Who do you want as our next manager?

Posted
2 hours ago, EH11 2NL said:

This comes up every time we need a new gaffer. there's a level. We can't complete with the English Championship for example - unless you count the trainwreck that relegated us a few years back. You just need to look at our managerial appointments in the last 30 years, it can't be the case that the board on all of those occasions just weren't trying or went for the cheap option. Hearts and Edinburgh is a big attraction to us, it's our club, most fans are from generations of Hearts supporters. In terms of football in the UK, we are sadly not a big attraction. Hugely driven by the state of the league, our biggest league fixture of the season isn't even televised anymore. Players sign for us and instantly talk about stepping stone club. We are a big club in Scotland, and should be taking the best managers within Scotland, along with the best players, outwith the OF obviously. 

Don't want to be doom and gloom about it, but there is a level of realism required. Big names have been interested over the years, as soon as they get a sniff of the terms, playing budget etc it comes to nothing, time after time.  

Good Post

Unfortunately this is where we are in a nutshell 

We are further limiting our choices of candidates by continuing with the current model, experienced good coaches will not work without bringing in there own back room staff, we will require a full clear out if we are to see any significant improvements.

The current coaching model is a busted flush and a root and branch change is required.

Id go for McInnes

• Replies 911

• rudi must stay

• OTT

• kingantti1874

• Penrices left boot

Posted

If Kevin Muscat is within our reach we should be doing everything we can to get him.

Posted
3 hours ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said:

How about we give the guy in charge now a little more time to do his work. Or the #obos on here could stop being @$$ holes and go worry about their own team for once. I know being a #!bee can’t be fun but for ****s sake, get a life.

So just to be clear you think the team and SN don’t deserve criticism and are happy the way the season is going.

If you do think it’s you that’s the hobo.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Uncle Buck said:

If Kevin Muscat is within our reach we should be doing everything we can to get him.

👍 you think the board would allow him his own men ?

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Looking at his current staff, all Aussies and Japanese. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yokohama_F._Marinos

Watched a bit of Japan football,few players I like.

Certainly has them playing good football mate and has some excellent reviews.

Aggressive attacking football, pressing.

Ticks the boxes for me.

My worry? Would he be backed? and will other necessary changes be allowed.

Edited by Bongo 1874
Posted

Wilder or Muscat for me.

Posted

The guy at my local one at Straiton always has up to the minute window displays and still manages a very busy Costas upstairs. Shame about paperchase though. I’d say carry on, you’re exactly what we need 👍.

The Fat Number 8
Posted

A pre requisite for the Hearts job should include:

Proven success in managment

Proven past player recruitment success

Coached and Managed full time players at elite level

An understanding of the SPL league and its requirements

Articulate in national press.

UEFA pro licence !! 

How Naismith/Mcavoy got the job beggers belief and heads on the board should roll.

Mcinnes like him or not is the stand out candidate. If he was available then obviously Alex Neil is the other.

Posted

I've no idea about names of foreign or English managers, but  I'm clear on  the biggest attribute we need from a manager which  would go a long way to improving our team performances & therefore results -  namely, the ability to get the squad playing with much more belief, purpose  & energy.

I'd be confident that either McInnes or Robinson could do that.   One caveat about Robinson is that the 2 clubs he's done well with are both much smaller (budget-wise) than Hearts, with lower fan expectation.   Could he & his assistant(s) reproduce the same effect at Hearts ?   Not sure.   But its  no more of a gamble  than we currently have with Naismith.  Robinson's contract at Midden runs till 2026

McInnes spent 8 years at a club similar to Hearts and had them top 4 for most of them, plus a LC win.  That suggests he's much less of a gamble than Robinson, so long as he was given enough say in structuring the coaching & recruitment to suit him.   His Killie contract runs till 2026

HeartsandonlyHearts
Posted
1 hour ago, bawheed said:

So just to be clear you think the team and SN don’t deserve criticism and are happy the way the season is going.

If you do think it’s you that’s the hobo.

Did I write that or are you being a bawheed and making up stuff?

Posted
1 minute ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said:

2 minutes ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said:

You said give SN time no, has he not had enough time.

The fact that you want to give SN time 

indicates your happy.

Cant you remember what you post?

Posted

Assuming Naismith doesn't somehow rally the club and leave on his own terms? A safe hire. McInnes, Wilder, or a recently out of work manager experienced in English Championship or L1/L2. Consolidate the club so that #4 is a bad season. Ask at them to look at it as a multiple year project so they are willing to play young players.

I also know I just described the goals of the Craig Levein hire, which didn't go great.

