Paul McGowan

neilnunb

Hungry hippo

Probably the first decent decision he's ever made - although just shaving it off would have made a lot of sense too.

1 minute ago, Hungry hippo said:

Probably the first decent decision he's ever made - although just shaving it off would have made a lot of sense too.

I did a few years of gelling and cajoling my thinning hair to cover my head and then just woke up one morning and thought feck this.

Number 2, diy and no more messing around.

Quite liberating, really.

42 minutes ago, martoon said:

I did a few years of gelling and cajoling my thinning hair to cover my head and then just woke up one morning and thought feck this.

I eventually persuaded my mate to do it after years of fighting it. instantly  Took years off him. 6 months later he’d left his horrible wife for a younger nicer model.

50 minutes ago, martoon said:

Keeps the weight off too as you dont want to be that fat guy with the skinhead.

All I'm saying is that this doesn't look out of place. 

Screenshot_20220623-151328_Chrome.thumb.jpg.5e85bcc77f08c76852c7c42f88f82e66.jpg

39 minutes ago, briever said:

Keeps the weight off too as you dont want to be that fat guy with the skinhead.

Very true.

46 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

I eventually persuaded my mate to do it after years of fighting it. instantly  Took years off him. 6 months later he’d left his horrible wife for a younger nicer model.

Well, that didn't happen for me, but my wife's nice.

Well, most of the time. 😊

34 minutes ago, Salad Fingers said:

Screenshot_20220623-151328_Chrome.thumb.jpg.5e85bcc77f08c76852c7c42f88f82e66.jpg

Yep.

19 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Tbf if i had the money I'd be getting hair implants. I hate being a baldy 

Nah transplants stick out like a sore thumb. I embrace the bald

19 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Why? It's easy to keep and you don't need to spend 15quid every few weeks at the barbers, I take a .5 over mine and I prefer it to having hair. I was always scared of being bald aswell.

20 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

It’s worse being partly bald

1 hour ago, neilnunb said:

Joined the transplant mob. 

Goodbye old friend ☹️

NINTCHDBPICT000514606486.webp

NINTCHDBPICT000742114178.webp

It all looks a bit Frankenstein's monster at that stage.

The top of the head lifted, abinormal (wee Young Frankenstein reference there) brain 🧠 inserted, then crudely sewn back on.

Embrace being a baldy. I take the Gillette razor to my napper every few days, f'ing love it :) 

25 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

One think I'll do if I start goi g bald in a meaningful way. 

I think a transplant is fine if you deal with it early enough. McGowan has been resembling Coco the Clown for years however so everyone knows he's a baldie! 

16 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

Embrace being a baldy. I take the Gillette razor to my napper every few days, f'ing love it :) 

Me too, can’t beat a clean shaven head

Dick Dastardly
16 minutes ago, Muppetboy said:

Nah transplants stick out like a sore thumb. I embrace the bald

16 minutes ago, Herbert. said:

Why? It's easy to keep and you don't need to spend 15quid every few weeks at the barbers, I take a .5 over mine and I prefer it to having hair. I was always scared of being bald aswell.

16 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

It’s worse being partly bald

11 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

One think I'll do if I start goi g bald in a meaningful way. 

I used to have a fantastic head of hair and i actually really miss it. I'm not even a vain person in the slightest. It was probably best in the early 90s when i had a right good set of curtains that went down past my ears. Twisting my melon man. 

1 minute ago, JAYEL said:

Gave in during lockdown with a No 1 , wish I had done it years ago

0 now 🙂

Me too, as daft as it sounds I feel really scruffy after 3 days of leaving it unshaven, 

I don’t have a beard with it tho, undecided on that look

2 minutes ago, Muppetboy said:

Me too, as daft as it sounds I feel really scruffy after 3 days of leaving it unshaven, 

I used to have a bit of heavy growth, but I decided to shave my face down to a number one  now and prefer it so much more. A clean shaven head and a number one on the face feels incredible :)

1 minute ago, Muppetboy said:

Yeah it’s hard word when you still have a lot of hair growing but only takes a minute

Nae beard allowed  😩

My barber always said keep it while you have it  and I fell for it 🤪

1 hour ago, Salad Fingers said:

Don't think his heads that wee tbh.

12 minutes ago, DG_HMFC said:

I used to have a bit of heavy growth, but I decided to shave my face down to a number one  now and prefer it so much more. A clean shaven head and a number one on the face feels incredible :)

:oohmatron:

1 hour ago, Dick Dastardly said:

I used to have a fantastic head of hair and i actually really miss it. I'm not even a vain person in the slightest. It was probably best in the early 90s when i had a right good set of curtains that went down past my ears. Twisting my melon man. 

Curtains are what your granny has, enjoy the bald. 

Dick Dastardly
2 minutes ago, Herbert. said:

Curtains are what your granny has, enjoy the bald. 

Na she had a blue rinse

1 hour ago, Dick Dastardly said:

I've got a Shankland esque shaped heed so going bald isn't an option. 

Some folk suit being bald. 

Only thing I'd seriously consider cosmetic wise. 

Thankfully, my hair is holding up. 

Been using the Gillette Quattro on the noggin for about 20 yrs. use no.3 trim setting on my goatee. Look a bit like a biker without the tats on the heid!  
Love it!

Dick Dastardly
36 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Don't gete wrong, a number 1 all over doesn't look bad, my head is a decent shape. I just have a wee bit of hair envy. 

28 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Don't gete wrong, a number 1 all over doesn't look bad, my head is a decent shape. I just have a wee bit of hair envy. 

Aye, but there comes a time when you've  basically just got to  accept that nature has crushed your hopes of remaining the subject of  jealousy from  young baldies.    "Wow, he's got a great head of hair for his age"

There's always the  Hibernian Weave method though - as modelled by Thumb, Stokesy, Fletcher, Boyle etc

th?id=OIP.B_zKIcvtsNzUpnfVlDlOyQHaEj&pid=Api&P=0&w=277&h=170

Dick Dastardly
1 minute ago, Lone Striker said:

Aye, but there comes a time when you've  basically just got to  accept that nature has crushed your hopes of remaining the subject of  jealousy from  young baldies.    "Wow, he's got a great head of hair for his age"

There's always the  Hibernian Weave method though - as modelled by Thumb, Stokesy, Fletcher, Boyle etc

th?id=OIP.B_zKIcvtsNzUpnfVlDlOyQHaEj&pid=Api&P=0&w=277&h=170

I'm only 21

I love a good old thread slagging off McGowan, but there is a bit of me slightly envious of guys brave enough / rich enough to get a hair transplant :) 

To date my favourite McGowan memory is getting him so wound up he couldn’t concentrate on the game as we beat Dundee 1-0 In 2016/17 season.

just shouting paaaaaaauuuuuuuulllll at him every time, and telling him he was dog muck. he also went for a tackle and missed 3 consecutive swipes in a matter of seconds, to the joy of section E.

It wasn’t long after a motherwell/hamilton player got in bother for making a gesture to the opposition and McGowan in typical Paul fashion made one behind his back, before storming straight off in a huff at full time. 

paaaaaauullll 

Assaulted police on three separate occasions and didn’t do time! 🤷‍♂️

5 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Wait until it goes Tosh, sounds like you'll look like The Mekon.

FWIW my hairline started to recede in my late 20s, persevered with combing it forward for a few years to disguise the receding hairline, then gave up when I realised it was more embarrassing to try and disguise it than just come out as a baldy.

I go for the no. 1 look rather than completely shaved, also as a lot of us baldies do, I grew a beard just to prove that I'm not totally follicly challenged.