Shankland our captain

Posted

It's actually tough to watch.. I have no idea what has happened to Shanks. I don't buy the unfit/overweight stuff.. to me it's just confidence/psychological. He's missing chances he would have buried over the last 2 seasons. IMO the euros debacle because of Clarke and then no teams putting in an offer for him has screwed his head. But we not got any other options so hopefully he gets a tap in and his confidence picks up.

• Replies 698

• Ricardo Quaresma

• Thomaso

• DixieNormous

MR INCREDIBLE
Posted

Threw the armband at Gordon !!!!

Ran of the pitch ( we’re winning what’s the rush)

Not one glance to the fans !!!!

Shocking captain!!

Kent captain now !🇱🇻🇱🇻

Mr Brightside
Posted
35 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Actually its 3 assists, wasn’t great, absolutely ****ing awful, the worst player on the park of either team. 
He needs dropped and replaced in January as he of little use to us in his present state at this moment in time. 

It’s 4 assists, 3 in the league and 1 in Europe, which is more than the 1 you stated.

If we had other options we could rotate him out but Boyce, Wilson or Vargas are likely to give us less output than Shankland.

Posted
2 minutes ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Shocking captain!!

Kent captain now !🇱🇻🇱🇻

Funny how he got a standing ovation

Posted
2 hours ago, soonbe110 said:

Apart from his lack of goals he isn’t doing anything else    Ball isn’t sticking to him these days, he isn’t winning any races, missing chances he should score    Missed target from 12 yards in first half today   Last season it’s a goal   

Happens to all strikers but he still links play well 

Posted
2 hours ago, gwd1957 said:

He had a stinker ,he's getting worse game by game ,no heart no desire .

Bit harsh. He's having a very spell. To say he has no heart or desire is completely wrong. You need to have look at yourself.  He's lazy YES, no heart or desire NO. GET A GRIP

Posted

I'll keep saying it, but the biggest mistake Shankland will make is leaving Heart of Midlothian. 

Sometimes club & player just work. I don't think he'll find the same success and adoration elsewhere. Pay cheque might be a bit better, but its not like the offer we've put in front of him will make him a pauper. 

He's a grafter going through a really shit spell at the moment. We really need a penalty to try and get his confidence back. 

IMHO he's been woefully advised by his agent, the dream move West isn't happening. I don't think many big clubs will be interested in him in the summer, and my fear is that he boxes himself into a situation where he feels obligated to leave because of a bit of pride/ having rejected our (very good) offers. 

The club know his quality, get a decent contract negotiated and put this nonsense to bed. Get back and focused on his football and things will click back into place. 

south morocco
Posted
3 minutes ago, OTT said:

I'll keep saying it, but the biggest mistake Shankland will make is leaving Heart of Midlothian. 

Sometimes club & player just work. I don't think he'll find the same success and adoration elsewhere. Pay cheque might be a bit better, but its not like the offer we've put in front of him will make him a pauper. 

He's a grafter going through a really shit spell at the moment. We really need a penalty to try and get his confidence back. 

IMHO he's been woefully advised by his agent, the dream move West isn't happening. I don't think many big clubs will be interested in him in the summer, and my fear is that he boxes himself into a situation where he feels obligated to leave because of a bit of pride/ having rejected our (very good) offers. 

The club know his quality, get a decent contract negotiated and put this nonsense to bed. Get back and focused on his football and things will click back into place. 

It’ll be interesting though see where he ends up and what he does, he’s not staying with us. . Like the others out of contract in the summer, we are really just going through the motions right now, going forward we have to stagger contracts to avoid the same scenario 

Posted
1 hour ago, GinRummy said:

It’s not an option mate. Just leave Gordon captain if shanks is off the pitch. 

Fine by me 👍🏻

Posted
1 hour ago, Mr Brightside said:

It’s 4 assists, 3 in the league and 1 in Europe, which is more than the 1 you stated.

If we had other options we could rotate him out but Boyce, Wilson or Vargas are likely to give us less output than Shankland.

Wow its 4 🤦🏽. Eh Wilson and Vargas are on 2 goals each in less games 🤪
They're also about the weight they should be, not 1-2 stone overweight, oh and happy to stay at the club.

Posted
34 minutes ago, south morocco said:

It’ll be interesting though see where he ends up and what he does, he’s not staying with us. . Like the others out of contract in the summer, we are really just going through the motions right now, going forward we have to stagger contracts to avoid the same scenario 

I think moving forward it will be more about getting players out the door when you want them to, achieving sales on players at the right time and price, with an adequate replacement lined up. 
In hindsight we should’ve informed teams we would take £2-3m for him in the summer and tried to get an auction going amongst lower end Championsip clubs. 

