Is there anything in politics more shit than the Labour Party?

Victorian
Posted
Just now, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Pretty sure most people can be aware of more than one scandal at a time. Particularly when government ministers raping children goes back to before I was born. 

I know.   It was more of a satirical observation.   This happens all the time.   The news cycle can end up being dominated by something relating to a pretty obscure thing.

Aye there may well have been a bit of skullduggery.

• Replies 9k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Gundermann

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

InternationalJambo
Posted
10 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Ruth Davidson said recently that the Tories will not make any progress until they undertake an open exercise of contrition and apology for their policy and actions decisions over a few years prior to being ousted.

This week they've won a watch.   They've got everybody distracted from the cost of living and immigration because suddenly it's more important to fixate on a suspect and ham-fisted vetting process for a diplomat.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Ruth Davidson said recently that the Tories will not make any progress until they undertake an open exercise of contrition and apology for their policy and actions decisions over a few years prior to being ousted.

This week they've won a watch.   They've got everybody distracted from the cost of living and immigration because suddenly it's more important to fixate on a suspect and ham-fisted vetting process for a diplomat.

Deary me another who won't or can't admit that the only difference between Labour and Tories. Is the colour of rosette they wear on their jackets.

Victorian
Posted

**** me.   Serious gang gonna serious.   I should have known better tbh so it's my fault.

Posted (edited)

Need to get some deep sea divers into The Thames to get that boys phone found.  Stolen my bahooky.  The stuff on that could be dynamite.

My gripe with all this is the complete waste of Parliamentary time which could be better used to get some bills passed and also the massive compo they will need to end up paying to all the various sacked folk who have been kicked into touch.  And they want the people to increase productivity and work longer before they get pensions.  Hypocrisy.

Edited by joondalupjambo
Posted
10 hours ago, joondalupjambo said:

Need to get some deep sea divers into The Thames to get that boys phone found.  Stolen my bahooky.  The stuff on that could be dynamite.

My gripe with all this is the complete waste of Parliamentary time which could be better used to get some bills passed and also the massive compo they will need to end up paying to all the various sacked folk who have been kicked into touch.  And they want the people to increase productivity and work longer before they get pensions.  Hypocrisy.

The post office workers are still waiting on their compensation. The establishment in this country needs to be done away with.

Libertarian
Posted
7 minutes ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

The post office workers are still waiting on their compensation. The establishment in this country needs to be done away with.

The British establishment (and state) is collapsing under corruption and immortality (Epstein, Prince Andrew, growing inequality, lack of democracy, House of Lord's, growing militarism, Starmers blatant lying, out of control illegal immigration, Mandelson, shrinking social mobility, growingdebt).

The list above could be added to. 

Modern Britain reminds me of France before the revolution. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

The British establishment (and state) is collapsing under corruption and immortality (Epstein, Prince Andrew, growing inequality, lack of democracy, House of Lord's, growing militarism, Starmers blatant lying, out of control illegal immigration, Mandelson, shrinking social mobility, growingdebt).

The list above could be added to. 

Modern Britain reminds me of France before the revolution. 

Here's hoping we end up like France. 🤞

Posted
2 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Serge Pizzorno
Posted
3 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

I fear we have too many hate filled, anti-woke, concerned citizens to ever change and break free from the establishment. The same people will also tell us how shit the UK is despite being against any change.

Serge Pizzorno
Posted
On 20/04/2026 at 21:39, Dennis Denuto said:

I wonder if bringing down this Prime Minister might actual prove to be a huge mistake for those on the right. Sure it will be a victory at the time but what if he’s replaced by someone popular and competent?

The Daily Mail etc having such control over people's way of thinking sadly means this won't be the case!

Libertarian
Posted
6 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

France wouldn't be too bad.

Beautiful wine.

Beautiful weather. 

Beautiful women. 

The only problem is that France is in even more debt than Britain. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Libertarian said:

France wouldn't be too bad.

Beautiful wine.

Beautiful weather. 

Beautiful women. 

The only problem is that France is in even more debt than Britain. 

