keifrb Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Not got enough, with no scope for improvement. Still making the same errors, and cannot pass a ball more than 10 yards without it being intercepted. Thankfully game time will be limited with Calum and Beni returning. Honestly I'd rather play Tait. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thumperbeni Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 I’ve said it time and time again, anyone who has played football at any kind of decent standard and knows the game will see Devlin for what he’s worth, a player to energise a team with 10/15 mins to go in a game, a player to come off the bench and galvanise the team, he is not a player we can rely on to start a game and have any kind of positive impact. He’s not good enough and his stupid foul led to them scoring, he will never learn and is the most frustrating player to watch, knew he would be involved in something negative today and as always I am right. Praying the manager can see this and makes his mind up about him going forward. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Thought he was decent Thursday and decent first half today, very poor 2nd half, we just want to slaughter players every week. I'm sure we will replace a lot of players including Devlin in any case next few windows Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Montpelier Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Like his tasmanian devil attitude. Covers a lot of ground but seems to have a daft moment most matches. Happy as a squad player. But is behind Hoff, Beni, Boateng in the engine room if all fit. Suspect very effectual in occasions where we need fresh legs to pack the midfield and see out games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Debut 4 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 15 minutes ago, soonbe110 said: Passing rate may be the best in the league. Doesn’t change the fact that 95% of them are less than five yard passes and are either sideways or backwards. Which is true but his perception of knowing when to cover is priceless. Hearts will move on when they find more balanced midfielders(we may have one in the Hoff) but until then I wouldn’t be rushing Devlin out the door. We need to have ambition to be better but we also need to have the judgement of knowing our current level before we know we can move on without hindering ourselves. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
soonbe110 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Just now, Debut 4 said: Which is true but his perception of knowing when to cover is priceless. Hearts will move on when they find more balanced midfielders(we may have one in the Hoff) but until then I wouldn’t be rushing Devlin out the door. We need to have ambition to be better but we also need to have the judgement of knowing our current level before we know we can move on without hindering ourselves. With Beni, Boateng and Hof we are covered. Devlin, Grant, Denholm, Tait all can play there. Probably need to lose 2/3 of them and bring in one more strong player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Just now, soonbe110 said: With Beni, Boateng and Hof we are covered. Devlin, Grant, Denholm, Tait all can play there. Probably need to lose 2/3 of them and bring in one more strong player. I think that’s a fair argument. We have numbers but scratch below the surface and we lack quality in certain positions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScandinavianJambo Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 21 minutes ago, soonbe110 said: Passing rate may be the best in the league. Doesn’t change the fact that 95% of them are less than five yard passes and are either sideways or backwards. Okay you just be right and Neil is wrong. Happy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 5 minutes ago, Debut 4 said: Which is true but his perception of knowing when to cover is priceless. Hearts will move on when they find more balanced midfielders(we may have one in the Hoff) but until then I wouldn’t be rushing Devlin out the door. We need to have ambition to be better but we also need to have the judgement of knowing our current level before we know we can move on without hindering ourselves. Great post Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dana Scully Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 I think you could teach Tait to add some of what Devlin does to his game. It’s been three years and Devlin hasn’t managed to improve his passing or composure on the ball. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScandinavianJambo Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 1 hour ago, Arthur Morgan said: What a well thought out reply! If you have nothing to contribute, what's the point? I'm not for one second saying Grant is good enough, but he has more ability than Devlin. I have contributed enough on this thread already. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 6 minutes ago, soonbe110 said: With Beni, Boateng and Hof we are covered. Devlin, Grant, Denholm, Tait all can play there. Probably need to lose 2/3 of them and bring in one more strong player. Our issue though is although that looks like a lot of players, Beni is lucky to make 70% of games and can rarely do 90 mins and Hoff feels like a Haring situation at this point. An injury to Boateng and what's left? Denholm is already out on loan and Grant has mostly been terrible playing deep (apart from against the OF, weirdly). If all were fit though, I'd lose Denholm and Grant from that list. If Tait makes it then yeah, Devlin next to go, but we are quite far away from either of those to situations. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arthur Morgan Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 8 minutes ago, ScandinavianJambo said: I have contributed enough on this thread already. Yet you reply with emojis to something you disagree with? How old are you? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
