Posted

Archie returns

Can’t be any worse than the guff we have to put up with now. Also looks younger than he did in the 80’s. 😁

• Replies 121

• stirlo

• michael_bolton

• neilnunb

Mad Bad and Dangerous
Posted

I think Archie had a wee soft spot for the Jambos back in the 80s.....maybe just my memory playing tricks on me. !!

Born Again Nade
Posted

Archie is the typical "you don't know what you've got until it's gone". 

I'm glad he's back. He comes out with some belters. Be interesting to hear what he thinks of us this season.

Posted

Archie liked anyone who was winning! Good guy though, dear departed David Francie was the radio man of the time who really had an affinity with the game and sympathetic to us very much in 86. 

David Begg was a worthy successor to David, days when the radio commentaries were great, in contrast to the drivel these days.

Posted (edited)

I’d give them all permanent contracts now to be honest. Jock Brown though…he was Scotsport wasn’t he? Always thought it was him and Gerry McNee on Scotsport and McPherson on BBC? Or did JB flit between the two?? Got to say, it’s a bit of a shame that Hearts won’t be involved on this show 😢

Edited by Mr Sifter
Posted (edited)

Loved that time when Scotland were leaving /arriving at Hampdump just prior to going to the World Cup and that polis horse reversed into him... he didnae realise it was a polis horse and was shoving it back:D least I think it was oor Archie I could be wrong.

I am wrong it was Alex Cameron:D still funny though.

Edited by jock _turd
Posted (edited)

The horses arse that reversed into that other arse fom the Daily Record.... Alex Cameron.

Edited by argyjambo
Spelling
Posted

National Treasure 

Posted
28 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

I’d give them all permanent contracts now to be honest. Jock Brown though…he was Scotsport wasn’t he? Always thought it was him and Gerry McNee on Scotsport and McPherson on BBC? Or did JB flit between the two?? Got to say, it’s a bit of a shame that Hearts won’t be involved on this show 😢

Yeah , that’s right mate 

JB was Scotsport only from what I recall , loved some of his commentary in Back from the Brick 

Posted

Thank **** we are playing Sunday and im working Saturday, heard enough of these biased ***** to do me a lifetime.

Posted

They all look pretty good for  guys in their 70+ years.   Wouldn't have recognised Craig Broon's brother though - has he had a makeover ?

Posted

We were staying in the Old Course Hotel when Barcelona were staying there to play Dundee Utd.  Archie staying as well and he stayed up, joined our group until the wee small hours and he was brand new, good guy.

Posted

Did Jock Brown not take over from Archie on it? Then Rob McLean after him?

Hated McNee on Scotsport. Back when he used to do his predictions on the news on the Friday he always seemed to predict a Hearts defeat! And I'm talking about in 86 during our long unbeaten run! 

Posted
1 minute ago, neilnunb said:

Did Jock Brown not take over from Archie on it? Then Rob McLean after him?

Hated McNee on Scotsport. Back when he used to do his predictions on the news on the Friday he always seemed to predict a Hearts defeat! And I'm talking about in 86 during our long unbeaten run! 

Hated him, too.

He hated Hearts but did appear to think very highly of oor Robbo.

Posted
1 minute ago, martoon said:

Hated him, too.

He hated Hearts but did appear to think very highly of oor Robbo.

He always looked a wee short arse on tv too but apparently is about 6'4. 😁

Birregrande
Posted
25 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

We were staying in the Old Course Hotel when Barcelona were staying there to play Dundee Utd.  Archie staying as well and he stayed up, joined our group until the wee small hours and he was brand new, good guy.

Had few drinks with him and his crew in the Lord Darnley, he fell off his stool laughing at something and I helped him up again.  He was brand new.:D

Chuck Berry
Posted
39 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Thank **** we are playing Sunday and im working Saturday, heard enough of these biased ***** to do me a lifetime.

:cornette_dog:

Posted

Never see the likes again.

132goals1958
Posted

Archie always used the word infinitely. “ A penalty if ever there was one” was how he described the penalty claim at Anfield when Joe Jordan handled the ball in that World Cup play off against Wales . Wonder if he ever changed his mind.

BackOfTheNet
Posted

Macpherson was woeful. Some have different opinions I’m sure, but he was a waffler and I recall his Eurosport stint where he pretended to know what was going on. Don’t mind a one off nostalgia act, especially for a guy that must be well into his 80’s if not older by now, but just nah.

Skivingatwork
Posted

Nowadays we have to put up with Liam McLeod. I’m an Aberdeen fan but shriek with joy any time Celtic score. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, BackOfTheNet said:

Macpherson was woeful. Some have different opinions I’m sure, but he was a waffler and I recall his Eurosport stint where he pretended to know what was going on. Don’t mind a one off nostalgia act, especially for a guy that must be well into his 80’s if not older by now, but just nah.

