Posted
1 hour ago, boag1874 said:

It's not so much that he was raging at not getting the corner - that's fair enough we'd have been raging had that been us too - but more that he had such a pathetic meltdown over it that he refused to show the tiniest bit of respect to the opposition after a tough match.

Once he'd made his feelings clear to the ref he could easily have walked over to our players, shook their hands, said good game, well done & then made his way off the pitch. He's their captain, show a bit of humility, I'd be embarrassed if Andy Robertson acted like that.

He knew there was no chance they were getting a corner. Time was long since up. It was just another opportunity to seek attention. 

His behaviour was appalling. Stalking off without shaking hands with the opposition showed him up for what he is - a spoilt child.

• Replies 118

• stirlo

• boag1874

• Batistuta9

Posted
6 minutes ago, stirlo said:

Well given he's the manager he definitely has the power to make the call. It's pretty obvious that Ronaldo is no longer an asset to them so no idea why Martinez is continuing to select him especially given the other options he's got. 

Ronaldo appears to have the determining call. Martinez has become a figure of ridicule. How he's managed to land the Belgian and Portuguese jobs is bewildering. 

Posted

Im not calling him out for his behaviour last night.

He's always behaved like that.

Posted
5 minutes ago, stirlo said:

Well given he's the manager he definitely has the power to make the call. It's pretty obvious that Ronaldo is no longer an asset to them so no idea why Martinez is continuing to select him especially given the other options he's got. 

It is a weird twist of fate however , that takes me back to reading the Metro sports pages on a bus to work many moons ago . Scolari was interviewed after picking his squad for ( I think ) Germany , and all the press wanted to know about Christiano Ronaldo and whether he would start games . Scolari replied that these games are for my warriors like Figo and Rui Costa but Ronaldo would get his chance too

Figo and Rui Costa were indeed warriors and a joy to watch in a football match . They knew when the time was right to retire and went out on relative highs so are not remembered as the faded forces that Ronaldo is in danger of becoming 

Posted
1 minute ago, Carter said:

Ronaldo appears to have the determining call. Martinez has become a figure of ridicule. How he's managed to land the Belgian and Portuguese jobs is bewildering. 

I agree about Martinez and said a similar thing last night - it really is bemusing how he keeps landing these big jobs. But no manager worth their salt would allow a player to decide when they're dropped. I also imagine that there will be plenty of voices in Portugal telling Ronaldo that it's time to call it a day. They've got plenty of good attacking players but the thing that was really noticeable last night was how slow their build up was. Ronaldo is a big part of the problem in that regard IMO.

Posted
1 hour ago, Templeton Peck said:

No class. Beast isn't going to the USA world cup anyway

Aye, he'll be watching that world cup with Prince Andrew.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

It is a weird twist of fate however , that takes me back to reading the Metro sports pages on a bus to work many moons ago . Scolari was interviewed after picking his squad for ( I think ) Germany , and all the press wanted to know about Christiano Ronaldo and whether he would start games . Scolari replied that these games are for my warriors like Figo and Rui Costa but Ronaldo would get his chance too

Figo and Rui Costa were indeed warriors and a joy to watch in a football match . They knew when the time was right to retire and went out on relative highs so are not remembered as the faded forces that Ronaldo is in danger of becoming 

I don't think it's surprising though in the case of Ronaldo. There's no denying that he's been an absolutely superb player, but it's always been all about Cristiano and I don't think he can envisage a scenario where he's no longer on the big stage. But part of the problem is a lot of people are continuing to indulge his ego - not least the manager by continuing to pick him.

Posted (edited)

Retire gracefully ffs, he's embarrassing himself now.

Edited by AlphonseCapone
Posted
42 minutes ago, leginten said:

He knew there was no chance they were getting a corner. Time was long since up. It was just another opportunity to seek attention. 

His behaviour was appalling. Stalking off without shaking hands with the opposition showed him up for what he is - a spoilt child.

Not that I was complaining last night but I'd have been annoyed had it been us, the ball wasn't in play for the whole of the 4 minutes & allowing the corner wouldn't have been excessive, refs allow that as like a final chance all the time.

Anyway though, the decision was final & Ronaldo reacted in typical Ronaldo fashion, by throwing the toys out the pram like a spoiled man-child, disrespecting the opposition & stealing the limelight for himself for all the wrong reasons.

Posted
44 minutes ago, boag1874 said:

Not that I was complaining last night but I'd have been annoyed had it been us, the ball wasn't in play for the whole of the 4 minutes & allowing the corner wouldn't have been excessive, refs allow that as like a final chance all the time.

Anyway though, the decision was final & Ronaldo reacted in typical Ronaldo fashion, by throwing the toys out the pram like a spoiled man-child, disrespecting the opposition & stealing the limelight for himself for all the wrong reasons.