soonbe110 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 3 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: Our issue though is although that looks like a lot of players, Beni is lucky to make 70% of games and can rarely do 90 mins and Hoff feels like a Haring situation at this point. An injury to Boateng and what's left? Denholm is already out on loan and Grant has mostly been terrible playing deep (apart from against the OF, weirdly). If all were fit though, I'd lose Denholm and Grant from that list. If Tait makes it then yeah, Devlin next to go, but we are quite far away from either of those to situations. Whatever, he isn’t the solution to any of midfield requirements imo. Offers nothing but energy and at times too much of it. Critchley will know of any number of better replacements. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dana Scully Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 6 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: Hoff feels like a Haring situation at this point ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hmfc_liam06 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 22 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: Thought he was decent Thursday and decent first half today, very poor 2nd half, we just want to slaughter players every week. I'm sure we will replace a lot of players including Devlin in any case next few windows I think it’s fair to point out his deficiencies and how it’s harming the overall team. He continually killed momentum today and he will continue to do so as he just doesn’t have what our other midfielders have. I love the guy, his energy and passion. And he has his uses but we need more. He’s getting left behind. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian Black 8 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Boyle was gone nowhere Cammy should’ve just stood he’s let him turn n taken him down was pretty school boy defending knowing what Boyle was looking for in that situation 🤷🏻♂️ they kind of fouls need to be in the Hibs half no near ur own goals otherwise we will be punished Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wavydavy Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 2 hours ago, AGoodLaugh said: He just has games that suit him and games that don't. Thought he was very good on Thursday and very poor today - but I could say that about half the team! I don't see how you thought he was good on Thursday. He runs about like a headless chicken gives away needless fouls and rarely passes the ball forward. I know Critchley was prasing him but that was probably because he thought he might have to play him today with Beni being ill. He has the odd decent game a bit like Grant but these are two of the first players we should be looking to replace. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScandinavianJambo Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Arthur Morgan said: Yet you reply with emojis to something you disagree with? How old are you? Apparently old enough to wind you up. Let's just say that I do not agree with you. At all. And I do not think Grant is pish either. Just sub material and more of a liability than Devlin. Edited October 27, 2024 by ScandinavianJambo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 14 minutes ago, Dana Scully said: ? Seems to be endlessly 'just a few weeks away'. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RustyRightPeg Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 13 minutes ago, Ian Black 8 said: Boyle was gone nowhere Cammy should’ve just stood he’s let him turn n taken him down was pretty school boy defending knowing what Boyle was looking for in that situation 🤷🏻♂️ they kind of fouls need to be in the Hibs half no near ur own goals otherwise we will be punished It’s the sort of thing that the likes of you would have players up against the wall in the changing room for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skacelsid Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Have always defended Devlin but he was poor today. Spittal and Dhanda were also below their best today but will be back. Tait should now be getting game time, he is better all round than Cammy or Grant. Hopefully Beni and Hoff are going to be regularly available soon too, that would give NC better options. It was very scrappy today but we can get back on the rails midweek. Not a bad week at all tho for NC. Well done. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arthur Morgan Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 9 minutes ago, ScandinavianJambo said: Apparently old enough to wind you up. Let's just say that I do not agree with you. At all. And I do not think Grant is pish either. Just sub material and more of a liability than Devlin. You weren't winding me up. I was calling you out for replying like a child. You could have said that to begin with, no? Grant for me has more footballing ability than Devlin, although I agree he has been a liability at times due to his decision making when it comes to getting sent off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 2 hours ago, ScandinavianJambo said: This is an unpleasant thread. I said it already he can be a bombscare when overexcited....which lead to their goal (unacceptable). But Neil highlighted Devlin's ability after the European win, but hey all on here know better. Let's slag another player, and one that has one of the best passing rates and loves our club. Threads like this are sh*** Yes, in your opinion. Please however bear in mind that this is a Hearts forum for Hearts fans to discuss, and offer opinions on, Hearts players and all other related matters concerning the club. If you don’t like the thread title and/or it’s content, please, feel free to just skip by it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 17 minutes ago, soonbe110 said: Whatever, he isn’t the solution to any of midfield requirements imo. Offers nothing but energy and at times too much of it. Critchley will know of any number of better replacements. Boateng was already bought to replace him, so it's not like we haven't already identified we can do better (like we should with every player). However, we don't have anyone else fit to play with Boateng. Critchley might know replacements, but Jamestown will be putting that list together on every player in our squad. In any case, he offers way more than 'too much energy'. That's just completely untrue. He is limited creatively, but breaks up play and forces the opposition to leave space for our creative players very effectively. