RustyRightPeg Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 2 minutes ago, johnking123 said: I can see us selling Milne, if anyone. Just with him only signing a years extension. If right offer comes in obviously. Milne won’t be sold. He’s the type we’ll keep til his wheels fall off and I’m fine with that. He’ll be a long server.
OTT Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 3 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said: I would agree. Rangers signing Watson after signing Cameron in the summer would show terrible planning in recruitment as they are similar players. And if I was a young Scottish player I would question if I would develop at Rangers based as you say on the other two (plus Curtis playing really well this season then dumped out in favour of a young English player on loan who has not been effective.) I would also agree about playing for a big league if he comes. Honestly, I don't think either Barron or Cameron should have signed for Rangers. Usually, I would say, if Rangers/Celtic want you, there is a good chance every Championship team at a minimum would want you too. However, by comparison Celtic seem a bit more joined up in their thinking, and strategy. Whereas Rangers are like a drowning man clasping for anything & everything as they try to keep with Celtic. Both signings reeked of the classic story in Scotland where players fall over themselves to sign there. Barron looked pretty average for Aberdeen, and Cameron just doesn't seem like a Rangers player... like he missed a step IMO. Like they've gotten in too early, and picked up a player who isn't ready for the demands that comes with playing for a club that has the sort of demands on it from the stands and media that Rangers do. IMO Josh Mulligan will go further than Cameron, because he's actually making that interim step in his career whereas Cameron has jumped ahead without the tools to cope. Watson for me, should be pushing for a move here, because having already worked under McInnes, he'd know exactly the environment and demands he's walking into. I think McInnes absolutely would get the best out of him, and give him that platform to go and join a big 5 league very quickly. Although, he may just head down to the Championship right away. Rangers though would be a big mistake.
OTT Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 I wonder what the chances are of McInnes signing Kenny Mclean in January...?
RustyRightPeg Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 Just now, OTT said: I wonder what the chances are of McInnes signing Kenny Mclean in January...? None I hope. It isn’t a position of need.
sprinbox98 Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 3 minutes ago, OTT said: I wonder what the chances are of McInnes signing Kenny Mclean in January...? to carry the water bottles to the better players?
OTT Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 (edited) 5 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: None I hope. It isn’t a position of need. I'm just looking at it as a bit like Don Cowie. An experienced head to come in and offer that level of experience to help push us onto the end of the season. He looks the right sort of midfielder to play in a midfield 2, more dynamic than Cammy or Beni, but also capable of defending too. I strongly suspect McInnes will want Hoff & Kartum out the door. Having already worked with McInnes, and being 33, coming back to Scotland may appeal - IIRC there have been Rangers links in previous windows, but they've not materialised. I think it would be shrewd short term signing, not an eye-catching one. Edited October 21, 2025 by OTT
OTT Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 3 minutes ago, sprinbox98 said: to carry the water bottles to the better players? Sort of. As I've said above, shrewd, short term signing. Not one designed to be eyecatching. Someone to come into the centre of the park who is better rounded than Cammy or Beni, and can recycle the ball better, and spot the forward passes that we so often see from the stands, but Beni & Cammy often ignore because of the higher risk. Hoff isn't playing, Kartum isn't playing and Spittal looks very poor. I reckon Mclean could be a significant improvement on them, and provide McInnes with options in the middle of the park. I think he would be a smart signing, especially if he wanted to come back up to Scotland, and Norwich were willing to not stand in his way. We could probably get a decent 18 months out of him.
