Romanov Podcast by martin geissler ( updated )

Posted

I thought it was a superb listen from episode 1 all through. 
for me he saved hearts as we would never of survived murrayfield. Certainly not through Robinson. Yet Vlad nearly killed us off but we survived thanks to many individuals like Jackson, Murray, Budge etc and us. 
mad as a box of frogs but for me I’ll always love him for keeping us at home.  

• Replies 915

• Geoff Kilpatrick

• kingantti1874

• Star Lizard

• Rudy T

Posted

God bless Garry Halliday and the others who stood up and made things happen. 

Posted
34 minutes ago, Wee Hamish McDonald said:

I couldnae put it better myself Judy. It seemed very personal.

The Craig Gordan he spoke about was the 2005-2007 version not the finished product of 2025.

The twisting of the ' he walked out like he was going out for a cigarette and never returned" into the juvenile " George Burley doesn't smoke" so everything Wlad says is a lie is a small example. It's clear Wlad..having added all.the foreign players that transformed our team was treated with contempt by George who had our Scottish attitude of only the manager handles team matters. Whereas Wlad had the Soviet oligarch owner attitude.Wlad believed his squad additions were responsible for 8-0 and being the risk taking tycoon he was he took a calculated risk. It ultimately backfired....by.not winning the league....not reaching the champions league proper.

The media crucified him and I suspect Wlad was a little hurt.

20 years on I would love to see Wlad back here having a drink in a pub with us. But with his situation and his age it issnae gonnae happen.

I'd like to see some commemoration for the 20th anniversary....something to honour the tsar  of Hearts.

Good posting 👍 yes surely he deserves some kind of honour , even in the spirit of reconciliation.

ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ
Posted

I can't decide if he's more Donald Trump or David Brent after that.

Posted
23 minutes ago, ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ said:

I can't decide if he's more Donald Trump or David Brent after that.

At least he is not keir starmer  !!

Fitzroy Pointon
Posted

Pretty uncomfortable listening to him defending a convicted sex offender. 

Posted (edited)

It’s literallly a hit piece on Vladimir Romanov skirting over issues that truelly exist in Scottish Football. As eccentric as he was he was bang on the money about everything that’s exists in Scottish Football .
The failure of the podcast to question the Miko, Rangers game is an example of how we as a club will never achieve any kind of equality in this game. It’s actually a diservous to every Hearts fan to continuesly push this myth that we’re paranoid and we don’t play in a league that’s quite possibly the most corrupt in world football. From the the organisers to the media.

It was a podcast with excellent quality listening to former players and managers and remininising about old times, building up to a crescendo of Vlads a mentalist.

But hey ho the bbc have previous for this. 

I’ll add if Vlad wasn’t such an ego maniac we may have won the league, however weren’t the signs there that our run was about to end? 

Edited by droid
Posted
7 hours ago, Luckies1874 said:

I don't think Gielser had an agenda, I just think he believes the versions of those who Vlad talked shit about more than he does Vlad, and frankly so do I. And remember he was hearing directly the reactions of those being besmirched! I mean the shit he was saying about Craig Gordon ffs. I think the reality is he's a pathological liar and a delusional, paranoid sociopath who is wanted for some serious crimes that have impacted a lot of people.

Giesler outlined several times how he has struggled with the dilemma as to how to feel about Romanov's reign and I think it's a tough one too. He gave us some incredible memories and highs, brought several hugely popular players to the club and it was a wild ride. But his personality and ego got in the way and ultimately he blew an even greater opportunity. That said from a footballing perspective, at the start, it was one of the best 3 periods following the club since the 1950's so his name is very much written into the history of the club. 

Good post  Its down to who I believe and in every case I believe the people he interacted with or besmrched who were interviewed.   I have trusted personal friends who worked alongside these players and ex staff members and tell me it was more toxic at times.  I thank Vlad for keeping my roots at Tynecastle and I am proud to have supported FOH from its embryonic stage.  Hopefully we get another crack at the summit again. 

Posted

Vlad obviously but shit crazy. No wonder we were a basket case at time with that personality running the show. 