Posted
1 hour ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Shocking captain!!

Kent captain now !🇱🇻🇱🇻

Hes ruining his legacy with his constant huffs and poor play. For last few seasons he was brilliant was going down as legend but whatever reason something changed, he looks unfit, looks  uninterested and now his overall confidence looks shot to pieces. Its all very well downing tools or being frustrated but surely if you want your dream move you would want to prove folk and clarke wrong and show your worth but this season his attitude is bad and anyone wanting him would surely think twice. At this rate he'll end up back at sheep or utd never mind sevco. He will defo be out scotland squad soon.

Jean Louis Valois
Posted

I feel sorry for him. He is going through probably the worst spell of his career after an Incredible 2 seasons for us, and he will be utterly p1ssed off about it. Which is obvious in his demeanor and performances at the moment. Supporters are far too precious these days, moaning about how he is disrespecting the club and the fans. How exactly? He basically dragged us into Europe last season. Short memories.

MR INCREDIBLE
Posted
17 minutes ago, Jean Louis Valois said:

I feel sorry for him. He is going through probably the worst spell of his career after an Incredible 2 seasons for us, and he will be utterly p1ssed off about it. Which is obvious in his demeanor and performances at the moment. Supporters are far too precious these days, moaning about how he is disrespecting the club and the fans. How exactly? He basically dragged us into Europe last season. Short memories.

You have admitted yourself that his demeanour is wrong !

That means there is no way he should captain our great club 🇱🇻🇱🇻🇱🇻

Posted
1 hour ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Shocking captain!!

Kent captain now !🇱🇻🇱🇻

He should never had been Captain, a bad decision. 

Posted
2 hours ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Shocking captain!!

Kent captain now !🇱🇻🇱🇻

That was really poor. Prob should have scored in first half. Had some really poor touches which were a couple of bloopers in the air

Craighearts79
Posted

Agree with most of the opinions that Shank's hasn't really clicked so far this year, today was his worst performance of the season so far imo. As some say on here his general play, 1st touch, link up play has been Ok, but today, really poor 1st touch, sclaffed his shot and looked completely bereft of confidence. Don't think he'll feel any better when he was subbed for Grant! Sure, looks like we were trying to hold on, but can you imagine.....GRANT! **** ME!!...

We'll all have to hope the NC can inject some confidence into him for the next few games, as we're all aware Strikers are confidence players, and we just don't have any other viable options at the minute.... some saying Boyce should come in, but pretty sure NC has figured his time has come and gone...Vargas, at the minute much better as an impact player later in games against tired defenders, or when playing teams who play with a high line where he can use his pace driving into open spaces behind.... Young Wilson, just that...will benefit more coming off the bench, again NC has experience working with youth and will know better than us when he's ready for further exposure.

So, it'll have to be Shankland or Shankland.... unless NC springs a surprise on us.... again having no competition for your place in the side doesn't help either, as players will even testify for themselves....

Posted

I actually think he’s playing well, accept his goals have dried up but that will come, Shankland hasn’t turned into a bad player his confidence is for whatever reason low, I say keep the faith 

Posted

No sane person could watch that game today and tell me he’s not trying or doesn’t care. Quite clear to me that he’s very frustrated and he has absolutely zero confidence in himself scoring a goal. Pretty convinced he’s carrying an injury too. I think he’ll get a goal soon and go on a nice run.

Posted
2 hours ago, colinmorewasgash said:

Hes ruining his legacy with his constant huffs and poor play. For last few seasons he was brilliant was going down as legend but whatever reason something changed, he looks unfit, looks  uninterested and now his overall confidence looks shot to pieces. Its all very well downing tools or being frustrated but surely if you want your dream move you would want to prove folk and clarke wrong and show your worth but this season his attitude is bad and anyone wanting him would surely think twice. At this rate he'll end up back at sheep or utd never mind sevco. He will defo be out scotland squad soon.

This is so wrong, what dream move are you talking about, Rangers are not interested never have been, the press would have been all over this if he was signing a pre contract.

Rangers aren’t sure who their manager will be soon, Shankland is ours his form is off but I’m convinced it will return 

Posted

His passing and touch have been so hit and miss recently. His travelling with the ball, outwith the box, is horrific though. He can play wee dinks round the corner like St Mirren then have woefully passing and touches like today.

Posted

He's clearly struggling with form and confidence but he's class so he'll bounce back. Better supporting the guy than getting on his case.