RustyRightPeg Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 (edited) 9 minutes ago, OTT said: I'm just looking at it as a bit like Don Cowie. An experienced head to come in and offer that level of experience to help push us onto the end of the season. He looks the right sort of midfielder to play in a midfield 2, more dynamic than Cammy or Beni, but also capable of defending too. I strongly suspect McInnes will want Hoff & Kartum out the door. Having already worked with McInnes, and being 33, coming back to Scotland may appeal - IIRC there have been Rangers links in previous windows, but they've not materialised. I think it would be shrewd short term signing, not an eye-catching one. He’d be more Snodgrass than Cowie IMO. He’s comfortable at Norwich picking up astronomical wages under next to no pressure. He isn’t a “legend” but he’s someone I’d imagine Norwich fans will remember fondly. Edited October 21, 2025 by RustyRightPeg
OTT Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 1 minute ago, RustyRightPeg said: He’d be more Snodgrass than Cowie IMO. He’s comfortable at Norwich picking up astronomical wages under next to no pressure. He isn’t a “legend” but he’s someone I’d imagine Norwich fans will remember fondly. Probably, I see he's captaining them too. So probably an unlikely one, but obviously Berra was a key player at Ipswich before McCarthy let him return north of the border for family reasons. With Mclean seeming to have been keen on a Rangers move that hasn't materialised in previous windows, I wonder if the opportunity to return north of the border might interest him? I've no idea if Mclean might want similar obviously. Its just that he's of a similar age and genuinely think would fit the mould of the type of midfielder we need to be looking for to fit into a midfield 2 - Beni & Devlin both excellent defensive mids, but the lack of forward play is a big limitation for us, thats why we signed Ageu, and why when asked JJ would put Stevie Fulton in this team if he could. Ageu doesn't seem to have a similar cover, because Spittal can't get into this team, Hoff is perma-injured, and Kartum can't even make the squads. Having a more dynamic midfielder, even at 33 could be a smart signing for the 2nd half of the season. FWIW I don't think Steve Clarke would keep capping him if he was anything less than a model pro who was a good influence around the squad. Snodgrass by all accounts was hugely unpopular with the squad and generally thought of as a bit of a wank
Drylaw Hearts Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 We could easily move on the KKK (Kent, Kartum and Kabangu) and we’d hardly notice tbh.
tiger Rudi Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 51 minutes ago, Drylaw Hearts said: We could easily move on the KKK (Kent, Kartum and Kabangu) and we’d hardly notice tbh. Agree with Kartum, not the other two. Big parts to play this season for both. We are doing well partly because our substitutions don't weaken us. Both valuable members of the squad IMHO.
RustyRightPeg Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 54 minutes ago, Drylaw Hearts said: We could easily move on the KKK (Kent, Kartum and Kabangu) and we’d hardly notice tbh. McInnes would. He loves Kabangu and Kent.
tiger Rudi Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 1 hour ago, OTT said: I wonder what the chances are of McInnes signing Kenny Mclean in January...? I'd much prefer Hoff to get game time and increase his value, than bring in McLean tbh.
GavK1012 Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 1 hour ago, RustyRightPeg said: Milne won’t be sold. He’s the type we’ll keep til his wheels fall off and I’m fine with that. He’ll be a long server. Correct, nobody is paying decent money for us to let him go, due to his age and background, going nowhere under this regime.
RustyRightPeg Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 1 minute ago, GavK1012 said: Correct, nobody is paying decent money for us to let him go, due to his age and background, going nowhere under this regime. John King obsessed with players moving on. Bizarre.
indianajones Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 1 hour ago, OTT said: I wonder what the chances are of McInnes signing Kenny Mclean in January...? Computer says no. Thankfully!
OTT Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 12 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said: I'd much prefer Hoff to get game time and increase his value, than bring in McLean tbh. I'm not even sure how injured Hoff is right now... I don't see him featuring much, if at all for McInnes. If we're only going to play 2 CMs, we need to make sure the ones we have offer enough. For me, McLean would be a good bridge whilst we find someone else. Funny thing is, I'm sure Jamestown could find someone better, and cheaper. So another reason why its probably a non-starter
NottsJambo Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 1 hour ago, OTT said: Watson for me, should be pushing for a move here, because having already worked under McInnes, he'd know exactly the environment and demands he's walking into. I think McInnes absolutely would get the best out of him, and give him that platform to go and join a big 5 league very quickly. Although, he may just head down to the Championship right away. Rangers though would be a big mistake. I know McInnes said he wants a Scottish core but I worry that the analytics will constantly find players cheaper in far-flung places. He said they "allowed him, that one" when talking about Findlay. I don’t know if they'll keep doing that.
Hungry hippo Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 It will depend on incoming bids. We saw how it worked last January with Oyegoke, Rowles and Boateng moving. It seems we were surprised at the lack of interest in the summer but I'd expect at least a couple to move on next window and the outgoing players might not be that easy to predict.
pettigrewsstylist Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 Noticed Halks having long chat with Watson on Sat. I did think is he dropping hints 😶
GavK1012 Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 1 hour ago, RustyRightPeg said: John King obsessed with players moving on. Bizarre. 😬
Drylaw Hearts Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 2 hours ago, RustyRightPeg said: McInnes would. He loves Kabangu and Kent. I’ll be shocked if both are still here by the time the next summer transfer window closes.
cosanostra Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 Watson would be a phenomenonal signing. Really classy player. Got to think that Kartum will leave in January. Spittal, Hoff and Zander Clark possibly too. I feel a bit sorry for Zander. He was a decent player up until this season. He waited patiently through injury and Gordon playing well then when he eventually got his chance to become the clear no.1 at Hearts, he completely shat the bed and produced his worst form since signing. It doesn't look like McInnes rates Hoff too highly either which is a shane because he's a very decent player. I much prefer him to Spittal.