However, the players, the cups, kept us at Tynecastle. A hell of a lot of good. 

Posted

Im gobsmacked after all the interviews even from some of those he was close to from Lithuania, some folk still pull out the ‘but it must be everyone else who’s wrong’ card.

The guy is a sociopath clearly, he has serious mental health issues and was a control freak of the highest order. Yes yes yes we all get it.. great times came when he was here..

He came - and was appreciated 

We won games - folk sang his name

We battled well - and folk thanked him

He sacked Burley - folk forgave him

We won the cups - he was given gratitude

He dragged us through some mad times with Thomson and Rix etc.. - folk looked past that and he was still supported..

Why do folk then make out he’s some cheeky hero chappie who some naughty Jambos don’t appreciate enough nowadays? He got his thanks.. it happened, he wasn’t some poor wee man hard done by. 

It’s cringeworthy. Folk don’t look back and fawn over other owners for signing great players. We look back and think of the lads in maroon on the park. Not beaks in ties and blazers in the board room.

I did my appreciation for Vlad when the time was right.. long ago and before the damage. There’s no debt of appreciation to settle.

Jambo in Bathgate
Posted
8 hours ago, Luckies1874 said:

I don't think Gielser had an agenda, I just think he believes the versions of those who Vlad talked shit about more than he does Vlad, and frankly so do I. And remember he was hearing directly the reactions of those being besmirched! I mean the shit he was saying about Craig Gordon ffs. I think the reality is he's a pathological liar and a delusional, paranoid sociopath who is wanted for some serious crimes that have impacted a lot of people.

Giesler outlined several times how he has struggled with the dilemma as to how to feel about Romanov's reign and I think it's a tough one too. He gave us some incredible memories and highs, brought several hugely popular players to the club and it was a wild ride. But his personality and ego got in the way and ultimately he blew an even greater opportunity. That said from a footballing perspective, at the start, it was one of the best 3 periods following the club since the 1950's so his name is very much written into the history of the club. 

It’s difficult when you are conducting an interview through a language barrier. You have to rely upon the nuisances of the Interviewee and interpreter. I think Martin and the producer who are both Hearts fans gave a good account of the interview. There are always two sides of a story. Vlad did try to set the agenda. They, had to give the right of reply to those mentioned by Vlad. I’m glad Heart of Midlothian didn’t reply as it would have opened us up to ridicule by the usual suspects. 

Overall, it was a great period in our history trophy wise. It could be said that Vlad taking us to the brink saved Hearts. However, administration was like playing Russian roulette. Although we won these cups and it was fantastic, that 5-1 would have been pointless if we had been liquidated. 

I give no thanks to Vlad, he was in it for his own ego. My thanks go to those who unified the Hearts support groups and formed the FOH. They along with Ann Budge and Brian Jackson deserve the salute of all Heart of Midlothian supporters.  

Posted
1 hour ago, Mollo said:

he has serious mental health issues

I don’t think that part gets enough focus. Can only imagine the impact his early life trauma will have had upon him and understandable it affected his decision-making and emotions as an adult.

Posted
48 minutes ago, Jambo in Bathgate said:

I give no thanks to Vlad, he was in it for his own ego. My thanks go to those who unified the Hearts support groups and formed the FOH. They along with Ann Budge and Brian Jackson deserve the salute of all Heart of Midlothian supporters.

I sort of agree with that. He didn’t choose Hearts because of our history or our fans or because he wanted to save the club. Our financial position made us a better option for him to buy rather than Dundee Utd.

That being said he did save us and the stadium and we won two cups, no matter his initial reasons for buying us, and he deserves our gratitude for those.

ROCK LOBSTER
Posted
29 minutes ago, Jambo in Bathgate said:

It’s difficult when you are conducting an interview through a language barrier. You have to rely upon the nuisances of the Interviewee and interpreter. I think Martin and the producer who are both Hearts fans gave a good account of the interview. There are always two sides of a story. Vlad did try to set the agenda. They, had to give the right of reply to those mentioned by Vlad. I’m glad Heart of Midlothian didn’t reply as it would have opened us up to ridicule by the usual suspects. 

