Sack the board.

Penrices left boot
Posted
48 minutes ago, colinmorewasgash said:

If Ann budge was a bloke she would have had hell of a lot more flak in her 10 years than she has had fact. 3 years ago we had a better quality squad, since then they have had 3 more years of foh money plus euro money yet player recruitment has got worse as money was used for hotel, and as for managers in 10 years basically from craig levein old pals act. Stendel she didnt like cause he wanted to change way club was going. He failed we went down but wasn't exactly helped by board even having craig turning up at riccarton. Now Critch seems to be man and already fanbase is split again. Apart from first spell under Robbie the club and board have never been fully united. For all the good business deals outside, the board don't treat the fans as their customers, the Pr and way we are treated by board is not great, which is poor for club we get told we own which we all know we dont. We don't own anything we are cash cow for board to use money from it, which they do. Do we have any real say, through foh, no, nobody questions board ever, we are paying good money into club that is fan owned, but it isnt, money was used for stand and hotel, now its the training ground next and ran by Ann and board simple who don't care what we say or think its their club, its their decisions and if they muck up its on them.

What a lot of words to write a pile of utter tripe.

• Replies 904

• Star Lizard

• bawheed

• Bill Sikes

• Wee Mikey

chaswasjambotillend
Posted
2 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Whatever, keep supporting your wee pal Ann and wonderfully run club board. Look forward to another year in first division next season.

Posted

Aye keep clapping away.

Which parts did you disagree with?

Posted

74,000 posts and counting 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Resign!!!!!

I didn't realise John Fury was a gooner. 

Did Arsenal sack their board btw considering now they are one of the best teams in Europe?

Edited by JJ1984
Posted
14 minutes ago, JJ1984 said:

I didn't realise John Fury was a gooner. 

Did Arsenal sack their board btw considering now they are one of the best teams in Europe?

No but fan pressure led to them demanding more as a club.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

No but fan pressure led to them demanding more as a club.

In what way?  

Posted
Just now, JJ1984 said:

In what way?  

Arteta played for arsenal? Club knew him,he was also pep's assistant, pep's ain't hiring shite to be his assistant.

Critchley was Liverpool u23 manager moving to Blackpool, in this time frame please tell me what analytics stick out as to what is deemed as a success.

His overall promotion season resulted in a 1.60ppg ratio his team getting promoted via the play offs.

80 points,did the exact same as stendel next again season was sacked in the championship, despite him not having half his squad sold within him!!!!!

Stendels PPG ratio in English League one is 1.96PPG compared to Critchleys 1.60PPG.

But Critchley is top of the analytics pick aye okay 🙄🤔.

Never has Critchley had a higher PPG ratio than Robbie or Stendel.

How's that for analytics mate go check to see if im telling you porkies.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Arteta played for arsenal? Club knew him,he was also pep's assistant, pep's ain't hiring shite to be his assistant.

Critchley was Liverpool u23 manager moving to Blackpool, in this time frame please tell me what analytics stick out as to what is deemed as a success.

His overall promotion season resulted in a 1.60ppg ratio his team getting promoted via the play offs.

80 points,did the exact same as stendel next again season was sacked in the championship, despite him not having half his squad sold within him!!!!!

Stendels PPG ratio in English League one is 1.96PPG compared to Critchleys 1.60PPG.

But Critchley is top of the analytics pick aye okay 🙄🤔.

Never has Critchley had a higher PPG ratio than Robbie or Stendel.

How's that for analytics mate go check to see if im telling you porkies.

What changed in with the arsenal board though?  Because of fan pressure they didn't look at the likes of Emery again and appointed a rookie? 

Posted
4 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said:

please tell me what analytics stick out as to what is deemed as a success.