KevNic Posted October 21, 2025 Posted October 21, 2025 4 hours ago, OTT said: I'm just looking at it as a bit like Don Cowie. An experienced head to come in and offer that level of experience to help push us onto the end of the season. He looks the right sort of midfielder to play in a midfield 2, more dynamic than Cammy or Beni, but also capable of defending too. I strongly suspect McInnes will want Hoff & Kartum out the door. Having already worked with McInnes, and being 33, coming back to Scotland may appeal - IIRC there have been Rangers links in previous windows, but they've not materialised. I think it would be shrewd short term signing, not an eye-catching one. why would we want to sign a feckin has been ffs we will get better than that numpty
Pingu Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 7 hours ago, cosanostra said: Watson would be a phenomenonal signing. Really classy player. Got to think that Kartum will leave in January. Spittal, Hoff and Zander Clark possibly too. I feel a bit sorry for Zander. He was a decent player up until this season. He waited patiently through injury and Gordon playing well then when he eventually got his chance to become the clear no.1 at Hearts, he completely shat the bed and produced his worst form since signing. It doesn't look like McInnes rates Hoff too highly either which is a shane because he's a very decent player. I much prefer him to Spittal. Agree with all of that. Vargas could get a permie move as well. Stone might leave either permanently on loan. Wouldn't be shocked if a CB moved on but not sure which one and I'd be happy for them all to stay for now. As discussed elsewhere, Wilson could go out on loan but I'd prefer that to be a cooperation loan so we can recall him at short notice. Pollock could get a loan if fit.
Chimp Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 (edited) 8 hours ago, cosanostra said: Watson would be a phenomenonal signing. Really classy player. Got to think that Kartum will leave in January. Spittal, Hoff and Zander Clark possibly too. I feel a bit sorry for Zander. He was a decent player up until this season. He waited patiently through injury and Gordon playing well then when he eventually got his chance to become the clear no.1 at Hearts, he completely shat the bed and produced his worst form since signing. It doesn't look like McInnes rates Hoff too highly either which is a shane because he's a very decent player. I much prefer him to Spittal. Everyone keeps saying this but he's been injured for months so where is this coming from? How can anyone tell either way since he's not even been fit to play since the League Cup group stage in July, in which he actually started a few of those games... Edited October 22, 2025 by Chimp
DxB Hearts Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 1 hour ago, Chimp said: Everyone keeps saying this but he's been injured for months so where is this coming from? How can anyone tell either way since he's not even been fit to play since the League Cup group stage in July, in which he actually started a few of those games... I have no idea if McInnes rates him or not but what I can see is that he seems to love Cammy, rate Beni really highly, has no issues putting Magnusson on most games and is absolutely dying for Ageu to come back into the fold. Hoff may find himself just as the odd one out, not because of ability (or lack of) but because as he’s been injured the rest of the CMs have been playing brilliantly.
Pingu Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 1 hour ago, Chimp said: Everyone keeps saying this but he's been injured for months so where is this coming from? How can anyone tell either way since he's not even been fit to play since the League Cup group stage in July, in which he actually started a few of those games... I find it strange that Nieuwenhof never (or very rarely) gets mentioned in Del's injury updates. He often talks about who is back, who is close, and who is out longer term and mostly seems to "forget" Hoff. I like Hoff as a player and would definitely have him ahead of Spittal, but starting to suspect that won't happen.
Gundermann Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 10 hours ago, cosanostra said: Watson would be a phenomenonal signing. Really classy player. Got to think that Kartum will leave in January. Spittal, Hoff and Zander Clark possibly too. I feel a bit sorry for Zander. He was a decent player up until this season. He waited patiently through injury and Gordon playing well then when he eventually got his chance to become the clear no.1 at Hearts, he completely shat the bed and produced his worst form since signing. It doesn't look like McInnes rates Hoff too highly either which is a shane because he's a very decent player. I much prefer him to Spittal. That sums it up for Zander. He'd be a better signing for Celtic than Angus Gunn tbh and we'd make some dosh out of it. Otherwise, if Celtic think Gunn will do it for them, on ye go.
