Dennis Denuto Posted February 9 Posted February 9 13 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said: He may be relatively scandal free but not entirely. Mid Staff Foundation scandal where Burnham signed off on trust documentation which was identified as a major contributor to the pressures leading to patient care. A petition was lodged at parliament demanding his resignation but the 'not our responsibility' saw it thrown out. Burnham played the 'i didn't know, it wasn't me card' as defence but as a junior health minister he should have. May be minor compared to others, some complain about his kid gloves handling of grooming gangs inquires, but he's as dirty as the rest, he just has a better Public Relations team. Fair enough, I’m not expert on these things, I still think he is the best bet from my point of view of all the leaders and possible leaders in all the Parties down south.
Japan Jambo Posted February 9 Posted February 9 30 minutes ago, moonshine said: Sarwar pretending to look decisive and like a big boy politically by rolling Starmer's corpse back onto the road after the bus has already done its work. If Starmer survives, we will at least be shot of this unconvincing grifter. 👏👌
Gundermann Posted February 9 Posted February 9 The Optional Identity Marks are getting bolshy. Who would replace Starmer? Wes Streeting is less popular than Sir Keir. Rayner might have been a bit better ideologically but she's blotted her copy book a tad and is perceived as error-prone. Hear that Labour are now covering themselves in Saltires here at their pressers with no Labour branding visible at all.
Joey J J Jr Shabadoo Posted February 9 Posted February 9 1 hour ago, Australis said: National news reporting Scottish minister Douglas Alexander has come out in support of Keir Starmer. Looks like wee Anus nae mates, has made a very poor decision and hung himself out to dry. Anus isn't entirely without friends, he's got his paedo pal Mandelson.
jack D and coke Posted February 9 Posted February 9 45 minutes ago, bobby bombscare said: The damage she would do to our country would be astounding. There are many useless politicians but it genuinely worried me watching her get a semi-significant role in Starmers cabinet. I would rather see a coalition Government lead by Reeves and Jacob Resse-Mog before seeing Rayner any further forward than a back bench. A catastrophy waiting to hapoen. Labour are a catastrophe. Raynor would be another. Lammy is a brainless goon who has failed Upwards his whole life and that Mahnood is obssssed with stalking your entire life with facial recognition and digital ID’s. People should demand a GE and empty them before they do anymore damage.
Victorian Posted February 9 Posted February 9 Sarwar is an absolute moron. If Starmer does weather this then Sarwar has nowhere else to slither other than to resign himself. But he lacks the self awareness to realise it.
The Mighty Thor Posted February 9 Posted February 9 Ian Murray out in support. So that's Doogz and Murray stacked up against Sarwar and his MSPs Hoose jocks indulging in internecine warfare. Glorious.
Maroon Sailor Posted February 9 Posted February 9 3 and half years since this thread started and the Labour Party is as shit as ever. Add spineless to it as well, xmt Leishman. He can kiss goodbye to the whip again soon enough. The fact there is nobody ready and waiting that could take over as PM sums it up.
redjambo Posted February 9 Posted February 9 46 minutes ago, Ray Gin said: Sarwar's made a James Blunt of this. Delighted to say. He's nailed his colours to the mast at the wrong time.
The Mighty Thor Posted February 9 Posted February 9 14 minutes ago, redjambo said: Delighted to say. He's nailed his colours to the mast at the wrong time.
The Mighty Thor Posted February 9 Posted February 9 And next up in the Labour Party self immolation stakes... Wes Streeting, come on down!
OTT Posted February 9 Posted February 9 1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said: And next up in the Labour Party self immolation stakes... Wes Streeting, come on down! Wes Streeting is such a ****ing toady. His primary political skill is identifying who the power brokers are, and then welding his lips to their rectal cavity. He's the worst kind of politician. He stands for absolutely nothing. New Labour types make my skin crawl. Slimey *******s.
JackLadd Posted February 9 Posted February 9 I'd rather keep Starmer out the alternatives but I get why Sarwar wants a change as it's going to be snp again despite their multiple fiascos/scandals, far left progressive agenda and high tax high deficit bungling. Tragic.