Overall, it was a great period in our history trophy wise. It could be said that Vlad taking us to the brink saved Hearts. However, administration was like playing Russian roulette. Although we won these cups and it was fantastic, that 5-1 would have been pointless if we had been liquidated. 

I really enjoyed the podcast brought back all the memories both good and very bad, we could have won the league but would we been allowed to by that I mean the refs and the sfa. Vlad called them out early and that wasn't clever, but in the interview with him he basically called out celtic and agents as a major problem. He said that alot of the players wanted to go to celtic, why ? , the riccarton 3 all ended up there, the media came for us hard after peanut and banana gate and they never stopped, the refs made things even harder, the 3-2 celtic game was the most blatant I've ever seen. His talking about Burley and his drinking was a little strange, why did he talk to Burleys assistant about the players we were about to sign and not both. There were rumours about George having a drink but was it out of control who knows but vlad didn't like it and called it out, surely this could have been sorted out or was it's vlad ego, why did Craig Gordon not defend himself when given the chance I would have. All these things will have had an element of truth I think, but he walked away from us and that's unforgivable, he did some mad things his ego came through loud and clear in the interview. What could have been eh. I know this has been a long post but I would like to thank Anne Budge Mr Jackson and all who set up the foh they are the real heroes 

Wee Hamish McDonald
Posted

The matter was slightly more complex and nuanced than some think. The world is a much bigger place than some think. In 2005 it was still full of different football cultures...bosman was only a dozen years old.

The constant narrative by MG that Vlad was ' bat shit crazy' never addresses and a few posts don't address....a risk taker and hardened 1990s soviet wild west era oligarch had to be a bit crazy/ eccentric to take on the project in the first place. 

Posted

I’ve really enjoyed the series but I was a little disappointed with that last episode. Really should’ve been the full interview with Vlad. Could’ve done an 11th episode with a right to reply. Felt like MG was dictating the agenda with the edited version. 

It’s clear Romanov has his own version of events which are more often than not removed from reality, but it gives us an insight into what was going on behind the scenes and how difficult it must have been for those around him. 

I’m still firmly in the camp that I really don’t like the guy for what he did at the end, he as good as left us to rot, if we’d gone to the wall he wouldn’t give a shit that doesn’t sit easy with me.

Posted
31 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

we’d gone to the wall he wouldn’t give a shit that doesn’t sit easy with me.

Least he is honest . He could have lied and claimed he would have been “ distraught “ . He was / is a business man . Hearts was a business venture to him . 

as an aside I’ve tried finding any videos of him dancing on the Lithuanian show but can’t locate any . I wanna see him dance . I like radges like him . He’s had a very florid eventful life . He’s resilient  and a survivor .God love him . 

Posted
1 hour ago, Rudy T said:

I’ve really enjoyed the series but I was a little disappointed with that last episode. Really should’ve been the full interview with Vlad. Could’ve done an 11th episode with a right to reply. Felt like MG was dictating the agenda with the edited version. 

It’s clear Romanov has his own version of events which are more often than not removed from reality, but it gives us an insight into what was going on behind the scenes and how difficult it must have been for those around him. 

I’m still firmly in the camp that I really don’t like the guy for what he did at the end, he as good as left us to rot, if we’d gone to the wall he wouldn’t give a shit that doesn’t sit easy with me.

I imagine Vlad remains contactable, so perhaps the Hearts Standard could reach out and offer him a more long form interview to speak his mind? 

He's nuts but some of what he says is coherent - particularly about referees. Its a discussion we are refusing to have at board level, and I think until clubs can openly discuss the issues with the refereeing its going to mean when we finally have a league challenge to put together, there is a huge chance it will be derailed by cowardly weegies. The discussion and demands for improvement need to be made before the damage is done. 

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted
14 hours ago, Wee Hamish McDonald said:

Aye I'd agree with this Judy.

Just let Romanov have his right of reply. I felt Martin Geisslers need to instantly attack and sneer at Wlads story at every step in order to ram down our throats his narrative wassnae fair.