DxB Hearts Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 28 minutes ago, Gundermann said: That sums it up for Zander. He'd be a better signing for Celtic than Angus Gunn tbh and we'd make some dosh out of it. Otherwise, if Celtic think Gunn will do it for them, on ye go. Neither can be any worse than their current option. Shoot any opportunity must be the message from McInnes this weekend…
Horatio Caine Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 11 hours ago, cosanostra said: Watson would be a phenomenonal signing. Really classy player. Got to think that Kartum will leave in January. Spittal, Hoff and Zander Clark possibly too. I feel a bit sorry for Zander. He was a decent player up until this season. He waited patiently through injury and Gordon playing well then when he eventually got his chance to become the clear no.1 at Hearts, he completely shat the bed and produced his worst form since signing. It doesn't look like McInnes rates Hoff too highly either which is a shane because he's a very decent player. I much prefer him to Spittal. According to BBC Gossip (I know I know..) Watson wants a move to Rangers. No idea why he would but apparently does. However - he's already worked with Del who will know of Watson's ambitions so he may be the crucial factor in the end.
jbee647 Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 1 minute ago, Horatio Caine said: According to BBC Gossip (I know I know..) Watson wants a move to Rangers. No idea why he would but apparently does. However - he's already worked with Del who will know of Watson's ambitions so he may be the crucial factor in the end. Ironically McInnes gave Watson his initial breakthrough and he was YPOTY, however last season he fell out of favour at Kilmarnock and was in and out of the side and not a regular pick, Watson maybe highly reluctant to join up with McInnes at Tynecastle, it’s a pointless conversation if Watson doesn’t meet up with the analytics
Horatio Caine Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 Just now, jbee647 said: Ironically McInnes gave Watson his initial breakthrough and he was YPOTY, however last season he fell out of favour at Kilmarnock and was in and out of the side and not a regular pick, Watson maybe highly reluctant to join up with McInnes at Tynecastle, it’s a pointless conversation if Watson doesn’t meet up with the analytics According to the article he scores highly on the analytics. (How would the BBC know this? Hmm)
OTT Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 1 hour ago, Gundermann said: That sums it up for Zander. He'd be a better signing for Celtic than Angus Gunn tbh and we'd make some dosh out of it. Otherwise, if Celtic think Gunn will do it for them, on ye go. Was thinking Gunn would be a no brainer for Celtic tbf. They've had successive older keepers in Hart and Schmichel and had to deal with pretty obvious decline on both occasions. Gunn obv a lot younger, and could give them 5+ years of service and would be the International keeper too. Makes a lot of sense. I don't think he's that good a keeper though So would be fairly content if Celtic pick him up.
jbee647 Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 2 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said: According to the article he scores highly on the analytics. (How would the BBC know this? Hmm) They don’t, just making stuff up for clicks Nobody knows the details of how JTA works apart from the people at the top who control it, anything else is just guess work and bullshit
Batistuta9 Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 Watson would be a really good addition by the look of it. Was very good against us at the weekend there, is only 20, and will likely want to prove himself to DM.
RustyRightPeg Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 3 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said: Watson would be a really good addition by the look of it. Was very good against us at the weekend there, is only 20, and will likely want to prove himself to DM. You think? He sold the short pass for the third. Other than his shot, Cammy and Beni ran over the top of him and they had an extra man in there.
TheBigO Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 3 hours ago, Chimp said: Everyone keeps saying this but he's been injured for months so where is this coming from? How can anyone tell either way since he's not even been fit to play since the League Cup group stage in July, in which he actually started a few of those games... I don't think he's injured is he? I think he's not selected, no? I may of course be wrong, but thats what I'd thought. Was he involved in bounce game?
Niall Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 Watson would be a really good singing if we have an opportunity for him to play. The complication is that we haven't really seen Ageu or Magnusson yet and both could be really good. Devlin and Baningime are out of contract in the summer so that could make space for Watson although its not great losing players for free.
