Jambo-Fox Posted May 27 Posted May 27 2 hours ago, Ex member of the SaS said: Being an old fart I am still using a PC and the ads are a pain. All along the bottom and sometimes huge block ads that cover the bottom left of the page. Suggest you join JKB as a member! Members don’t get ads!!
Morgan Posted May 27 Posted May 27 @Ulysses? Slightly off thread topic, but… Can you think of any good reason why, out of the blue, I cannot access my notifications on my phone, but everything is fine on the IPad and MacBook? When I hit the three wee lines, my screen just turns grey. Thanks!
Dean Winchester Posted May 27 Posted May 27 23 minutes ago, Morgan said: @Ulysses? Slightly off thread topic, but… Can you think of any good reason why, out of the blue, I cannot access my notifications on my phone, but everything is fine on the IPad and MacBook? When I hit the three wee lines, my screen just turns grey. Thanks! Is it offscreen to the right...?
kjc2006 Posted May 27 Posted May 27 Not seeing ads, but the site on mobile chrome isnt holding full screen. Big gap to the right guessing something to do with a placeholder for ads
Morgan Posted May 27 Posted May 27 15 minutes ago, Dean Winchester said: Is it offscreen to the right...? Yes, it is. Thanks for answering, by the way. 👍
Cisc0 K1d Posted May 27 Posted May 27 I use Brave and its always fine for me but I tried it on my dad's Macbook today using his Safari to check out any transfer news for him but it was unusable, just got a full screen ad and couldn't get on any boards.
Ex member of the SaS Posted May 28 Posted May 28 13 hours ago, Jambo-Fox said: Suggest you join JKB as a member! Members don’t get ads!! Was a full member years ago but posters and admin made it impossible to stay. Only came back after a few years to have a look and stayed.
Always the Hearts Posted May 28 Posted May 28 Install adblock. No ads at all, whether you're a paid member or not.
hughesie27 Posted May 28 Posted May 28 13 hours ago, Dean Winchester said: Is it offscreen to the right...? Happens to me occasionally as well.
AlimOzturk Posted May 28 Posted May 28 I have been having problems with Google chrome and JKB crashing it would load up the page then it would crash saying some like “we could not load this please please report “ also having issues with the board jumping about the place randomly. Could be reading a lost then all of a sudden it jumps to the bottom of the oage to where the ads are
FarmerTweedy Posted May 28 Posted May 28 14 hours ago, Cisc0 K1d said: I use Brave and its always fine for me but I tried it on my dad's Macbook today using his Safari to check out any transfer news for him but it was unusable, just got a full screen ad and couldn't get on any boards. I started using Brave a year or so ago on my tablet, as jkb had become completely unusable on chrome. Much better on brave!
Cisc0 K1d Posted May 28 Posted May 28 1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said: I started using Brave a year or so ago on my tablet, as jkb had become completely unusable on chrome. Much better on brave! Aye, I didn't actually realise how good Brave is until I tried out other browsers but Kickback seem to have become a particularly bad site on other browsers with the adds although it is totally fine on Brave.
Deso1972 Posted May 28 Posted May 28 It may just be a coincidence but my works anti-virus (Avast Business Security) has closed the connection three times today when i was viewing the site (- I wasnt logged in). Never happened before.
Turkishcap Posted May 28 Posted May 28 Firefox now polluted with ads but I am using Brave now, so far so good.
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted May 28 Posted May 28 as someone who can’t be ar$ed changing browser or whatever I just suffer the ads - seems to me their sole purpose is to try to ruin any enjoyment I might get from using this site - I just close them down anyway and would never buy any the stuff it advertises as a point of principal - maybe they get money for accidental clicks or something 🤷♂️ people who can be bothered taking action to eradicate the ads won’t be seeing them at all seems like the worst business strategy ever
ModJambo Posted May 28 Posted May 28 On 05/07/2025 at 17:07, Gorgierools said: I’ll be changing back from safari to Google to see if it’s any better. However, prior to leaving Google it was unwatchable I think I need to try a different browser as I solely use google chrome. Ads popping up when you're trying to reply or quote someone all the time.
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted May 28 Posted May 28 3 minutes ago, ModJambo said: I think I need to try a different browser as I solely use google chrome. Ads popping up when you're trying to reply or quote someone all the time. yep it’s like it’s tracking your key strokes and chooses the time of optimal annoyance to stick an add over where you want to be that then takes umpteen clicks to close it down
ModJambo Posted May 28 Posted May 28 38 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: yep it’s like it’s tracking your key strokes and chooses the time of optimal annoyance to stick an add over where you want to be that then takes umpteen clicks to close it down So annoying. Tempted to bite the bullet and just pay for a VPN that has adblocker because it's not just this site that it's happening with.
