Is there anything in politics more shit than the Labour Party?

Posted
31 minutes ago, Mr Brightside said:

I am coming round to re-nationalising a lot of services, electricity, gas, trains, steel etc or at least have a public owned option for some services.

We generally get a poor expensive service so let’s at least keep the money in the public purse.

Narionalizing the railway, despite what the government are attempting to do with GBR, will help anything. Not unless they are going to nationlise all the trains from the three ROSCOs that have been root of all problems the system has had since privatization (the fiasco that was Railtrack notwithstanding), and I'm not sure they can legally do that. 

• Replies 8.2k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Gundermann

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

Posted

Good to see the government leaping into action to save British steel; just as they did to save the only oil refinery in Scotland.........

Posted
16 hours ago, Gundermann said:

No-one is a criminal on account of their race.

Apart from white British folk who are collectively responsible for the British Empire and the slave trade (apart from the Barbary slave trade, that was brown folk).

Posted
40 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Apart from white British folk who are collectively responsible for the British Empire and the slave trade (apart from the Barbary slave trade, that was brown folk).

:Aye:

Posted
1 hour ago, Gundermann said:

Back on topic though.

Labour planning to re-nationalise yon steel plant is a good move. Wonder why they can't do similar for Grangemouth though?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/cyvqm83z1nrt

Quite simple.

Grangemouth isn't full of thick Lincolnshiremen that'll vote for Farage. 

Posted (edited)

Let’s hope we take back control of British Steel. 
Ach it’s only a debate back again on the 22nd April (?) and  the Tollies straight in trying to scupper it. 

Edited by Don DaniEL
Posted

Steel is a more strategic resource.

Strangely for the first time in 50 years we might actually get an actual industrial strategy.

Posted (edited)

The other thing we're getting unusually is an actual Reform clear policy position.

Putting themselves on side of sensible policy versus the Conservatives madly phaffing about sounding moronic.

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted
13 minutes ago, Don DaniEL said:

Let’s hope we take back control of British Steel. 
Ach it’s only a debate back again on the 22nd April (?) and  the Tollies straight in trying to scupper it. 

I think the laws are such they need to vote to let it happen.

Sort of similar to approving bombing or other miltary action. 

Mr Brightside
Posted
3 hours ago, trotter said:

Narionalizing the railway, despite what the government are attempting to do with GBR, will help anything. Not unless they are going to nationlise all the trains from the three ROSCOs that have been root of all problems the system has had since privatization (the fiasco that was Railtrack notwithstanding), and I'm not sure they can legally do that. 

Agreed, probably didn’t word my post that well, meant the train operators etc.

There are foreign government owned companies making profits off our utilities and infrastructure, surely we need to bring this back in house, the free enterprise model is not benefiting the consumer.

Posted
3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Steel is a more strategic resource.

Strangely for the first time in 50 years we might actually get an actual industrial strategy.

So is energy, either in terms of the oil we're still using or for the renewables that will replace it.

Posted

Right thing to do here well done Sir Keir 

Jingye here is unacceptable 

Posted
23 hours ago, Gundermann said:

So is energy, either in terms of the oil we're still using or for the renewables that will replace it.

Grangmouth wasn't needed in terms of refineries. In addition do you think perhaps the Scottish government's stance on fossil fuels would likely put Ineos off Scotland?

Posted
5 hours ago, Gerry1874 said:

Grangmouth wasn't needed in terms of refineries. In addition do you think perhaps the Scottish government's stance on fossil fuels would likely put Ineos off Scotland?

The site is dated and investment in upgrading and facilities has not happened over many years, it's been a cash cow and been allowed to rot to the point that to keep it open would require millions to be spent on upgrading the infrastructure, Scottish Government's stance has hee haw to do with the closure.

