Heart Of Midlothian winter transfer window 2025/2026 - Wilson loaned to Spurs; transfer window slams shut

Posted
1 minute ago, Drylaw Hearts said:

But the club were happy to add another striker.

So…..

McInnes wants a new striker…..the club say yes and try to sign a striker but somehow you still know best.

Ok…….

I don't know better than McInnes. Of course I don't. I'd rather wait till we get who we have identified and plan for than take a risky punt.

Carry on arguing though if it helps you feel better.

• Replies 15.5k

• RustyRightPeg

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

• wcjambo

• El Prez

Posted
11 minutes ago, martoon said:

I wonder if we can recall James from Spurs if necessary. 🤔 

Would need to be in the next hour I think :lol:

Posted

Jeez I have ploughed through dozens of pages on this thread much as I wish i hadn't bothered
People who think the manager makes mistakes just to annoy them/the fans

People who think they are convinced they know better than the recruitment team

People who think we should be signing as many players as possible
People who rate themselves better than JTA yet now 2/5th of 5/8th of smeg all how it is used

The occasional casual racist comment

All of whom feel the need to reiterate their opinion every 30 minutes or so.

And yet here we are 6 points clear at the top of the league on groundhog day

putting this thread on mute

PapaShango
Posted
13 minutes ago, OTT said:

Hoping Shanks can get back a wee bit sooner. Still praying the 6-8 weeks was a cautious estimate and he can beat that. 

At the event with Robbo a week past Thursday he said he would likely miss 8 games. 2 down 6 to go then! 

Posted

We’ve got 2 fit strikers atm scoring at a rate better than 1 in 2 games & an ok backup in Elton who has shown in the past he can score in this league. We’ve got wingers who can chip in with goals including 2 who are just off the back of prolific spells at their last clubs, we’ve got CBs & McEntee capable from set plays. Leonard & Ageu look capable of getting a few goals between them too.

We’ve lost an 18 year old who’s played about 80 minutes total this league season, very promising future but won’t exactly be a miss & I’d argue if we ended up having to rely on him again then we’d be in trouble. A big striker would be nice but ffs people, there’s a shit ton of goals in this team, if we lose the lead it’s not because we haven’t signed another striker unless everyone else stops scoring & if that happens we’ve got a deeper issue.

Posted
1 minute ago, PapaShango said:

At the event with Robbo a week past Thursday he said he would likely miss 8 games. 2 down 6 to go then! 

Ah, was hoping he might be more optimistic. 

Kabore has a huge chance over the next month then!! 

Duggie 1874
Posted

If we had announced Mato today for example  it would have been classed as a near perfect window , it’s always a bit of an anti climax when nobody is signed on last day , dare I say it due to a well thought out and sensible signing policy in place ie no panic scattergun buys at last minute 

Posted
1 minute ago, boag1874 said:

We’ve got 2 fit strikers atm scoring at a rate better than 1 in 2 games & an ok backup in Elton who has shown in the past he can score in this league. We’ve got wingers who can chip in with goals including 2 who are just off the back of prolific spells at their last clubs, we’ve got CBs & McEntee capable from set plays. Leonard & Ageu look capable of getting a few goals between them too.

We’ve lost an 18 year old who’s played about 80 minutes total this league season, very promising future but won’t exactly be a miss & I’d argue if we ended up having to rely on him again then we’d be in trouble. A big striker would be nice but ffs people, there’s a shit ton of goals in this team, if we lose the lead it’s not because we haven’t signed another striker unless everyone else stops scoring & if that happens we’ve got a deeper issue.

Think McInnes might want to try and utilise Elton a wee bit more so he has a bit more sharpness and confidence in him if we do need to call on him for any sustained period of time I think... 

Posted
1 minute ago, OTT said:

Think McInnes might want to try and utilise Elton a wee bit more so he has a bit more sharpness and confidence in him if we do need to call on him for any sustained period of time I think... 

He’ll use him if he needs him, plenty of options before chucking him in if one of the forwards gets hurt - playing one striker & 2 wingers. If they both get hurt & he’s all that’s left then we’ll just need to accept that there’s **** all you can do when your lucks that bad that you’re stuck using the 4th pick striker.