Portable Badger Posted May 29 Posted May 29 9 hours ago, ModJambo said: I think I need to try a different browser as I solely use google chrome. Ads popping up when you're trying to reply or quote someone all the time. Probably like most I used to persevere with Chrome until I nearly threw my phone out the window. I just couldn’t use it anymore for JKB as it was an absolute nightmare. Reluctantly I thought I would try Brave. It’s brilliant. No shite no issues. I no longer use Chrome anymore and wouldn’t go back to it again
DALLY JAMBO Posted May 29 Posted May 29 This morning Dyson Hairdryers all over the form not very teck savvy but its becoming a bit of a pain.
scott herbertson Posted May 29 Posted May 29 14 minutes ago, DALLY JAMBO said: This morning Dyson Hairdryers all over the form not very teck savvy but its becoming a bit of a pain. I'm on Dyson ads as well. ..........think I might pop down to B&Q later today and buy one
ModJambo Posted May 29 Posted May 29 38 minutes ago, Portable Badger said: Probably like most I used to persevere with Chrome until I nearly threw my phone out the window. I just couldn’t use it anymore for JKB as it was an absolute nightmare. Reluctantly I thought I would try Brave. It’s brilliant. No shite no issues. I no longer use Chrome anymore and wouldn’t go back to it again I'll give brave a try. Thanks.
Always the Hearts Posted May 29 Posted May 29 12 hours ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said: as someone who can’t be ar$ed changing browser or whatever I just suffer the ads - seems to me their sole purpose is to try to ruin any enjoyment I might get from using this site - I just close them down anyway and would never buy any the stuff it advertises as a point of principal - maybe they get money for accidental clicks or something 🤷♂️ people who can be bothered taking action to eradicate the ads won’t be seeing them at all seems like the worst business strategy ever It takes about 60 seconds to install a decent adblock, and they're free.
Captain Lithuania Posted May 29 Posted May 29 1 minute ago, Always the Hearts said: It takes about 60 seconds to install a decent adblock, and they're free. Just done this myself the other day and what a difference. I'm not against ads on JKB but they take the absolute piss.
DALLY JAMBO Posted May 30 Posted May 30 Just opened JKB this morning larger margins on screen and still have Dyson Pink Hairdryers on screen. When clicking on screen get directed to dyson .co.uk. Its becoming a total pain any advice appriciated. Not very teck savvy on using add blockers as most other sites i use dont have adds everywhere dont use socials as very toxic. Have a great saturday
FarmerTweedy Posted May 30 Posted May 30 6 hours ago, DALLY JAMBO said: Just opened JKB this morning larger margins on screen and still have Dyson Pink Hairdryers on screen. When clicking on screen get directed to dyson .co.uk. Its becoming a total pain any advice appriciated. Not very teck savvy on using add blockers as most other sites i use dont have adds everywhere dont use socials as very toxic. Have a great saturday How about the same advice that's been given out multiple times already on this thread, as well as numerous times on numerous other threads? Try the Brave browser!
DALLY JAMBO Posted May 30 Posted May 30 6 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said: How about the same advice that's been given out multiple times already on this thread, as well as numerous times on numerous other threads? Try the Brave browser! Not very tecky but will set up Brave browser and give it a go . Thanks.
SecN Posted May 31 Posted May 31 ****ing adverts are annoying and ******* up the user experience. Get them tae ****. We are better than this shite.
Ulysses Posted June 3 Author Posted June 3 2 hours ago, SecN said: Ads now floating on top of the actual forum text. Can you let us know the device and browser?
Ulysses Posted June 3 Author Posted June 3 On 29/05/2026 at 07:01, scott herbertson said: I'm on Dyson ads as well. ..........think I might pop down to B&Q later today and buy one The ads that appear around the screen may be visible when you're not logged in, but they should disappear when you log in.
SecN Posted June 3 Posted June 3 19 minutes ago, Ulysses said: Can you let us know the device and browser? iPhone, iOS 18.7.2, safari
Ulysses Posted June 3 Author Posted June 3 12 minutes ago, SecN said: iPhone, iOS 18.7.2, safari Thanks.
scott herbertson Posted June 3 Posted June 3 35 minutes ago, Ulysses said: The ads that appear around the screen may be visible when you're not logged in, but they should disappear when you log in.
hughesie27 Posted June 3 Posted June 3 3 minutes ago, scott herbertson said: Been getting ones like this show up on mobile today. And now what used to be every now and again is now and everytime issue where my notification button end sup opening along to the right needing me to scroll over. Not much of an issue but something the admin might be interested in.
GYL Posted June 3 Posted June 3 Pop ups everywhere, even over my notifications tab....was fine until today....Samsung and Chrome 🤷