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dana Scully Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 34 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: Seems to be endlessly 'just a few weeks away'. According to who? Two months ago Naismith he wouldn't be in contention for a squad place until late November. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dana Scully Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 21 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: forces the opposition to leave space for our creative players very effectively He stifled our creativity today. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaddysBar Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 I like Devlin but he won’t be getting a game once nieuwenhof and Beni are fit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 13 minutes ago, Dana Scully said: According to who? Two months ago Naismith he wouldn't be in contention for a squad place until late November. After saying a few weeks before that that he'd be back in a few weeks. He's had his comeback delayed 3 times already and has been out for a very long time for what was never described as a long term injury. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 14 minutes ago, Dana Scully said: He stifled our creativity today. ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 18 minutes ago, Dana Scully said: He stifled our creativity today. I don’t see where you get that from. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hmfc_liam06 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 2 minutes ago, Morgan said: I don’t see where you get that from. Because every pass he made literally went backwards. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 He was fine today, wouldn’t have started if Beni was fit but he was fine. Not sure if the haters were at the actual game but he does a hell of a lot off the ball. Not seen on a tv Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 23 minutes ago, Dana Scully said: He stifled our creativity today. what are u on about ? Jesus what garbage Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GinRummy Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 24 minutes ago, Dana Scully said: According to who? Two months ago Naismith he wouldn't be in contention for a squad place until late November. “Calem is probably a few weeks yet, I would’ve thought. I spoke to him in the gym the other day and you can see he’s desperate to get back. He’s had a setback and it’s not been ideal, so I don’t want to put any due pressure on” Neil Critchley 18th October. Hopefully soon 🤞 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
briever Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 3 hours ago, ScandinavianJambo said: Not what Neil said after playing the Cypriots on Thursday. He picked him out for special praise, highlighting Devlin's passing accuracy. But, everyone on here knows better then the gaffer. However, Devlin can be rash when excited and giving away free kicks on days like today is unecaserry and lead to the goal. He needs to learn to reign himself in. Give it a rest - managers pick out players that need confidence boosts - their words dont always match reality. Devlin isn't good enough - handy player on the bench if you want to close out a game by passing the ball backwards - but nowhere near the standard we need. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dana Scully Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 8 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: ? 3 minutes ago, Morgan said: I don’t see where you get that from. We were moving the ball quickly in triangles to create space for one of the midfielders. When the third player in the triangle was Devlin, rather than be aware he had space to turn and move forward he always passed the ball back the way it came. Hibs cottoned on to that after about 15 minutes and started closing down Boateng to ensure Devlin was the free midfielder. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 5 minutes ago, Morgan said: I don’t see where you get that from. 2 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said: Because every pass he made literally went backwards. 1 minute ago, 1971fozzy said: what are u on about ? Jesus what garbage Opinions eh? 🤭 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dana Scully Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 1 minute ago, GinRummy said: “Calem is probably a few weeks yet, I would’ve thought. I spoke to him in the gym the other day and you can see he’s desperate to get back. He’s had a setback and it’s not been ideal, so I don’t want to put any due pressure on” Neil Critchley 18th October. Hopefully soon 🤞 👍🏻 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 11 minutes ago, GinRummy said: “Calem is probably a few weeks yet, I would’ve thought. I spoke to him in the gym the other day and you can see he’s desperate to get back. He’s had a setback and it’s not been ideal, so I don’t want to put any due pressure on” Neil Critchley 18th October. Hopefully soon 🤞 Really hope so. For me he'd become our best midfielder last season. Our win % with and without him since he signed is incredible. