AlimOzturk Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Dr Lager said: He’s got no shame. Wittering on in that irritating watered down weegie whining voice. And utterly clueless when he was in the job himself. Probably guaranteed a lifetime job as a pundit Naismith was a good player for hearts but was to inexperienced for the job as head coach. No point throwing insults at the man - he has never said any thing bad since he left. Crictly showing what an experienced head coach brings. He is an excellent coach. Edited February 2, 2025 by AlimOzturk
VALDOS' Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 After a slow start he's certainly now getting some consistency, let's see what the remaining league games bring, right now i think it's a 3 way battle with Hivs and United for 3rd/4th
HopeDiouf Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 On 21/01/2025 at 11:06, Ricardo Quaresma said: You'd have to be in a position to know that nc is a better tactician than all of our Fans, but you aren't though You make a lot of assumptions, like they'd all want to be Manager of Hearts or Manage at any club You'd have to know all their capabilities as well as nc's capabilities, but you don't There's Fans of our Club that probably have IQs of 165 and above; yet they couldn't school Critchley? They can't be arsed with Football Management, doesn't mean absolutely every Hearts Fan is automatically rubbish at tactics, which is exactly what you're assuming nc hasn't been doing Football tactics for very long and he thoroughly demonstrated that against our next opponents at the same venue that's coming up next and at their place with 10 men for 88 minutes; laughable really Now, let's see if we've got enough to beat deek & killie, something that that Robbie latterly done quite well at, except the 'snoddy' series and I believe deek only got a point from Naisy when refs ignore penalty shouts or dead rubbers, 2 draws deek got, the rest gubbed Theres one thing we do know with absolute 100% certainty . Critchley schooled you yesterday.
Gorgiewave Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 8 hours ago, i8hibsh said: Moussey Spitz Penny Craigy Halks Shanks What others? Penners Granty Jamesy Presumably Fulters, Taiters, Clarky, Stevie. Frankie, Cammy, Beni and Jamie and Barrie (Macca?) are already satisfactorily matey. Calling Kabangu Reg would seal Critchmanov's legend status.
Dallas Green Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 Aye but he's not got a commanding voice folks
Malinga the Swinga Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 3 hours ago, HopeDiouf said: Theres one thing we do know with absolute 100% certainty . Critchley schooled you yesterday. There's some folk that just need ignoring. You found one there
HopeDiouf Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said: There's some folk that just need ignoring. You found one there 👍
NannyMaroon Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 (edited) It was only six nil, calm doon. If we had a big shouty dinosaur who plays fizzical fitba with a big bushy man beard..... Would have been at least 12! Budjoot, McKinley oot, Foundation oot, they're running the club into the ground, let the podcasts take over running the club or it's handbags at the plaza.... Etc, etc. Edited February 2, 2025 by NannyMaroon
JamboGee92 Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 (edited) 4 hours ago, Dougie Masterton said: It doesn’t take a genius to work out who that is. 😢 Didn't put much thought into it, tbh. But I assume it's Ricardo due to the same avatar/DP 😬 Edited February 2, 2025 by Arthur Morgan
Dougie Masterton Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 2 minutes ago, Arthur Morgan said: 😢 Didn't put much thought into it, tbh. But I assume it's Ricardo due to the same avatar/DP 😬 I couldn’t possibly comment.
Fudder74 Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 On 26/01/2025 at 14:22, Ex member of the SaS said: Heard him speak many times and he does not have the type of commanding voice I feel is required to get players motivated. For example a Fergie type do what I say or else. In all my years of looking in at KB from afar, this has to be up there with the most ridiculous comment I’ve ever read. We’re fecked cos NC doesn’t have the voice for it? Jeez
jr ewing Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 5 minutes ago, Fudder74 said: In all my years of looking in at KB from afar, this has to be up there with the most ridiculous comment I’ve ever read. We’re fecked cos NC doesn’t have the voice for it? Jeez Times have changed.
Watt-Zeefuik Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 9 hours ago, jambo19 said: Interesting listening to Elton post match about how both his goals were worked on in training. Good to hear and positive it's then coming together in games. At the start of the season we were so slow in possession and only had 2 attackers (1 being either Forrest or Vargas). Nobody was sure where the goals were coming from. Big improvement under NC Something we couldn't possibly have been putting together when we had midweek games every week, there was simply no time. With an unbalanced squad and little training time he's been third in the points table since he arrived. Thinking about what he can do with plentiful training time and a refreshed squad is genuinely exciting!