Posted
12 hours ago, Chimp said:

Vargas. Guaranteed 100% effort and scored a few goals recently for club and country, unlike Shankland.

the boy is paper thin

Posted

See these folk saying “he’s clearly trying and working really hard”

Really? He barely moves now, barely runs, can’t control it, can’t pass, can’t link play, can’t shoot, doesn’t try and cajole the team, doesn’t acknowledge the fans, disappears up tunnels straight away, chucks armbands away…

It’s utter petulance at times and the unprofessionalism to be in the condition he is is really poor. It’s never recovering for him this season at Tynie, there is no run of goals coming, he has checked out, is a liability and should be moved on in Jan ASAP.

It’s a shame what has happened and if he’s going though personal issues etc then hopefully it all works out for the lad but it’s over at Hearts - could see him genuinely getting booed at Tynie soon with these utterly pitiful displays and the relationship with the fans completely breaking down.

Thanks for the outstanding 2 seasons but these things happen in football. 

Posted

I’d be fascinated to know the finances behind the contract Shankland was offered and the release clause. He could have been on a higher salary and if playing well, the possibility of getting a move in January (or even last Summer) if the release clause was met. Simplistically like the Craig Gordon contract before Sunderland.

The positive for Hearts is if he was playing like this with a new highly paid contract, the criticism would be even higher.

If he keeps playing like he is, his next offer is going to be nowhere near the level it would have been last Summer. Unless there is something agreed already in principle and he is just biding his time.

Posted
3 hours ago, cosanostra said:

He's clearly struggling with form and confidence but he's class so he'll bounce back. Better supporting the guy than getting on his case.

Spot on! Every striker has a dip in form, but he's already proved what he can do. Once the first goal goes in he'll be back to the old Shanks again. Getting behind him is more likely to spur him on.

Posted

Nobody should be guaranteed a starting place, whether they're the captain or not. 

He's struggling for goals, so we need to give someone else a run to see what they can do. 

1 goal in 16 is an awful return for any striker at any team. He should be rested and made to earn his place back just like any other player. 

Posted

Posted

👍👍.  I said this in another thread. Back him and support him.

unfortunately (like every support) we have an element that just have to be hating. Hibs have it with Youan too. It’s fine to say he’s struggling etc but some of the stuff written is well off. 

Id love nothing more than for Shanks to score the winning goal this Thursday and then he will go on a run.

The keyboard warriors wouldn’t know wether to rage or celebrate.

Posted
11 hours ago, south morocco said:

Out of interest, who are all out of contract in the summer?

Posted

Well said

Posted
16 minutes ago, Firefox said:

Spot on! Every striker has a dip in form, but he's already proved what he can do. Once the first goal goes in he'll be back to the old Shanks again. Getting behind him is more likely to spur him on.

The fans are getting behind him on numerous occasions and he just walks off every time he is subbed and completely ignores them.

Shankland needs to have a long long look in the mirror and try to identify what he needs to do and if that means being proactive with Critchley and divulging personal issues/getting mental health support/taking time away/out the team/going on an ad hoc fitness bootcamp during the upcoming break/getting clarity from his agent etc - it needs done ASAP

Folk saying he’ll come good are basing it on blind faith with no real tangible evidence behind it. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Captain Canada said:

Nobody should be guaranteed a starting place, whether they're the captain or not. 

He's struggling for goals, so we need to give someone else a run to see what they can do. 

1 goal in 16 is an awful return for any striker at any team. He should be rested and made to earn his place back just like any other player. 

I actually think benching him will do the world of good for kick starting the season for him. It may make him hungrier. 

One thing that's annoying me about Shankland atm is how easily he gives up and throws a sort of mini tantrum because things aren't going his way. It's so very frustrating to watch such a talented player waste such potential. Sure, he's having a terrible start to the season, but at least do the basics on and off the ball and chances will come. 

Posted

His discipline is poor and his attitude matches it.

A very poor captain but thanks to the YTS dipshits and tattie heid he is undroppable as there is nothing better.

Posted
22 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

👍👍.  I said this in another thread. Back him and support him.

unfortunately (like every support) we have an element that just have to be hating. Hibs have it with Youan too. It’s fine to say he’s struggling etc but some of the stuff written is well off. 

Id love nothing more than for Shanks to score the winning goal this Thursday and then he will go on a run.

The keyboard warriors wouldn’t know wether to rage or celebrate.

Wow, so people can’t be critical of a players performance and have to be classed as ‘haters’

FWIW, I think at this level, Shankland is a fantastic player. For whatever reason at present his head seems to have gone as has some fitness and sharpness.

That could be down to several reasons

- Clarke taking the piss out of him in his use at the Euros

- Expecting offers in the summer that didn’t come in for him

- Head gone over the advice he is getting from his agents

- Regretting not taking the offer made to him

- He can’t be arsed with us as he thinks we screwed him out of a move due to our asking price

At present the burden of captaincy and leadership should be removed from him to help him concentrate on getting his own game back without having to worry about the bigger picture.

