30 years of the Premier League

Rick James

In the summer of 1992, the inaugural Premier League campaign was about to get underway. Well before my time, but there seemed to be a lot of excitement about it. Truly a new era in English football after the dark days of the 80's down South. The consensus in the media is, that 30 years on, the Premier League has been a roaring success. Its now the best league in the world, the only league the whole world sits up and takes notice of in their eyes. What about the outsiders perspective though?

I guess us Scots are fairly unique in the sense that we've always been so heavily influenced by the English game, despite it not being our game. Even before the plethora of English games on TV, it seemed the done thing to always follow an English team from afar. And now, more than ever perhaps, that influence is clear to see with children all across the country sporting replica kits of the likes of Man United, Man City, Liverpool etc.

How do you personally feel about the PL though? I loved it growing up, and still feel nostalgic about it from the late 90's through to the late 2000's, but I'm just not interested anymore. I was a Manchester United 'fan' growing up, but the money, the commercialisation, almost everything about it has totally put me off. I've been to a fair few PL games and enjoyed the experiences and would go again if the opportunity was there but I just can't bring myself to go out of my way to watch a game on TV on my own accord.

The Premier League as a brand, has undoubtedly grown like no other before. And they seem to do a lot of work, again more than most, to address a lot of taboos within the game. But is the Premier League really better in 2022, than it was in 1992 from a fans perspective at least?

I loved it in the cantona years etc, but now I couldn’t care less. It’s lost it’s soul. I don’t even bother watching match of the day anymore. Give me Scottish football any day.  
£510,000 a week for Ronaldo ffs. Man City, Newcastle etc etc.  super League greed etc. games gone down there 

They called it PL31 on the telly tonight, I nearly kicked the dog.

I don't care for the Americanisation of football and I'm glad we're not at that level. It's why foosty auld ****s like me don't fancy big screens and what have you.

The 2000s was a peak for football in my biased opinion and the same goes for the prem. some truly brilliant defenders in those times which made the attacking players even better. 

I know people always say that footballers get better as time goes on due to athletic demands and such and there may be some truth in that aspect but for me football peaked around that time.

Henry, Bergkamp, Van Nistelrooy, Vieira, Keane, Shearer, Lampard, Gerrard, Torres, Terry, Stam, Vidic, Ferdinand, Cole, Rooney, Cech, Van Der Sar, Tevez, Giggs, Scholes, Beckham, Drogba, Pires, Ronaldo, Fabregas, Van Persie, Cahill, Arteta, Yakubu, Campbell, Defoe, Crouch, Evra, Carvalho, Garcia, Alonso etc. I could go on and on and that’s just the English league.

I’m sure that younger fans will rightly laud the contributions of the last ten years such as Aguero, Kane, Silva and De Bruyne and likewise older fans will harp back to Cantona, Ince, Adams and Irwin. But for me the 2000s hold a special place in my heart for prem football, world football and our club

7 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

The 2000s was a peak for football in my biased opinion and the same goes for the prem. some truly brilliant defenders in those times which made the attacking players even better. 

I know people always say that footballers get better as time goes on due to athletic demands and such and there may be some truth in that aspect but for me football peaked around that time.

Henry, Bergkamp, Van Nistelrooy, Vieira, Keane, Shearer, Lampard, Gerrard, Torres, Terry, Stam, Vidic, Ferdinand, Cole, Rooney, Cech, Van Der Sar, Tevez, Giggs, Scholes, Beckham, Drogba, Pires, Ronaldo, Fabregas, Van Persie, Cahill, Arteta, Yakubu, Campbell, Defoe, Crouch, Evra, Carvalho, Garcia, Alonso etc. I could go on and on and that’s just the English league.

I’m sure that younger fans will rightly laud the contributions of the last ten years such as Aguero, Kane, Silva and De Bruyne and likewise older fans will harp back to Cantona, Ince, Adams and Irwin. But for me the 2000s hold a special place in my heart for prem football, world football and our club

couldn’t put it better 

10 minutes ago, BigAlim said:

The older I've got, the more I've pondered the age old of question of 'were things really better back in the day?'. Sounds like you're around ages with me, and I can't help but think the late 90's into the 2000's were also a truly great era for football. The players you named are the players I watched and loved coming into my teens and players these days just don't have that draw on me. Tournaments felt exciting too. It took from 1990-2017 for a team to win back to back European Cups, the Premier League felt pretty competitive throughout (not talking straight title winners but Newcastle and Everton finishing top 4, the likes of Blackburn and Bolton getting to Europe etc) and International tournaments were immense.