Posted

It'll be Liam Fox and probably with Levein aiding him 🙄

Posted

If we sack Naismith we'll probably end up with Neilson back again.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Bauld said:

You-know-who will be appearing very soon to award you "post of the day"  with  that statement ....... 😏

HeartsandonlyHearts
Posted
1 hour ago, bawheed said:

….and I’m done.

Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, Ari Gold said:

Aberdeen fans were fed up of the football they were playing under Mcinness. Hearts fan were fed up with the football we were playing under Neilson. 

Mcinness is a solid manager but is he really that much different to why people didn't like Neilson?

To be fair, ultimately, the people that didn’t like Neilson (twice) have been proven to have been wrong (twice).

He is the only manager in the last decade for us to have consistently got a run of results and any semblance of form together.

So anyone that bemoans style over getting results seriously has no fuel left as a Hearts fan

Edited by Tom Hardy’s Dug
Posted
3 hours ago, Bauld said:

I swear if that ever happens I’m going shopping with the wife on game days 🤣🤣🤣

Posted
3 hours ago, rory78 said:

It'll be Liam Fox and probably with Levein aiding him 🙄

can read the CEO statement now……….”he was along the corridor all the time……”

Posted
6 hours ago, scratchy said:

I'll say it again. Young, hungry and intelligent. That's the way forward for us. What!! He lacks experience, Aye!! in what exactly? that's such a red herring if ye ask me. I assume, like most who've had any sort of career, he's been steeped in football since he was a pup and seems to have a bit about him. He has a vampire's hairline anaw, bonus. 😏

I've always thought more Hunger Games. :D

8520e867303d91ddbaa2ae73367edbb4.png

Posted
7 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

I swear if that ever happens I’m going shopping with the wife on game days 🤣🤣🤣

You better hope she never reads this 🤣

Posted

Barry Robson. Euro Tactcial Hoofball genius 

Posted
21 hours ago, Ari Gold said:

Aberdeen fans were fed up of the football they were playing under Mcinness. Hearts fan were fed up with the football we were playing under Neilson. 

Mcinness is a solid manager but is he really that much different to why people didn't like Neilson?

There were folk who were sick of the football under Neilson when we were winning most weeks . They are generally not worth listening to . Neilson was sacked when the results turned to shite and he was unable or unwilling to change things up to recover it . Winning is what it is all about and if McInnes can do that then get him in . Easy enough to ignore the EPL aficionados and their demands for a mythical brand of football

Posted
9 hours ago, Tom Hardy’s Dug said:

To be fair, ultimately, the people that didn’t like Neilson (twice) have been proven to have been wrong (twice).

He is the only manager in the last decade for us to have consistently got a run of results and any semblance of form together.

So anyone that bemoans style over getting results seriously has no fuel left as a Hearts fan

Results first was always the Hearts way. We take the piss out of Hibs fans for their flair chat. 

If Hearts are winning nothing else should matter.

Posted
2 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

Results first was always the Hearts way. We take the piss out of Hibs fans for their flair chat. 

Correct 

Posted
16 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

So it's ok to watch hearts week in week out scraping wins and draws when the football and tactics are complete s%$#$.do you not like to be entertained at a football game?

Posted

Someone with absolutely no connection to Hearts or anyone on the board 

Posted
25 minutes ago, Kev1998 said:

So it's ok to watch hearts week in week out scraping wins and draws when the football and tactics are complete s%$#$.do you not like to be entertained at a football game?

Of course I like and want to he entertained. But I want my team to win first and foremost.

Many a time I've left a game thinking we were shite but got the job done, and that's all that mattered to me. Whenever we won a game playing really well it would just give us something else to talk about in the boozer :lol:

Posted
42 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

My understanding of that was always we take the piss out of them for their flair chat because they have very very rarely been an attractive football team (maybe 2.5/3 seasons in my lifetime?) and have no business pretending otherwise, yet they've made it a part of their identity in their own heads, rather than because they want to see a team that plays good football. Surely every clubs fans want that even if it's results first?

Posted

Eva Ovid as the interim to see how she does. Then subject to interviews, who knows. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

Of course I like and want to he entertained. But I want my team to win first and foremost.

Many a time I've left a game thinking we were shite but got the job done, and that's all that mattered to me. Whenever we won a game playing really well it would just give us something else to talk about in the boozer :lol:

I get what your saying dg.but nowadays it's not many a time, it's the norm with an Osgood performance thrown in.

Posted
30 minutes ago, twjambo said:

Eva Ovid as the interim to see how she does. Then subject to interviews, who knows. 

That would be some metamorphosis.

Posted

Should we maybe change the name of this thread to ‘Which complete loser will Shan Budge appoint next?’

Probably a more worthwhile discussion

Posted

We’ll go for someone who can already be described as a relative success in our league or someone who’s previously managed successfully in our league. I don’t know the availability of ex Scottish top flight managers so can’t give any names. Robinson probably the only current one who I can think of although Kettlewell was talked up by McKinlay in one of his interviews. 