The fan’s frustration is IMO down to the fact that for whatever reason our previous management team decided to put all our striking option eggs in a Shankland shaped basket with a 34 year old as a Plan B. At any other club he’d be dropped to try and give him a bit of head space.

Posted
12 hours ago, zeke1874 said:

It's actually tough to watch.. I have no idea what has happened to Shanks. I don't buy the unfit/overweight stuff.. to me it's just confidence/psychological. He's missing chances he would have buried over the last 2 seasons. IMO the euros debacle because of Clarke and then no teams putting in an offer for him has screwed his head. But we not got any other options so hopefully he gets a tap in and his confidence picks up.

3 clubs were interested in signing Shanklsnd ,but would not meet Hearts asking price ,Shankland was aware of the interest and was disappointed Hearts didn't accept a lower price for him 

Posted

I still think he is a top player and top finisher,

Although I do think back to a couple of seasons ago, Shankland was having a poor run of form at the start of the season, i think he had only a couple of goals and I remember him getting dropped in the Celtic game at Tynecastle, pretty sure he came on at HT and scored a hattrick in that match, I think something like that needs to be done again, He needs to know that if he isn't pulling his weight, He should not be undroppable, Captain or not, No one should be undroppable if they put in a series of average or poor performances imo.

Can't see it happening but I geniunely think it might just give him the boot up the bum that he needs to start contributing with goals again.

Posted
10 minutes ago, gwd1957 said:

3 clubs were interested in signing Shanklsnd ,but would not meet Hearts asking price ,Shankland was aware of the interest and was disappointed Hearts didn't accept a lower price for him 

McKinley categorically stated that not one offer or note of interest had been made for Shankland.

So was he lying(again)?

Posted
13 hours ago, zeke1874 said:

Pretty much agree with this.

I think the effort is there, just not always channelled in the right areas. He didn't make a wrong decision around the box last season, can't make a right one so far this season

Posted
15 minutes ago, merseyjambo said:

Wow, so people can’t be critical of a players performance and have to be classed as ‘haters’

you probably need to read my post again.

Posted
29 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

His discipline is poor and his attitude matches it.

A very poor captain but thanks to the YTS dipshits and tattie heid he is undroppable as there is nothing better.

Must be close to a suspension 

Posted
15 minutes ago, gwd1957 said:

Joe Savage stated on Podcast that no one came in with an offer for Shankland.

HMFC are entitled to set their asking price.

If this is why Shankland isn’t working at the moment, that says a lot about his character or lack of it.

Posted
2 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

you probably need to read my post again.

No I read it several times thank you. 

People are frustrated by the situation and are venting. That doesn’t make them haters. Looking at what most people are saying, the seem to think the problem, is down to his lack of fitness, his attitude or him not trying. 

People are entitled to their opinions as they just want the club to succeed.

At any other club, he’d be dropped and the captaincy taken from him. We’re not in a position to drop him due to our lack of options but I do think that removing the burden of captaincy is something we can do to try to help him.

Posted

I don't think his demeanour is that different to before. He's always been one of these players that looks pissed and uninterested, I think that's just him. We didn't scrutinise it the last two seasons because he was scoring all the time. His confidence is shot to pieces and he maybe does need a rest but he's been the best striker we've had in decades so he deserves some leniency to pull it back together. Otherwise, what sort of supporters are we?

Posted

If we had recieved a late £6m bid for Shanks in the summer and sold him, what was our back up plan? Did we have a replacement striker in the pipeline for this scenario?

Posted

If he keeps playing the way he is doing just now. Would happily take 400/300k for him in January!  

Posted
1 hour ago, gregzy2k7 said:

I still think he is a top player and top finisher,

Although I do think back to a couple of seasons ago, Shankland was having a poor run of form at the start of the season, i think he had only a couple of goals and I remember him getting dropped in the Celtic game at Tynecastle, pretty sure he came on at HT and scored a hattrick in that match, I think something like that needs to be done again, He needs to know that if he isn't pulling his weight, He should not be undroppable, Captain or not, No one should be undroppable if they put in a series of average or poor performances imo.

Can't see it happening but I geniunely think it might just give him the boot up the bum that he needs to start contributing with goals again.

Shanks scored a pen in the first half.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

If we had recieved a late £6m bid for Shanks in the summer and sold him, what was our back up plan? Did we have a replacement striker in the pipeline for this scenario?

Who on here are you expecting to have the real answer to that ?

Posted
3 minutes ago, Drylaw Hearts said:

Who on here are you expecting to have the real answer to that ?

Who on here can give us the real answer to anything! 🙄

Posted
11 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

Shanks scored a pen in the first half.

Fair one, but he did come off the bench, so was technically dropped.