Ive enjoyed this ten parter...the production...the memories...and yes the music...particularly the high tempo modern talking like jig during the 2005/6 cup final and champions league achievement 

But I feel MG went overboard in his sneering mockery of Wlad.

We cannae argue without wlad we wouldnae have Tynecastle,2 cups,champions league participation,and indirectly our ownership of a well run club. That's how the chips fell and what a ride he gave us. Wlad was far from perfect...he was mad or eccentric....but I think the fact he separated the issue of Tynecastle from the rest of his organisation showed he cared.

He also with his single minded vision bought into our early Romanov era team ,players the calibre of porto champions league winners,and bednar and skacel etc etc.. burley didn't bring those players. Wlad also took on the issue of poor refereering and old firm bias.

I don't accept he was ' jealous' of burleys name Being cheered and not his. Those of us there in those days remember Wlad was cheered too. 

I genuinely beleive wlads winning mentality and ambition was such he felt he could bring in a Bobby Robson.

Rix I'd put down to whatever odd character he was....he was a good coach and wlad had a army of young Lithuanians. He was always gonnae replace Rix too.

I found the last episode particularly exposed the petty journalism in Martins narrative and his overly anti Wlad bias throughout the series that was unnecessary. The fan comments on here tend to go more with my view.

Initially I was glad the suprose 10 parter would give wlads side and a right of reply...but that wassnae really the case when Martin needed to stop the interview every 40 seconds to than refute wlads comments with personal vindictive.

C'mon....:-) Wlad wassnae that bad

Lmfao looks like mad vlad is on this forum posting🤣🤣🤣

Posted

You can be both.

I'm glad he came in and saved our club, stopped the sale and brought us success and players we'd probably never have seen before.

****ing delighted actually. 

But I'm also incredibly angry at his ego that cost us probably our best ever chance of a league win in modern times. I'm angry at his interference in the team, the manager roundabout, treatment of Pressley and Hartley and then nearly putting the club right back into the shit he took it out of.

The success he brought would have meant nothing if he'd killed the club.

Thanks Vlad....but you can **** off if you think I'll sit for a pint with you.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Der Kaiser said:

You can be both.

I'm glad he came in and saved our club, stopped the sale and brought us success and players we'd probably never have seen before.

But I'm also incredibly angry at his ego that cost us probably our best ever chance of a league win in modern times. I'm angry at his interference in the team, the manager roundabout, treatment of Pressley and Hartley and then nearly putting the club right back into the shit he took it out of.

Exactly where i am. 

A narcissistic criminal that was of some benefit before fully going off the rails. 

Luckies1874
Posted
2 hours ago, Wee Hamish McDonald said:

The matter was slightly more complex and nuanced than some think. The world is a much bigger place than some think. In 2005 it was still full of different football cultures...bosman was only a dozen years old.

The constant narrative by MG that Vlad was ' bat shit crazy' never addresses and a few posts don't address....a risk taker and hardened 1990s soviet wild west era oligarch had to be a bit crazy/ eccentric to take on the project in the first place. 

"risk taker"

Aye huge risk with tens of millions that wasn't his.

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
39 minutes ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Funnily enough i was having similar thoughts. 7 posts, recently joined and all on the one subject. Probably not VR himself but surely someone closely connected to him?

Posted

Over the last few years since 19.05.12 My concentrated hatred of all things FFFHibs had lost its edge, as I thought after the 7-0 game that I could never stop detesting that mob and would never see vengeance - BUT luckily us oldies DID .....and MORE .....then I listened to episode 9 of the podcast, and the details made me remember just how putrid and rancid that mob of scum from Easter Piggery are !!!!!!! That edge is back !!

Posted
56 minutes ago, Der Kaiser said:

You can be both.

Pretty much this.

Felt that before I listened to the podcast and the final episode this morning and still feel the same after. No contrition and just more outlandish BS.

Was laugh out loud in places though, especially the Liverpool chat and his description of the Bednar boxing incident.

Posted
1 hour ago, Der Kaiser said:

You can be both.

100% in this camp. Well put. 

