Horizon IT - Post Office - Public Enquiry

Posted
2 minutes ago, Ked said:

Trouble is it's the same all the time.

Whenever her or her class get in trouble it takes years.

Never a hit financially

Never a hit regarding liberty. 

It's almost as if the legal process favours the favoured.

Love this thread yet hate it .

The criminality at high level in the UK is cultural.

Fascist by definition.

How the fek we still want to be part of the endemic entitled corruption is a place for the weak minded imo.

If any event can break that mould then it will be this.  If not then nothing will or could.  I tend to believe that there will be police investigation but it may well be in question if it can be maintained at a high cost and may be inadequate and cut short on the grounds of public interest.  I'm not sure how far the private prosecutions can travel without police investigations.  

• Replies 880

• Footballfirst

• periodictabledancer

• Victorian

• Lone Striker

Posted

Apparently Vennells' lawyers have made another late disclosure of documents.  

Manipulation of legal process must be hard habit to shake.

Posted (edited)
18 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Apparently Vennells' lawyers have made another late disclosure of documents.  

Manipulation of legal process must be hard habit to shake.

One of the documents was the praise that Cameron lauded on her in a personal letter, as she departed POL.

"Dear Paula,

"Before we get into a world of announcements, reactions and plans, I wanted to share what I'm feeling. "Overwhelmingly, it's gratitude. "I have loved the last 4 years. It has been a privilege to serve the Post Office and that has been made possible by you bringing me in, treating me like a valued partner and supporting me so well. For all of your generosity, thank you.

Because your values are so strong, I have learnt so much from you and often asked myself: 'What would Paula do?' and I especially admire your self control, your restraint, your constant desire to listen first and your endless ability to make tough decisions and have honest conversations without ever forgetting the individual you are dealing with. "You have a different and a better impact than any [Managing Director] or CEO I have worked for -- the joy of our culture is how unpolitical it is, how collegiate we can be and how shared our sense of urgency is.

None of that would have been created without you. "However you are treated (I hope well and fittingly), I know and I hope you understand what a difference you've made to people's lives across the [United Kingdom]. "I really can't imagine doing this without you ...

Thank you so much,

"Al."

Edited by Footballfirst
Posted
59 minutes ago, Ked said:

I can't imagine my mother who is a Christian and loves her Jesus ever allowing this.

She just wouldnt .

I know that in my heart.

Nor mine.

The article excludes the main thrust of why this happened .

It is annoying to me that a link between Christian belief and what happened are linked.

Imo society isn't Christian enough and if it were we might find better public standards.

I think she nails it, actually.  It happened because that's how people in charge of institutions always behave when the institution does something wrong.  That's what religious authorities did when faced with allegations of sexual abuse, even though the same people would call themselves Christian.  She also nails it when she says how there's one law for those in the golden circles and another law for everyone else.

Off course I'm probably wrong.

But knowing my auld Dutch and her church going friends .

The woman in question isn't Christian. 

Indeed.  But she thinks she is.

Posted

It's almost as if the legal process favours the favoured.

Almost?

Posted

Paula Vennells "I plan to answer all the questions"

Possibly? Truthfully? Perhaps  not.

Posted

If she is lying, that's a long list of denials.   Fire alarm drill on the go, not finished his list... 

Posted

Already set out the stall.  Everybody told her nothing whatsoever.  

Posted

She seems to think she's blameless for anything. 

Posted

I suspect that Beer's questions may break Vennells eventually.

She is already getting a roasting. 

Posted

Post masters had to be guilty. This idea prevented any other proper scrutiny..

132goals1958
Posted
12 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I suspect that Beer's questions may break Vennells eventually.

She is already getting a roasting. 

How she is managing to hold her nerve under the microscope is beyond me   

Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, 132goals1958 said:

How she is managing to hold her nerve under the microscope is beyond me   

Her first tears just now. I don't think they will be the last.

With her devout Christian views, perhaps she has invoked divine intervention in having a leak drip on the inquiry chair, in order to stop the barrage of questions.

Edited by Footballfirst
Posted

The Moya Green (head of Royal Mail) text exchange is quite damning.  Moya Green (privately) strongly implies that Vennells is a liar.  

One MD directly telling another MD (CEO) that they're a liar.  That's extremely illuminating.

Posted

The lawyer summed it up well earlier.

"Why can't you just tell us clearly what went wrong".

Posted

Greeting again,crocodile tears covering her culpability 

Posted

So, either nobody at the Post Office knew anything and were all just unlucky enough to be totally incompetent and ignorant at every level of the organisation.