Posted
1 minute ago, boag1874 said:

He’ll use him if he needs him, plenty of options before chucking him in if one of the forwards gets hurt - playing one striker & 2 wingers. If they both get hurt & he’s all that’s left then we’ll just need to accept that there’s **** all you can do when your lucks that bad that you’re stuck using the 4th pick striker.

After I posted it, immediately thought Mato will probably get the nod ahead of him. Elton hasn't really been rated by McInnes this season, and I'm not sure that changes TBF. 

Its interesting we do still have options before looking to Elton. 

Posted

If all else fails, give Halks the No. 9

Posted
2 minutes ago, OTT said:

After I posted it, immediately thought Mato will probably get the nod ahead of him. Elton hasn't really been rated by McInnes this season, and I'm not sure that changes TBF. 

Its interesting we do still have options before looking to Elton. 

Aye totally. He’s there if needed & can do a job, ideally we don’t need him. Getting minutes for Mato, Chesnokov & Ageu is the most important thing

Posted
7 minutes ago, Shankland31 said:

I would say Leonard is that. We definitely needed another striker.

Everyone would have preferred one more option. I'm not sure the types of players we were after (e.g. Ba-Sy) were the instant game changers some people had in mind though. People wanted a 6ft4 goalscorer like Naderi who's going to Rangers, but even he's costing them £5m despite only having a decent record in the German third tier.

Kabore didn't get much of a look-in in his favoured position in the first half of the season. On Saturday he showed everything we want from a number 9. If he keeps up that performance level over the next few weeks until Shankland's back then we'll be fine.

Posted

1 hour ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

if we had not got Leonard we would have played spittal like we did away to Motherwell when we got a really good point

other alternatives would have been jordi or steinwender in midfield or mcentee taking an injection or something

it was only for two games and having another player in reserve who the club apparently doesnt rate (Watson) is just a numbers game like having kartum in reserve

I can't be the only one that thinks we should've won that game

We should have a 100% record against them - they're not as good as Us

I expect 100% for the remainder of the Season

Posted
49 minutes ago, davie1980 said:

You said "Shows other youth players that it might be worth hanging around. You’ll still get your move and it will be to an Arsenal or Tottenham, rather than a Brighton or Villa"

Not sure what the transfer fee Hearts have received has to do with that.

But McMeekin going to a bigger club than Spurs tells you it might not be worth hanging around.

Thought that was pretty obvious

He was previously linked with Villa but chose to stay. James Wilson hung around instead and got a move to Tottenham (with Arsenal also fighting for his signature). Unless you’re saying that Villa is a bigger club than Arsenal and Tottenham? 

Posted (edited)

So we’ve signed 4 players this window.

2 are full internationals and 1 could very well be on the plane to the USA with 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

But h1b5 have had a better window?

Is that what some folk on here think?

Nae wonder I drink

Edited by ShedBoy
Groatallar
Posted
1 hour ago, Shanks said:

Who is Wilsons agent :lol: brilliant move for the laddie, he is nowhere near good enough for the Hearts first 11 but gets a loan move to Tottenham.

Hope he gets a lot from the experience and is improved when he returns to Hearts. 

He'll probably want back for the Champions League instead of the English Championship! :HeartsManspotrun:

Posted

Did the Championship club that had Elton lined up for £1M get cold feet?

What happened to David Turnbull? 

Posted

I have no idea if we had a "better" or "worse" window than anyone, but I do know Hearts took care of some needs business early with Altena and Chezy, found a great injury cover piece in Leonard, and then picked up a nice long term piece in Mato who may help sooner than later.

That is a good window for Hearts.

I need to see some more reporting on the Wilson move before passing judgment there, but I can't imagine that changing my grade of a good window.

davie1980
Posted
5 minutes ago, jambo89 said:

He was previously linked with Villa but chose to stay. James Wilson hung around instead and got a move to Tottenham (with Arsenal also fighting for his signature). Unless you’re saying that Villa is a bigger club than Arsenal and Tottenham? 

And Keir McMeekin didn't hang around and went straight to Man City.

davie1980
Posted
1 minute ago, Smithian said:

I have no idea if we had a "better" or "worse" window than anyone, but I do know Hearts took care of some needs business early with Altena and Chezy, found a great injury cover piece in Leonard, and then picked up a nice long term piece in Mato who may help sooner than later.

That is a good window for Hearts.

I need to see some more reporting on the Wilson move before passing judgment there, but I can't imagine that changing my grade of a good window.

