NHS

55 minutes ago, trotter said:

No, you are missing the point. There are only so many resources the NHS has (there's no point going into the reasons for that, we'd be here for years). Doctors are charged with ensuring those resources go where they can do the best good - that can't be an easy job, and not one that I envy. You are not considered worthless, you are considered less of a priority than someone who without prompt and continuous treatment MIGHT ACTUALLY ******* DIE. I sat in A&E at the ERI for 6 hours with a broken hand waiting to be seen whilst an almost endless stream of people with serious bleeding, heart attacks, car crash injuries jumped the queue in front of me because I was less of a priority. Did I moan? Yes, because my hand hurt, not because I was made to wait. 

I'm not saying that is fair, but with finite resources, choices have to be made. We can't get everything we want unfortunately. 

There is absolutely no need for that. Now you are just coming across as someone that is spiteful and bitter because the world hasn't given you the things you seem to think you are entitled to. I'm sorry you have a condition that affects your daily life, I am, but consider this:

1) Is your condition terminal?

2) Do you have a roof over your head every night?

3) Do you have access to clean water?

4) Do you have access to food (even if you choose not to eat it)?

A lot of people in the world are much worse off than you through no fault of their own either and actively try and improve their situation rather than just wingeing about it. So grow up and stop acting like a petulant child. 

Yes the NHS has to prioritise due to its limited resources . I was seen relatively quickly a couple years back when I had a serious health issue . Currently back in the system again waiting to be seen , but I understand I have to wait . 

• Replies 693

• rudi must stay

• JudyJudyJudy

• Jambo-Jimbo

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, trotter said:

No, you are missing the point. There are only so many resources the NHS has (there's no point going into the reasons for that, we'd be here for years). Doctors are charged with ensuring those resources go where they can do the best good - that can't be an easy job, and not one that I envy. You are not considered worthless, you are considered less of a priority than someone who without prompt and continuous treatment MIGHT ACTUALLY ******* DIE. I sat in A&E at the ERI for 6 hours with a broken hand waiting to be seen whilst an almost endless stream of people with serious bleeding, heart attacks, car crash injuries jumped the queue in front of me because I was less of a priority. Did I moan? Yes, because my hand hurt, not because I was made to wait. 

I'm not saying that is fair, but with finite resources, choices have to be made. We can't get everything we want unfortunately. 

There is absolutely no need for that. Now you are just coming across as someone that is spiteful and bitter because the world hasn't given you the things you seem to think you are entitled to. I'm sorry you have a condition that affects your daily life, I am, but consider this:

A lot of people in the world are much worse off than you through no fault of their own either and actively try and improve their situation rather than just wingeing about it. So grow up and stop acting like a petulant child. 

When I had a heart attack and was rushed into the ERI, after the stent was fitted and I was waiting to be taken up to the coronary care unit (CCU), I heard one of the nurses apologising to an old woman in the next cubicle, about them having to stop her procedure because of an emergency (me), the old wifely turned round and said, not to worry as an emergency has to take priority.

In an ideal world there would have been enough staff for both Cath Labs to be open but there wasn't, there was only enough for one that day, so that old wifely had to wait, no doubts I would have caused a knock-on effect for the rest of the day as I was brought in just shy of 12:15, so everybody after me would have been about an hour late.

McGlynn The Money
11 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Here I have an idea for you mate. Host a Mexican style pool party this weekend, invite her. Pump her full of drinks ask her again at the end 

5 hours ago, Morgan said:

Your idea stinks.

It’s also rude and uncalled for.  My friend is very learned and offered what I thought was a good opinion, which I passed on to you.  

I won’t do it again.

For the record, she doesn’t drink.

It's a bit of a stretch to claim to be offended by RMS after you posted 105 times on a thread entitled Tit Monday. As you know, the second highest poster only had 54 posts.

Does your "friend" know about that?

3 hours ago, Morgan said:

There’s no need for that.

Why did you say such a thing?

Because that is my reality now 

4 hours ago, trotter said:

I have the strength of a 70 year old and a body that is ****ed. Food and drink doesn't go down. My mind wakes up longing for my body to feel like it used to longing for one day it feels normal. You tell me how would you feel, oh wait you can't and there lies my problem. Nobody understands me 

5 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

If she believes her head could fall off there's justice in the world 

26 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Right, your reality is writing that ‘if she believes her head could fall off there’s justice in the world’ ?