OR there was a concerted effort to cover up the problems and smear the wrongly convicted Postmasters.

I know which one of those options I believe.

Posted (edited)

Showing Vennels denying any responsibility at the time for the post master suicide is clever. 

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted
Just now, Mikey1874 said:

Showing Vennels denying any responsibility for the post master suicide is clever. 

:Agree:

Her conduct on that matter demonstrates her as a total ****wit.  At best.  At worst possibly a poisonous scumbag.

Posted

Brutal by the KC.

Suggesting she blames others selectively while denying responsibility,  though also says this is the pattern of evidence throughout. 

WorldChampions1902
Posted
10 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Get her ****ing charged.

Cannot come quick enough for me. An utter reptile IMHO.

Posted

She is sitting there dressed like a Bond villain.  The crying is shameless, especially when so many of her victims were sent to jail, who sympathised for their tears and of that of their families.  This needs to run it's course, but the well timed expose of her cover up and the smoking gun is telling.

I do wish she has her day in court, but to still pull a pension is morally wrong. Should she have all her past salary and properties targeted under the proceeds of crime act.  Lets face it the more she claims she was in the dark and the more emails and recorded conversations are revealed, she is throwing herself under a bus

Posted

She should be in a jail cell by now

Posted

Struggling to get a feed on the BBC site.  It's either foyer chat with the reporter or recorded evidence from earlier.

Lie Forrit 2 hrs 34 mins
Posted

She mentioned having meetings with my 1/2 cousin George Thomson a few times. I take it he’ll make an appearance at some time. That’ll be interesting

Posted

When you're a highly paid CEO of a company (large or small, public or private), one of the key skills you need is to be intensely curious to understand the circumstances and issues which  affect your business.     Be proactive in asking awkward questions of your senior managers to explain why X is happening, what action they're taking and why.... etc

Basically  you have to be able to be able & willing to become a  b'stard  when needs be.

Its clear that Vennells didn't have the right level of proactive curiosity, and just relied on her managers to tell her whatever they volunteered to tell her. 

Has it ever been revealed if anyone  in the PO management questioned why/how the majority of SPMs appeared to have no issues at all with Horizon ?   Surely that should have been the first question Vennells & others ought to have demanded an answer to ....rather than just use it as an indicator of guilt of the hundreds of SPMs who prosecutions were brought against. 

Jason Beer is an absolute rottweiler in sheep's clothing, btw 😱

Posted
7 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

When you're a highly paid CEO of a company (large or small, public or private), one of the key skills you need is to be intensely curious to understand the circumstances and issues which  affect your business.     Be proactive in asking awkward questions of your senior managers to explain why X is happening, what action they're taking and why.... etc

Basically  you have to be able to be able & willing to become a  b'stard  when needs be.

Its clear that Vennells didn't have the right level of proactive curiosity, and just relied on her managers to tell her whatever they volunteered to tell her. 

Has it ever been revealed if anyone  in the PO management questioned why/how the majority of SPMs appeared to have no issues at all with Horizon ?   Surely that should have been the first question Vennells & others ought to have demanded an answer to ....rather than just use it as an indicator of guilt of the hundreds of SPMs who prosecutions were brought against. 

Jason Beer is an absolute rottweiler in sheep's clothing, btw 😱

When they need to,  or when it suits,  all of the most senior people have been happy to rely on creating the impression that they were incompetent,  or failed to bring competence to the corporate governance of the organisation.

Unaware whenever a criminal prosecution or civil action was lost in court?  Fairytale stuff.  

Posted
27 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Struggling to get a feed on the BBC site.  It's either foyer chat with the reporter or recorded evidence from earlier.

Its recording from this morning - they must still be on a lunch break. 

Or maybe Vennells has been rushed to hospital.....

Posted
1 minute ago, Lone Striker said:

Or maybe Vennells has been rushed to hospital.....

Even before the break I was getting recorded evidence.  There were 100,000 viewing so maybe there's an issue on capacity on the live feed.

Posted

I use the Youtube feed. That way you don't get interrupted by news items or banners.

Due to resume in a couple of mins after lunch

Posted

Back on now

Posted (edited)

Got delayed earlier by rain getting in too. So was on replay then too

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted

This could be Nicola Sturgeon talking  " I cant remember"  But in essence people were telling her there was issues!

She cant remember or she never knew that she had under her control 100 people in charge of persuading their sub-post masters ?