Watt-Zeefuik Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 6 minutes ago, Fudder74 said: In all my years of looking in at KB from afar, this has to be up there with the most ridiculous comment I’ve ever read. We’re fecked cos NC doesn’t have the voice for it? Jeez Two of the greatest coaches in the history of US college basketball were Dean Smith and Mike Krzyzewesky. Both of them had the whiniest nasaly voices you've ever heard in your life. Players respond to a manager whom they believe knows what he's doing. Everything else is noise.
Morgan Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 11 hours ago, i8hibsh said: Moussey Spitz Penny Craigy Halks Shanks What others? Ricky.
McCrae Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 4 hours ago, AlimOzturk said: Naismith was a good player for hearts but was to inexperienced for the job as head coach. No point throwing insults at the man - he has never said any thing bad since he left. Crictly showing what an experienced head coach brings. He is an excellent coach. Hearts should never higher a Rookie coach.
Morgan Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 On 26/01/2025 at 14:22, Ex member of the SaS said: Heard him speak many times and he does not have the type of commanding voice I feel is required to get players motivated. For example a Fergie type do what I say or else.
Hømme Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 Heard Neil had one of those voice changing megaphones to make him sound more authoritative.
Percival King Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 22 minutes ago, Fudder74 said: In all my years of looking in at KB from afar, this has to be up there with the most ridiculous comment I’ve ever read. We’re fecked cos NC doesn’t have the voice for it? Jeez I remember being at a Q&A at Tynecastle years ago and Peter Houston was asked about then manager Craig Levein's lack of animation and emotion on the touch line and why he couldn't be more like Jim Jefferies, who had won a cup and been successful with us, as if shouting, protesting, gesturing, constantly moving about was the sure sign of a successful manager. Houston laughed, as did a lot of us. Better to judge a manager on results than on the depth of his voice or how many touchline bans he's had. This isn't the 1960s or 70s.
RENE Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 After yesterday's interview with Hearts Standard think I could listen to him for hours re football.
AC Mallin_51 Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 If and a big if at that, we do finish 3rd - considering where we were when he took over and what he had to sort out, where would that rank in terms of achievements a Hearts manager has produced in the league? It’d surely be up there. Again still big big ifs. I would however now be disappointed if we don’t finish at least 5th which would still be a decent return especially if it lead to a ECL qualifier
heatonjambo Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 13 minutes ago, Percival King said: I remember being at a Q&A at Tynecastle years ago and Peter Houston was asked about then manager Craig Levein's lack of animation and emotion on the touch line and why he couldn't be more like Jim Jefferies, who had won a cup and been successful with us, as if shouting, protesting, gesturing, constantly moving about was the sure sign of a successful manager. Houston laughed, as did a lot of us. Better to judge a manager on results than on the depth of his voice or how many touchline bans he's had. This isn't the 1960s or 70s. As Stefano Salvatore said After looking to the touch line for advice mr Jeffries why do you shout louder and more angrily when we ask what to do
Rogue Daddy Posted February 2, 2025 Posted February 2, 2025 2 minutes ago, RENE said: After yesterday's interview with Hearts Standard think I could listen to him for hours re football. I’ve said since he came to us - it’s refreshing not to get the usual cliches after a result. We’ve now got someone who knows what he’s talking about. If we get beat, he knows how and where to make changes. We’ve got a coach with credibility IMO. Really like the guy.
RobNox Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 Fair play to him tonight, our first 3 penalties were scored by subs. Maybe the guy knows what he is doing.
il Duce McTarkin Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 Best since Sir Jim. Siverware incoming. We got 99 problems but the Critch' aint one.
Pasquale for King Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 49 minutes ago, RobNox said: Fair play to him tonight, our first 3 penalties were scored by subs. Maybe the guy knows what he is doing. Maybe if he had set the team up properly to counteract their tactics, playing those subs from the start we might not have needed to go to penalties. I never understand how managers get a pass for their original tactics by changing them.
tartofmidlothian Posted February 11, 2025 Author Posted February 11, 2025 On 02/02/2025 at 22:22, Rogue Daddy said: I’ve said since he came to us - it’s refreshing not to get the usual cliches after a result. We’ve now got someone who knows what he’s talking about. If we get beat, he knows how and where to make changes. We’ve got a coach with credibility IMO. Really like the guy. He reminds me a bit of Slot and Muslic, just in his general intelligence, demeanor and lack of cliches.