They do not stick out . That is the whole premise behind the system and what you seem to so spectacularly fail to comprehend

The whole point is that they do not stick out . If they stuck out we would not need to use this system to identify them

How are you failing to get a handle on this ? It has to be wilful ignorance now . There is no way someone can have the process explained to them by multiple media outlets doing multiple interviews with multiple people and you still not grasp it

Posted
23 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

They do not stick out . That is the whole premise behind the system and what you seem to so spectacularly fail to comprehend

The whole point is that they do not stick out . If they stuck out we would not need to use this system to identify them

How are you failing to get a handle on this ? It has to be wilful ignorance now . There is no way someone can have the process explained to them by multiple media outlets doing multiple interviews with multiple people and you still not grasp it

Keep trying to convince yourself that Critchley is the analytics choice,and the board have done a fantastic job.

Posted
1 minute ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Keep trying to convince yourself that Critchley is the analytics choice,and the board have done a fantastic job.

I dont need to convince myself of anything . I have followed and digested the information available as best I could from the beginning . I read articles about how the system works from various news outlets from The New York Times to the Edinburgh Evening News . I have watched interviews with McKinlay and read interviews with Blooms right hand man at Brighton explaining how the process works . I have spoken to Brighton supporters and I have read and digested the words of Hearts centric media outlets alongside the more general ones of SKY and the BBC

I do not need to convince myself of anything because after digesting all of the available info on this , I had satisfied myself with the appointment being unlikely to be someone I could pick out using YouTube and a months supply of Prime energy drinks 

If you had chosen to bother your arse to actually try and understand how the process works , instead of sitting in your jammies convincing yourself that we would appoint someone you identified using Bongovision analytics , then you would not be making yourself look even half as stupid as you are right now with your wilful ignorance 

You have repeatedly demonstrated that you do not understand the process at all . You keep going on about Blooms picks as if he he is sitting in a darkened bedroom in front of YouTube just like you . That is not how this works . You would know this if you had spent your time more wisely since the news of Starlizards involvement first broke

Honestly man , catch the **** on for the love of Christ , because this is just getting embarrassing now 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

FFS Bongo. Critchley is the choice of the board AFTER the analytical assessment.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

I dont need to convince myself of anything . I have followed and digested the information available as best I could from the beginning . I read articles about how the system works from various news outlets from The New York Times to the Edinburgh Evening News . I have watched interviews with McKinlay and read interviews with Blooms right hand man at Brighton explaining how the process works . I have spoken to Brighton supporters and I have read and digested the words of Hearts centric media outlets alongside the more general ones of SKY and the BBC

I do not need to convince myself of anything because after digesting all of the available info on this , I had satisfied myself with the appointment being unlikely to be someone I could pick out using YouTube and a months supply of Prime energy drinks 

If you had chosen to bother your arse to actually try and understand how the process works , instead of sitting in your jammies convincing yourself that we would appoint someone you identified using Bongovision analytics , then you would not be making yourself look even half as stupid as you are right now with your wilful ignorance 

You have repeatedly demonstrated that you do not understand the process at all . You keep going on about Blooms picks as if he he is sitting in a darkened bedroom in front of YouTube just like you . That is not how this works . You would know this if you had spent your time more wisely since the news of Starlizards involvement first broke

Honestly man , catch the **** on for the love of Christ , because this is just getting embarrassing now 

Aye that was after Andrew said we would be going for a different approach😂🤣.

Must of took alot of data analysis to identify Critchley 😂🤣.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

FFS Bongo. Critchley is the choice of the board AFTER the analytical assessment.

Aye well I suggest they go back and do some more analysis on him.

Posted
27 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

At least give the guy a chance buddy , last thing we need is a toxic fanbase from day one

Posted
Just now, Bongo 1874 said:

Aye well I suggest they go back and do some more analysis on him.

The board didn't "analyse". They interviewed and deemed him suitable to be offered the role.

If he fails, it's on the board and no one else.

Posted
Just now, Bongo 1874 said:

Aye that was after Andrew said we would be going for a different approach😂🤣.

Must of took alot of data analysis to identify Critchley 😂🤣.