Dirty Deeds Posted February 10 Posted February 10 8 hours ago, JackLadd said: I'd rather keep Starmer out the alternatives but I get why Sarwar wants a change as it's going to be snp again despite their multiple fiascos/scandals, far left progressive agenda and high tax high deficit bungling. Tragic. Right now the SNP are least incompetent of the political incompetents. Oh for a John Swinney type candidate in the Labour ranks right now. This Labour government has to be the most disappointing government for a long time. A real missed opportunity. Chaos was factored in with Johnson and co but these guys were meant to bring stability. We'll get a new PM soon but they're merely keeping the seat warm for Farage who does not strike me as the man to bring stability either.
Gundermann Posted February 10 Posted February 10 8 hours ago, JackLadd said: I'd rather keep Starmer out the alternatives but I get why Sarwar wants a change as it's going to be snp again despite their multiple fiascos/scandals, far left progressive agenda and high tax high deficit bungling. Tragic. Damn those progressive agendas.
Roxy Hearts Posted February 10 Posted February 10 9 hours ago, JackLadd said: I'd rather keep Starmer out the alternatives but I get why Sarwar wants a change as it's going to be snp again despite their multiple fiascos/scandals, far left progressive agenda and high tax high deficit bungling. Tragic. You voted "no" and this is what we got! You're part of the problem.
il Duce McTarkin Posted February 10 Posted February 10 46 minutes ago, Gundermann said: Damn those progressive agendas. Agreed.
Dennis Denuto Posted February 10 Posted February 10 I imagine that either Sarwar or Starmer will need to resign today, and it doesn't look like it will be Sir Kier. So who now for Scottish Labour??
Joey J J Jr Shabadoo Posted February 10 Posted February 10 12 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said: I imagine that either Sarwar or Starmer will need to resign today, and it doesn't look like it will be Sir Kier. So who now for Scottish Labour?? This political heavyweight
Roxy Hearts Posted February 10 Posted February 10 13 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said: I imagine that either Sarwar or Starmer will need to resign today, and it doesn't look like it will be Sir Kier. So who now for Scottish Labour?? That fine, upstanding, lying, British citizen Baillie!
The Mighty Thor Posted February 10 Posted February 10 It is the ultimate poisoned chalice. Labour will be lucky to scrape into 3rd in May
Roxy Hearts Posted February 10 Posted February 10 1 minute ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said: This political heavyweight Beat me to it 😆
Joey J J Jr Shabadoo Posted February 10 Posted February 10 Just now, Roxy Hearts said: Beat me to it 😆 😆
Dirty Deeds Posted February 10 Posted February 10 35 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said: I imagine that either Sarwar or Starmer will need to resign today, and it doesn't look like it will be Sir Kier. So who now for Scottish Labour?? Sarwar must have felt he had nothing to lose as he would have to resign after May's likely election wipe out A bit like Starmer, they have to find a new leader in their MSP ranks and right now, I can't think of one, plus you'd be a fool to want that job before May.
Dennis Denuto Posted February 10 Posted February 10 37 minutes ago, Dirty Deeds said: Sarwar must have felt he had nothing to lose as he would have to resign after May's likely election wipe out A bit like Starmer, they have to find a new leader in their MSP ranks and right now, I can't think of one, plus you'd be a fool to want that job before May. Not a lot of candidates in there right now and who knows who will be left after May. As others point out is now the time to step forward if there are inevitable losses to come? Maybe it will be someone like Baillie as interim boss and then appoint a permanent one in June - just like Celtic
AlimOzturk Posted February 10 Posted February 10 State of the political landscape at the moment is real. Funny thing is under John swinney I have far more confidence that they have a modicum of compassion. Integrity and competence? Yet to be seen. But I think they have had enough of scandals and corruption and it’ll be more boring politics with them. Do I think swinney will be the man to deliver independence? No a chance. I think he’s a temporary steady hand.