AC Mallin_51 Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 Critchley is a top guy, I am desperate to see him succeed. The job he’s done in the last couple of months is incredible
alfamonkey Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 7 hours ago, Pasquale for King said: Maybe if he had set the team up properly to counteract their tactics, playing those subs from the start we might not have needed to go to penalties. I never understand how managers get a pass for their original tactics by changing them. This. Poor team selection on the right flank and tactically naive in the first half. Got away with only going in 1 down at HT.
HopeDiouf Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 7 hours ago, Pasquale for King said: Maybe if he had set the team up properly to counteract their tactics, playing those subs from the start we might not have needed to go to penalties. I never understand how managers get a pass for their original tactics by changing them. Or maybe we'd have got pumped with that team. We'll never know. What we do know, is the team that Critchley picked did get thru, which is all that matters in a cup tie.
jamboozy Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 I could drum out a cliche about urinating and male appendages, but a wee thought went through my mind last night, if he wanted to show weaknesses we have on our right side, then play the players that may need replacing, I then thought, nah, he just wants Forrest to play as he appears to have a soft spot for him, if he has, he needs to get over it pdq or it will be his undoing. I really like Mr Critchley but his loyalty to certain players is his Achilles heel, Forrest and Shankland to name two, one doesn’t want to be with us the other not good enough to be with us.
bloomtime Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 First half the forrest for musa change was a bad idea. Anyone know why he wasnt in his squad. He just said he isnt in squad when quizzed. He has height pace and tracks back well ideal for this game. Wonder if something happened between them. He blows hot and cold granted but id rather have him than naenecks brother. Why change team after 0 6.
OmiyaHearts Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 1 minute ago, colinmorewasgash said: First half the forrest for musa change was a bad idea. Anyone know why he wasnt in his squad. He just said he isnt in squad when quizzed. He has height pace and tracks back well ideal for this game. Wonder if something happened between them. He blows hot and cold granted but id rather have him than naenecks brother. Why change team after 0 6. He said Forrest trained well and deserved the start, so Musa misses out. Maybe Musa didn't look great in training over the last week? That position on the right is still up for grabs and Forrest has probably had his last shot there, hopefully.
jack D and coke Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 He’s doing good now I feared it was all going wrong not all that long ago so fair play. I didn’t realise just how wee he was until the interview after game last standing next to Halliday and Steven Thompson. Hes fecking tiny
Cruyff Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 Got his selection wrong first half but the subs changed the game. In past months we'd have lost that game. So fair play.
OTT Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 10 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said: He said Forrest trained well and deserved the start, so Musa misses out. Maybe Musa didn't look great in training over the last week? That position on the right is still up for grabs and Forrest has probably had his last shot there, hopefully. Well yet again Forrest has came in, contributed nothing and been a key reason why we've struggled to get a foothold in the game. He can train like Ronaldo for all I care, he shouldn't start another game for us again. A shite winger with no defining qualities. Can barely cross a ball and lacks any actual talent to beat his man. Spent 60 minutes recycling every ball that came to him, instead of trying to do anything positive. His one attempt at a cross had Blair Spittal looking genuinely frustrated. Keep the clown out of the starting 11, and give him the "no future here" talk after the final whistle of the season. Cannot wait to see the back of him.
Cambo_Jambo Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 I have been vocal in saying I don't rate Critchley but he's rammed those words down my throat. taking a fairly ramshackle and unbalanced squad, he's got us playing again, even while the talisman that scored all our goals for the last 2 seasons is towing a caravan and looking like he'd rather be literally anywhere else. While it's annoying that the likes of Forrest are still getting a game, it's a reality of modern football that we need to rotate sometimes and they maybe looked at the pitch and initially decided that throwing in some guys that haven't quite gelled yet with their team was a bad idea. That plus the fact that still need to focus on grabbing league points because while everything is looking far better, we aren't exactly totally clear of trouble so on the balance, would you rather lose a game away at St Mirren in the cup? Would you rather Forest, Forrester and Neilson (much as I rate the latter 2 as prospects) lined up vs Rangers and Hibs in the next few weeks?
