland and was just unlucky to get injured and the team did well when he was unavailable.

south morocco
Posted
6 minutes ago, Hungry hippo said:

I doubt it.

Players have to miss out and he started against Sunderland and was just unlucky to get injured and the team did well when he was unavailable.

I genuinely missed him in the side after his injury. But look where we are now. It’s a bit unfortunate for him and wouldn’t be surprised to see him move on in the next couple of windows. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, south morocco said:

I genuinely missed him in the side after his injury. But look where we are now. It’s a bit unfortunate for him and wouldn’t be surprised to see him move on in the next couple of windows. 

I always thought Hof is a good player and would have been a first choice under the two previous managers if fit, but I don't think that's the case now.

Posted
4 hours ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

This is the thing with Nieuwenhoff - before his injury he was playing very well and, certainly at that time, offered more going forward than either Cammy or Beni. I have a feeling that Ageu will be replacing Nieuwenhoff, not Cammy or Beni.

I agree about Ageu replacing Nieuwenhoff, but I think McEntee or Magnussen may be the in-house replacements recruited to make sure we could sell Beni.

4 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Agreed on this. Some Championship or Serie A club may decide they want Cammy and be willing to pay us for him, but failing that, I could imagine him staying another 4-5 years at Hearts. He's so good at our level and he's happy here, he's not making a fortune but he's making more than I do, that's for sure.

Posted

Like Beni, but not sure he will stay, or we are that serious about keeping him . Think Cammy is more DM type of player. Move on Spittal, Kartum, Hoff and possibly Beni moves on. Leaves us space for two in midfield. Watson and another who will move the ball forward.

Auld Castle Rock
Posted
1 hour ago, OTT said:

Was going to say, Findlay did still pass the scoring which McInnes had said, if he'd failed we'd not have signed him. 

I like that we've given McInnes a bit of flexibility there, but I do agree with your overall point, going forward it may become difficult to balance that demand for a Scottish core with the demand for success. The fact of the matter is, Jamestown absolutely could have found a LCB with stronger stats than Findlay. 

It will be interesting to see how things go. Looking back at 2005/6 Pressley, Hartley and Gordon were all Scottish and good enough to play for Celtic/Rangers and we had players like Neilson, Wallace, Webster, Elliot and others who were among the better Scottish players not at that OF level - I think Halkett & Shankland absolutely are better/as good as than what Celtic/Rangers have, and I would argue Milne looks to be good enough too. 

My hope is that with Jamestown we have rolling stats once they enter 3000 minutes. I.e that you could take a player who crosses the 3000 minute mark and give them their rating, but then track it over the next few years so you can see the progress and perhaps even estimate the progress if the player continues developing. 

I think it would be incredibly limiting if it didn’t. It will have updates on every player, every game.

i also remember hearing/reading that for each club it has a key list of around 200 players that are more closely monitored and it’s from these lists that the players are recommended.

NextGenerationJambo
Posted
4 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Well said. I doubt it'll be the last time it needs said, but well said nontheless. 

It is easy to lose sight of why we are actually selling in the first place, it's all in aid of a grander plan and philosophy, I'm sure after a few windows it'll start to sink in 😂

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
5 minutes ago, johnking123 said:

Like Beni, but not sure he will stay, or we are that serious about keeping him . Think Cammy is more DM type of player. Move on Spittal, Kartum, Hoff and possibly Beni moves on. Leaves us space for two in midfield. Watson and another who will move the ball forward.

Interesting point about moving the ball forward. One thing McInnes was criticising in his interview with Si Ferry was that we were far too often guilty of taking the safe option, ie passing back or across rather than trying to be adventurous with a possibly more difficult but more rewarding pass forward. Now I got the impression that he was talking about last season's Hearts but even if he was both Cammy and Beni are bang to rights on that one. Both have been great this season (Cammy especially) but that is still one trait we have which is very frustrating.

Posted
1 minute ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Interesting point about moving the ball forward. One thing McInnes was criticising in his interview with Si Ferry was that we were far too often guilty of taking the safe option, ie passing back or across rather than trying to be adventurous with a possibly more difficult but more rewarding pass forward. Now I got the impression that he was talking about last season's Hearts but even if he was both Cammy and Beni are bang to rights on that one. Both have been great this season (Cammy especially) but that is still one trait we have which is very frustrating.

Think Beni is has still been a bit guilty of it.  More than Devlin.  Think it's frustrating the boss. If we have money,  think we will use it on our midfield again. But hopefully get fringe players, moving out.

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
1 minute ago, johnking123 said:

Think Beni is has still been a bit guilty of it.  More than Devlin.  Think it's frustrating the boss. If we have money,  think we will use it on our midfield again. But hopefully get fringe players, moving out.

It's definitely got to be frustrating him. The thing is both Cammy and Beni have been here a few years now. I don't know what the instructions would have been from previous managers/coaches but it is seeming hard for them to go for the riskier ball forward. If they could add that to their games they would both be sensational for us. Also agree about the fringe players.

Posted
9 minutes ago, johnking123 said:

Just isn’t true. Del turned in disgust on Saturday at Devlin going back to the centre back more than once. It didn’t happen after mind you, he soon got the message, but Beni isn’t more guilty.