I both enjoyed it AND appreciated it at the time. Post the bad bit, I don’t see the rationale for folk popping back to the memories of ‘good old cheeky Vlad’ to re-do the appreciation bit. baffles me. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Jambo in Bathgate said:

Amen....

Kalamazoo Jambo
Posted
2 hours ago, Der Kaiser said:

You can be both.

Well said.

Posted

Needless to say he hasn’t changed and was more of a he said, he said. Great series never the less. Credit to Martin and the team at BBC.

One thing is clear. G

Posted
Just now, D4nny_ said:

Needless to say he hasn’t changed and was more of a he said, he said. Great series never the less. Credit to Martin and the team at BBC.

One thing is clear. G

If George Foulkes didn’t get written into the contract that we could pull out of the Cala deal by a certain date. We may still not have been at Tynecastle irrespective of Romanov. Smart move!

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted
2 hours ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Funnily enough i was having similar thoughts. 7 posts, recently joined and all on the one subject. Probably not VR himself but surely someone closely connected to him?

Im thinking the "wassnae" stuff is defo reaching and sounds like an Ai bot or someone trying to impersonate how a Scottish person speaks online. 

However I don't know anybody that types out "wassnae" lmao... 

Posted
15 hours ago, Wee Hamish McDonald said:

I couldnae put it better myself Judy. It seemed very personal.

The Craig Gordan he spoke about was the 2005-2007 version not the finished product of 2025.

The twisting of the ' he walked out like he was going out for a cigarette and never returned" into the juvenile " George Burley doesn't smoke" so everything Wlad says is a lie is a small example. It's clear Wlad..having added all.the foreign players that transformed our team was treated with contempt by George who had our Scottish attitude of only the manager handles team matters. Whereas Wlad had the Soviet oligarch owner attitude.Wlad believed his squad additions were responsible for 8-0 and being the risk taking tycoon he was he took a calculated risk. It ultimately backfired....by.not winning the league....not reaching the champions league proper.

The media crucified him and I suspect Wlad was a little hurt.

20 years on I would love to see Wlad back here having a drink in a pub with us. But with his situation and his age it issnae gonnae happen.

I'd like to see some commemoration for the 20th anniversary....something to honour the tsar  of Hearts.

We should put a framed and autographed copy of his international arrest warrant up in the Skyline. 😀

Posted
50 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

We should put a framed and autographed copy of his international arrest warrant up in the Skyline. 😀

😄😄😄

Skippy Doodle
Posted
1 hour ago, Martin B said:

@Skippy Doodle Pretty bang on the cash here mate 👍🏻

1 hour ago, Martin B said:

@Skippy Doodle Pretty bang on the cash here mate 👍🏻

Cheers mate

i understand that there is an element of trolling and humour behind backing him but those cup wins are chiefly down to the characters we had in the dressing room at the time

he got his thanks for keeping us at tynie at the time with all the adulation he received

Posted
16 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

I thought it was a superb listen from episode 1 all through. 
for me he saved hearts as we would never of survived murrayfield. Certainly not through Robinson. Yet Vlad nearly killed us off but we survived thanks to many individuals like Jackson, Murray, Budge etc and us. 
mad as a box of frogs but for me I’ll always love him for keeping us at home.  

This. What a lingering death it would have been. 

Wee Hamish McDonald
Posted
5 hours ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Aye I've been working on my English pal! 🙂 🙂

Wee Hamish McDonald
Posted
1 hour ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Im thinking the "wassnae" stuff is defo reaching and sounds like an Ai bot or someone trying to impersonate how a Scottish person speaks online. 

However I don't know anybody that types out "wassnae" lmao... 

3 posts attacking me. Please don't be a onlinebully. If you didn't know anyone who types like that. Now you do. 

Posted
5 hours ago, OTT said:

I imagine Vlad remains contactable, so perhaps the Hearts Standard could reach out and offer him a more long form interview to speak his mind? 

He's nuts but some of what he says is coherent - particularly about referees. Its a discussion we are refusing to have at board level, and I think until clubs can openly discuss the issues with the refereeing its going to mean when we finally have a league challenge to put together, there is a huge chance it will be derailed by cowardly weegies. The discussion and demands for improvement need to be made before the damage is done. 