Well considering we have never had access to Starlizard or Jamestowns data analytics before , then yes . This is a different approach . I am running out of ways of trying to explain this FFS 

Posted
Just now, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

At least give the guy a chance buddy , last thing we need is a toxic fanbase from day one

That's already happened if he's appointed I'll let it play out, people will see with there own eyes what he brings and what sort of football he plays.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

Well considering we have never had access to Starlizard or Jamestowns data analytics before , then yes . This is a different approach . I am running out of ways of trying to explain this FFS 

Don't bother. He's had a complete meltdown. It's actually quite funny.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

Aye Critchley is the one.

Posted

That's already happened if he's appointed I'll let it play out, people will see with there own eyes what he brings and what sort of football he plays.

Well if you or others decide it's not for yous after watching the football that's fine but at least give him a chance before putting the boot in 

Posted

Aye Critchley is the one.

🙃

Posted
24 minutes ago, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

that ship has sailed. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

that ship has sailed. 

Unfortunately that's the case buddy ! There's only one manger I never backed from day one at Hearts so the guy will get my 100% backing and a fair chance 

Posted

I put faith / trust in the selection process. My only concern is that we then failed to get our target, which for me made us a laughing stock to everyone else. Only because we made such a big deal of how we were going to get the right person.

These types of scenarios do happen in real life too, so it was important to take time and get the next best thing. Someone who can improve our current predicament, and how we progress in the future. 

I sadly don’t see Critchley as the answer but really want to be proved wrong. Firstly I really doubt he has the ability to get a tune out of our current players, never mind implementing his plans (hopefully not a back 3 as it’s has already been shown not to work with our current squad).

but if he is to get the gig we must get behind him and see what he can do. If it all goes well , the stocks of humble pie will have soared.

However, if it does all go as many of us suspect, the board members in my opinion will have no option but to fall on their swords. That includes Anne.

Leveins Battalion
Posted
11 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

that ship has sailed. 

Get a grip of yourself man.

Posted

See when your looking for a car on Autotrader and you have your filters ‘max price’ etc this is how I imagine the board are using the Jamestown data.

Max Price being the main tool eh!

Posted
9 minutes ago, Leveins Battalion said:

Get a grip of yourself man.

honestly of all the names linked with the job he was the one I instantly went,  no **** just no. This guy shares the same football ethos as Neilson and Naismith , with the charisma of Ian Cathro and the linguistic skills of Lee Johnson.  There is **** all I can do about it but he is a mistake.  Our odds of relegation have IMO just increased materially. 

Posted

I am trying really hard to get my head in the space that the board see something in this guy that many of us don’t. Personally I have seen failed manager after failed manager that fit the profile of this guy. It just never seems to work. 

The club feels toxic right now. Rock bottom of the league which for a club our size and budget is an absolute disgrace (only 4 years ago was the same). We have no silverware with this board whilst other clubs outwith the uglies have done better. We are churning through managers at a rate of roughly one every 18 months to two years and it feels like (could be wrong) this guy could go the same way (I hope I’m wrong). 

This board have done some great things which people have listed but even in amongst the good has been some horrific. The fans are hugely divided which is never good and on the face of everything the board needs a shuffle. A right good one at that. I have no faith in them at all on footballing matters. 

Leveins Battalion
Posted

honestly of all the names linked with the job he was the one I instantly went,  no **** just no. This guy shares the same football ethos as Neilson and Naismith , with the charisma of Ian Cathro and the linguistic skills of Lee Johnson.  There is **** all I can do about it but he is a mistake.  Our odds of relegation have IMO just increased materially. 

Mate you are having an irrational full on meltdown.

Go away,have a cup of Tea and actually look at it from a cold head rather than rage fuelled.

I've actually read a lot about him last night and this morning,seems he is very popular with his Players with Trent Alexander Arnold and Harry Wilson particularly complimentary.Klopp raved about his work and he managed Dhanda's Liverpool Team which won the under 23 FA Cup.

Despite what you are saying he does have proven success by gaining promotion and winning a high profile play off final,winning Manager of the Year and was poached by a Premiership Club to join the coaching staff.

