Hearts winter transfer window 2024

Gordon_1874

11 players and a manager that want to play quick attacking football with urgency from the first whistle please.

• Replies 1.8k

• Ricardo Quaresma

• OTT

• Batistuta87

Aussie Jambo

My prediction is Naismith will be gone in 3 weeks. (So gone by end of September) We will sign a big burly striker winter window from some far off land. Replace all positions that are ends of contract. Shankland will stay. I’m done.
🤛 

🎤 

Jocam2325
3 hours ago, jambotony said:

I think if 3rd is gone by January, we will cash in on shanks.

I would think if 3rd is gone by January that will likely coincide with Shankland having continued in the same vein he's started the season and cashing in won't net us much at all. 

Jim Panzee
10 hours ago, Italian Lambretta said:

We can start with sending all the Aussies apart from the Hoff packing back to were they came from.

Send 'em all back*.

and further.

Apart from the hoff as he's German.

Jocam2325
5 hours ago, Jim Panzee said:

Send 'em all back*.

and further.

Apart from the hoff as he's German.

I don't think he is German. 

Jim Panzee
7 minutes ago, Jocam2325 said:

I don't think he is German. 

definitely not.  Just one bonkers poster on here thought he wasn't an aussie.

Jack Torrance
On 08/09/2024 at 09:43, Jocam2325 said:

Oh great, another transfer thread for someone to pollute with an endless stream of You Tube highlight videos of players we have never heard of who would be highly unlikely to consider Hearts even if we were interested. 

On 08/09/2024 at 09:53, Wee Mikey said:

Batten down the hatches, bud ... this thread will run to over 300 pages ... and some ... by which time certain folks will have blown a gasket.

I vote we have a new rule going forward. For every player video posted,  Mikey needs to reply with a music video related to the rumour...

Batistuta87
23 hours ago, bawheed said:

Calum Morrison at Falkirk would walk into a hearts team and we let him go for nothing 

Jesus 🤣

south morocco

Does anyone know if we’re actually looking to bring in a free agent between now and January?

Batistuta87
1 hour ago, JamboAl said:

Have Arsenal released him?

More chance of him signing than Morrison 🤣

2 hours ago, south morocco said:

Does anyone know if we’re actually looking to bring in a free agent between now and January?

By the time they're 'fit and ready' (by our standards) we wouldn't see them until January anyway. 😁

Agentjambo
5 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

Wonder if Naisy will survive that long to get the budget 🤔 

He will probably be here to get next summer’s too.

16 hours ago, Aussie Jambo said:

My prediction is Naismith will be gone in 3 weeks. (So gone by end of September) We will sign a big burly striker winter window from some far off land. Replace all positions that are ends of contract. Shankland will stay. I’m done.
🤛

🎤

Don't think so

14 hours ago, jambotony said:

I think if 3rd is gone by January, we will cash in on shanks.

Why would we do that?

If we get 4th or even 5th in that scenario, we may have enough coefficient to be seeded in the play-off round for Conference League

If we're playing as well as we did last year, with #8 & #6 & Halkett doing well again which is looking good so far, we'll have the best chance any team outwith OF to win the Big Cup and empty aberdeen out of the EL spot, assuming your scenario has them as the team way out in 3rd here

Lots to play for 👍

Wee Mikey
6 hours ago, Jack Torrance said:

I vote we have a new rule going forward. For every player video posted,  Mikey needs to reply with a music video related to the rumour...

I might have some difficulty keeping up with that!

But, you never know ... there might be a diamond rumour resulting in a class signing, at which point we can leave Tina Turner's cover version to that provincial Glasgow-based tribute act and trump them with this:-

Bongo 1874
On 08/09/2024 at 15:45, bawheed said:

Calum Morrison at Falkirk would walk into a hearts team and we let him go for nothing 

Do you know what is scary is that workrate and effort when in possession and out of possession,should be the  minimum requirement at Hearts.

But looking at our players and some supporters, it would appear they accept players just genuinely going into a half jog,not tracking back, when teams play out no pressure on the ball.