Football back then too, in my eyes, had the right amount of accessibility. There was more televised coverage than ever before, but still quite scarce compared to today. Live games felt like a rare treat particularly from foreign leagues and it didn't feel quite forced in our faces. Now you can effortlessly watch every kick of the ball in the PL on a given matchday if you have the time as well as other leagues. When I was growing up, I remember the one night my Dad used to let me stay up past bedtime was the night ITV showed their CL game. The opportunity to watch these exotic teams from Italy, Spain, France, Germany etc. Just wasn't really a thing for me growing up especially as Football Italia was starting to fade from C4. Nowadays you can watch almost any team and league you want, which don't get me wrong, is pretty cool in itself. But sort of takes the magic away for me a bit.

Liked it as a teenager and growing up. 

Really lost interest in it as the money has taken over, but as I got sky for the first time in ten years I will watch games when I'm at a loose end but I like when I was younger I won't go out my way to watch it. 

Still follow Newcastles results but lost interest in the league overall. Use to love watching match of the day on a Saturday night as a kid. 

Saw a fair bit of CP v Arsenal last night but cant say I went wow.

Yes they would beat us big n physical almost robotic if that makes sense.

12 hours ago, BigAlim said:

This guy had more to do with the success of the EPL than anyone else. 

No Idle Talk

I was excited about it in the beginning. I can still recall the advert Sky ran at the time using Alive & Kicking by Simple Minds. Loved that. There was hardly any live televised football when I was growing up, suddenly there was lots of it. So it seemed like a great thing from that perspective. 

I have to be honest and say I pretty much hate it now. Players wages have reached obscene levels and the whole thing has become too money driven. 

My biggest issue with it is the knock on effect it has had on Scottish Football. Something is fundamentally wrong when third, fourth, or even fifth, tier clubs in England can outbid clubs like Hearts, Hibernian, Aberdeen, for players. But that is the monster that Sky's money has created. 

Old habits live with you. A Liverpool- Man U game, Arsenal- Man U etc….approaches and you look forward to it, expect blood and thunder, an age old rivalry seeping into the pores of the players that influences the

game, but the match ends up a let down.

Thats what I feel about it quite frequently now.  The 90s and Noughties saw all these rivalries at their height but now I just don’t see it.

Possibly the Man City- Liverpool matches live up to it the closest, been some cracking matches recently, but on the whole, the big rivalries don’t feel the same now.  

Edited by Debut 4

20 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Old habits live with you. A Liverpool- Man U game, Arsenal- Man U etc….approaches and you look forward to it, expect blood and thunder, an age old rivalry seeping into the pores of the players that influences the

Thats what I feel about it quite frequently now.  The 90s and Noughties saw all these rivalries at their height but now I just don’t see it.

Possibly the Man City- Liverpool matches live up to it the closest, been some cracking matches recently, but on the whole, the big rivalries don’t feel the same now.  

I reckon that has something to do with the crowd knowing nothing about the rivalries tbh

Edited by BigAlim

Live televised football in England started properly 30 years ago.

Football in England started properly in the 1870s. We Scots were at the forefront of it becoming the most popular sport in the UK, and worldwide.

Football did not start in 1992, despite what SkySports may tell you.

The athleticism across the depths of squads has improved and the quality of the surfaces nowadays are nowhere near what they used to be like. However, the quality of the player and matches have greatly diminished in the PL era since the 90s and 00s.

1 hour ago, Deodato said:

This guy had more to do with the success of the EPL than anyone else. 