I don’t disagree with the refereeing comments from him and loved the cup wins, the players he gave us but he also destroyed us and the flippant nature of his comments towards that time really sours all that went before and fuels a huge dislike of the man. He owned the club and with that comes huge responsibility, we’re not talking about a cafe where one goes bust and everyone moves to the one down the road. He put us into a ridiculous position to feed his ego and the minute it went south he washed his hands of us. 

Posted
6 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Least he is honest . He could have lied and claimed he would have been “ distraught “ . He was / is a business man . Hearts was a business venture to him . 

as an aside I’ve tried finding any videos of him dancing on the Lithuanian show but can’t locate any . I wanna see him dance . I like radges like him . He’s had a very florid eventful life . He’s resilient  and a survivor .God love him . 

Honest ffs stop it, an honest man wouldn’t have left an institution like Hearts to go bust. He’s a complete fantasist. Still he’s a good dancer, great. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Rudy T said:

Honest ffs stop it, an honest man wouldn’t have left an institution like Hearts to go bust. He’s a complete fantasist. Still he’s a good dancer, great. 

Were the board previous to Vlad "honest men" or not?

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted
3 hours ago, Wee Hamish McDonald said:

3 posts attacking me. Please don't be a onlinebully. If you didn't know anyone who types like that. Now you do. 

Ach it's all football banter mate. 

All is well that ends well. 

Anyway this is 2025 not 2005. 

It's long gone, water under the bridge, so to speak and I couldn't care less about it now,or ghosts from the past. 

The mighty heart of midlothian marches onwards and upwards, stronger than ever💪🏼👊🏼

grumpyespana
Posted

I found it a great listen afterwards I was thinking Elvis got a raw deal from fans after going to that lot in Glasgow as for that gesture he made I agree with him that it was aimed at Vlad.

Posted
7 hours ago, busbyfth said:

Over the last few years since 19.05.12 My concentrated hatred of all things FFFHibs had lost its edge, as I thought after the 7-0 game that I could never stop detesting that mob and would never see vengeance - BUT luckily us oldies DID .....and MORE .....then I listened to episode 9 of the podcast, and the details made me remember just how putrid and rancid that mob of scum from Easter Piggery are !!!!!!! That edge is back !!

Right with you buddy

Posted
2 hours ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Were the board previous to Vlad "honest men" or not?

What’s your point 🤷‍♂️

Posted
2 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

What’s your point 🤷‍♂️

The point is the club was about to head up shit creek with no paddle before Vlad came along. The club would probably have done an Airdrie rattling around Murrayfield. Was that the result of "honest men" making decisions?

Posted
Just now, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

The point is the club was about to head up shit creek with no paddle before Vlad came along. The club would probably have done an Airdrie rattling around Murrayfield. Was that the result of "honest men" making decisions?

Still don’t know what point you’re trying to make? The CPR era resulted in us almost going to murrayfield and the problems that would’ve brought on us and everyone rightly despised him for it, what is the difference with Vlad who arguably left us in a worse state than CPR?

michael_bolton
Posted
2 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

Still don’t know what point you’re trying to make? The CPR era resulted in us almost going to murrayfield and the problems that would’ve brought on us and everyone rightly despised him for it, what is the difference with Vlad who arguably left us in a worse state than CPR?

Vlad bought us the time to end up where we are today.

The rights and wrongs of it don't really matter beyond that. Without Vlad we'd be miles worse off today. What Murrayfield would have meant long-term is likely oblivion.

Posted
7 minutes ago, michael_bolton said:

Vlad bought us the time to end up where we are today.

The rights and wrongs of it don't really matter beyond that. Without Vlad we'd be miles worse off today. What Murrayfield would have meant long-term is likely oblivion.

Yes we know that but what has that got to do with the honesty of CPR and Vlad, which was the question.

Posted

Another thing, the abuse Ann Budge gets for actually saving us compared to this weird Vlad love in is baffling really.