Long, boozey lunches, though. 

Posted

What’s not to like.🍷🍺

Libertarian
Posted

:beer::biggrin2:

WorldChampions1902
Posted
On 16/04/2026 at 20:50, Costanza said:

You have to feel for Starmer, the guy just can't catch a break.

Things could get a whole lot worse when the incidences of arson against his former properties (car and homes), come to court. :ninja:

Costanza
Posted
1 hour ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

Things could get a whole lot worse when the incidences of arson against his former properties (car and homes), come to court. :ninja:

I've read a few winks and nods on this but it could just as likely be Russian backed activity. Who knows though, definitely a strange story 

WorldChampions1902
Posted
1 minute ago, Costanza said:

I've read a few winks and nods on this but it could just as likely be Russian backed activity. Who knows though, definitely a strange story 

There’s a U.K. news blackout (super-injunction) in effect allegedly? So it’s unlikely we’ll hear much - in the short-term at least. 

The Russian link looks interesting. As does the Ukrainian one. If half the rumours are true, there ain’t enough popcorn to go round. I would stress, ‘rumours’ and leave it there.

Victorian
Posted

Supposed to be next week that trial.   From open source young Ukrainians that bear all the hallmarks of being low level Russian assets.   But assume nothing I suppose.   Surely that trial will be completely closed.

Posted

Advised by colleagues who worked close to him daily, a note to wait for security clearance.

This I wasn't aware crack.

Pfft

Victorian
Posted

Permanent Secretary of the Cabinet Office giving evidence about Mandelson vetting.   What's certainly becoming more and more firmed up is that the government's position is pretty tight.   Whether or not anyone believes it is another matter.   

All of the rules and protocols regarding the privilege of this kind of vetting information seems to be very cloak & dagger.   Perhaps unneccessaily so.   And it's now being subjected to a review and possible reform.   

Another thing is that the mysterious security risks of Mandelson remain highly privileged.   And pretty intriguing.   It sounds like there should have been some other coherent mechanism to urgently escalate the existence of information in order to brief someone in the executive.   Mandelson himself has clearly lied his way into the job and it's incredible that he might be of the belief that his skeletons would stay in the cupboard.   

The PM / No10 announced the appointment too early and ahead of sufficient opportunity to open the skeleton cupboard.   That's all really.

Posted
9 hours ago, Victorian said:

Permanent Secretary of the Cabinet Office giving evidence about Mandelson vetting.   What's certainly becoming more and more firmed up is that the government's position is pretty tight.   Whether or not anyone believes it is another matter.   

All of the rules and protocols regarding the privilege of this kind of vetting information seems to be very cloak & dagger.   Perhaps unneccessaily so.   And it's now being subjected to a review and possible reform.   

Another thing is that the mysterious security risks of Mandelson remain highly privileged.   And pretty intriguing.   It sounds like there should have been some other coherent mechanism to urgently escalate the existence of information in order to brief someone in the executive.   Mandelson himself has clearly lied his way into the job and it's incredible that he might be of the belief that his skeletons would stay in the cupboard.   

The PM / No10 announced the appointment too early and ahead of sufficient opportunity to open the skeleton cupboard.   That's all really.

Eh?

I've reread this.

I can't believe that you believe that Starmer had no clue about Mandelson whether clearance was given or not.

I can't believe the last paragraph especially.

But I'm prone to seeing the darker side of it all .

It's hard not to with sneaky Pete.

It's a bit more than premature appointments Vic surely to ****?

Posted
12 minutes ago, Ked said:

Eh?

I've reread this.

I can't believe that you believe that Starmer had no clue about Mandelson whether clearance was given or not.

I can't believe the last paragraph especially.

But I'm prone to seeing the darker side of it all .

It's hard not to with sneaky Pete.

It's a bit more than premature appointments Vic surely to ****?

I can accept he wasn't given the outcome of the vetting...however I absolutely believe he knew that's how it worked. The process is broken and gives the unscrupulous an easy way to appoint who they want.