Batistuta9 Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 (edited) 13 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: You think? He sold the short pass for the third. Other than his shot, Cammy and Beni ran over the top of him and they had an extra man in there. Found myself thinking he'd done really well in quite a few situations on Saturday and he had the Killie fans on their feet a few times battling for the ball and being aggressive. First 20mins or so he was excellent and was involved in everything. He linked up well with their right back and whenever he won the ball he always seemed to turn to attack and played it out wide to him a couple of times too. Needs a wee bit work and needs a couple of good partnerships - he is still young - and think maybe he was trying to do too much at times but aye, I like him a lot. Edited October 22, 2025 by Batistuta87
TheBigO Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 6 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: You think? He sold the short pass for the third. Other than his shot, Cammy and Beni ran over the top of him and they had an extra man in there. Its about finding the gem. The guy who is going to be at the right level with the better players around him. Of course Watson is an obvious one - not a hidden gem! But for example JTA passing over on Mulligan - doesn't make him a bad player btw, but it does mean we don't think he has what we need. Watson perhaps does. It'll be a way deeper analysis than the odd misplaced pass. You take into account his age too. That first 15 mins when Killie really did trouble us was all Watson imo. He drove it. If he has the physical attributes to do that for 90 mins in maroon, he could be an option. I like the lad, I have to say. And obv if we go for him, Del who knows him well, would be a big part of it, so its a big old seal of approval. One thing I do think is that we're about to become much more interesting to the best Scottish young talent. Would McCowan and Cameron for example look at us (if we wanted them) and think "yeah I'll flourish there more than OF"? Maybe not as dosh is dosh still, but you'd have to think more so than in years gone by. And also our plan will surely be that wage structure starts creeping up year on year as we guarantee euro football. At the moment I'd think that income is tentatively budgeted.
Chimp Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 9 minutes ago, TheBigO said: I don't think he's injured is he? I think he's not selected, no? I may of course be wrong, but thats what I'd thought. Was he involved in bounce game? Not match fit as far as I know. Don't recall seeing his name in any of the bounce games
RustyRightPeg Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 10 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said: Found myself thinking he'd done really well in quite a few situations on Saturday and he had the Killie fans on their feet a few times battling for the ball and being aggressive. First 20mins or so he was excellent and was involved in everything. He linked up well with their right back and whenever he won the ball he always seemed to turn to attack and played it out wide to him a couple of times too. Needs a wee bit work and needs a couple of good partnerships - he is still young - and think maybe he was trying to do too much at times but aye, I like him a lot. 8 minutes ago, TheBigO said: Its about finding the gem. The guy who is going to be at the right level with the better players around him. Of course Watson is an obvious one - not a hidden gem! But for example JTA passing over on Mulligan - doesn't make him a bad player btw, but it does mean we don't think he has what we need. Watson perhaps does. It'll be a way deeper analysis than the odd misplaced pass. You take into account his age too. That first 15 mins when Killie really did trouble us was all Watson imo. He drove it. If he has the physical attributes to do that for 90 mins in maroon, he could be an option. I like the lad, I have to say. And obv if we go for him, Del who knows him well, would be a big part of it, so its a big old seal of approval. One thing I do think is that we're about to become much more interesting to the best Scottish young talent. Would McCowan and Cameron for example look at us (if we wanted them) and think "yeah I'll flourish there more than OF"? Maybe not as dosh is dosh still, but you'd have to think more so than in years gone by. And also our plan will surely be that wage structure starts creeping up year on year as we guarantee euro football. At the moment I'd think that income is tentatively budgeted. Nah I appreciate his age, the odd misplaced pass etc but I didn’t see anything on Saturday that made me go, aye he’d come in and play over X or Y. Currently, and I appreciate it’s subject to Cammy and Beni’s contract situations, I don’t see it as a position of need. Given the development fee that’ll increase with the more minutes he plays, it begs the value over price type thing if we can pluck someone from the Moroccan 3rd division with similar / higher ratings in the particular areas that he excels in. Potential, yes, undoubtably. Is it another Mulligan though where he doesn’t fit our style? Del’s style here is vastly different to his Killie team.