Exactly mate, No need to e comparing it to elsewhere. 

We needed things, we largely fulfilled those needs (I wouldn't have minded a solid CF and the club clearly wanted the same)

I'd say that's a bloody good 8 out of 10 window. Don't care what Hibs did because their starting position was miles behind us.

davie1980
Posted
Just now, Sertse said:

👀

Posted
Just now, Sertse said:

👀

:rolleyes5:

Posted

Have any of our youth players shown they could step up -  North, McLuckie, Sandilands, Plank - getting goals in lower leagues?

Posted
1 minute ago, Sertse said:

👀

Ach, just one more for old times sake :lol:

Oda be a JT
Posted

Are we getting a wee last min surprise?

Shankland31
Posted
5 minutes ago, Sertse said:

👀

??

Posted
5 minutes ago, Sertse said:

👀

ah go on, you want get a chance to do this again till the summer.

Posted
Just now, martoon said:

The most baffling quiz show ever.

Dont think I ever got a single clue. 

ManxandCapeTownJambo
Posted
5 minutes ago, Oda be a JT said:

Are we getting a wee last min surprise?

no

Scott Leitch
Posted

Agent blowing into a paper bag as we speak!

Posted

Do they relax the visa process on the last day of the transfer window then.  Amazes me how many are coming in across the league and no visa issue’s whatsoever 

InternationalJambo
Posted
1 hour ago, Shankland31 said:

Is this cryptic post hinting at a free agent?

Pinning our hopes on one 🤫

Lovecraft
Posted
9 minutes ago, EVHearts said:

Do they relax the visa process on the last day of the transfer window then.  Amazes me how many are coming in across the league and no visa issue’s whatsoever 

Na, that's why they always say something about International clearances and that they have just agreed a fee and contract.

They still need to do the other stuff in the next few days.

Shankland31
Posted
4 minutes ago, InternationalJambo said:

Pinning our hopes on one 🤫

You are or the club are?

InternationalJambo
Posted
Just now, Shankland31 said:

You are or the club are?

Teheeeee

Pans Jambo
Posted
Just now, InternationalJambo said:

Teheeeee

Who he play for?

InternationalJambo
Posted
Just now, Pans Jambo said:

Who he play for?

Spurs 

Shankland31
Posted
Just now, InternationalJambo said:

Teheeeee

😂 ffs spit it out. Ramires? Just at the wind up? It’s been a long night enough of that

InternationalJambo
Posted
Just now, Shankland31 said:

😂 ffs spit it out. Ramires? Just at the wind up? It’s been a long night enough of that

IMG_3523.jpeg

Aussie Jambo
Posted
37 minutes ago, Sertse said:

👀

image.gif.e117afea193b615f77149d787b118ef5.gif

Shankland31
Posted
2 minutes ago, InternationalJambo said:

IMG_3523.jpeg

I’m sh*te at chess. Mon

Pans Jambo
Posted (edited)

Pinnington? 

Loadapishington!

Edited by Pans Jambo
Posted
6 minutes ago, InternationalJambo said:

IMG_3523.jpeg

jaggyelka. .

lisburnjambo
Posted

Night night folks

Posted
2 hours ago, OTT said:

And when Cammy was injured, Beni was suspended, McEntee was injured and Ageu was injured, we were up shit creek and got exceptionally lucky we were able to land Leonard on loan. 

You're arguing that because he doesn't immediately get into our first 11, a talented 23 year old Scottish midfielder wouldn't have been worth signing? As I said, its a 38 game season (plus cups) and I absolutely think that he'd have been a good player to have. Cammy playing 3 games in such a short space of time was why he got injured, so having this sort of cover is important and I'm not going to change my view on that. You bring these players in to improve the squad and ultimately succeed those in the starting 11, I think I'm correct in saying Mulligan absolutely would have done that, and that Watson could very well do that too. 

Not true Cammy got injured because a big Saint Midden hammer thrower decided to land on him after a 50/50 tackle 

It was at Tynecastle did you not see how the he got damaged?

InternationalJambo
Posted
3 minutes ago, JAYEL said:

jaggyelka. .

😉 

Posted

Did the club ever seen 'business is done' like they did in previous windows? :rolleyes4:

Posted
1 hour ago, ShedBoy said:

If all else fails, give Halks the No. 9

Could do a lot worse