Apparently, he's 88.

Posted

A slavering eejit stuck in the past. 

Posted

I met Archie in Munich. He was resplendent in his camel coat and his comb-over Brillo pad.

Posted

The standard of the commentary, nay, the standard of the spoken English, was appalling on Sportsound on Saturday. Archie, Jock and Dougie are all fluent and evocative (McLean less so). 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Sarah O said:

I thanked him at Tynecastle for his successful efforts in that campaign. "The Independent Republic of Scotland" remains an Internet fantasy.

michael_bolton
Posted

Archie was never a good commentator. Frequently had no idea what was happening in the game and was famously working with the wrong score for a good ten minutes or so in an Old Firm game in the mid-90s because he hadn't noticed a Rangers goal had been disallowed for offside.

Jock Brown was good. Great voice for commentary and describes absolutely everything as "top class/world class/soooopeeerb".

Rob McLean as a commentator never worked for me. Passable on the telly, but on radio he forgets the audience can't see the game.

michael_bolton
Posted
1 hour ago, Mr Sifter said:

Brown did Sportscene in the early 90s while McNee did Scotsport.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Gorgiewave said:

I thanked him at Tynecastle for his successful efforts in that campaign. "The Independent Republic of Scotland" remains an Internet fantasy.

He and his ilk are/were the face of that campaign. 

Thankfully the Indy Republic will come,. eventually. Just need to wait. 

Posted

Level of anger over **** all never ceases to amaze 

Chuck Berry
Posted

Not a fan of Erchie's politics, but will always be the sound of Scottish football for many along with Arthur Montford.

Posted
2 hours ago, Mad Bad and Dangerous said:

I think Archie had a wee soft spot for the Jambos back in the 80s.....maybe just my memory playing tricks on me. !!

The excitement in his voice as the game kicked off at Dens tells you everything . 

Posted
37 minutes ago, 132goals1958 said:

Archie always used the word infinitely. “ A penalty if ever there was one” was how he described the penalty claim at Anfield when Joe Jordan handled the ball in that World Cup play off against Wales . Wonder if he ever changed his mind.

It was a clear penalty.  I know that because Allaster McKallaster said so, and you won't a more unbiased commentator than him.

Posted

He’s 90 and in great shape. Saw him give a talk for 45 minutes at st Columbus by the castle on Monday, there. Super talk, top notch. I’m struck by the contrast between pros like him and the roasters on here who make their moronic comments from behind a shield of anonymity 🥰

Posted

Used to like the 'only excuse' ( when it was mildly funny ) impressions of him.

What I do miss is the after game round up from the old bbc reporters.

Alastir 'dour'  Dewar still sticks in my mind  - remember him describing our neighbours match ' humdrum hibs nil'

Posted
1 hour ago, BackOfTheNet said:

Wash your mouth out!

Born Again Nade
Posted
46 minutes ago, Sarah O said:

He and his ilk are/were the face of that campaign. 

Thankfully the Indy Republic will come,. eventually. Just need to wait. 

Do 100 of us remain alive or no? :thinking2:

It's never going to be granted by those who own and control the resources. Anyway I didn't know that about him. Like the old fud even more now

Posted

Scotsport cornered the market in rhyming slang by employing Gerry McNee & Jim White.

132goals1958
Posted
39 minutes ago, RobNox said:

It was a clear penalty.  I know that because Allaster McKallaster said so, and you won't a more unbiased commentator than him.

😀

Walter Kidd
Posted

Sat next to Archie at a Hall of Fame Dinner when Craig Levein and Alex Young got added in. A lovely fellah to spend time with. 

Posted

Archie was never the most refined of commentators but at least he had a personality and a distinctive style and his voice is synonymous with a lot of big games during a relatively successful time for the Scottish game. So many of today's commentators are just quite dull and it's difficult to imagine some of them being remembered in 30 or 40 years time like Archie is now.

Posted
1 hour ago, Sarah O said:

Exactly 

Posted

I remember erchie screeching about a wonderful goal that Celtic scored against us at Parkhead, it was a deflection off q corner that was tapped in at the back post. We scored a brilliantly worked move, all he said was goal Hearts. 

Posted

Archie was commentating on the derby game where Brellier gave Brownie a wee tap on the back of his leg:D I am sure he disapproved of said tap.

coatbridgejambo
Posted

Always found Rob MacLean really dull for a commentator. Sure it's him that still does sheepoTV

Posted

Wonder if Dougie still gets his furniture from a store in tillicoultry near stirling 

cauther col
Posted

Bob Crampsay was the intellectual guy on ascotsport