davie1980 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 2 hours ago, TheBigO said: Na not sure mate. Its game by game. That front 4 against Killie at home in a straight 442/424 works, for example. Plenty teams play with 2 wingers. And I think Kyzi is a very honest player, gets back and does his bit. I think from the sound of him, Chesny is the same, a good work ethic - he's also 6ft1, he's no GMS! Will be interesting to see. Lots of great attacking options. Let's just say, I don't see the following getting rolled out too often -----------Braga---Shankland------------- Kyziridis -----------------------Chesnokov It'll be exciting to see and probably better balanced than trying to squeeze Kabore in there. But I think the occurrences of that style will be few and far between personally. And plenty of teams do play with two wingers but seeing 2 out and out wingers while playing with a proper front 2 is pretty rare.
132goals1958 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 21 minutes ago, davie1980 said: Will be interesting to see. Lots of great attacking options. Let's just say, I don't see the following getting rolled out too often -----------Braga---Shankland------------- Kyziridis -----------------------Chesnokov It'll be exciting to see and probably better balanced than trying to squeeze Kabore in there. But I think the occurrences of that style will be few and far between personally. And plenty of teams do play with two wingers but seeing 2 out and out wingers while playing with a proper front 2 is pretty rare. I have also been wondering who might make way for Ageu. Obviously its a squad game but if he is as good as we hope you would think he would be one of the core players in starting. (notwithstanding our most expensive recruit). You could also say the same for Chesnokov if he lives up to his billing. The thought of him and Kyzirdis in the line-up is mouth-watering although these days its horses for courses.
davie1980 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 1 minute ago, 132goals1958 said: I have also been wondering who might make way for Ageu. Obviously its a squad game but if he is as good as we hope you would think he would be one of the core players in starting. (notwithstanding our most expensive recruit). You could also say the same for Chesnokov if he lives up to his billing. The thought of him and Kyzirdis in the line-up is mouth-watering although these days its horses for courses. Realistically, with the options we have, the only way a front 4 works is with Beni and another more defensive option like Cammy or McIntee To get Ageu in it's probably a midfield 3 at the expense of one of the central strikers
132goals1958 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 5 minutes ago, davie1980 said: Realistically, with the options we have, the only way a front 4 works is with Beni and another more defensive option like Cammy or McIntee To get Ageu in it's probably a midfield 3 at the expense of one of the central strikers Agree but it posses a bit of a dilemma
Disser Pointon Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 All about having options to change formation to suit the opponent's.
johnking123 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 Are we going play 442 or stick with 433. Guess it will depend on who we are playing. Will it be Kyzirdis one game and Chesnokov another. Going to a great problem to have.
davie1980 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 15 minutes ago, Disser Pointon said: All about having options to change formation to suit the opponent's. It's the definition of "it's a good problem for the manager to have"
tiger Rudi Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 51 minutes ago, davie1980 said: Will be interesting to see. Lots of great attacking options. Let's just say, I don't see the following getting rolled out too often -----------Braga---Shankland------------- Kyziridis -----------------------Chesnokov It'll be exciting to see and probably better balanced than trying to squeeze Kabore in there. But I think the occurrences of that style will be few and far between personally. And plenty of teams do play with two wingers but seeing 2 out and out wingers while playing with a proper front 2 is pretty rare. Now that 3 in the middle has effectively pulled us out of our "blip" I can't see us changing it. Got to get a grip of a game first and foremost. Magnusson and Devlin getting a right good understanding going in there. Beni for McEntee possibly with Mags further forward? Can't see Ageu being ready to play in a two any time soon either. Then there's also Hoff back training. It will be 3 from 4 when Chesnokov arrives, with whoever is sub a dangerous option to have later. The strength of our bench will be the thing that sees us still challenging come May. Ageu, Hoff, McEntee could all realistically be on the bench if Beni gets back in the starting 11. Add Chesnykov or Kyzi/Braga to that bench and Kabore. We have some cracking options. Kent, McCart and Kingsley, if Milne and Halkett get back in. Scarily strong bench that! A new RB too, it's unbelievable where we are just now with our strength in depth.