Starmer knew Mandelson was dodgy. That isn't up for question, so we know he was happy to and wanted to press ahead anyway. He knew if he announced it early it would place huge pressure on those making the decision to pass Mandelson and even if he wasn't cleared, Starmer wouldn't be told so it wouldn't matter anyway as Mandelson would already be in situ. If it all then blew up, which it has, he can just claim he didn't know the outcome. He knew all of this imo.

The alternative is he's just a moron. Also possible.

Posted

IMG-20260423-WA0001.thumb.jpg.ebacb6c2675dbc83228fae52a6fd31c3.jpg

Glasgowben
Posted

Short answer to this thread title is YES.  - THE GREENS. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

IMG-20260423-WA0001.thumb.jpg.ebacb6c2675dbc83228fae52a6fd31c3.jpg

Victorian
Posted

Starmer certainly knew Mandelson was dodgy.   The crucial thing is whether or not he knew the full volume of dodginess.   Starmer may be a bit wet but he's not stupid.   There's no way he considered Mandelson in full wide eyed innocence and oblivious to him being dodgy.   There still every possibility that he took a calculated gamble on him in the belief that his dodginess was known and could be tolerated.   That stuff remained,  maybe still remains,  unknown to him.

The details of why he flagged red in the vetting is still mysterious.   From what I've read it was suggested that the Epstein and business dealings was not the reason.   Or at least the disclosed extent of his links with Epstein and iffy business interests.   We'll never know that because the information is still strictly classified.

Total clustercunt all round.   Opposition have got what they wanted.   Buckets of mud hoyed everywhere and some sticking.    They'll keep it an ongoing story to the max to make the most of it.   It doesn't remotely matter what the truth is now.

Posted

To suggest that the outcome is 'mud hoyed' around underplays the damage done to Keef. At best he comes out of this looking like a sleekit *****.

The bottom line is that he is done. The proverbial dead man walking. 

Labour will now feel the brunt of this in the elections, which already looked shite for them but now look like being apocalyptic.

Shame. 

Posted

I wonder how many Deform goons would pass security vetting

Victorian
Posted
21 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

To suggest that the outcome is 'mud hoyed' around underplays the damage done to Keef. At best he comes out of this looking like a sleekit *****.

The bottom line is that he is done. The proverbial dead man walking. 

Labour will now feel the brunt of this in the elections, which already looked shite for them but now look like being apocalyptic.

Shame. 

It's been fairly well exploited.   So mud flinging is exactly what's happened.   There were questions over the whole saga and the government is well covered in terms of their account.   Even multiple civil servants have corroborated the government's story in their submissions.   But most people take little or no interest in the fine details.   All they'll be aware of is a controversy and the PM's integrity being questioned.   The exercise has been well carried out.   The mud sticks.   There is nothing the government can do about it and it's irrelevant what the actual truth is.   But it's entirely their own fault.   They could empty Starmer but the trope of 'they're all the same' will probably determine that will make little difference.   Although he might be emptied anyway by people who were waiting on their chance.   

Victorian
Posted (edited)

People might like to take note that opposition aren't howling for the vetting failure info to be declassified and published.   Because it might just shed light on information that the government genuinely didn't know and prove that Mandelson lied.   Thus helping to vindicate the government.   

The current narrative is that the government is still not privy to that info.   Kemi Badenoch probably prefers to settle for that.

Edited by Victorian
Gundermann
Posted
35 minutes ago, Cade said:

I wonder how many Deform goons would pass security vetting

I see more Hitler-loving Reform boneheads have had past tweets come to the fore.

Anyway, Starmer shouldn't have needed advice on Mandelson. Milliband apparently wouldn't touch him. And there's a reason the right-wing rejoiced at his appointment. 

Posted
8 hours ago, Victorian said:

People might like to take note that opposition aren't howling for the vetting failure info to be declassified and published.   Because it might just shed light on information that the government genuinely didn't know and prove that Mandelson lied.   Thus helping to vindicate the government.   

The current narrative is that the government is still not privy to that info.   Kemi Badenoch probably prefers to settle for that.