Posted
23 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

If Naismith was to be punted its likely Fox steps up in interim. Tell you what would be a dilemma if he came and did Robson or Kettlewell and started rattling out victories

One of my gripes about Naismith was his time as interim coach was a failure. That audition was nowhere near enough to warrant getting the gig full time. 

This is always the issue with interim managers. It's so difficult to gauge how they will turn out in the long run. 

Posted

All the chat about McInnes is interesting. No doubt his Aberdeen side were the 2nd best in Scotland. They were in a very fortunate position at that time though, at first we were in admin, Hibs were walking off a cliff & Rangers were reanimating their corpse so their biggest competitors were-

-Motherwell

-ICT

-Briefly Dundee Utd before Celtic raided all their players.

Decent sides but not exactly powerhouses by any stretch, 2 of them have since been relegated, Motherwell finished above them the first season then fell into the relegation playoffs the next, go figure.

We came up not a million miles off them or anything, they were the better side though & finished above us. Then we shot ourselves in the foot again with the Cathro appointment & fell way off for a while. When Rangers came up they were a laughing stock & had absolutely no direction while they desperately tried to catch up to a Celtic side so far ahead of them that it was hilarious. Hibs had 4/5 good months under Lennon.

As soon as Rangers got their shit together they went back above Aberdeen by a big margin, then they finished 4th behind Killie & then Hibs & the fans tolerance for Levein style murderball very quickly disappeared when they stopped finishing runners up.

They have one league cup to show for this absolutely golden opportunity with them 2nd favourites for every comp before a ball was kicked, 3 seasons against a complacent Celtic team that were half arsing it until Rangers came up & still didn't get near them. Not a single Euro run in about 6 attempts, losing out to the likes of Kariat, Limassol, Rijeka, good sides I'm sure but beatable. 

If we did get McInnes in I would accept it, he's definitely the pick of the rest of the leagues managers, but I don't see him as a long term solution. He'd do a job, probably get us 3rd this season but it'd be a slog. He'd be rounded on very quickly for his eye bleeding style if results weren't going our way.

Ideally we'll go get someone with a bit of experience who can have us playing like the favourites we should be in 30/38 games a season, on the front foot with plenty of the ball, shots on goal, quick passing & movement etc.

Posted
8 minutes ago, boag1874 said:

All the chat about McInnes is interesting. No doubt his Aberdeen side were the 2nd best in Scotland. They were in a very fortunate position at that time though, at first we were in admin, Hibs were walking off a cliff & Rangers were reanimating their corpse so their biggest competitors were-

-Motherwell

-ICT

-Briefly Dundee Utd before Celtic raided all their players.

Decent sides but not exactly powerhouses by any stretch, 2 of them have since been relegated, Motherwell finished above them the first season then fell into the relegation playoffs the next, go figure.

We came up not a million miles off them or anything, they were the better side though & finished above us. Then we shot ourselves in the foot again with the Cathro appointment & fell way off for a while. When Rangers came up they were a laughing stock & had absolutely no direction while they desperately tried to catch up to a Celtic side so far ahead of them that it was hilarious. Hibs had 4/5 good months under Lennon.

As soon as Rangers got their shit together they went back above Aberdeen by a big margin, then they finished 4th behind Killie & then Hibs & the fans tolerance for Levein style murderball very quickly disappeared when they stopped finishing runners up.

They have one league cup to show for this absolutely golden opportunity with them 2nd favourites for every comp before a ball was kicked, 3 seasons against a complacent Celtic team that were half arsing it until Rangers came up & still didn't get near them. Not a single Euro run in about 6 attempts, losing out to the likes of Kariat, Limassol, Rijeka, good sides I'm sure but beatable. 

If we did get McInnes in I would accept it, he's definitely the pick of the rest of the leagues managers, but I don't see him as a long term solution. He'd do a job, probably get us 3rd this season but it'd be a slog. He'd be rounded on very quickly for his eye bleeding style if results weren't going our way.

Ideally we'll go get someone with a bit of experience who can have us playing like the favourites we should be in 30/38 games a season, on the front foot with plenty of the ball, shots on goal, quick passing & movement etc.

Nailed it

File Mcinnes under Robbie Neilson and Jack Ross. 

Zero ambition shown with the likes of Mcinnes and Robinson. 

Posted

Joey Barton is available 

Posted
3 hours ago, DG_HMFC said:

Posted
2 hours ago, Chimp said:

This is always the issue with interim managers. It's so difficult to gauge how they will turn out in the long run. 