Nearly every Manager gets sacked at some point,in fact when Brighton appointed Potter he's wasn't particularly setting the heather alight at Swansea but the data swung it in getting that appointment spot on.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Bongo give it a rest man :lol:  the analytics will have 100% played a major role in the recruitment of Critchley, you’ve talked a hell of a lot over the years about moneyball & how great it is but now we’re going down that route you don’t actually seem to grasp how it works, moneyball =/= a sexy name playing the geggenpressen football you love, it’s about creating something that’s greater than the sum of it’s parts using specific metrics - what these metrics we’ve looked at are is anyones guess

Posted
39 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

that ship has sailed. 

Are you trying to match Bongo in the meltdown stakes?

Posted
Just now, Leveins Battalion said:

Mate you are having an irrational full on meltdown.

Go away,have a cup of Tea and actually look at it from a cold head rather than rage fuelled.

I've actually read a lot about him last night and this morning,seems he is very popular with his Players with Trent Alexander Arnold and Harry Wilson particularly complimentary.Klopp raved about his work and he managed Dhanda's Liverpool Team which won the under 23 FA Cup.

Despite what you are saying he does have proven success by gaining promotion and winning a high profile play off final,winning Manager of the Year and was poached by a Premiership Club to join the coaching staff.

Nearly every Manager gets sacked at some point,in fact when Brighton appointed Potter he's wasn't particularly setting the heather alight at Swansea but the data swung it in getting that appointment spot on.

why is it when you view an appointment negatively your accused of having a meltdown? I’m not filled with rage - just utter disappointment.  I can’t do anything about it, there is no rage.  Just resignation.  

I don’t care about his record at u23 with Liverpool .  Given the talent at his disposal it’s not relevant to hearts in any way.  He binned Blackpool for an assists job at which he failed, He crashed and burned in 12 weeks at QPR loaning the dressing room and and then failed at Blackpool for almost exactly the same reasons as Steven Naismith failed at hearts. Failures aside,  I don’t like anything about him, not the way he comes across, not the image he projects or the way he reportedly tries to play footbal.   When Blackpool fans are caught between laughter and pity you know there’s a problem.

Never in the history of a club has there been a bigger negative reaction to a manager before he’s walked through the door. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Are you trying to match Bongo in the meltdown stakes?

stick to debating the subject Geoff.  at no point in this debate has someone gone “this is what’s really good about Neil Critchley”

ps if you think I’m having a meltdown and this guy will be welcomed by open arms you should check the socials. 😮

Posted

why is it when you view an appointment negatively your accused of having a meltdown? I’m not filled with rage - just utter disappointment.  I can’t do anything about it, there is no rage.  Just resignation.  

I don’t care about his record at u23 with Liverpool .  Given the talent at his disposal it’s not relevant to hearts in any way.  He binned Blackpool for an assists job at which he failed, He crashed and burned in 12 weeks at QPR loaning the dressing room and and then failed at Blackpool for almost exactly the same reasons as Steven Naismith failed at hearts. Failures aside,  I don’t like anything about him, not the way he comes across, not the image he projects or the way he reportedly tries to play footbal.   When Blackpool fans are caught between laughter and pity you know there’s a problem.

Never in the history of a club has there been a bigger negative reaction to a manager before he’s walked through the door. 

Wonder how MK Dons reacted to us saying ta ta to Neilson first time round? They saw a promising young manager based on record whereas we were glad to get rid of the manager who lost to a pub team.

Leveins Battalion
Posted

Aye the reaction is because of you and Ryan Steven.....sorry Bongo posting relentlessly for 24 hours.

We get it,yous wanted a big foreign name,unfortunately for you that's not how the Analysis works.

God help us if we signed a Factory Worker from Germany,but then lost out on £8 million cos you didn't approve.

Posted
Just now, kingantti1874 said:

stick to debating the subject Geoff.  at no point in this debate has someone gone “this is what’s really good about Neil Critchley”

ps if you think I’m having a meltdown and this guy will be welcomed by open arms you should check the socials. 😮

Hearts fans on Facebook and Twitter are fulminatng idiots. Can I suggest though that part of the Critchley reaction is comparing him to the Norwegian guy that I've forgotten already.