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RustyRightPeg Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 14 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said: He was fine today, wouldn’t have started if Beni was fit but he was fine. Not sure if the haters were at the actual game but he does a hell of a lot off the ball. Not seen on a tv He was “fine” yeah. But we didn’t control the game because he doesn’t have that in his repertoire and then he did his usual, giving a stupid foul away getting booked in the process which resulted in a goal. We’d been struggling from set pieces all day, why on earth he’s tried to win the ball in that situation is beyond me, and most Hearts fans with eyes and a brain. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dusty Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 4 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said: Neilson & Naismith? Aye nae bother Two Managers who took us to third comfortably in the league along with semi finals and championships (Neilson) - I think I’d trust their judgement Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spacerjoe Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 13 minutes ago, Dana Scully said: We were moving the ball quickly in triangles to create space for one of the midfielders. When the third player in the triangle was Devlin, rather than be aware he had space to turn and move forward he always passed the ball back the way it came. Hibs cottoned on to that after about 15 minutes and started closing down Boateng to ensure Devlin was the free midfielder. We had numerous chances beyond 15 mins to put a final ball in but failed to do that with any quality. Numerous. Spittal, Dhanda, Shankland, Vargas, Oyegoke were all culpable for this. We fell down in the final third today (where Devlin doesn't play). I don't think Devlin had a particularly good game today, but bar Penrice and Wilson (purely for his goal), I'm struggling to think who did? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DS98 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Devlin’s tenacity is definitely an asset that not many other teams have. He has the ability to win the ball when it doesn’t seem possible. He made tackles today that got us on the front foot and started counter attacks. He just can’t seem to identify when it’s on or not. If he made that foul on the halfway line then fine, no issues. But how a professional footballer can’t see that being rash in the tackle in our own final 3rd is stupid, I don’t know. The one in the first half was even worse. Luckily Dwight Gayle is a donkey. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Debut 4 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Until we get overwhelmingly better overall midfielders I wouldn’t be rushing Devlin out the door. For instance, he’s rarely injured. Say he and Beni were both missing today, who’s filling in? Who’s breaking up play? Reading when to cover his team mates out of position? Some fans just don’t see it, it’s incredible. Aye, he’s not Paul Hartley or has the passing ability of Stevie Fulton but the lad plays a very undermined role. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamb04life Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Devlin is a limited player who does a job with 100% effort which is difficult to fault. He gave away silly fouls today and i had a feeling they would score from a crossed ball. Lack of discipline from him today unfortunately Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 22 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: He was “fine” yeah. But we didn’t control the game because he doesn’t have that in his repertoire and then he did his usual, giving a stupid foul away getting booked in the process which resulted in a goal. We’d been struggling from set pieces all day, why on earth he’s tried to win the ball in that situation is beyond me, and most Hearts fans with eyes and a brain. never mind we couldn’t successfully defend their goal. Fouls are given away all over the pitch. Devlins game is always going to give away free kicks. Many players in many teams do this. It’s a given and part of their game. Hardly surprising. He gives us plenty positives Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 2 minutes ago, Jamb04life said: Devlin is a limited player who does a job with 100% effort which is difficult to fault. He gave away silly fouls today and i had a feeling they would score from a crossed ball. Lack of discipline from him today unfortunately That is exactly the point of the thread. 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dana Scully Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 23 minutes ago, spacerjoe said: We had numerous chances beyond 15 mins to put a final ball in but failed to do that with any quality. Numerous. Spittal, Dhanda, Shankland, Vargas, Oyegoke were all culpable for this. We fell down in the final third today (where Devlin doesn't play). I don't think Devlin had a particularly good game today, but bar Penrice and Wilson (purely for his goal), I'm struggling to think who did? We could have blown them away in those first twenty minutes with a better footballer beside Boateng. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gorgiewave Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 (edited) He's a good high-energy ballwinner. Otherwise very limited. His bookings-per-game ratio must be ridiculous. He's had 33 bookings and one red card in 111 appearances. Six goals. He changed the semi-final in 2022 after coming on. We couldn't get out of our own box and he added the energy and in-their-faceness we needed. Edited October 27, 2024 by Gorgiewave Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...