Cheers mate, I honestly don't think I've done that much though tbh

14 hours ago, Locky said:

In the summer of 1992, the inaugural Premier League campaign was about to get underway. Well before my time, but there seemed to be a lot of excitement about it. Truly a new era in English football after the dark days of the 80's down South. The consensus in the media is, that 30 years on, the Premier League has been a roaring success. Its now the best league in the world, the only league the whole world sits up and takes notice of in their eyes. What about the outsiders perspective though?

I guess us Scots are fairly unique in the sense that we've always been so heavily influenced by the English game, despite it not being our game. Even before the plethora of English games on TV, it seemed the done thing to always follow an English team from afar. And now, more than ever perhaps, that influence is clear to see with children all across the country sporting replica kits of the likes of Man United, Man City, Liverpool etc.

How do you personally feel about the PL though? I loved it growing up, and still feel nostalgic about it from the late 90's through to the late 2000's, but I'm just not interested anymore. I was a Manchester United 'fan' growing up, but the money, the commercialisation, almost everything about it has totally put me off. I've been to a fair few PL games and enjoyed the experiences and would go again if the opportunity was there but I just can't bring myself to go out of my way to watch a game on TV on my own accord.

The Premier League as a brand, has undoubtedly grown like no other before. And they seem to do a lot of work, again more than most, to address a lot of taboos within the game. But is the Premier League really better in 2022, than it was in 1992 from a fans perspective at least?

Dark days of the 80s?  The Euro ban was the only dark part - some truly outstanding sides in the 80s.  Fitba in the 80s in England was fantastic to watch.

1 hour ago, Debut 4 said:

Do you remember that Red Monday shite they did on Sky Sports in, I think, 2016? United vs Liverpool on a Monday night and they hyped it up something rotten for about a week straight. It was everywhere, Despite my interest in United fading, I was still looking forward to watching these games. The games should sell themselves just for the clubs playing. But, they continue to hype it more and more, and the result? One of the most turgid 0-0 draws I've ever seen. But I guess that's the beauty of what they do. They didn't call it a shite game as the average punter would. No, it was a hard fought tactical battle, the result showing how there's nothing seperating these 2 great clubs, and it'll just be another chapter in the narrative. Pish.

1 hour ago, BigAlim said:

I reckon that has something to do with the crowd knowing nothing about the rivalries tbh

Definitely think that's a shout. The atmosphere in stadiums, even for the big rivalry games, is generally watered down and tame as ****. Doesn't matter what teams is put out in front of you, you need that big atmosphere to get you going.

14 minutes ago, briever said:

Dark days of the 80s?  The Euro ban was the only dark part - some truly outstanding sides in the 80s.  Fitba in the 80s in England was fantastic to watch.

For sure there was, but the point of the Premier League was to improve the image of the game, a new era as such. You can't deny that the image of English football on a worldwide scale has probably never been worse than it was in the 80's.

1 minute ago, Locky said:

For sure there was, but the point of the Premier League was to improve the image of the game, a new era as such. You can't deny that the image of English football on a worldwide scale has probably never been worse than it was in the 80's.

The point of it was to make more money.

England fans were still rioting throughout the time of the EPL.

Fans got nicer stadiums, paying foreign mercs 10s of millions and higher season ticket costs.

Percival King
3 minutes ago, Locky said:

Hillsborough, Heysel, Bradford, Millwall fans at Luton, England fans rioting at the 1980 Euros, Chelsea's electric fence and fighting throughout the decade - 80s was a dark decade off the pitch in England but, as had been said, some really, really good teams.

12 minutes ago, briever said:

The point of it was to make more money.

England fans were still rioting throughout the time of the EPL.

Fans got nicer stadiums, paying foreign mercs 10s of millions and higher season ticket costs.

Like most things though, you won't make the money if the product isn't deemed better. Always said, make you want of the PL, but tbf to them and Sky, you can't fault the marketing.

I quite liked it at the start as I was just daft for football ………. looking back now I see it was the beginning of the end for Scottish football and I detest what it has grown in to 

I preferred when the gap was not as big between our two top leagues and when Italian German Spanish Dutch Greek and Portuguese teams were not seen as massive outsiders when they play them in Europe

Never watch it now a days other than if I am down there and want to go to a game in person or if it happens to be on TV before or after a Hearts game

Edited by Sooks

It's sold its soul. 