Posted
1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Hearts fans on Facebook and Twitter are fulminatng idiots. Can I suggest though that part of the Critchley reaction is comparing him to the Norwegian guy that I've forgotten already.

Facebook and Twitter make JKB seem like the brains trust, which is quite an achievement.  

Posted
2 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Hearts fans on Facebook and Twitter are fulminatng idiots.

Never a truer word spoken

Posted

How many blood vessels have you burst now? 😄

Posted

I was over the road watching that. 5 years ago

Posted
57 minutes ago, Leveins Battalion said:

Aye the reaction is because of you and Ryan Steven.....sorry Bongo posting relentlessly for 24 hours.

We get it,yous wanted a big foreign name,unfortunately for you that's not how the Analysis works.

God help us if we signed a Factory Worker from Germany,but then lost out on £8 million cos you didn't approve.

If you check my posting history I didn’t want a big foreign name. I just didn’t want someone as weak as this guy. I didn’t want a Naismith clone, who plays like Naismith did this season and was fired for the same reasons , who will shift players around because he prefers a formation, someone who is apparently stubborn and won take feedback. someone with overwhelmingly negative feedback from his previous clubs, someone accused of overcomplicating it and of making players worse, who doesn’t believe in shooting from outside the box ffs.  Worse than that I didn’t want someone who comes across as weak, who talks mince and has zero presence or charisma .

There is a long list of British managers I’d have before this absolute wet wipe.  Alex Neil, McInness, Hutton, Rowatt. I’d even have John Mcglynn or retain Fox before this guy. 

Leveins Battalion
Posted
1 minute ago, kingantti1874 said:

If you check my posting history I didn’t want a big foreign name. I just didn’t want someone as weak as this guy. I didn’t want a Naismith clone, who plays like Naismith did this season and was fired for the same reasons , who will shift players around because he prefers a formation, someone who is apparently stubborn and won take feedback. someone with overwhelmingly negative feedback from his previous clubs, someone accused of overcomplicating it and of making players worse, who doesn’t believe in shooting from outside the box ffs.  Worse than that I didn’t want someone who comes across as weak, who talks mince and has zero presence or charisma .

There is a long list of British managers I’d have before this absolute wet wipe.  Alex Neil, McInness, Hutton, Rowatt. I’d even have John Mcglynn or retain Fox before this guy. 

Who cares about Charisma??

He's managing a team not banging a bird.

Posted
1 hour ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

In part. The fact that there seems to be no common ground at all between our first choice and our second tells you all you need to know about how clear this board we’re on what we needed.

they nearly got it right, once Hogmo dipped out they should have been looking for the next candidate who was as close to that profile as possible.  

instead we’ve flipped to the opposite end of the spectrum.  Attacking all out 4-3-3 manager to a pissession% based 3-5-2.  Strong charismatic manager to ann introverted coach. 

The board really bring it on themselves. I live in hope they will see sense.

Posted
Just now, Leveins Battalion said:

Charisma helps get the players behind you. It helps with the fans. 

Look at Paulo Sergio, he has charisma which helped him deal with the Scottish media, Kenny Shields and manage a team when no one was getting paid.

Then look at Cathro, stumbling and fumbling through interviews because he had zero charisma.

Charisma doesn't make you a world beater manager but most top managers have it. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Leveins Battalion said:

Pretty important quality for a manager to have when faced with a hostile demanding support, a team bottom of the league and a questionable dressing room.

Lack of leadership, charisma and communication skills is the reason Ian Cathro, despite being a great coach is a failure as a manager.

Posted
1 minute ago, ScottieMac17 said:

Charisma helps get the players behind you. It helps with the fans. 

Look at Paulo Sergio, he has charisma which helped him deal with the Scottish media, Kenny Shields and manage a team when no one was getting paid.

Then look at Cathro, stumbling and fumbling through interviews because he had zero charisma.

Charisma doesn't make you a world beater manager but most top managers have it. 

correct.  See Paulo Sergio.