Did not know that losses were to be repaid in their entirety by their staff? I find that incredulous , we have made a loss but you pay it back is the truth?

Nobody asked why they employ so many crooks around the country?

If they are being ripped off by staff, the why did they not put in protocols to stop it happening?

She did not during the time ask the question how are we allowed to bring people to court, by-passing COPFS or the Crown PS.

and after she knew there was over 600 bugs and intermittant faults reported, she did not stop until ....well she did not stop prosecutions! 

Posted
39 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Or maybe Vennells has been rushed to Jail...

FTFY

Posted
3 minutes ago, XB52 said:

FTFY

👍  Can't come quick enough.   

Conveniently for Sunak and his mob, it'll be Labour who'll become associated with whatever prosecutions are (and  aren't ) pursued.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bonnie Prince Charlie said:

She mentioned having meetings with my 1/2 cousin George Thomson a few times. I take it he’ll make an appearance at some time. That’ll be interesting

Your 1/2 cousin was in Paula's pocket bought and paid for ,didn't represent his members and fully supported the PO over Horizon which he 'agreed' was a fully robust system.

He is also a Hibby!

Posted
1 hour ago, Lone Striker said:

👍  Can't come quick enough.   

Conveniently for Sunak and his mob, it'll be Labour who'll become associated with whatever prosecutions are (and  aren't ) pursued.

Along with the Blood scandal compo and the WASPI compo.

Sleekit wee sh@@bags.

No way is that Governing in the best interests of the country or the people.

Leave everything until the very last minute will make it neigh on impossible for Labour to resolve these things quickly.

Posted

I suspect day 1 of 3 will be her easiest day.  Tougher times to come.  She seems easily stressed to the point of upset.  Just wait until the core participants counsels,  Stein and Henry get off the leash.

Posted
8 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

Along with the Blood scandal compo and the WASPI compo.

Sleekit wee sh@@bags.

No way is that Governing in the best interests of the country or the people.

Leave everything until the very last minute will make it neigh on impossible for Labour to resolve these things quickly.

Indeed.   It seems they're deliberately slowing the Horizon compo claims just to give Labour more liabilities on the public finances after the GE. And I'll bet that when they're in Opposition, their leader (Sunak or whoever) throws endless slurs at PM  Starmer for what they perceive to have been his "role" as  DPP during the Infected Blood and Horizon scandals.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Indeed.   It seems they're deliberately slowing the Horizon compo claims just to give Labour more liabilities on the public finances after the GE. And I'll bet that when they're in Opposition, their leader (Sunak or whoever) throws endless slurs at PM  Starmer for what they perceive to have been his "role" as  DPP during the Infected Blood and Horizon scandals.

Though everything being resolved under Labour helps for that second term. 

Lie Forrit 2 hrs 34 mins
Posted
2 hours ago, ehcaley said:

Your 1/2 cousin was in Paula's pocket bought and paid for ,didn't represent his members and fully supported the PO over Horizon which he 'agreed' was a fully robust system.

He is also a Hibby!

You’re not telling me anything I don’t know. When I say 1/2 cousin it’s a wee bit more distant than that as we are related from a marriage a wee bit over 100 years ago. 

Posted

Crocodile tears. 
She knew everything.

Posted
5 hours ago, Boab said:

Crocodile tears. 
She knew everything.

Sir Wyn has her figured out.

His final question of the day had her lost for words .......... "why?"

Start at 2:03:20 ..... just the last few mins.

Posted
10 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

Sir Wyn has her figured out.

His final question of the day had her lost for words .......... "why?"

Start at 2:03:20 ..... just the last few mins.

I missed the start, did Sir Wyn get an answer?

Posted
20 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

The only answer he got was what she said at the end of yesterday's session. It was not followed up today.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

The question was why was the information you were given for your Parliament Select Committee hearing pushing you to be guarded (cautious in your responses).

The answer she gave was they maybe wanted me to answer questions in a certain way.

Posted (edited)

She's getting deeper into the lies today 😂 Just denied she'd never take the advice from one collegue.   Then in an email literally says she's on board with her advisor Davies.   Concerning looking at past cases over the past ten years.   Avoiding drawing media attention. 

😜

Edited by HMFC01
Posted

another huge groan when asked about taking advice from trusted colleagues, she said she would always take several views, always, but when shown an email she took one from the PR guy only, she said she cant remember......

Posted (edited)

Makes you wonder what CEOs actually do, other than to lie to the government and stock exchange, and make jobs redundant.

Edited by Joey J J Jr Shabadoo