Posted
On 12/04/2025 at 14:31, Gundermann said:

I have long been an advocate of there being a proper GB energy

A nationalized oil and gas company that can drill, frack, and nationalise all profits to lower ALL energy costs for industry and domestic,

without cheap energy we are going to hell in a handcart,

cheapen power , and everything else gets cheaper.

the price of all good and services flows from cost of production.

Its a no brainer frankly.

We should nationalise BP , just buy it.

ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ
Posted
1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

A nationalized oil and gas company that can drill, frack, and nationalise all profits to lower ALL energy costs for industry and domestic,

Sounds an awful lot like socialism there doc.

Posted
1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

Better watch out Doc , you might lose your 

“ right wing “ tag with those “ commie “ ideas .

Ofcourse they can’t understand that you might have a variety of opinions / views / ideas which do not fit into the one political ideology and you are not constrained to one political ideology like they are . 

Posted
2 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

That's not how you spell "economically illiterate".

Posted
3 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

Don't disagree. 

It's beyond me how so-called proud Brits can be happy selling off key British infrastructure to the Chinese, French or Russians.

Posted
1 hour ago, ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ said:

I for one will back the Red Doctor here.

Posted
3 hours ago, ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ said:

Not really.

Capitalism cannot work when one part of it is held hostage.

The energy market is NOT a free market. If it was each provider could choose green/coal/gas/nuclear whatever to drive competition .

They cannot.

So you either have capitalism or nationalise .

We are in a worst of both worlds 

Posted

IMO there are industries that should be run for the public good, nationalised if you like.

Rail, Energy & Water (I believe we have a hybrid model for water in Scotland)

No obscene wages & bonuses for CEOs or share holders, profit should used to improve infrastructure & service and provide decent wages.

Posted

Roasted 😂😂😂😂👍👍👍👍

Mr Brightside
Posted
On 15/04/2025 at 07:18, Konrad von Carstein said:

IMO there are industries that should be run for the public good, nationalised if you like.

Rail, Energy & Water (I believe we have a hybrid model for water in Scotland)

No obscene wages & bonuses for CEOs or share holders, profit should used to improve infrastructure & service and provide decent wages.

Agreed, run them like a private company with the sole shareholder being the government. The profit goes back into maintaining and improving the infrastructure/ services. Privatisation has improved neither the service or the cost.

Posted
Just now, Mr Brightside said:

Agreed, run them like a private company with the sole shareholder being the government. The profit goes back into maintaining and improving the infrastructure/ services. Privatisation has improved neither the service or the cost.

Profit?  Yeah, right.  

Mr Brightside
Posted
23 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Profit?  Yeah, right.  

Well someone is making a profit just now from gas, electricity, water, rail, and postal. Would be better if that was the government, that’s why I said run them like a private company.

Posted

Probably the reason are getting their knickers in a twist about Kneecap. Easy to deflect away from Labour's failure as a government.

Posted
On 25/04/2025 at 10:37, Mr Brightside said:

Well someone is making a profit just now from gas, electricity, water, rail, and postal. Would be better if that was the government, that’s why I said run them like a private company.

Sorry, I missed this post.

See the bit in bold?  It just doesn't happen.  History is littered with government attempts to run monopoly companies that haemorrhaged money, in the UK and other countries.  Many of those were in the energy and transport sectors.  They were shitshows.  It's all very well suggesting government might do it differently if they tried again, but that simply won't happen.  

Gerry1874
Posted

On a side note did anyone else hear Swinney accusing reform of being devisive and blaming others. Incredible......

Posted
17 minutes ago, Gerry1874 said:

On a side note did anyone else hear Swinney accusing reform of being devisive and blaming others. Incredible......

I duly noted it on another thread.  !

Gerry1874
Posted
16 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I duly noted it on another thread.  !

Probably the one I got kicked off for asking someone to explain something. He still hasn't managed.

ƒιѕнρℓαρѕ
Posted
8 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Sorry, I missed this post.