OmiyaHearts Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 4 minutes ago, OTT said: Well yet again Forrest has came in, contributed nothing and been a key reason why we've struggled to get a foothold in the game. He can train like Ronaldo for all I care, he shouldn't start another game for us again. A shite winger with no defining qualities. Can barely cross a ball and lacks any actual talent to beat his man. Spent 60 minutes recycling every ball that came to him, instead of trying to do anything positive. His one attempt at a cross had Blair Spittal looking genuinely frustrated. Keep the clown out of the starting 11, and give him the "no future here" talk after the final whistle of the season. Cannot wait to see the back of him. I agree, Forrest not good enough. But if players performances in training don't matter, that is not a good culture to have. Why should anyone bother training hard?
naeclue Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 8 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said: We got 99 problems but the Critch' aint one. Top post.
OTT Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 Just now, OmiyaHearts said: I agree, Forrest not good enough. But if players performances in training don't matter, that is not a good culture to have. Why should anyone bother training hard? Letting a player that isn't good enough start games because he trains hard is farcical. He's got 1 goal and 1 assist in 767 minutes of league football. If NC uses that as the basis to pick his team, then he's tying one arm behind his back. Alan Forrest is shite, and has done precious little this season to dissuade that fact.
jimbojambo Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 Nobody picking up on the improvement in our fitness and albeit with clever substitutions we are no longer running out of steam in the second half. Finally got a wee bit of luck against a determined outfit and hoping it continues now until the Final.
gwd1957 Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 7 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said: I agree, Forrest not good enough. But if players performances in training don't matter, that is not a good culture to have. Why should anyone bother training hard? 8 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said: I agree, Forrest not good enough. But if players performances in training don't matter, that is not a good culture to have. Why should anyone bother training hard? Surely Oda is worth a chance in front of useless Forrest, Musa must have done something to be dropped from squad?
One five Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 17 minutes ago, gwd1957 said: Surely Oda is worth a chance in front of useless Forrest, Musa must have done something to be dropped from squad? Was surprised Musa was dropped. Forrest is a waste of a jersey imo.
LeylandJambo Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 Critchley is doing a brilliant job imo he's brought a togetherness into the squad which has been missing for some time.
Carter Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 41 minutes ago, OTT said: Well yet again Forrest has came in, contributed nothing and been a key reason why we've struggled to get a foothold in the game. He can train like Ronaldo for all I care, he shouldn't start another game for us again. A shite winger with no defining qualities. Can barely cross a ball and lacks any actual talent to beat his man. Spent 60 minutes recycling every ball that came to him, instead of trying to do anything positive. His one attempt at a cross had Blair Spittal looking genuinely frustrated. Keep the clown out of the starting 11, and give him the "no future here" talk after the final whistle of the season. Cannot wait to see the back of him. The whole midfield was woeful in the first half. Shankland dropping deep as ever due to his lack of legs was also unable to get us any foothold. Ultimately its a great outcome and a decent draw in the QF, but that was awful last night and on another day we're easily eliminated playing as badly as that.
boag1874 Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 1 hour ago, OmiyaHearts said: I agree, Forrest not good enough. But if players performances in training don't matter, that is not a good culture to have. Why should anyone bother training hard? Correct. The attitude should be "I don't care who you are, if you don't take it seriously you're not playing". He's creating a culture of hard work, grit & determination - every great Hearts team has been built on that.
Pasquale for King Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 2 hours ago, HopeDiouf said: Or maybe we'd have got pumped with that team. We'll never know. What we do know, is the team that Critchley picked did get thru, which is all that matters in a cup tie. After playing into their hands with the performance, something he admitted afterwards. Next time we go there he has to show hes learnt the lessons.
Australis Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 (edited) 1 hour ago, LeylandJambo said: Critchley is doing a brilliant job imo he's brought a togetherness into the squad which has been missing for some time. Delighted for him. Can't wait until the summer window to see what type of player he wants, who is recommended to him and who he picks. Plus getting rid of the deadwood who will no longer be able to cling on and give zilch back. Edited February 11, 2025 by Australis
Pasquale for King Posted February 11, 2025 Posted February 11, 2025 1 hour ago, jimbojambo said: Nobody picking up on the improvement in our fitness and albeit with clever substitutions we are no longer running out of steam in the second half. Finally got a wee bit of luck against a determined outfit and hoping it continues now until the Final. Good point, apart from the Captain who was blowing out his arse even after conserving energy for most of the game.