davie1980 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 6 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said: Now that 3 in the middle has effectively pulled us out of our "blip" I can't see us changing it. Got to get a grip of a game first and foremost. Magnusson and Devlin getting a right good understanding going in there. Beni for McEntee possibly with Mags further forward? I think it will he horses for courses. We have shown with the correct people available, 442 can win us sustained runs of games. And with a proper RW, we're not plugging gross in it with fullbacks. With everyone fit we have 2 tried and tested formations that suit and win games 6 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said: Can't see Ageu being ready to play in a two any time soon either. Then there's also Hoff back training. I can't see Ageu ever being a suitable option for a 2 man central midfield. Realistically only a couple of options for there and I think it's Beni plus one of McIntee or Devlin. Ageu, Spittal, Hoff, Kartum and arguably Magnusson all a bit too forward thinking for me, we need positional discipline and a lot of graft in there if we play a 2 6 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said: It will be 3 from 4 when Chesnokov arrives, with whoever is sub a dangerous option to have later. The strength of our bench will be the thing that sees us still challenging come May. Ageu, Hoff, McEntee could all realistically be on the bench if Beni gets back in the starting 11. Add Chesnykov or Kyzi/Braga to that bench and Kabore. We have some cracking options. Kent, McCart and Kingsley, if Milne and Halkett get back in. Scarily strong bench that! A new RB too, it's unbelievable where we are just now with our strength in depth. Agreed
TheBigO Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 1 hour ago, davie1980 said: Will be interesting to see. Lots of great attacking options. Let's just say, I don't see the following getting rolled out too often -----------Braga---Shankland------------- Kyziridis -----------------------Chesnokov It'll be exciting to see and probably better balanced than trying to squeeze Kabore in there. But I think the occurrences of that style will be few and far between personally. And plenty of teams do play with two wingers but seeing 2 out and out wingers while playing with a proper front 2 is pretty rare. You think? I expect to see it quite often! We'll see I guess. For me, we've struggled when teams have sat in against us - they've been our hardest games (outwith Motherwell). We set up like this and pin them and go at them and go at them. If you see Celtic line up with this many forwards, you don't blink, you know... But yeah maybe in other games, you're a bit more solid, we need that mid 3 or whatever. The flip of it is imagine being up against Kyzi for 60 mins then Chesny coming on!!! Poor Ralston! Certainly exciting!
boag1874 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 42 minutes ago, johnking123 said: Are we going play 442 or stick with 433. Guess it will depend on who we are playing. Will it be Kyzirdis one game and Chesnokov another. Going to a great problem to have. I think we'll see the front 4 of Kyzi - Braga - Shankland - Chesnokov in certain situations. Maybe against teams that play a back 5 against us because it would pin their wingbacks in which would allow our fullbacks to push up & we could just pile wave after wave of pressure on teams who would struggle to get out.
tiger Rudi Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 14 minutes ago, boag1874 said: I think we'll see the front 4 of Kyzi - Braga - Shankland - Chesnokov in certain situations. Maybe against teams that play a back 5 against us because it would pin their wingbacks in which would allow our fullbacks to push up & we could just pile wave after wave of pressure on teams who would struggle to get out. I know we've tried the 4 attackers before and McInnes himself said it was a mistake, but Kabore was one of them and playing in a wide position if memory serves me right. Chesnokov and Kyzi both do tracking back and can sit in when needed. We might see it again at home against lesser opposition..