You'll have to talk me through this, Rudi.

Could you do that for me please?

Many thanks.

30 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

I have the strength of a 70 year old and a body that is ****ed. Food and drink doesn't go down. My mind wakes up longing for my body to feel like it used to longing for one day it feels normal. You tell me how would you feel, oh wait you can't and there lies my problem. Nobody understands me 

No one understands you as you don't make any  sense . 

How do you survive if you don't eat and drink ? 

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Right, your reality is writing that ‘if she believes her head could fall off there’s justice in the world’ ?

Many thanks.

Ah your a nice man the story will last a few hours so get yourself a cup of tea 

8 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

No one understands you as you don't make any  sense . 

How do you survive if you don't eat and drink ? 

I survive as mere bones 

5 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Ah your a nice man the story will last a few hours so get yourself a cup of tea 

No thanks, Rudi.

10 minutes ago, Morgan said:

No thanks, Rudi.

Sit down then "shocks are much better obsorbed when a man is sitting down" the wicker Man 

9 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

I survive as mere bones 

Yeah sure you do. 

6 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Yeah sure you do. 

Finally someone that believes me 

25 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Many thanks.

Any I was being a wido not like me. I hold the belief my head could fall off

2 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Sit down then "shocks are much better obsorbed when a man is sitting down" the wicker Man 

Great tip.

Thanks ever so much.

6 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Great tip.

Thanks ever so much.

Have you seen The Wicker Man?

14 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

I survive as mere bones 

Maybe you've stumbled across the X-Ray diet? 

2 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Any I was being a wido not like me. I hold the belief my head could fall off

Aye, me too.

It’s like an earwig and sausage pie.

Ach well.

1 minute ago, rudi must stay said:

Have you seen The Wicker Man?

My name is Alan.

Of course I’ve seen it, I was that earwig.

6 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Aye, me too.

It’s like an earwig and sausage pie.

Ach well.

Its tough to live with 

That thing you do

Having spent time living in Mexico, Germany, S.Korea, China (where i had the single worst experience after an accident playing football) and Qatar, Ive not found  private systems with its deductibles and pre existing restrictions and high fees where I thought it was any better than the NHS. They are generally worse, in chinas case WAY WAY worse.

Qatar and S.Korea I didnt need to visit a hospital. Mexico i fractured a thumb playing hockey puck football at an ice rink. Treatment was actually very very good. Generally thats the case privately in Mexico. You can generally see a specialist within 3 days of contacting one.

I did however have my life saved in a German hospital after they discovered i had a pituitary tumour and the year before they fixed a lower back issue that i couldnt solve after 4 nhs operations. So while theres nominal fees (first doc visit per quater was about €20) its far superior, much like the trains, autobahns and alot else tbh.

Overall, the NHS is a much better system than 99% of the systems out there but there are exceptional examples that are better.

7 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

It's a bit of a stretch to claim to be offended by RMS after you posted 105 times on a thread entitled Tit Monday. As you know, the second highest poster only had 54 posts.

Does your "friend" know about that?

Did morgan boaby your missus better than you can or something?

You seem to make a point of hanging shite on him all over the board.

What's the beef?

21 hours ago, daftie said:

This is going to be a bit longwinded, but I have to strongly defend the NHS. Like a lot of people, I get frustrated if you ever have to go to A&E and wait ages, or wait months for an appointment, and we all need to blame somebody. They are understaffed and under funded. For me, they literally saved my life.

Back in June 20 when we were in covid restrictions, I was unwell for 3 weeks, fevers, tired , struggling to breathe properly etc. Was told to make my way on a Saturday night to Western General covid assessment team, as they suspected covid. Did tests etc, wasn’t covid.

Come Monday morning, I was expecting to get out, but was told blood tests had shown I had an infection, and 2 lung clots, irregular heartbeat. Was ambulanced to Royal Infirmary to be told I had endocarditis, which is an infection of the inner lining of the heart, quite serious I was told. I was then told I had to be on a IV drip for 4 weeks, 24 hours a day. Alongside all of this, I had everything possible,done, CT Scans, MRI Scans, many ultrascan’s. Camera down throat, many other things as well. 