Its a stout 'turd-polishing' defence and fair play to you for it. 

All this has done is shone on a light on the fact that Starmer is either sleekit, inept or a duplicitous shitehawk.

I'm going for all of the above. 

Posted
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

All this has done is shone on a light on the fact that Starmer is either sleekit, inept or a duplicitous shitehawk.

I'm not sure he's a duplicitous shitehawk (maybe he is), but I think he is probably a bit of the other two - but I still prefer him to the leaders of the other parties - and compared to what the UK has had in charge over the last 10 years, I think he's a big improvement.  Still need better than him though. 

Posted

As DVD mentioned earlier that's the Sweeney boy getting found out now.

If Labour have tried to mess with the civil service on this by pressure then blame that's a battle they'll lose.

Posted
1 minute ago, Sydney said:

I'm not sure he's a duplicitous shitehawk (maybe he is), but I think he is probably a bit of the other two - but I still prefer him to the leaders of the other parties - and compared to what the UK has had in charge over the last 10 years, I think he's a big improvement.  Still need better than him though. 

Unfortunately spot on.

Some bad judgement from his handlers big time on this.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ked said:

Unfortunately spot on.

Some bad judgement from his handlers big time on this.

And there's the problem. His handlers. 

Hes the prime minister. He shouldn't be getting worked from the back like a shit Nookie Bear

Posted
2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

And there's the problem. His handlers. 

Hes the prime minister. He shouldn't be getting worked from the back like a shit Nookie Bear

Correct. We need a political strongman in charge.

c750276b58_francisco-franco.jpg

Posted
16 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Faragism rather than Falangism ?

🫣

Posted
3 minutes ago, Boab said:

Faragism rather than Falangism ?

🫣

Falangisn trumps (ha) Faragism, apart from the Catholic stuff, obviously.

Posted
22 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Falangisn trumps (ha) Faragism, apart from the Catholic stuff, obviously.

Easily.

Spellczech
Posted
On 21/04/2026 at 20:31, joondalupjambo said:

I heard he had an arrangement to get mugged every year in November

Victorian
Posted
4 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's not a defence of any kind.   Only observations.   

Posted
Just now, Victorian said:

It's not a defence of any kind.   Only observations.   

Bull:poopile:

Victorian
Posted
2 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Bull:poopile:

Staying out of the groupthink and making impartial observations is not a defence.   It's quite amusing that people often regard that as some kind of defence.

Gundermann
Posted
4 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Heh. No-one camps it up more than the Fash.

_108378568_mosley3_getty976.jpg&f=1&nofb

Posted
3 hours ago, Victorian said:

Staying out of the groupthink and making impartial observations is not a defence.   It's quite amusing that people often regard that as some kind of defence.

You defend the Labour Party at every opportunity you get.

You can deny all you want, but I and others see through you.

Victorian
Posted
1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

You defend the Labour Party at every opportunity you get.

You can deny all you want, but I and others see through you.

Away and run up a pipe.   :rofl:

For the hard of understanding.   That's usually you tbf.   I'm not defending anyone.   I'm sure others can see through your stupidity.   😵‍💫

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Victorian said:

For the hard of understanding.   That's usually you tbf.   I'm not defending anyone.   I'm sure others can see through your stupidity.   😵‍💫

You maybe don't mean it but it does read like that. Much like the Tories who contorted themselves during their government to make it seem like technically things were fine.

I'm certain that if they were blue tied you'd have given Starmer, Raynor and Reeves nowhere near the slack and benefit of the doubt you have.

Edit: kudos on "away and run up a pipe" though 😂😂 I like that, haven't heard it before 👍

Edited by Taffin
Posted
6 hours ago, Victorian said:

Eeeerrrm you described the Mandy stuff as political opportunities and clerical mistakes.

It's indicative of the sleaze that's normal in politics .

So much so a snide like Mandy's shoehorned into a representative of our democracy to the most powerful nation .

The sweeny guy in the background is handling who for who .

The labour party may be the best of the bunch but they're as much the bunch as the rest of them.

You've apologised for them.