XB52 Posted February 10 Posted February 10 1 hour ago, AlimOzturk said: State of the political landscape at the moment is real. Funny thing is under John swinney I have far more confidence that they have a modicum of compassion. Integrity and competence? Yet to be seen. But I think they have had enough of scandals and corruption and it’ll be more boring politics with them. Do I think swinney will be the man to deliver independence? No a chance. I think he’s a temporary steady hand. Exactly. Swinney is the steady, boring?, man to hold the reins until Flynn comes in
JackLadd Posted February 10 Posted February 10 10 hours ago, Dirty Deeds said: Right now the SNP are least incompetent of the political incompetents. Oh for a John Swinney type candidate in the Labour ranks right now. This Labour government has to be the most disappointing government for a long time. A real missed opportunity. Chaos was factored in with Johnson and co but these guys were meant to bring stability. We'll get a new PM soon but they're merely keeping the seat warm for Farage who does not strike me as the man to bring stability either. What measure are you using to claim snp are least incompetent? Can't be nhs, schools, public works, tax, deficit, all their stats are horrendous.
Dirty Deeds Posted February 10 Posted February 10 13 minutes ago, JackLadd said: What measure are you using to claim snp are least incompetent? Can't be nhs, schools, public works, tax, deficit, all their stats are horrendous. Move down south mate, you'll be grateful for his level of incompetence
Dennis Denuto Posted February 10 Posted February 10 58 minutes ago, JackLadd said: What measure are you using to claim snp are least incompetent? Can't be nhs, schools, public works, tax, deficit, all their stats are horrendous. They are not allowed to have a deficit. I agree with their tax policies in principle.
Gundermann Posted February 11 Posted February 11 (edited) 16 hours ago, JackLadd said: What measure are you using to claim snp are least incompetent? Can't be nhs, schools, public works, tax, deficit, all their stats are horrendous. And yet still better than the the other administrations. Have oft asked this but who, on their records in power, is really trustworthy running all these public services? Oh, I forgot. Reform will sort it out. Edited February 11 by Gundermann
OTT Posted February 11 Posted February 11 I see Pam finally lost the Labour whip. Right decision, but too little too late IMO.
Maroon Sailor Posted February 11 Posted February 11 (edited) 15 minutes ago, OTT said: I see Pam finally lost the Labour whip. Right decision, but too little too late IMO. Yep. You can't be knocking around with sex offenders in her position. I get it's a long friendship but she should have stood down after deciding to carry on with the friendship. Edited February 11 by Maroon Sailor
JackLadd Posted February 11 Posted February 11 On 10/02/2026 at 18:05, Dennis Denuto said: They are not allowed to have a deficit. I agree with their tax policies in principle. 10% of gdp meets with your approval?
escobri Posted Saturday at 01:36 Posted Saturday at 01:36 On 27/01/2026 at 13:38, The Real Maroonblood said: Job done.
Shooter McGavin Posted Monday at 16:59 Posted Monday at 16:59 Hasn’t been a good few weeks for Sarwar
jack D and coke Posted Monday at 17:38 Posted Monday at 17:38 Wee Anus old man praising the ayatollah eh… Show their true colours sometimes.
il Duce McTarkin Posted Tuesday at 03:18 Posted Tuesday at 03:18 9 hours ago, jack D and coke said: Wee Anus old man praising the ayatollah eh… Show their true colours sometimes. Keep shining a torch on this stuff for us please, jack. Don't let the Kickback lefty goon squad away with their woolly minded spin on such matters.
Dennis Denuto Posted Tuesday at 07:05 Posted Tuesday at 07:05 3 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said: Keep shining a torch on this stuff for us please, jack. Don't let the Kickback lefty goon squad away with their woolly minded spin on such matters. If Jack is going to hold us all accountable for the views of our Old Man then we are all potentially ****ed.
il Duce McTarkin Posted Tuesday at 07:11 Posted Tuesday at 07:11 5 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said: If Jack is going to hold us all accountable for the views of our Old Man then we are all potentially ****ed. True.
Jacques de Gauthier Posted Tuesday at 07:12 Posted Tuesday at 07:12 6 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said: If Jack is going to hold us all accountable for the views of our Old Man then we are all potentially ****ed. I know. My father is a woolly-minded lefty with socialist tendencies. Wonder if Nige would consider legally adopting a 43 year-old son?
Jacques de Gauthier Posted Tuesday at 07:14 Posted Tuesday at 07:14 13 hours ago, jack D and coke said: Wee Anus old man praising the ayatollah eh… Show their true colours sometimes. It’s not a good look, is it? And before the mob starts, remember how much shite they used to dish out to BoJo for his dad’s rather interesting stance on foreign passports/Brexit.