Again, thought I would go home in 4 weeks, and that would be it. Couple of weeks in, was told I had severe regurgitation of my heart valves, and I needed open heart surgery to replace my aortic valve. I was gobsmacked, as I went in thinking I might have covid. This all happened when covid was rife, so no visitors at all, it was pretty tough. Good news was they were going to let me go home after the 4 weeks, as they said I had dealt with enough over that 4 weeks, and give me some time at home to build up for operation. Was told it would be 2/3 months probably. Went home and got a letter sent the following week and was told operation was scheduled for a couple of weeks time, as my regurgitation was worse than first thought. Again, that was a shock it was so soon.

Not going to lie I was crapping myself. Been with my other half for years, but I had been married before, so didn’t see the need. We were told there were some high risks with operation, so again remembering it was during covid period and covid measures in place, we got a special letter from doctor, special dispensation from registrars to get married immediately. My other half popped into registrars, gave letter, and we were married the following lunchtime. Within 24 hours of speaking to registrars we got married. 

Was taken into hospital 4/5 days before I was due to be admitted, as I had taken a bit unwell again. Brought forward operation, and again no visitors allowed. The night before prepping for surgery, you get an injection into your stomach which is a blood thinner which helps surgery procedure. Had operation, came round, lots of other stuff happened. Found I had allergy to morphine, and I was allergic to injection they had given me before surgery. Should have been in hospital for 4-6 days, was in another 4 weeks, I was just unlucky. Allergic to heparin which is in a lot of medication, so I was diagnosed as HIT+, again bloody rare. It was one crap thing after another. Upshot is, I’m mid 50’s doing pretty ok now, pretty young to have open heart surgery, and have been told there is a likelihood I will need another one if I live another 20/30 years. 

Loads of things went wrong, nobody’s fault, just had some major bad luck along the way. Was told if the original endocarditis hadn’t been diagnosed, I would have had a major stroke, more than likely fatal. All NHS staff were just incredible, from the tea lady, to the junior doctors marking their way, you really build bonds with them. Lots of snots and tears along the way, but due to no visitors, they went that extra mile. Always get my other half to shave my hair. One of the domestics brought in her own clippers to shave my hair, as I kept mumping it was too long. Simple things like that made such a difference. 

Yes, it is their job, but when you hear the wages some of the staff are on, they to me are extra special. I didn’t like the clap for carers, to me that was too contrived, but for me they literally saved my life. 

On many tablets for rest of my puff, but doing well. Just writing this down has actually been quite emotional, as I sometimes underplay how tough it was. Seeing it in black and white, I went through the wringer, but I won’t hear a word against the NHS. 

They did save my life. 

That’s great to hear that you’re on the mend! Just think, if you were in America, you’d be millions of dollars in debt right now.

McGlynn The Money
3 hours ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

What's the beef?

Just answer the question.

Edited by McGlynn The Money

What's the beef?

He's trying to be a bit edgy and a bit wokey whilst throwing in a bit virtue signalling.

Thing is, he's pish at all 3.

What's the beef?

Oh not just that - him and James got all ***** about the tit Monday thread, James reported it while this weapon noised him up.

I laughed at them both but the thread got closed. This tit then decided I cared enough to start messaging for a gloat.

I was so upset I didn't bother reading the last one :laugh2:

But just think, he's gone and actually screenshotted the post stats so he can taunt his wee online enemy.

:bwcornette:

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Oh not just that - him and James got all ***** about the tit Monday thread, James reported it while this weapon noised him up.

I laughed at them both but the thread got closed. This tit then decided I cared enough to start messaging for a gloat.

But just think, he's gone and actually screenshotted the post stats so he can taunt his wee online enemy.

dont think it was james who reported it to get it shut

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

dont think it was james who reported it to get it shut

Pretty sure he said it was him at the time, could be wrong though, it wasn't particularly noteworthy until MtM started the "Look at me Look at me!" PMs

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

Pretty sure he said it was him at the time, could be wrong though, it wasn't particularly noteworthy until MtM started the "Look at me Look at me!" PMs

iirc it was the question master

5 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

iirc it was the question master

Oh you're right enough, sorry James!