Yet when you look at a Falkirk, they seem to press better,they are quicker on the counter attack,there midfield appears to have better movement off the ball too 🤔

But let's hound this poster here for suggesting something that isn't actually 100% correct but then again he isn't 100% wrong and in fact, Morrison and the likes of Calvin Miller couldn't do any worse than the likes of Boyce, Grant, Forrest, Atkinson, Mckay, Halkett, and it quite clearly showed in our game against them.

which again is quite incredible the management team, don't realise that they are being let down from players, that simply aren't good enough for Hearts.

Miller and Morrison could and are doing a better job, currently than the 6 I just mentioned and won't be on anything near what that six are earning.

Then I look at our youth,I can give 4 better options that will 100% run themselves into the ground if afforded the opportunity to play for us.

Tait,Pollock, Wilson, McLuckie, 

We loaned out Neilson & Denholm which i can understand why,but not if you are playing any of those 6 ahead of them.

Genuinely is a Nightmare.

And the scary thing is a lot of posters ain't wrong in regards to Naismith, he does need to play a settled formation & lineup.

But if you look at that team analysis like i have,those are the same players that blew the lead we had against Aberdeen years ago,okay Neilson was also at fault.

But those players also had a part to play.

I was mocked for suggesting 3rd is done after 3 games.

Naismith you either wake up and realise the truth,or you will have the same exact predicament as Robbie and others.

The scary thing is we could bring in a better manager,and those players would still let him down and the fans.

It's the common recurring theme.

gregzy2k7

We need Wingers x 2 and another striker option imo,

I would like to see us shift some of the deadwood personally,

For me players like Mckay, Boyce, Grant, Oda and Forrest are not at our level imo,

I want players who will contribute alot more than we are getting from those mentioned above,

I would look to try and loan some of them out or come to an agreement with them over contract termination.

I suppose it very much depends on what manager is in charge of us by that point ?

Will it still be Naismith or someone else?

Stendelnator
2 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Do you know what is scary is that workrate and effort when in possession and out of possession,should be the  minimum requirement at Hearts.

But looking at our players and some supporters, it would appear they accept players just genuinely going into a half jog,not tracking back, when teams play out no pressure on the ball.

Yet when you look at a Falkirk, they seem to press better,they are quicker on the counter attack,there midfield appears to have better movement off the ball too 🤔

But let's hound this poster here for suggesting something that isn't actually 100% correct but then again he isn't 100% wrong and in fact, Morrison and the likes of Calvin Miller couldn't do any worse than the likes of Boyce, Grant, Forrest, Atkinson, Mckay, Halkett, and it quite clearly showed in our game against them.

which again is quite incredible the management team, don't realise that they are being let down from players, that simply aren't good enough for Hearts.

Miller and Morrison could and are doing a better job, currently than the 6 I just mentioned and won't be on anything near what that six are earning.

Then I look at our youth,I can give 4 better options that will 100% run themselves into the ground if afforded the opportunity to play for us.

Tait,Pollock, Wilson, McLuckie, 

We loaned out Neilson & Denholm which i can understand why,but not if you are playing any of those 6 ahead of them.

Genuinely is a Nightmare.

And the scary thing is a lot of posters ain't wrong in regards to Naismith, he does need to play a settled formation & lineup.

But if you look at that team analysis like i have,those are the same players that blew the lead we had against Aberdeen years ago,okay Neilson was also at fault.

But those players also had a part to play.

I was mocked for suggesting 3rd is done after 3 games.

Naismith you either wake up and realise the truth,or you will have the same exact predicament as Robbie and others.

The scary thing is we could bring in a better manager,and those players would still let him down and the fans.

It's the common recurring theme.

What exactly did Morrison do against us that impressed you so much?

TorinoJambo
On 08/09/2024 at 10:52, Threedoorsdown said:

The players aren’t the problem at Hearts. It’s the horrendously low standards within the environment. 

Manager after manager with the same underachievement. 12 years without a major trophy now. Getting pumped off clubs that we have 5/6 times the turnover of. 

Finance doesn’t necessarily mean success, however when will we start to see a return on our loyalty as a fan base? We have been more than patient and people are starting to get pissed off. 

Before everyone over the age of 60 pipes up and says Hearts have always been this way. I don’t care, times have changed and so have expectations.