It's an international league based in England. The majority of players and managers are foreign. The majority of fans that watch the games are foreign. It won't be long until these clubs are franchises play in some Harlem Globetrotter league. 

1 minute ago, Cruyff said:

It's sold its soul. 

It's an international league based in England. The majority of players and managers are foreign. The majority of fans that watch the games are foreign. It won't be long until these clubs are franchises play in some Harlem Globetrotter league. 

It depends how you define "foreign".

In the 60s -80s the Football League was very much a British and Irish league. 

Was worth watching during the Roy Keane vs Vieira, Alex Ferguson vs Wenger vs Mourinho era.

Nowadays, I don’t really pay much attention to it, far too overhyped and a bit soulless. 

13 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

It depends how you define "foreign".

In the 60s -80s the Football League was very much a British and Irish league. 

See thread title.

me and my mates bought tickets to watch juventus v inter milan in marcos snooker club because we had never seen a live game from europe, i would never go that far out of my way to watch any game other than hearts these days, tikitaki barcelona that everyone is copying is dull stuff. the money in england has cut competition off, theres only 5 teams can win it much like sevco and celtic here.

football changed for the worse for us fans with the bosman ruling, players, agents and the big clubs scored but the product on offer has suffered because of the financial pressures.

Loved it in the 90s. But it felt like a novelty to me back then. We got Sky in 1995 and my dad and I always made a point of watching the Super Sunday games together. I loved watching Man United and West Ham at that time. 

Nowadays though I don't tend to watch any live EPL games although I do like to watch MOTD on a Saturday night and I look forward to it. 

I do however enjoying watching live Scottish football, even though the quality isn't as good. But it feels more real to me than the EPL. If there is a live EPL game on a Friday night, I would much rather tune into the live Championship game on BBC Scotland. 

The teams are all very similar now in a playing style too. Some will say that this is perhaps a good thing, but there's no Tony Pulis or Steve Bruce type sides left.

All seems a bit samey to me. 

ArcticJambo

I'll tune in to Everton-Chelsea soon but it won't be long til I'm mainly back at the laptop, with it on in the background. Rarely do I bother actually watching a match outwith Hearts.  Used to watch La Liga religiously, mainly the big three and Sevilla so you ended up getting to know a lot of the main players from the rest of the teams.  I find, for me anyway, that is the only way to get into another league beyond a very casual way.  Obviously, with the EPL being next door and so well marketed, it's inevitable that you tune in to their product a bit more. 

Tbh, there's just too much football on telly!

1 hour ago, pablo said:

The teams are all very similar now in a playing style too. Some will say that this is perhaps a good thing, but there's no Tony Pulis or Steve Bruce type sides left.

All seems a bit samey to me. 

That is very much a good thing.

It killed football. TV deal killed it. 

Football is all about the fans. 

Football is ment to be about going to the pub with your mates having a laugh.. Taking in a football match, back to pub to debate said game.

You see the TV game and someone at the game is watching a completely different match. 

TV killed football. 

How is it record attendances in Scottish football yet TV deal is substandard. 

Scottish football for value far supersedes the English game. 

English football sold its soul.

Theres no real rivalry in the English Premiership now, it all seems a bit NBA-ish in that players are all cuddling each other pre and post-match, messaging each other on social media etc.

As I touched on earlier, Man United vs Arsenal, Sir Alex vs Wenger, Keane vs Vieira. Box office.

Now if that fixture came up, it would be Harry Maguire vs Martin Odegaard…

Stadiums full of tourists who’ve just cut the tag off their new scarves and tops from the club shop.

I suppose what I’m saying is that it’s all a bit dumbed-down and sanitised.

Find it funny when people up here think they have an affinity to an EPL team, when they just randomly chose to support them one day and haven’t been to a game in their life, but because they buy the new top every year that makes them a “supporter”.

2 hours ago, Sir Craig Gordon said:

That is very much a good thing.

Spoken like a true Newcastle fan.

1 minute ago, Shooter McGavin said:

Theres no real rivalry in the English Premiership now, it all seems a bit NBA-ish in that players are all cuddling each other pre and post-match, messaging each other on social media etc.