Appointing an interim manager after a handful of games is always the easy, lazy option by any club. I would never appoint an interim coach on the basis of slight turn round in results. Our results didn't even pick up, only a slight improvement in performance when the players ran about a bit faster. That was all.

Posted

I just don’t get this place at times. People mumping about Naismith but raving about Kettlewell after a few games because he gives Rangers and Celtic a game. If Motherwell have done well for a couple of years then fair enough, but Jesus, lots of managers have spells when they do ok..

Callum Davidson, Goodwin at St Mirren, Martindale for a while at Livi. Doesn’t mean any of them should be at Hearts. Robinson is probably a better manager right now than hat we have, but if I had a choice I don’t really want him. All these managers play counter attacking football and are happy setting their team up,to have 30-40% of the ball. Totally different ball game when you have 60-65%% of the ball and have to break teams down.  None of those listed above ever have that much ball regularly, and it would be a gamble on anybody other than an established managed hopefully none of the usual names. McInnes is the only one who would have had ball more at Aberdeen.

Im not happy and Naismith shouldn’t have got the job IMO, but things can change quickly. Get Gordon, Halkett, Barry Mackay, maybe Tagawa upto speed and we can easily start doing a lot better. Again, no certainties regards injuries etc, but we can’t keep changing managers every time we lose a few games. We need some serious stability for a while. 

Football fans are way too fickle. I don’t have a clue what we should,so, but too many so called fans can’t wait for things to fail, so they can mump their gums and complain. 

Posted
31 minutes ago, daftie said:

I just don’t get this place at times. People mumping about Naismith but raving about Kettlewell after a few games because he gives Rangers and Celtic a game. If Motherwell have done well for a couple of years then fair enough, but Jesus, lots of managers have spells when they do ok..

Callum Davidson, Goodwin at St Mirren, Martindale for a while at Livi. Doesn’t mean any of them should be at Hearts. Robinson is probably a better manager right now than hat we have, but if I had a choice I don’t really want him. All these managers play counter attacking football and are happy setting their team up,to have 30-40% of the ball. Totally different ball game when you have 60-65%% of the ball and have to break teams down.  None of those listed above ever have that much ball regularly, and it would be a gamble on anybody other than an established managed hopefully none of the usual names. McInnes is the only one who would have had ball more at Aberdeen.

Im not happy and Naismith shouldn’t have got the job IMO, but things can change quickly. Get Gordon, Halkett, Barry Mackay, maybe Tagawa upto speed and we can easily start doing a lot better. Again, no certainties regards injuries etc, but we can’t keep changing managers every time we lose a few games. We need some serious stability for a while. 

Football fans are way too fickle. I don’t have a clue what we should,so, but too many so called fans can’t wait for things to fail, so they can mump their gums and complain. 

Paulo Sergio please 🙏 

Posted
42 minutes ago, daftie said:

I don't think those players returning from injury gets us away from the substandard management team. 

I think a good manager is the difference in big games, and I think especially against the OF, yes its important the players don't make mistakes, but also in that the manager gets his tactics right. I don't think Naismith has the sort of experience needed to go up against the OF and come away with anything. 

Obviously we'll see, but its hard to look at the next 2 rangers games with any excitement. It doesn't even feel like a tough test as opposed to a forgone conclusion. 

I think we should be letting managers cut their teeth elsewhere and then signing them. Its not a guarantee of success, but it manages risk better IMO. 

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Paulo Sergio is managing in the top league in Portugal. It may be a smaller team but I'm far from convinced we could attract him in terms of salary or the project he would be taking on. 

Disagree - he's been there for 3 years now, basically relegation fodder by the looks of things. He's done everything he can with that club. 

I think he'd be interested in speaking to the club if we made contact - I do agree you're right in the salary being a potential issue, but it could be broadly comparable. Yes the Portuguese league has better commercial income, but they're also a very small club. On the flip side, our league has awful commercial income, but we're a decent sized club.  Possible that the money on offer is about the same. Possibly comes down to how much he feels there is unfinished business and a project he can buy into. 

FWIW, I'd be keen to see Paulo back. 

Edit: Relegation fodder probably a bit harsh, but certainly something of a yoyo team - Portuguese Partick Thistle!

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/portimonense-sc/platzierungen/verein/7378

Edited by OTT
Posted

Muscat to Millwall?

Posted
3 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Muscat to Millwall?

Looks like it, been hinted for a wee while.

Posted

If McKinley and Savage are remotely competent at their jobs, they should be sourcing out coaches they could approach with the certainty that sooner or later SN will be sacked. They should have a plan of action and a list of names, therefore not sitting back and seeing who applies. That is what competent management would do. The time we take to appoint someone is ridiculous. It's like events have taken them by surprise when they should have enough about them to see what is developing in front of their eyes.