Suggestions for decent Scottish national anthem

Bonnie Prince Charlie

Great win for Mcolgan (sp?) but how crap and uninspiring is that crap anthem? I heard the NI anthem shortly before that and that was bloody good, same when England play their  games song rather than god save the queen crap. Surely we have enough brains in this country to come up with a decent anthem?

1 minute ago, Bonnie Prince Charlie said:

Great win for Mcolgan (sp?) but how crap and uninspiring is that crap anthem? I heard the NI anthem shortly before that and that was bloody good, same when England play their  games song rather than god save the queen crap. Surely we have enough brains in this country to come up with a decent anthem?

Scotland and England both have shite anthems. Scotland’s is the equivalent of England over Agincourt. England’s is totally servile. 

Dignity by Deacon Blue.

(Obviously, not to be sung by supporters of Hibs or the Glasgow scum sisters).

Roxy Hearts

I quite like Flower of Scotland. It's a folk song which I also like as it's more representative of the people. It's not the greatest anthem but not the worst. Best is Les Marseilles, Wales not too bad but GSTQ is absolutely woeful as is Star spangled banner.

Highland Cathedral is a good tune.

Male Stripper .. Man 2 Man 

Or the Russian national anthem .

10 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Smoking gives you cancer,

Needles give you HIV,

Doggies give you rabies,

Shagging gives you babies,

That's why I'm on ecstasy, yeah...

Imagine it ringing around Hampden before a plucky draw against Macedonia. Chills. 

Stop being ashamed of Flower of Scotland. Its a ****ing cracking national anthem.

Nothing quite like it being blasted out in a packed Hampden.

One that was actually written as a (tongue in cheek) anthem. Hermless by Michael Marra. This is the live version and if anyone bothers to listen to it the 2 minute intro and explanation is good as well. 

Roxy Hearts
15 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

The Russian anthem is one of the best but.....

1 minute ago, Roxy Hearts said:

The Russian anthem is one of the best but.....

If we nuke Russia and they all die.. we could claim it for ourselves .

13 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

I’m not ashamed of it. I just think it’s a bit pish. 

3 minutes ago, jambos are go! said:

It's a racist dirge !!

If you ever went to a Scotland game, you'd sing it and your lying if you say you wouldnt:bolt:

19 minutes ago, Pap said:

Stop being ashamed of Flower of Scotland. Its a ****ing cracking national anthem.

It should really have been retired after 2014 though. A national anthem should represent the people...and they voted that we couldn't still rise now. 😥

23 minutes ago, Pap said:

This. I really like it...and it's always complimented by other nationalities.

27 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Tune

I don't know why we changed from Scotland The Brave tbh, maybe just needed better lyrics.

"Here comes the Highland granny,  two big....."

National Anthems aren't really pop songs otherwise it would have to be Heads Roll Off by Frightened Rabbit.

8 minutes ago, indianajones said:

The ball of Kirriemuir. 

This version preferably. Aiden Moffat changing the lyrics so it’s about an orgy. Song starts at about a minute in. 
Warning, a bit rude, but funny. 

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

This version preferably. Aiden Moffat changing the lyrics so it’s about an orgy. Song starts at about a minute in. 
Warning, a bit rude, but funny. 

The mayor's daughter, she was there
And kept the crowd in fits
By jumpin' off the mantle piece
And landin' on her tits.

Just now, indianajones said:

The mayor's daughter, she was there
And kept the crowd in fits
By jumpin' off the mantle piece
And landin' on her tits.

Or In his version 

the lassie from the bakers said do you want to have a try? 
I’m hot just like an oven so get stuck into my pie. 

And that’s one of the cleaner lines 😂

Roxy Hearts
27 minutes ago, Pap said:

If you ever went to a Scotland game, you'd sing it and your lying if you say you wouldnt:bolt:

Just heard the the English swimming commentator say he likes when Duncan Scott wins so he can hear Flower of Scotland! So many cringe merchants in Scotland, I wish they'd just GTF!

46 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

It should really have been retired after 2014 though. A national anthem should represent the people...and they voted that we couldn't still rise now. 😥

Exactly, the hypocrisy of No voters singing those words is staggering tbh. 

1 hour ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Now that’s a tune! Ironically, it would annoy the **** out the Russians at anthem time. 

I’ll go for Donald where’s yer troosers or the old Scotsport theme tune. 

4 minutes ago, Shanks said no said:

Caledonia

Just don’t make it this version, you’ll have me bubbling. This was played as my wife walked down the aisle at our wedding, hankies oot everywhere.

We had one before the depressing dirge 

Scotland the Brave an uplifting song 

Hark when the night is falling
Hear! hear the pipes are calling,
Loudly and proudly calling,
Down through the glen.
There where the hills are sleeping,
Now feel the blood a-leaping,
High as the spirits
Of the old Highland men.
Towering in gallant fame,
Scotland my mountain hame,
High may your proud standards, Gloriously wave,
Land of my high endeavour,
Land of the shining rivers,
Land of my heart for ever,
Scotland the brave.
High in the misty Highlands,
Out by the purple islands,
Brave are the hearts that beat
Beneath Scottish skies.
Wild are the winds to meet you,
Staunch are the friends that greet you,
Kind as the love that shines
From fair maidens' eyes.
Far off in sunlit places,
Sad are the Scottish faces,
Yearning to feel the kiss
Of sweet Scottish rain.
Where tropic skies are beaming,
Love sets the heart a-dreaming,
Longing and dreaming for the homeland again.

6 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Just don’t make it this version, you’ll have me bubbling. This was played as my wife walked down the aisle at our wedding, hankies oot everywhere.

If I fancy a greet I play this

I think folk wanting to change it are weird tbh, no other song sturs up the emotions like Flower of Scotland. 

Think they think it's edgy to slag it off.

5 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Down through the glen.
High as the spirits
Of the old Highland men.
Scotland the brave.
Beneath Scottish skies.
From fair maidens' eyes.
Of sweet Scottish rain.

:muggy:

(Actually don't think i've seen the full words to that song and it's pretty decent for an anthem 👍)

5 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Down through the glen.
High as the spirits
Of the old Highland men.
Scotland the brave.
Beneath Scottish skies.
From fair maidens' eyes.
Of sweet Scottish rain.

Yes I like this anthem . Quite stirring 

The only time FOS makes me cringe is when those rugby sorts sing it. 
Everyone of them a wee nawbag standing their giving us all a riddy in their posh Edinburgh accents. GTF. 
Scotland the Brave always been my preferred choice tbh just more uplifting and takes away the embarrassing lines about being a nation again. 

16 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

The only time FOS makes me cringe is when those rugby sorts sing it. 
Everyone of them a wee nawbag standing their giving us all a riddy in their posh Edinburgh accents. GTF. 
Scotland the Brave always been my preferred choice tbh just more uplifting and takes away the embarrassing lines about being a nation again. 

I stopped singing it at matches after the 2014 Indy result as a protest ! See I was a right Indy supporter 👍

Scotland the Brave was the anthem played at the first international match I went to (Murrayfield, not Hampden). I've never understood why FoS was adopted over it, other than the fact that it's anti-English whilst StB simply makes do with celebrating Scotland.