I was 70 on August 14 and have seen all the shite, some of which you youngsters would have nightmares about, and I agree that we SHOULD have higher expectations. I am so proud of the way the CLUB is progressing off the field but agree that something is missing on the field. We have the best squad I have ever seen, though obviously some individuals from earlier years were better but they are not being used correctly. I like a speedy high press game. The 4-0 v Celtic a few years ago being the best example. We live in hope.

6 minutes ago, TorinoJambo said:

I was 70 on August 14 and have seen all the shite, some of which you youngsters would have nightmares about, and I agree that we SHOULD have higher expectations. I am so proud of the way the CLUB is progressing off the field but agree that something is missing on the field. We have the best squad I have ever seen, though obviously some individuals from earlier years were better but they are not being used correctly. I like a speedy high press game. The 4-0 v Celtic a few years ago being the best example. We live in hope.

Spot on

I'd bring Jamie Walker back tbh. Not a striker, yet can score goals. Something almost all of our attacking players can't do. 

Absolutely loved at Bradford, so clearly doing something right. 

I know, I know "can't go back", "yesterdays man", "look to the future"  - issue I have is we did that by bringing in Dhanda & Spittal we've done all that and can't do anything in the final 3rd. Some familiarity could go a long way. I think he would contribute more than what is currently being delivered and would relish the opportunity to play for us again. 

Plus, Jamie Walker at Hearts just makes sense. Solid couple of years from him. 31. 

I know I'm going to get it in the neck for suggesting Walker, but I cannot watch the absolute ineptitude in the final 3rd and not think that Walker could do a better job. Anyone remember goalscoring midfielders? Someone to take the pressure off Shankland having to deliver every. single. game. The alternative, is more punts of players completely unfamiliar with the club. 

1 hour ago, OTT said:

I'd bring Jamie Walker back tbh. Not a striker, yet can score goals. Something almost all of our attacking players can't do. 

I know, I know "can't go back", "yesterdays man", "look to the future"  - issue I have is we did that by bringing in Dhanda & Spittal we've done all that and can't do anything in the final 3rd. Some familiarity could go a long way. I think he would contribute more than what is currently being delivered and would relish the opportunity to play for us again. 

Plus, Jamie Walker at Hearts just makes sense. Solid couple of years from him. 31. 

I know I'm going to get it in the neck for suggesting Walker, but I cannot watch the absolute ineptitude in the final 3rd and not think that Walker could do a better job. Anyone remember goalscoring midfielders? Someone to take the pressure off Shankland having to deliver every. single. game. The alternative, is more punts of players completely unfamiliar with the club. 

And rightly so.

2 hours ago, TorinoJambo said:

This was nonsense when a few started to say this in early August and it’s still nonsense now.

Edited by Drylaw Hearts

Leveins Battalion
2 hours ago, OTT said:

FFS Spittall and Dhanda have played less than 200 minutes in their whole Hearts career,literally just in the door.😂

But maniacs on here wanting Walker and Callum Fecking Morrison back 🤣🤣

2 hours ago, OTT said:

If we're after someone who contributes less to a football match than Barrie McKay then yes, absolutely bring back Jamie walker. 

6 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

And rightly so.

Jamie Walker currently has 15 goals in 71 games for Bradford: A goal every 4 games roughly. Before he left us, 14 goals in 59 appearances (1 in 4 still., his original spell with us 40 goals in 181 appearances, again 1 goal every 4 games approximately. 

Alan Forrest currently 9 goals in 90 games for us: A goal every 10 games roughly. 

Barrie McKay currently 6 goals in 106 games for us: A goal every 18 games. 

Oda currently 7 goals in 51 games for us: A goal every 7 games approx.

Spittal & Dhanda yet to contribute. Boyce just embarrassing himself now. 

I think an experienced player like Walker would help us in making the right decision in the final 3rd more often than we currently are. Seems pretty clear that the players we have around Shankland aren't contributing anywhere near enough, and we're constantly finding ourselves making rushed decisions, overplaying simple balls and more often than not making the wrong decision. Adding an experienced midfielder that can score goals makes sense. 

Is he a fashionable signing? No. But I think he'll get the job done. 

2 year deal, bring him home. 