The Wrinkly Ninja Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 (edited) The options we have are going to be amazing. Teams had maybe noticed that with our 442 you can pack the midfield and win it and double up on Kyzi and we didn’t have the players to go through the middle or the right. Not anymore - we can play a three from Cammy, Beni, Mags, Oisin and Ageu, maybe even Hoff and absolutely dominate the middle if we need to. Chesney brings the same threat as Kyzi on the right in a 442 or as part of a 3. We just dominated the Rangers for 75 minutes of the 90 with a 433. With that same starting line up we could in a couple of weeks time be able to bring on Ageu for Mags, Beni for Oisin, Chesney for Kyzi and a new forward for Braga! With a new total football right back as well! With Halkett and Milne back in the 11 that leaves Kingsley, Mccart, Kent and Steinwender as our defensive back ups - three of the four who started against Rangers! Thats not even counting Kabore and Kerjota, or Wilson, or Elton! Edited December 23, 2025 by The Wrinkly Ninja
davie1980 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 1 hour ago, TheBigO said: You think? I expect to see it quite often! We'll see I guess. For me, we've struggled when teams have sat in against us - they've been our hardest games (outwith Motherwell). We set up like this and pin them and go at them and go at them. If you see Celtic line up with this many forwards, you don't blink, you know... But yeah maybe in other games, you're a bit more solid, we need that mid 3 or whatever. The flip of it is imagine being up against Kyzi for 60 mins then Chesny coming on!!! Poor Ralston! Certainly exciting! When have Celtic lined up with a front 4? 2 proper our and out wingers and a proper front 2 with two strikers? I don't remember it ****, they don't even have two fit strikers at the club just now. Johnny Kenny is the main man. Last season they were playing with Maeda as striker most of the year because they never replaced Kyogo. Before that isn't was Kyogo or that big Irish diddy they spunked £9m on. Never both together It doesn't happen
boag1874 Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 55 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said: I know we've tried the 4 attackers before and McInnes himself said it was a mistake, but Kabore was one of them and playing in a wide position if memory serves me right. Chesnokov and Kyzi both do tracking back and can sit in when needed. We might see it again at home against lesser opposition.. Yeah big difference having essentially 3 strikers & one winger vs 2 strikers & 2 out & out wingers who can more effectively play the position.
TheBigO Posted December 23, 2025 Posted December 23, 2025 9 minutes ago, davie1980 said: When have Celtic lined up with a front 4? 2 proper our and out wingers and a proper front 2 with two strikers? I don't remember it ****, they don't even have two fit strikers at the club just now. Johnny Kenny is the main man. Last season they were playing with Maeda as striker most of the year because they never replaced Kyogo. Before that isn't was Kyogo or that big Irish diddy they spunked £9m on. Never both together It doesn't happen I just mean in general, if you look at their players' average positions in a match against Livvy or Killie over the years - it'll be a lot of players high up the pitch. Might be 4231, 433, 442, 424 whatever, but just pure number of attacking players on the pitch getting up the lines or into the box will be high. i don't see us playing 442/424 with 2 attack-first wingers that outlandish. Especially if CM is the a mix of Devlin/Beni/Oisin/Mags. That gives us solidity to do it. No predictions here, I just wouldn't be surprised to see it rolled out when approp, is all.
indianajones Posted January 10 Posted January 10 That Hearts Standard article. ****ing love Kyzi. Confidence flowing through him.
Special Agent Dale Cooper Posted January 11 Posted January 11 “I don't think that everyone can believe it, because I have just three (in the league). But me, I can say that at the end of the season, I'm going to have more than 10 goals." Yes please, I like the cut of his jib.
gregzy2k7 Posted January 11 Posted January 11 12 minutes ago, Special Agent Dale Cooper said: “I don't think that everyone can believe it, because I have just three (in the league). But me, I can say that at the end of the season, I'm going to have more than 10 goals." Yes please, I like the cut of his jib. I knew from his first interview that he was a baller, just a confidence in his ability that you know is just not empty words. Guys utter class and is going to make us a fortune.
Jambof3tornado Posted January 11 Posted January 11 I've no doubt chesnokov has the same belief in himself to beat a man and deliver,something we've lacked for a while.
tartofmidlothian Posted January 15 Posted January 15 This boy also deserves a bump after St Mirren, he was all over them and levels above. Although like Braga, I wish his finishing was just a wee bit more precise.
Shankland31 Posted January 15 Posted January 15 His work rate is immense for a flair player. I absolutely love him. There’s only one Rudi and they’re nothing alike but he’s this team’s Rudi. He has that moment of magic in him. He gets it.
spacerjoe Posted January 15 Posted January 15 This guy will be our first big sale. His technique is off the charts. As good as Braga is at pulling off the unexpected, Kyzi is just a different level for me.