I always find that a bit of a grey area. They were well into the fifth minute of stoppage time when the ball went out, but more often than not in those situations the referees seem to give the attacking team the chance to take the corner, so I can understand the frustration. But equally there is no intrinsic right that the corner takes place. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Templeton Peck said:

No class. Beast isn't going to the USA world cup anyway

Beast?

Posted
4 minutes ago, stirlo said:

I always find that a bit of a grey area. They were well into the fifth minute of stoppage time when the ball went out, but more often than not in those situations the referees seem to give the attacking team the chance to take the corner, so I can understand the frustration. But equally there is no intrinsic right that the corner takes place. 

Yeah his reaction was wayyyyy OTT, with how we'd defended all night it's not like it's even a brilliant chance or anything, we gave them nothing from crosses/corners all game.

Posted

IMG_3442.jpeg

Posted
2 hours ago, Batistuta87 said:

Agree about the CAN I PLEASE HAVE YOUR SHIRT signs though - they're completely embarrassing - especially when they're aimed at an opposition player like so many were last night! Bad enough seeing them at Tynecastle! Saw a kid with one last season - on one side it said CRAIG GORDON CAN I HAVE YOUR SHIRT and when he rightly ignored him he put it down and whipped out another with FRANKIE KENT CAN I HAVE YOUR SHIRT. Rightly ignored again. That sort of carry on can **** right off. 

Saw a sign last night with "Ralston, can I have your shirt". What a beamer. Ralston FFS :rofl:

Posted
7 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

IMG_3442.jpeg

Hahaha make a good smiley

image.png.5ad2bb193724b700993c8a1e8a044750.png

Posted
2 hours ago, stirlo said:

I agree about Martinez and said a similar thing last night - it really is bemusing how he keeps landing these big jobs. But no manager worth their salt would allow a player to decide when they're dropped. I also imagine that there will be plenty of voices in Portugal telling Ronaldo that it's time to call it a day. They've got plenty of good attacking players but the thing that was really noticeable last night was how slow their build up was. Ronaldo is a big part of the problem in that regard IMO.

Agree 100%. He strays offside which means pass is frequently not on. Very possibly the most egotistical player the game has ever seen. Very much has the sense that he's in charge rather than Martinez. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Beast?

He's wanted for questionning by the US authorities for an incident when he was last there with Manchester United

Posted
1 hour ago, PortyJambo said:

Saw a sign last night with "Ralston, can I have your shirt". What a beamer. Ralston FFS :rofl:

BOKE.

Posted

Doesn't like being laughed at.

0_JS348501614.webp

ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ
Posted
10 hours ago, Batistuta87 said:

BOKE.

I have more respect for that than Scottish laddies wanting Ronaldo's.

Posted
15 hours ago, The Goalscoring Knee said:

Any excuse to wheel this out 😃 

zoolander-mugatu-it-s-beautiful-dear-god

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, unknownuser said:

I have more respect for that than Scottish laddies wanting Ronaldo's.

I mean I'd rather have Ronaldo's shirt than Ralston's but holding up a sign for either is completely shan.

Edited by Batistuta87
ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ
Posted
3 hours ago, Batistuta87 said:

I mean I'd rather have Ronaldo's shirt than Ralston's but holding up a sign for either is completely shan.

Scottish bairn idolises Scottish player - we want more of this surely?

When I was a kid I won a competition to meet the Scotland squad, including an ageing Dalglish. Me, I was too nervous to speak to Henry Smith.

Posted
15 minutes ago, unknownuser said:

When I was a kid I won a competition to meet the Scotland squad, including an ageing Dalglish. Me, I was too nervous to speak to Henry Smith.

Spot on.  It's all small subconscious stuff, but the idolsing of the EPL and all its glam and then the talkig down of a lad like Ralston or whatever.  Kid might be a Celtic and Scotland supporter.

Same as you, as a kid, and all through to adulthood, Hearts and Scotland players are my legends.  Would rather meet Halks than Van Dijk, and that's a fact.  Although at the same time, I do also kind of just think of players as blokes!

Some belittle that attitude.  I work in England a lot and they literally don't believe me when I say I don't have an English team.  Shit I know Scottish guys at work and monday football who are the same - literally don't believe me when I say I've not seen whatever boring game at the weekend from the glitzy league.  Couple of weeks ago, I had a colleague properly open mouth agog cos he asked what I thought of the Man City game or something and I said i didn't watch it "aw were you out".  Na I watched Hearts v Rangers womens game.  "What? Really? Why? Did your daughter want to watch it or something, bet you were gutted to miss the Man City game eh...."

I just shrug.  A minority in my own country for supporting our game.

Posted

He might be a prick. He might be arrogant. He might be petulant. He most definetely acts like a child 

But it's why he is the player that he is. 

An absolute winner at all costs and he doesn't give a flying f... what anyone thinks 

Posted
1 hour ago, unknownuser said:

Nah I get it mate I'm just on the wind up because its Ralston. I think he's a fud. 

Posted
54 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

Spot on.  It's all small subconscious stuff, but the idolsing of the EPL and all its glam and then the talkig down of a lad like Ralston or whatever.  Kid might be a Celtic and Scotland supporter.