9 minutes ago, Leveins Battalion said:

FFS Spittall and Dhanda have played less than 200 minutes in their whole Hearts career,literally just in the door.😂

Oi, I never suggested Callumn Morrison! 😛 

We're currently witnessing the worst start to a league campaign in about 40 years. I think its fair comment tbh. 

Leveins Battalion
30 minutes ago, OTT said:

Jamie Walker currently has 15 goals in 71 games for Bradford: A goal every 4 games roughly. Before he left us, 14 goals in 59 appearances (1 in 4 still., his original spell with us 40 goals in 181 appearances, again 1 goal every 4 games approximately. 

Alan Forrest currently 9 goals in 90 games for us: A goal every 10 games roughly. 

I think an experienced player like Walker would help us in making the right decision in the final 3rd more often than we currently are. Seems pretty clear that the players we have around Shankland aren't contributing anywhere near enough, and we're constantly finding ourselves making rushed decisions, overplaying simple balls and more often than not making the wrong decision. Adding an experienced midfielder that can score goals makes sense. 

Are you Jamie's sister?🤔

Batistuta87
1 hour ago, Leveins Battalion said:

🤯

lost in space

Pity we couldn't sign these guys

Hamilton

Sibbick Souttar McKay Cochrane

Walker Leonard Irving Morrison

Paterson Ginnelly

That team would score goals!!!

Might let in a few too though.

Batistuta87
1 hour ago, OTT said:

Jamie Walker - help ma boab! 

He offered very little the last time he was here. That's why we let him go, and we got better players. He'd be 32 by the time he got here, so will be slower than he ever was; and he was already slow. We're much better and much stronger than we were when he was here too and every player we have now is an instant improvement on the squad when he was here. Probably every team in the league is in the same situation whereby they are overall a lot stronger than they were 2-3 years ago. He's now warming the bench at Bradford, in the fourth tier of English football, when we have the likes of Jorge Grant in the squad who was POTY in the league above and has struggled to get going. What on earth makes you think that Jamie Walker would be in any way useful? Yes he would try - but so would I if you put me in a Hearts jersey, and I'm pish. 

Edited by Batistuta87

4 hours ago, TorinoJambo said:

Bang on the money mate 👍

4 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Jamie Walker - help ma boab! 

He offered very little the last time he was here. That's why we let him go, and we got better players. He'd be 32 by the time he got here, so will be slower than he ever was; and he was already slow. We're much better and much stronger than we were when he was here too and every player we have now is an instant improvement on the squad when he was here. Probably every team in the league is in the same situation whereby they are overall a lot stronger than they were 2-3 years ago. He's now warming the bench at Bradford, in the fourth tier of English football, when we have the likes of Jorge Grant in the squad who was POTY in the league above and has struggled to get going. What on earth makes you think that Jamie Walker would be in any way useful? Yes he would try - but so would I if you put me in a Hearts jersey, and I'm pish. 

Not if we signed him in January. 

And despite him being assumed to not be offering not a lot, his goals to game ratio smokes the other players we have in that position. Subtance over style. He's effective, our current options aren't. 

We need McKay, Forrest, Oda, Dhanda & Spittal to start putting the ball in the net, and being MUCH braver in possession. But insanity is doing the same thing again and again and expecting different results. Alan Forrest has 9 goals in NINETY games, Barrie 6 in ONE HUNDRED AND SIX appearances. They're not going to change those stats drastically any time soon. 

Even if Walker isn't sufficient, our current options there are evidently insufficient and creating a huge burden on Shankland, because they steadfastly refuse to step up themselves. 

So yeah, even if Walker is a bad call, our current options are hardly sufficient either - but I do believe that Walker would score goals at a much higher rate than Forrest or McKay. Christ, even if it was in comparable terms to Oda it would still be delivering something which isn't really there. 1 in 4, 1 in 5 or 6 all better returns than our current players. 

Its shocking TBH

35 minutes ago, lost in space said:

Pity we couldn't sign these guys

Hamilton

Sibbick Souttar McKay Cochrane

Walker Leonard Irving Morrison

Paterson Ginnelly

That team would score goals!!!

Might let in a few too though.

Zeefuik on the bench?