TheBigO Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 1 minute ago, RustyRightPeg said: Nah I appreciate his age, the odd misplaced pass etc but I didn’t see anything on Saturday that made me go, aye he’d come in and play over X or Y. Currently, and I appreciate it’s subject to Cammy and Beni’s contract situations, I don’t see it as a position of need. Given the development fee that’ll increase with the more minutes he plays, it begs the value over price type thing if we can pluck someone from the Moroccan 3rd division with similar / higher ratings in the particular areas that he excels in. Potential, yes, undoubtably. Is it another Mulligan though where he doesn’t fit our style? Del’s style here is vastly different to his Killie team. Aye duno mate. You could also say Watson is playing in a system which he HAS to as it's Killie and they do what they have to - ie low possession football. But maybe he has the underlying abilities to do what we need. Its a bit of a Cammy thing. Anyone who was willing to look could see Cammy is an excellent footballer. He needs a system and style to show that and he now has that platform and he's currently flourishing. Not saying that's the case for Watson but if we do indeed go in for him, that'll be the theory you'd think. I see a lad who works his arse off, is positive on the ball, intelligent off it, gets stuck in. He's a box to box type guy. But I guess the question would be if Ageu is our new norm.... can he rise to that (assumption Ageu is genius of course!!!haha). Theeeeen it's the old theory which the OF use a bit of needing solid SPFL Prem players when you have europe to play in. Is Watson a trusted guy to win us games in Scotland as we rotate a squad a wee bit more with 3 games a week etc etc. One things for sure, no matter what happens this season, next summer is going to be very very interesting
gordiegords Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 14 hours ago, NottsJambo said: I know McInnes said he wants a Scottish core but I worry that the analytics will constantly find players cheaper in far-flung places. He said they "allowed him, that one" when talking about Findlay. I don’t know if they'll keep doing that. On listening to the clip I’m sure mcinnes mentions Jamestown fancying a strong Scottish core as well.
Niemi’s gloves Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 59 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said: According to the article he scores highly on the analytics. (How would the BBC know this? Hmm) The BBC don’t claim to know this. The relevant piece is labelled “Gossip” with sources quoted, in this case the source being TeamTalk, the same source that some posters on here were quoting yesterday.
TheBigO Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 6 minutes ago, gordiegords said: On listening to the clip I’m sure mcinnes mentions Jamestown fancying a strong Scottish core as well. It makes real sense. Celtic have actually done that over the years, barring a couple of their succesful squads (i think anyway, happy if proved wrong). It'll be up to us to scoop up the Harry Milne, James Penrice who are being overlooked but also to compete when it comes to a guy the market really wants. Also, over the years to build that core ourselves.
Batistuta9 Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 (edited) 18 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: Nah I appreciate his age, the odd misplaced pass etc but I didn’t see anything on Saturday that made me go, aye he’d come in and play over X or Y. Currently, and I appreciate it’s subject to Cammy and Beni’s contract situations, I don’t see it as a position of need. Given the development fee that’ll increase with the more minutes he plays, it begs the value over price type thing if we can pluck someone from the Moroccan 3rd division with similar / higher ratings in the particular areas that he excels in. Potential, yes, undoubtably. Is it another Mulligan though where he doesn’t fit our style? Del’s style here is vastly different to his Killie team. Aye, dunno tbh. He certainly doesn't make our starting 11 at the moment and is nowhere near Cammy, but think he's a good young player and looks coachable. One for the future, and a good, young Scottish player to add to the group. Maybe a more realistic comparison would be Macaulay Tait or Aiden Denholm who are around the same age? He'd be a huge upgrade on them I think. Edited October 22, 2025 by Batistuta87
JimmyCant Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 10 minutes ago, gordiegords said: On listening to the clip I’m sure mcinnes mentions Jamestown fancying a strong Scottish core as well. I don’t mind at all if we end up with a Scottish core, but deliberately signing Scottish players over better options we have access to, who score higher in the system is just a no no. As McInnes said of Findlay ‘they gave me that one’ Findlay wouldn’t be here if McInnes wasn’t here. I think that’s clear Going forward if we’re aiming for a Scottish core as some kind of box ticking excercise , it’ll have to be the very cream of the crop, the sort of players Celtic and Rangers have been pinching for years
davie1980 Posted October 22, 2025 Posted October 22, 2025 Seeing a few midfielders mentioned. With Cammy, Beni, Ageu, McEntee, Magnusson, Spittal, Hoff and Kartum in the squad and us only playing 2 in midfield I can't see it. The first 5 aren't going anywhere in the January window unless we get a cracking offer. Even if we shift the last 2 or 3 of that list it still leaves us with 5 or 6 midfielders for 2 berths. Unless JTA identifies an absolute cracker of a midfielder I can't see them going for it. Even then you'd imagine that kind of player might be earmarked for the summer