Same as you, as a kid, and all through to adulthood, Hearts and Scotland players are my legends.  Would rather meet Halks than Van Dijk, and that's a fact.  Although at the same time, I do also kind of just think of players as blokes!

Some belittle that attitude.  I work in England a lot and they literally don't believe me when I say I don't have an English team.  Shit I know Scottish guys at work and monday football who are the same - literally don't believe me when I say I've not seen whatever boring game at the weekend from the glitzy league.  Couple of weeks ago, I had a colleague properly open mouth agog cos he asked what I thought of the Man City game or something and I said i didn't watch it "aw were you out".  Na I watched Hearts v Rangers womens game.  "What? Really? Why? Did your daughter want to watch it or something, bet you were gutted to miss the Man City game eh...."

Great post.

👋

Posted
1 hour ago, TheBigO said:

To each their own I guess. I'd watch Hearts over any other game. Outside of that I watch zero Scottish club football. 

Ronaldo is one of the games greats, so it's not a surprise there's a clamor for his shirt etc.

Did you get Ralston's shirt btw?

Just kidding 😂 Kudos to you for supporting the game 👍👍

Posted
1 minute ago, Taffin said:

To each their own I guess. I'd watch Hearts over any other game. Outside of that I watch zero Scottish club football. 

Ronaldo is one of the games greats, so it's not a surprise there's a clamor for his shirt etc.

Did you get Ralston's shirt btw?

Just kidding 😂 Kudos to you for supporting the game 👍👍

Haha, aye and my bumhole is clean as a whistle from a good wipe with it!!!

Na, I totally get clamour to see Ronaldo.  I'm excited to see great players.  Nowt better than a Ronaldinho youtube compilation!!!

It's when it goes along with belittling our own game, I can't stand it.  You know, if a lad's favourite player in the world is Cammy Devlin or whatever, that should be encouraged.  Know what I mean?

Posted
3 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Na, I totally get clamour to see Ronaldo.  I'm excited to see great players.  Nowt better than a Ronaldinho youtube compilation!!!

It's when it goes along with belittling our own game, I can't stand it.  You know, if a lad's favourite player in the world is Cammy Devlin or whatever, that should be encouraged.  Know what I mean?

😂😂

Yeh I'm with you on your point 👍

Posted
4 hours ago, TheBigO said:

I get it too, BigO.

Back in 2008 my wife and I paid, what was then, a ridiculous amount of Euros to meet my hero, Zidane. We chatted briefly with him, got his autograph (obviously!) and had our pictures taken with him.

Posted

I think he should have been taken off before the end. He didn't play very well and I genuinely think the manager didn't want to sub him off because he knows the toys out the pram reaction he'd get. 

His full-time reaction was ridiculous. He's still a role model to millions of kids around the world and that was a bad example of sportsmanship. 

• 7 months later...
Luckies1874
Posted

So which Club World Cup team is he going to?

Inter Miami would be some craic.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

one of the south american ones

Posted
13 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Heard he scores quite well in the algorithms.

Rudi5kaceldream1ng
Posted
7 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

one of the south american ones

A Brazilian one probs given the language. 

Posted

I always sort of thought he would end up playing back in Madeira 

Posted

Lots of rumours of Mexico

Posted
17 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

Lots of rumours of Mexico

Ramos is playing out there so could be Monterey 

Posted

Spain.

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
11 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

20250526_230158.jpg

How did they select those teams for the CWC?

Posted
12 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

20250526_230158.jpg

Absolute pish. Won't even check the scores of this nonsense. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Absolute pish. Won't even check the scores of this nonsense. 

Aye, I’m not even sure the European teams will send their best

Posted
11 hours ago, Luckies1874 said:

Would be arrested as soon as he steps off the plane. Along with the bag of money, the reason why he's been in the desert league the last couple of years.

Perhaps the Donald will give him a pardon ahead of next year's WC.. 

Posted

The other Saudi team seen as every team in that league is basically owned by the same group 

Posted
10 hours ago, Jacques de Gatineau said:

How did they select those teams for the CWC?

Last 4 continental champions from each federation, remaining spots filled based on coefficient with no country allowed to send more than 2 representatives.

It‘s a load of pish. There was nothing wrong with the old system of having the continental champions play a short tournament against each other, that at least had a wee bit of prestige, this is a glorified kickabout that will ultimately mean nothing.

Chairman of the Bored
Posted
8 minutes ago, boag1874 said:

Last 4 continental champions from each federation, remaining spots filled based on coefficient with no country allowed to send more than 2 representatives.

It‘s a load of pish. There was nothing wrong with the old system of having the continental champions play a short tournament against each other, that at least had a wee bit of prestige, this is a glorified kickabout that will ultimately mean nothing.

The one thing the players need is rest. The one thing FIFA and the broadcasters can't have is an off-season without a World Cup/Euros. Who wins? Easy guess.