McGlynn The Money
1 hour ago, been here before said:

He's trying to be a bit edgy and a bit wokey whilst throwing in a bit virtue signalling.

Thing is, he's pish at all 3.

You're wrong about all three mate but thanks for your time.

46 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Are you still going on about that? It was a creepy thread enjoyed by perverts which had no place on a modern, inclusive a d forward thinking forum like JKB.

You'll just have to get your cheapies somewhere else from now on.

3 minutes ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Are you still going on about that? It was a creepy thread enjoyed by perverts which had no place on a modern, inclusive a d forward thinking forum like JKB.

You'll just have to get your cheapies somewhere else from now on.

Don't believe I've ever gone on about it you desperate little attention whore, you.

How long has Morgan owned a chateau in your tete?

The Ultimate Worrier
13 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Don't believe I've ever gone on about it you desperate little attention whore, you.

How long has Morgan owned a chateau in your tete?

Show off.

Edited by The Ultimate Worrier

1 hour ago, McGlynn The Money said:

You're wrong about all three mate but thanks for your time.

Ah ok you're not desperately trying to look all woke, edgey and virtue signally.

It was a creepy thread enjoyed by perverts which had no place on a modern, inclusive a d forward thinking

But then again....

McGlynn The Money
57 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

It's good there's someone that questions Morgan 

Like many on here I'm tired of his bullying behaviour and his hypocrisy. As with all bullies he doesn't like the taste of his own medicine and runs away, leaving others to fight his battles for him.

Edited by McGlynn The Money

I suffered an injury on holiday, that I think may lead to surgery. I have private through my work so started the process there as well as going via the NHS. I figured going down the route of both would mean that if I do need surgery then private would more than likely lead to the surgery happening soonest.

I received a text from my GP to say that as I've instructed private he will no longer be dealing with me and my NHS referall has been revoked.

Doesn't paint a great picture of my NHS GP.

Dennis Reynolds
7 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I suffered an injury on holiday, that I think may lead to surgery. I have private through my work so started the process there as well as going via the NHS. I figured going down the route of both would mean that if I do need surgery then private would more than likely lead to the surgery happening soonest.

I received a text from my GP to say that as I've instructed private he will no longer be dealing with me and my NHS referall has been revoked.

Doesn't paint a great picture of my NHS GP.

I can't get my head around what you are wanting them to do. I understand that choice is nice but if you've chosen to go private, then let the NHS help someone who doesn't have that luxury.

You taking up appointments just keeps someone else waiting for a service you've said you probably won't use.

1 minute ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

I can't get my head around what you are wanting them to do. I understand that choice is nice but if you've chosen to go private, then let the NHS help someone who doesn't have that luxury.

You taking up appointments just keeps someone else waiting for a service you've said you probably won't use.

I'm choosing to use the NHS. They've actually responded the quickest and I have an appointment with a shoulder specialist tomorrow as the injury is potentially life changing. I've not had a brilliant experience of the private service so far as it goes and I'm glad the NHS have been so responsive.

Surely it's my right to go down whichever route I choose and shouldn't be up to a GP to refuse to deal with me, let alone inform me of that by text.

Like many on here I'm tired of his bullying behaviour and his hypocrisy. As with all bullies he doesn't like the taste of his own medicine and runs away, leaving others to fight his battles for him.

My word! The boards crappest  wokeliest dokeliest, edgiest, virtue signaller has now appointed himself as champion of the oppressed and downtrodden everywhere.

bugs-bunny-looney-tunes.gif.0c503a573ec99d5894cc62de6547d1bb.gif

Another day in bed today. There was an eventful five minutes where I got changed as I thought I could play tennis tonight. I've changed back. I must keep a low profile till 5 maybe they'll forget about me, hope so 

Edited by rudi must stay

My friend thinks this thread has now gone completely off topic.

8 minutes ago, Morgan said:

My friend thinks this thread has now gone completely off topic.

Has your friend now quit medicine?

1 minute ago, rudi must stay said:

Has your friend now quit medicine?

No, she's still at the top of her profession.

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Yes she quit last night. Felt sorry for you, her credibility is in taters 

7 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

Just answer the question.

If you would be so kind as to run the question by me, I'll be sure to dispatch some truth torpedoes when I get the time.

5 hours ago, McGlynn The Money said:

• davemclaren locked this topic