As I touched on earlier, Man United vs Arsenal, Sir Alex vs Wenger, Keane vs Vieira. Box office.

Now if that fixture came up, it would be Harry Maguire vs Martin Odegaard…

Stadiums full of tourists who’ve just cut the tag off their new scarves and tops from the club shop.

I suppose what I’m saying is that it’s all a bit dumbed-down and sanitised.

Find it funny when people up here think they have an affinity to an EPL team, when they just randomly chose to support them one day and haven’t been to a game in their life, but because they buy the new top every year that makes them a “supporter”.

The NBA thing is a good point. I've looked it as having NFL similarities too. Quite like the NFL nowadays and take it for what it is as that's their thing and I'm late to the bandwagon. But, one thing that I realised in NFL is a lot of rather 'faux' rivalries. Broadcasters hyping up a 'rivalry' just because the 2 teams are pretty good and might compete for something together. That's not really a rivalry in true footballing sense. Not unless its forged over years and years of hatred. It does happen in football but in the EPL, Sky jump right on it. They'll list a game between City and Tottenham as a big rivalry style game. It's mental.

8 minutes ago, Locky said:

Spoken like a true Newcastle fan.

😂 yeah. Feel sorry for him with the abuse he got but he is a terrible manager. Fantastic player, crazy he didn't get a single England cap.

Just now, Sir Craig Gordon said:

😂 yeah. Feel sorry for him with the abuse he got but he is a terrible manager. Fantastic player, crazy he didn't get a single England cap.

My mates a Toon fan and watched them a few times under Bruce. It was honestly awful to watch. 

One was a 0-0 draw vs Norwich just before lockdown, which neither side showed any desire to take the game to the other. Bear in mind, as bad as Newcastle were at the time, they were playing a Norwich side who were just leaking goals for fun and Bruce seemed content just sitting back. The other was a 1-1 draw vs Watford that same season. Again, sat back, went 1-0 down so went for it and scored 2 minutes later, then sat back the rest of the game again. :lol: 

22 minutes ago, Locky said:

My mates a Toon fan and watched them a few times under Bruce. It was honestly awful to watch. 

One was a 0-0 draw vs Norwich just before lockdown, which neither side showed any desire to take the game to the other. Bear in mind, as bad as Newcastle were at the time, they were playing a Norwich side who were just leaking goals for fun and Bruce seemed content just sitting back. The other was a 1-1 draw vs Watford that same season. Again, sat back, went 1-0 down so went for it and scored 2 minutes later, then sat back the rest of the game again. :lol: 

Got lots of friends and family that are season ticket holders and they stopped going while bruce was there, it was a chore. Thankfully I never parted with any of my cash to see any games under him. Last game I was at was Rafa last home game, 2 - 3 defeat to Liverpool. Great game despite losing.

11 hours ago, BigAlim said:

Anyone caught with a half and half scarf should be banned from ever attending another football match. 

10 hours ago, briever said:

The marketing is outstanding.

And the women's game will see these benefits soon. 

On 06/08/2022 at 20:12, Sir Craig Gordon said:

Got lots of friends and family that are season ticket holders and they stopped going while bruce was there, it was a chore. Thankfully I never parted with any of my cash to see any games under him. Last game I was at was Rafa last home game, 2 - 3 defeat to Liverpool. Great game despite losing.

Got to that one too. Was a cracking game and some atmosphere. Only downside was the scouse interlopers. Although they were dealt with my the Gallowgate faithful. :lol: 

3 hours ago, Locky said:

Got to that one too. Was a cracking game and some atmosphere. Only downside was the scouse interlopers. Although they were dealt with my the Gallowgate faithful. :lol: 

Aye a couple of scousers got slapped about a few rows in front of me after Newcastle scored their second 😂

RottingdeanJambo

I’m Hearts through and through. Even used to have a maroon front door, but live in Brighton now, and have had a season ticket for BHA since 2007. Brighton were in the “third division” then, and I’ve been there through their rise up to the Prem. It’s not the same now though. The PL, money and Sky have ruined it. This coming season will be my last. I’m retiring soon, and hopefully get up to Tynecastle a bit more often.