Not sure Walker would want back, but surely it's someone like him that we need

Well, Dhanda's quite similar and Spittal quite similar too, they're presumably going to get settled in and start scoring

Next game would be good

4 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Not sure Walker would want back, but surely it's someone like him that we need

Well, Dhanda's quite similar and Spittal quite similar too, they're presumably going to get settled in and start scoring

Next game would be good

I brought Walker up partly to highlight how poor our other attacking options are. He's far from a desirable player to sign - 31, not playing at a great level, but the reality is that he's proven previously he can be very effective at this level and even now IMO would deliver goals at a rate that Barrie & Forrest just aren't. Plus, he's pretty experienced too, and I wonder if he could bring an air of calm to our play in the final 3rd. Not saying our current lot aren't experienced (they are) but they are playing like youngsters trying to force everything. 

Leveins Battalion
27 minutes ago, OTT said:

I brought Walker up partly to highlight how poor our other attacking options are. He's far from a desirable player to sign - 31, not playing at a great level, but the reality is that he's proven previously he can be very effective at this level and even now IMO would deliver goals at a rate that Barrie & Forrest just aren't. Plus, he's pretty experienced too, and I wonder if he could bring an air of calm to our play in the final 3rd. Not saying our current lot aren't experienced (they are) but they are playing like youngsters trying to force everything. 

Our attacking options are not poor, the management of them so far has been.

Spittals Hearts career consists of 170 minutes of football man.

25 minutes ago, OTT said:

It's because he knows the place and Hearts matters to him; the two aforementioned guys don't know the place well enough yet and dare I say it, the place has been too tense to give them vocal encouragement, yet

They need to 'hear the crowd', that's for sure; not just in their head like a singing in the bath way; for real 😐

1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

It's because he knows the place and Hearts matters to him; the two aforementioned guys don't know the place well enough yet and dare I say it, the place has been too tense to give them vocal encouragement, yet

They need to 'hear the crowd', that's for sure; not just in their head like a singing in the bath way; for real 😐

It sounds daft, but yeah. Walker knows the support and TBH I think there is value in one last "Hurrah" for him. I.e he'll through the kitchen sink at trying to make a success of things. 

Even if all he does is sharpen up Dhanda & Spittal, I'd say its still delivered purpose. 

1 hour ago, Leveins Battalion said:

Our attacking options are not poor, the management of them so far has been.

Spittals Hearts career consists of 170 minutes of football man.

Hmmm not sure. I hadn't realised the goal return of a few of our players was as bad as it was until I looked up how Walker could compare with them. 

I think we've overestimated our attack, and there is an argument that we needed a high class winger to rid ourselves of Alan Forrest and put Barrie McKay on notice. Scott Wright would have been excellent, but as per, money.. Walker is kind of an everyman across an attacking midfield 3. LM, RM CAM - can do it all well and crucially WILL score goals. 

I fully expected people to be deadset against Walker, but the main point here is that there are players in our attack that have been riding Shanklands coat tails and contributing precious little. The fact a 31 year old that was deemed surplus to requirements 3 years ago has a better goals to game ratio than 2 of our most played players last season should be a clear sign we needed to do more wheeling and dealing in the last transfer window. 

Aussie Jambo
On 10/09/2024 at 03:16, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Don't think so

Why would we do that?

If we get 4th or even 5th in that scenario, we may have enough coefficient to be seeded in the play-off round for Conference League

If we're playing as well as we did last year, with #8 & #6 & Halkett doing well again which is looking good so far, we'll have the best chance any team outwith OF to win the Big Cup and empty aberdeen out of the EL spot, assuming your scenario has them as the team way out in 3rd here

Lots to play for 👍

I was being sarcastic. 

45 minutes ago, Aussie Jambo said:

I was being sarcastic. 

Aye? Yer s'posed to give some sort of a hint :smuggy:

Striking options:

id be looking to Plymouth and enquiring about an 18 month loan to buy (not sure how that works though as his contract is due to end May 2025) for Ryan Hardie. 27, fallen down the pecking order slightly but previous goal scoring in league 1 very good. 

edit: just seen his contract is ending jun 2026 😂 still, he’d be one of be targeting for at least a short term loan 

Edited by Absolute Scenes