See the bit in bold?  It just doesn't happen.  History is littered with government attempts to run monopoly companies that haemorrhaged money, in the UK and other countries.  Many of those were in the energy and transport sectors.  They were shitshows.  It's all very well suggesting government might do it differently if they tried again, but that simply won't happen.  

NS run the trains in holland and make profit, partly through subsidiary Abellio. They're 100% state owned, they make money and the service is great with standard fares on a per km basis 👍

Posted
3 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Probably the best example of the pot calling the kettle black in the history of humanity. 

Suspect Swinney is bricking it. I think he'll be getting wind that more conservative nationalists may think about lending their vote to Reform given the inept performance of the SNP over the last 10 years. 

Spot on . The cosy party politics in Scotland might well get a boot right up the erchie year !! 

Gundermann
Posted (edited)

It's all very well complaining that 'native Brits are too lazy to do shit jobs' (maybe offer better wages and training?). That's not gonna help care for our old and disabled though. All because spineless Starmer want's to ape Farage instead of challenging him.

"The first thing the Labour government did was to cut the budget for training"  :vrface:

Edited by Gundermann
Posted

Some strong growth figures for the first quarter. 

Good signs from Sir Keir and co. 

Posted

Keef scrounging around asking other nations to become Rwanda 2 for building UK concentration camps.

Albania just told him tae :bolt:at a press conference. Egg on face for Sir Keef.

Posted
1 hour ago, BlueRiver said:

Some strong growth figures for the first quarter. 

Good signs from Sir Keir and co. 

Wonderful.

What a guy.

Punks No Deid
Posted
3 hours ago, Cade said:

Keef scrounging around asking other nations to become Rwanda 2 for building UK concentration camps.

Albania just told him tae :bolt:at a press conference. Egg on face for Sir Keef.

According to CH4 just now the only media he took with him was GB news  - jeez, no longer just red tories - more like red reform 

Kells_On_Jackson
Posted

Dude is a globalist, everything about him is staged, a blind person can see that, still scratching my head as to how he won an election.

I remember my folks telling me that the first thing he did was cancel the winter payments for senior citizens. Who would have thought the Labor Party would be the ones to do that? That's like something Thatcher would have dreamed up.

Labor/Tories look the same tbh

Posted

Keef didn't win an election, the Tories lost it.

New New Blue Labour got in by default, which is what happens in a two party system.

Eventually the party in power runs out of ideas and talent and public support so the other lot get a chance by default, without actually having to try very hard.

Then because they didn't try very hard and didn't have any decent ideas of their own, they sink quite fast.

So the other lot of useless twats get back in by default.

And so on.

It's a toxic spiral of ineptitude.

Posted
2 hours ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

Dude is a globalist, everything about him is staged, a blind person can see that, still scratching my head as to how he won an election.

I remember my folks telling me that the first thing he did was cancel the winter payments for senior citizens. Who would have thought the Labor Party would be the ones to do that? That's like something Thatcher would have dreamed up.

Labor/Tories look the same tbh

Labour. 

Because not every old person is some poor wee hard up soul. The King could claim it for **** sake. 

Posted

For once he hit the nail right on the head .

A nation of strangers.

And segregation by what?

Choice,policy?

It needs facing up to.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Ked said:

For once he hit the nail right on the head .

A nation of strangers.

And segregation by what?

Choice,policy?

It needs facing up to.

AABBA is the rhyming scheme.

There once was a fella called Ked

Who thought he'd hit the nail on the head

By talking of strangers

And their strange-looking dangers

Oh bollox, I wish I was dead

:runaway: 

Posted
1 hour ago, Ulysses said:

AABBA is the rhyming scheme.

There once was a fella called Ked

Who thought he'd hit the nail on the head

By talking of strangers

And their strange-looking dangers

Oh bollox, I wish I was dead

:runaway: 

There once was a chavi called Ked.

Whose racist and makes ridiculous posts about the rapidly changing country .

That holds no truth or validity.